Customer Reviews for 2006_Ford_Escape

2006_Ford_Escape

Average Customer Rating:
4.31 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 of 29(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_Ford_Escape
Review 1 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great midsize SUV

February 14, 2014
By Pleased Dad
from Virginia Beach, VA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought a 2006 Escape as a first vehicle for my 16-year-old daughter. She is thrilled. This one has the optional V6 powertrain, so there is no shortage of pickup but gas mileage appears to be good for a vehicle of this weight. The interior has the leather upgrade, which adds to comfort. The size is just right -- she has plenty of cargo space when needed, but it is not so large that parking and visibility become issues. We are looking forward to many years of service."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great car, great style, super practical

April 30, 2012
By Robby C
from Los Angeles, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this car while living in Los Angeles. I need a car that was comfortable to drive, had decent pickup and was utility enough to get me to the mountains or the beach. Walking into the Ford dealership I had my eye on the SportsTrack, but the Escape better suited my needs and budget, so I went with it.
I owned this car for just over 5 years. I loved it. The only maintenance I performed was very minor, like pads and rotors. It was a dream to drive around LA and surrounding beach, desert and mountainous areas. It was my friends and I go-to on any trip. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a compact SUV! I miss it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little SUV

December 22, 2011
By Lori
from Lakewood, CO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I also own an older Explorer and was skeptical about downsizing. Bought this '06 used with 88K miles on it, but it seems brand new. Other than the wonky radio others have reported (volume issues), it has held up great over the miles. Rides more like a car than an SUV, and the clearance might be better for those of us in snow country. But, the mileage is great at 24 mpg, mixed driving. The four cylinders are not wimpy, and has plenty of spunk. Glad to see Ford still makes a stick shift as well - makes drivng so much more fun. Hope to put on another 100K."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Car, but uncomfortable

November 21, 2011
By sub7sara
from Iowa
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have enjoyed my Escape. I have a 4WD and that was very helpful in Montana. One bad thing is that is an automatic 4WD which means the car will shift into 4WD when it thinks it is necessary. This car gets decent gas mileage for its size. The car is very uncomfortable to ride in. The seats are stiff and I can feel many of the bumps in the road (I'm 21 and should be able to handle rough rides, but I can't stand my Escape's seats.) This is a great car, but if you are looking for a comfortable car don't go for this one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not to bad

October 31, 2011
By JD
from Rochester, ny
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"So far been driving my escape for 3 months. The seats are not very comfortable in my opinion. she handles and drives very s mooth but the gas mileage is not what I was hoping for. It hasa very small tank so even though your getting over 21 per gallon your still filling up around 300 miles. One other issue is the back trunk carpet. It does not stay secure to the floor. All and all not to bad of a vehicle. Waiting for the snow to start to see how the 4x4 does."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not perfect but Pretty Good all around

October 20, 2011
By Plasticman
from NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Right amount of room to haul stuff around on. My canoe goes on top easily. Small enough to get decent gas mileage while carrying 4-5 people. It is not fancy but does the job. A no nonsense performer. I am impressed with it's simple functionality."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More power and better mpg than my 96 Explorer

May 17, 2011
By Ford enthusiast, Buy American
from AZ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"So far so good.
I've only had it for two months.
Excellent hwy mpg @25 for 780 mile trip!
Average speed on that trip was 70+mph.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ford Escape

April 28, 2011
By bubba
from kansas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have owned two Ford Escapes. They are wonderful SUV's. There are great in the snow and mud. Gas mileage is pretty good at 28 mpg on the highway. My niece just bought a 2011 Escape for the gas mileage. she had a dodge nitro. (that was a waste of money). The biggest reason I love Ford's is that Ford didn't take any BAIL OUT MONEY from our government."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

love it

April 26, 2011
By escape23
from cincinnati, ohio
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i like this car alot, it offers both style and efficiency.I am only 17 years old and i have been driving this car since i was 16 and i absolutely love, I especially love that with the push of a button you can review all of the vehicles stats such as fuel economy, instant economy, and fuel efficiency."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Overall Good Vehicle

April 23, 2011
By Student
from Louisville, KY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Ford Escape has been a great vehicle for my busy lifestyle. I often have to haul large amounts of supplies for work and the cargo space is more than sufficient and easy to access. The back seats are also easy to fold up and down to create enough room to carry some furniture, like dressers and desks.
The gas mileage is pretty good for highways. My Escape is a V6 with FWD and I average 25 mpg. However city mileage is less than I would like, averaging 15-18 mpg.
The vehicle is a bit noisy on the highway, but I often don't notice it when playing music. It's also not very comfortable when driving more than a few hours.
The Escape handles like a car and is easy to maneuver. I didn't have any problems when I drove it in the snow and was able to get up some hills that other cars weren't able to handle.
Overall I love the Ford Escape and would recommend it to my friends."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rock Solid

March 5, 2011
By chbender
from NE
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased a used 2006 Ford Escape AWD with 8000 miles on it. I've put over 30,000 miles on it since then and have never had a problem. It handles great, especially in the snow and ice. The gas mileage is good too, especially if you use synthetic motor oil. Plenty of room for hauling the kids back and forth to college."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

February 9, 2011
By Michael72
from Greer, SC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very safe SUV. The 2006 Ford Escape is still one of the best compact SUVs available. The Safety Package includes front side-impact airbags and full-length head curtain airbags with a rollover sensor
Powertrains and Performance.The 2006 Ford Escape has done well in government crash testing, earning a perfect five stars for the driver in frontal impacts and four stars for the front passenger. In side-impact crash tests, it received five stars for both front- and rear-seat occupants.
Standard on the Escape XLS is a 2.3-liter inline four-cylinder engine that makes 153 horsepower and 152 pound-feet of torque. It is matched to either a five-speed manual transmission or a four-speed automatic. There's also the more potent 3.0-liter V6, which makes 200 hp and 193 lb-ft of torque. It is standard on XLT, XLT Sport and Limited models, and comes with an automatic transmission only. With this setup, the Escape can tow up to 3,500 pounds.
Decent acceleration and better mileage make it a good option for budget-minded buyers.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but not most comfortable

December 23, 2010
By Practical Mom
from Weston, CT
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've had my Escape for almost 5 years and have generally enjoyed driving it. No mechanical problems and has been good even in cold winters in CT. Handles well. But it's not the most comfortable for long drives - like to VT to ski. With age, the car has gotten noisy inside. It's hard to drive a long time without it affecting my hearing or needing to crank up the radio very loud to hear it. Also, I was disappointed in the gas milage - I get an average of 20 MPG for a 4 cylinder SUV. That's the same as my midsize 6 cylinder Maxima. In general, the car drives well and I am comfortable with its reliability and enjoy the space/carrying capability, but it's not the most comfortable and the noise is becoming a nuisance."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great American vehicle

December 2, 2010
By My Escape
from Chicago Suburbs
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my new (used) Escape. Although it is not perfect, it is a great option for those wanting to buy American. I lost 4,000 on another brand of small SUV because it was a poor decision on my part. As poor as that decision was, my Escape decision was just the opposite. I paid $10,600 for this vehicle with 53,000 miles, 4WD, Sunroof (no hitch/towing package) and it was the best of all of the alternatives. I did look at some 'dogs' as I was searching for this vehicle so make sure you do your research before accepting one. This one as the others does have an unknown rattle (like many that i drove) but it drives smooth (unlike many that I tested)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this vehicle

February 24, 2010
By car lover
from Lafayette,LA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The best purchase ever made! My husband and i love it! Great for the family.So reliable and very comfortable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car - Love it even more than my Honda

October 23, 2009
By Fan of the Ford Escape
from Des Moines, IA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was previously a "honda-only" owner until I purchased the Ford Escape. It handles well and I feel 100% safe while driving in snow/ice/heavy rain. It has all the power of a BIG SUV but not the bulk nor the gas guzzler issues that I had with my Honda Pilot. I was hard to convert to a Ford at first - until I drove one - now I'll never want to drive anything but my Ford Escape."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not bad... had worse... all in all a good buy.

September 29, 2009
By ford guy
from ROC, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I enjoy my ford escape. I have driven it all over the country... towing a trailer (after-market hitch). Frequently, I drive with my bikes fitted on the hitch rack and with a boat load of stuff in the back with the seats folded down.
The interior is comfortable. I am over 6' tall and not thin framed. The acceleration is OK... but definitely underpowered for a V6. Stereo is pretty powerful, wish I had the MP3 and Sat radio version... its a pain mouting after market Sat receivers in this car.
What I dont like: the breaks couldnt handle the mountains in CO and now they just arent the same even after being serviced. There is A LOT of road noise on the highway (it is difficult to hear on the mobile even with a handsfree device). Someone hit my mirror and in order to replace it the whole assembly had to be replaced (NOT CHEAP). When the car is cold the motor winds and slams into gear. The trim is poor quality and the carpets tend to not stick under trim peices and it doesn't look nice.
All in all I like the vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Easiest Car to get things in and out of.

February 28, 2009
By Island Lady
from Queenstown, MD
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Because the car is high off the ground, it is easier on my back getting in and out. It is also easier putting groceries and packages in the back and taking them out. It is also easier to clean. My husband says it handles well."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just OK

February 23, 2009
By M.J.
from Indianapolis, IN
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I leased an '06 Escape almost 3 years ago. My lease is up at the end of this coming month and I have chosen not to purchase this vehicle. I found the front seats to be highly uncomfortable. I have ridden in the back seat and felt totally cramped and I am a 5'5" female. I never felt safe in this vehicle always thought it could roll over easily because of it's heigth. There are not enough safety options on this SUV as compared to other similar ones on the market. In my opinion, the exterior styling is boxy and really has no appeal.
It does however have plenty of get up and go and was reliable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2006_Ford_Escape
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my "new" 2006 Ford Escape

February 27, 2008
By Ford's Number 1 Fan
from Detroit, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love the way it drives, the 6 cyl engine has plenty of "get-up n go", I love the 6-changer CD player, I especially love the way the artest and title come up when the radio is on. I love the visibility from the driver's seat which the wide front windshield provides. The window wiper on the back window gives me a good view out the back."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.