Customer Reviews for 2006_Ford_F250

2006_Ford_F250

Average Customer Rating:
3.696 of 5
3.7
 of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
13 of 23(57%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_Ford_F250
Review 1 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Don't buy a Ford

March 30, 2014
By Kmud1
from Ringwood NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"My sister bought last Jan a 06 Ford F-250 6.0 liter V8. I did my research on these trucks. I was hoping when we got the truck that it had its problem already and we did not have to deal with it. This past summer we put in a EGR Cooler in to the truck. I just had it in this past week and found that the Engine oil cooler and the EGR cooler are shot. I don't have the money to be fixing Ford problem. Now i face fixing the damm thing or tradeing?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Towing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FORDS F-250 KING RANCH 4WD CRW CAB DIESEL

March 12, 2014
By internetpeddler
from COTTONTOWN TENNESSEE
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife and I purchased this Ford F-250 at Crencore in Goodletsville, Tn.. The 2006 King Ranch has a 6.0 Diesel engine and for that reason we took out extended warranty but with the truck being over 100,000 miles we bought the most coverage so as not to worry about the majority of engine, drive train etc.
I have run into mixed feelings on the 6.0 diesel but the bottom line is don't plan on aftermarket things for the engine because after the EGR the head bolts are the most critical and so when and if you have to do a replacement have the head bolts improved at the same time and save money.
Thats it as for problems, Ford mechanic told me keep the oil changed, turbo filter clean and changed and some injector fluid every few tanks at fill up and keep fat tires rotated to keep from feathering and she should run many thousands of miles.. I will add to this review at some point later after owning this beauty I'm gonna call BEAR cause its brown and has the power of a bear after I see how things go for just an average joe who will be doing some traveling in it.. Love the look and feel, sitting up higher , great secure feeling...
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2006 F-250 Diesel

September 13, 2013
By USMC WarPigs
from Northern Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've put about 2000 miles on the truck since purchased. Third owner. Clean carfax report. This is the first Ford and first truck I've owned. So far so good."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Towing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

6.0 is bad and Ford knows it

July 24, 2013
By Never buy a 6.0
from Modesto, California
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought mine Brand new. Was so excited to get my first diesel truck to pull my Fifth wheel. Performance was so much better than the old 460 I had. Until 30,000 miles when my first turbo went. And to the others out there who say take care of it, I did changing oil on Fords recommendation. Luckily still under warranty and Ford fixed it. 2 other guys I work with also had 2006 and their turbos went at around 70,000 miles. When my truck got to 68,000 I sold it. The guy who bought it had it for 3 months and at 80,000 the turbo went again. Ford wanted 5,000 to fix it. When I talked to the local dealer about these problems they had 3 other turbos all 2006 in the shop. And as I was their another came in.
Yes Ford knows about the problems with the 6.0 and the dealer I talked with, Ford dealer, told me he would advise everyone against buying a 6.0
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Towing
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Oryx was fabulous start thru post sale support

April 4, 2013
By Steve
from TX
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought a Ford F250 diesel 4x from Oryx Motors & got a great price that was way under book price and its in immaculate condition! They were very honest and Mike was so patient and continued to provide support for my q's buying my 1st diesel after the sell. It was a perfect blend of selection and personalized service, Thank you so much!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great truck

August 26, 2012
By Louie
from Cincinnati Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Ive had my truck for about a year now and its a great truck. It had a egr problem when i bought it but with support from the aftermarket i ended up putting on a egr delete, ford headgaskets (aftermarket headgaskets will blow again after 5k.) and headstuds. After those mods it's a bullet proof engine.The reason for the problems from when i bought it is the former owner let it sit for a year and if you let somthing sit that long without starting it you are going to have issues no matter what you own. The problem with most 6.0 owners is they dont know how to take care of them. If 90% were to read the owners guide it says change your oil every 200 hours. That is equal to 5k miles. And to also change fuel filters every 10-15k miles. If you take care of them and use them for what they were built for you wont have any issues."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Strongest truck I ever owned

June 30, 2012
By kefolds
from Panama City Beach
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The biggest problem with the 6.0 is you have to keep the oil changed on time, it doesn't like old and dirty oil. Keep factory programing and maintain ALL the fluids and it will last a long time. The 06 model had a lot of updates to eliminate problems in the engine, such as head gaskets."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

bad ford response

April 16, 2012
By sad dad
from casa grande,az
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"i bought my 2006 ford 250 crew cab new. i drove it for 35,000 mi with no trouble. then i started to experince a problem trying to fill the gas tank, it kept shuting the pump off. on my next oil change i asked the service manager to check it out, he came back with a letter from ford stating that if you drive this truck on dirt roads it will clog up the fuel valve and charcole cannister. they will replace these parts for a mere grand, needless to say i was very unhappy about this. i called ford and they claim it is not there problem i should not drive on dirt roads. i live on a county road. i would not recommed this truck and will do everything to let people know what a dissappoint ford is in handling this problem which i feel is one of ford not so good ideas."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

DIESEL SUCKS!

March 13, 2012
By Schuantz
from BUFFALO
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"45000 MILES AND 5 YRS OLD, JUST OUT OF WARRANTY, AND THEY WANT OVER $2000. FOR A NEW TURBO! 6 LITRE 300 HORSEPOWER AND USELESS. tHIS WAS A $7000. OPTION."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Stay away from the 6.0 l diesel engine

October 13, 2011
By F250 truck owner
from Boise, ID
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Just replaced the EGR oil cooler 1.5 years ago and now Ford says it needs replaced again. Each service $3k. They say it is a common problem with thin engine. Dont buy this poorly enginered ford product!!! I am trading my ford for a chevy!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great truck... Worth every cent paid..

April 13, 2011
By HDstroke
from Pittsburgh, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 6.0 powerstroke is actually a reliable truck. How many of those that leave a bad review beat the truck, stack chip on chip to the truck, change the oil at 7K plus miles???? No matter what ford, chevy or dodge is going to have issues if you treat it like that. The truck will last but be smart and take care of it. For fuel economy the truck ways more than a honda civic ITS NOT GOING TO GET 30 mpg the trucks way 7,000lbs and more depending on truck. Would buy another one tomorrow hands down..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This one is a keeper!

July 18, 2010
By Blondana
from Bay Area
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We have had this truck since new. It is a tough workhorse and also classy and comfortable. The negative reviews here must be people trying to put others off these trucks. We have had ours for 4 years without ONE single issue. It rides beautiful and we love love love that diesel engine. SO powerful and the gas mileage is fantastic. Seems to go forever on one tank of gas. If you can get your hands on one with low miles you'll have a great truck."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Towing
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Save your Money! Classic 6.0 deisel

May 26, 2010
By Montana
from Great Falls, Montana
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We purchased this rig just a year ago and have had nothing but issues, thousands of dollars worth of issues. Check engine light has burned a hole in the dash! Its left my family and I stranded for the last time, We will not sink any more money in a vehicle that has cost this much. The ford dealer wont even take it back on trade! I was told that i was stuck with the truck and they wouldnt be able to sell it on thier lot. They would have to send it to auction. Then they wanted to sell me the extended warranty! Really?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Towing
-3points
7out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Truck

February 2, 2010
By outdoorsman
from Boise, ID
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"I've had my 2006 F250 Diesel for a nice easy 85,000 miles now and no problems. I'm getting 13.3 city and 17.5 hwy, but it's worth it because it tows my toys, it's comfortable front and back, and it has 6 cupholders! Diesel oil changes are $90, but you only have to do it every 7,500 miles on the diesel version. Only real downside it that it's loud and you have to shut it off at drive throughs!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Look out for that 6.0 diesel

December 24, 2009
By ford expert
from ventura california
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"These V8's blow water past the heads because of a design flaw. High mileage engines are more prone to the problem, so I thought I would review this particular vehicle due to mileage about 15000 over competitive trucks for sale in the resale market"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

poor engine

November 4, 2009
By mad
from wv
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The truck looks good. Have less than 36000miles on it and ford cant fix it. i filed lemon law taking a very long time."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Towing
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful

December 1, 2008
By Truck enthusiast
from Lisbon, Md.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I tow a 5 ton dump trailer, sometimes with a Bobcat in it and other times loaded down with dirt or gravel. I forget that it is behind me. The trailer brake system is outstanding. This is a powerful work vehicle that I would recommend to anyone."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Towing
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very impressed

November 26, 2007
By truck enthusiast
from Alberta
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Doesn't handle as well as my F150 and I have to climb up into it, but the power and visibility in heavy traffic more than make up for it. Fuel economy is poor as well but no surprises there."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Big Power

April 24, 2007
By Dixie Outlaw
from Newnan, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have a 2006 F-250 w/ a 6.0 Powerstroke and all i can tell u is that chevy and dodge cant touch it in racing, pulling, looks, mileage and anything else you can think of."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2006_Ford_F250
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonder where they got "PowerStroke"?

August 17, 2006
By 1adam12
from Hollywood, MD
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Year: 2006
Make: Ford
Model: F250 FX4 Crew Cab
Mileage: 1,015
Do most people need a truck like this? No. Do you want a truck like this? Debatable. Needless to say I could hear this F250 before it ever crested the hill of my driveway. The sound reminded me of this kid who could hear his International school bus coming up the road toward his house. The sound was distinctive especially with the DT466 under hood. So, needless to say I was instantly turned off by this three-quarter ton pickup; wasn't a fan of the school bus either.
After managing to climb into the spacious cab it was familiar yet fresh at the same time. I wondered why Ford hadn't taken a more modern approach to the interior like the very luxurious F150. Yet, nothing about this rig says old or dated. I think that was Ford's motivation. To create a cab that would be comfortable yet tough enough to be used as a real work truck; to create a cab that was distinctively Ford but not over the top. My opinion: mission accomplished.
This approach also strengthens brand loyalty. It brings new or repeat customers to dealer showrooms while allowing late model owners to continue to be proud of their rigs; familiar and fresh. This rig was powered by a six liter V8 turbo diesel producing a solid 325 horsepower and 560 foot pounds of rotational force. Being the crew cab model the interior was very spacious. My only complaint with Ford trucks is the support of the seats. Very flat without any sense of horizontal or lateral support, long trips could be a bare. The dash is very well laid out, and features an industry first integrated electric brake module for towing. Speaking of towing, this rig does an effortless job. I commissioned this one to pull a 93' Mustang race car on the twenty-five hundred pound flat bed trailer. There were many times when I forgot the load was behind me at all. Not good for led right foot but perfect for towing up steep grades. Braking was also impressive for a rig of this size. Especially when towing and the electric brake module is activated.
All in all if you are considering buying a heavy duty pickup for recreation or work consider the heavies from Ford. Properly equipped can and will handle most tasks.
Oh, don't I wish Ford had snatched up Allison Transmissions before GM. Oh well; the unit used by GM doesn�t seem to mind being twisted by the all mighty Duramax!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.