Customer Reviews for 2006_Ford_Explorer

2006_Ford_Explorer

Average Customer Rating:
4.237 of 5
4.2
 of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
4
31 of 38(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Review 1 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exploratia 2.0

September 28, 2011
By Wide-eyed Wanderer
from Greenwood, In
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased my beautiful Two-toned (White with Tan undercarriage) 06' Eddie Bauer Explorer in 08' with 21k miles on it. I now have 65k miles on it after 3 years of ownership.
The good: I was instantly drawn to the seating position, which offers an expansive, commanding view of traffic. Also, the layout of the cabin is very warm, felt very insulated and comfortable. The power driving seat aids me in finding the perfect driving position. I never owned an SUV before, so I was really nervous about the ride. That anxiety was laid to rest when I fired up the smooth engine and took it for an 'extended' test drive. This SUV feels very 'carlike' in the way it handles turns, and bumps. The solidity and confidence I feel when driving in the snow is unsurpassed. I recall particularly this past winter when driving on the interstate; I hit a patch of invisible black ice going about 60 miles per hour. For the briefest of seconds, the vehicle slid and also turned a bit to the right. In an instant I turned the wheel back the other way and the vehicle repositioned and continued in my intended trajectory. Though the situation was a bit scary to me, I didn't truly appreciate how well the traction system which Ford calls 'AdvanceTrack with RSC(roll stability control, which is standard)' had come through until I got further up the road. As I continued north and the weather became worse, I passed no fewer than 10-15 other motorists who had actually run off the road. It's worth noting that none of these were Explorers. I also love the space; there is enough room for the wife, the in-laws and our two girls and the second row reclines to provide more comfort. Also, the vehicle drives 'small' which is to say the turning radius is very good. This bodes well when parallel parking or taking a quick turn. The latter two rows fold 'flat' but not into the floor. Despite this, I have carried numerous 'large' purchases home including a 51 inch flat screen, a massive entry table and a pub style table and chairs (2 trips).I won't complain about the gas mileage either, which tends to be in the low 20's on long trips and about 16-17 mpg in city.
The bad: No product is without a couple flaws and the Explorer is no exception. The engine, while perfectly adequate in most situations, can feel a little underpowered at times. 252lb ft of torque is not a lot of ‘scoot’ for a vehicle that is this heavy. You almost feel like you have to really 'gun it' if you are passing on a two-laned road and the engine revs pretty high. Also, the radio unit says 'MP3' and has an 'auxiliary' setting, but there is not auxiliary jack. I am a bit of an 'Applehead' so I am disappointed that I cannot directly connect my Iphone to the radio. 'MP3' to Ford just means you can play an MP3 cd.
Reliability: There has only been one issue and it is a known one having to do with the radiator. This failed at 29k miles and was quickly replaced under warranty. There have been absolutely no other issues besides this.
Parting thoughts: After 3 years and an additional 44k miles, my family still loves Exploratia (my youngest daughter names everything) and she takes care of us. When we travel, everybody is comfy and the bus-driver man(that's me) has the piece of mind knowing that all the things that matter to him in life are riding stylishly, comfortably and safely.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

like it, fun to drive!!!

November 25, 2009
By hank
from arizona
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"extended warranty recomended. transmision had to be overhauld at 42,000 miles . purchased it with 32,000 miles. at $15,300. vehicle was emaculate, well serviced with car fax report. now runs like new suv.ford dealer repair was 5 star."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best SUV I owned

May 1, 2014
By Explorer fan
from Kansas City, MO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchases a used 2006 XLT with 40+ thousand miles owned the car for 4 years never had any major repairs it drove very nice and it handled the rain and the snow and then some lots of road trips... Love it so much just trade it for a 2012 XLT"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable and a comfortable ride

December 31, 2013
By Sam
from OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I only had a radiater issue which seems to be a common problem, other than that I have not even replaced the brake pads yet, I have 76K on this.
I was lucky with the radiater issue also since the dealer was very nice and gave me good ammount of credit which I believe he said he got from Ford and acknowledged the issue with the Radiator.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2006 explorer

September 22, 2013
By Buttercup
from Chesapeake va
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Nice SUV minor details that were quickly corrected by the sales manager. Like the mileage with the 2wd. Will look for this sales manager when buying our next car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Explore Eddie Bauer 2006

April 15, 2013
By Eddie Bauer Explorer Lover
from Detroit, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this truck one month ago April 2013. I am the third owner. The truck still looks and runs like a brand new truck. Smooth ride. Gas millage not too bad. It had 101,500 miles at purchase. I can't wait to take it on the road. Love It."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The Worst vehicle and dealership ever.

January 9, 2013
By Never Again
from NJ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased a 2006 Ford Demo with 4000 miles on it. By far the worst vehicle I have ever owned and the place I bought it was terrible. The service department could not get anything right the first time. It was so bad I wll never buy a Ford again. Stay away from Ford and DO NOT I repeat DO NOT go to All American."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Last Ford I Will Own

September 8, 2012
By Lifelong Ford Owner
from Boston, MA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought my 2006 Explorer new and have had more problems with this car than any other I have ever owned. I have 80,000 miles on it right now and have replaced: the radiator, fuel pump, rear wiper motor, the shifter, and the entire front end (wheel bearings and front differential). The car is now starting to show signs of a transmission issue! I have only owned Ford vehicles and never saw issues like this. There are posts all over the internet about Explorer quality issues and yet Ford does nothing to address them. Stay away if you are considering buying an Explorer, at least until Ford makes some changes. Definitely spend the money on an extended warranty if you do."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible investmet!

April 18, 2012
By jeffmac
from mays landing, nj
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"My wife and i purchased our explorer in 2008. It had one previous owner and was a certified pre owned vehicle. The car had 66,000 miles on it when we bought it 4 years ago, and has been nothing but expensive problems ever since. First off, there was a problem with the radiator, which had to be replaced, second the alternator died causeing the battery to die, and most recently the transmission needed to be replaced. It only has 100,000 miles on it. Although the radiator and alternator were covered on the warranty, we still payed out of pocket for each one. There was a charge for the radiator, and because the battery wasn't coverd, even though the reason it went was because of a bad alternator, we had to pay out of pocket for it. Most recently the transmission needs to be replaced due to a design flaw that has a domino effect once one thing goes wrong with it. This newest problem, Im told from more than one mechanic, is common in this model and is why it is refered to as the "Exploder". This repair is costing me a lot of money. To sum it up, unless you have a lot ot extra money you dont mind sinking into your car, stay away form Ford."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Beware

April 17, 2012
By Cookie
from wash
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have a 2006...I have replaced 4 radiators now in 100000 miles. Ford STILL says there is no issue with radiators. Check the internet...rampant complaints of radiator issues."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

fuel economy very poor

April 10, 2012
By nano79
from new york
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"in 8 mont 2 radiattors,just 12 mpg,ford is junk,sorry about the american cars,honda,acura,toyota 5 stars"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Traded one Explorer for another

March 30, 2012
By Explorer Enthusiast
from Los Angeles
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have driven a Ford Explorer since 2003, when I purchased my first one. It has been such an all purpose design for me that I practically live in it. I am constantly on the road with it. It is great for hauling (I do swap meets), travelling (I've driven from Los Angeles to the Arctic Circle and back), and just plain luxury driving in great comfort. It easily transports from 1 to 7 people. My previous Explorer lasted for 185,000 miles and still no engine problems. I have great expectations for this one too. So far, so good! Get one!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bulit Ford Tough

February 2, 2012
By Ford Lover
from winnipeg mb
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car we bought used with 60,000km on it and know we have 160,00km on it and it barley ever has had problems we drive it eveyday and it always starts first try. We use it to tow our quads around and we have taken it offroad before to pull them out before. the truck doesent seem to quit"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best invesment I've ever made

December 5, 2011
By Happy Ford Explorer Owner
from Nassau, Bahamas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car extremly happy with my purchase. Even though it;s used however, I am pleased in the way it holds up and how it still performs like a new car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good buy for the money

November 4, 2011
By comuter
from Pennsylvania
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very pleased with the car. Tons of space, easy to use four wheel drive and very solid ride. Interior is a little cheesey but overall a very good car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's Awesome!

October 21, 2011
By dasbus
from MInneapolis, MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We traded in a low mileage Nissan Pathfinder that was noisy, buzzy, complicated and unreliable. Our Ford Explorer Limited V8 with the tow package is superior in every way. It even gets better highway mileage!
It's really, really nice."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Out 5 Explorers this is the best

October 20, 2011
By Into Explorers
from Pickstown,SD
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Ive owned a 91,93,95,98,02,04 and now my 06 as it is far the best one i have owned. I just like everything about it. Got it with the V8 and my milage is 19 and higher on the hwy which i think is great for a 4x4. It rides great and is very quit. It is a Eddie Bauer and really like the seat and leather. The only problem i have is the front inside door grab handle and in 07 they changed that.
You just cant go wrong owning a Ford Explorer i also have 2 sisters in Explorers and they love theirs.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ford does it again!

June 5, 2011
By Busy Mom!
from Indianapolis, IN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchsed my '06 XLS used from a dealer on Cars.com. I'm truly enjoying the ride! I'm especially grateful for it being able to fit all the baby's things. Who knew I baby could have so much stuff to transport. Love the reliability and security it offers for me and my little one. Would buy another one again!!! Thanks FORD, you've come a long way!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2006 Ford Explorer EB

March 24, 2011
By Robbie
from Fairgrove Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just traded in my 2000 Ford explorer xlt for a newer model a 2006 EB I just love it so far ,we just had our last ( I hope) snow storm of the year and it handled wonderfully,I wouldn't own a chevy again.Keep up the good work FORD!!!! I love my ford explorer!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2006_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very pleased

September 24, 2010
By mammy
from AR
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Found my low-mileage...superbly clean Ford Explorer on cars.com. Don't know that I've seen a used car this clean before and am very happy with my purchase."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.