Customer Reviews for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred

2006_Ford_Five Hundred

Average Customer Rating:
4.154 of 5
4.2
 of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
21 of 26(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Review 1 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very good passenger car and decent hauler

February 8, 2014
By mr ed
from elk river mn.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"love the comfort and handling of this car,love the high seating and hauling room in the vehicle.I have had only routine maintenance so it has been a reliable vehicle for me.I would rate it about 4+ I love the abs drive system great for Minnesota winters.the safety ratings were also a selling point.it turned out to be the most important thing about the car.unforunately I hit a huge big doe at highway speed.I was a bit sore for a few days but I am fine .the most impotant things is my frail and handicapped wife was just fine.we drove it to a safe place and just walked away."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Overall car

September 8, 2013
By Rick_W50
from Central PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Ample room good headroom and legroom. Fair mileage and reasonable power for overall driving.Good everyday family car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cheap but wonderful wheels!

August 30, 2013
By Former Saab Owner
from NH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am a former 3 time used Saab owner and I thought I would never get used to an american car but since Saab went under it became hard to find a reasonably priced used Saab. For not much money I got all the features my 9-5 had and a few more in the 06 500 Limited. Granted It is not a turbo so it has much less power but as an around town driver I don't need it and replacing a turbo is 1,000 bucks! I can't get over how smooth it drives and how quiet it is inside. It has many safety features and a huge trunk. I could drive it all day and not get sore with the lumbar support and heated seats. I really hate to say it but I like it better then my last Saab. It started to need work at 230,000 miles. It was a 99 and I was losing the battle on rust living in the North East with all the salt. So when I was told it needed front bearings and it started burning oil and needing 1000 dollars worth of body work it was not too hard to let go of it. I got my 2,300 dollars out of it over the last 5 years and then some. I hope the same will be true of The Ford 500 Limited although I doubt I will get 230000 from the engine. You never know!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car

August 3, 2012
By J
from syracuse, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have a 500 SEL with leather, roof, traction control, and 133,000 miles from new.
This is the most comfortable road car I have ever owned.
I love the command seating and the 8 way power seat I have driven this car 11 hours in a day and get out with no back problems. We get 24 mpg around town in mixed driving and 28 on the road. 3.0 liter engine regular transmission. This car still runs vibration free at 80 mph on the highway, the 3.0 is more then adequate to get you out into traffic. Other than the original recall on the brake pads this car has been worry free driving for 6 years. I have replaced 3 sets of brakes, 3 sets of tires and the front and rear stabilizer bars. My oil has been changed every 4-5000 miles per mfg specs. This is one of the best cars I have ever owned. It is also great in the snow and in wet conditions. I run Brigstone Turanza tires on the car year round.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the 500

April 3, 2012
By Bob
from North West New Jersey
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great deal on this 500 rides nice , love the expansive interior / trunk.
Exterior styling may seem dated , but it has a classic look that I like ,
the 3. liter 6 is small but it's what allows for 30 hwy
I have the SEL , loaded just wish it had the traction control.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Biggest Waste of money..

July 22, 2011
By organdude
from Boston, MA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought the 2006 Ford Five Hundred SE with the CVT (FWD) and had issues from the beginning. There was a humming noise coming from the front since day one, apperntly there is a manufacturing defect in the ballbearings in the transmission. The dealer quoted me $2,600 to repair or over $6k to replace the transmission itself. The power window always acted screwy. The car is definitely under-powered, it is the noisiest car I have ever owned. The road noise, the engine noise, and the humming from the transmission was too much for me. If you are considering buying one, really check it out."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

ford five handred

November 26, 2010
By oas
from saudi arabia
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"car perfomance is not saticfactory on the road.
i would not recommend this car to afriend ,
poor dealer and service center in my country .
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Towing
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2006 ford five hundred AWD *** 2 thumbs up!***

August 30, 2009
By racerdad
from Springfield, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The five hundred has been a pleasure to drive. I have close to 50K miles on it and have had no problems. Gas mileage has been in the mid 20's on the highway and the large gas tank offers good range between fill ups. Passengers always comment about how easy it is to enter and exit. The trunk swallows anything you can carry to the car.
The AWD is the best feature for my New England winters, the car climbs slick hills easily. The abs and traction control are added features to keep me under control. I can't wait for the 2010 version.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Alot of car for the buck

August 17, 2009
By Lee
from Montreal, qc
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car 2 months ago (2006 Limited AWD) and have yet to find something to complain about. Very comforatable ride, great MPG (avg 23.9) More acceleration than described on most sites. I cannot understand why ford didn't sell more of these?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good All around

February 20, 2009
By mark
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am 26 and wanted to get a used car with decent mileage and not too old. I found a 06' limited and it had all the bells and whistles. I bought mine with 18,000 on it and have put on 19,000 since i bought it about 2 years ago. I have had no issues with the vehicle. Basic maintenance , that's all. It drives smooth, short on power but great on the highway and the expressways. I have had nothing but compliments once people get in and actually ride in it. Looks good on the outside and good on the inside. Bought black, with the rims all cleaned up, the car looks amazing. I still think it looks awesome when i walk out of somewhere and see it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Nice Ride

December 9, 2008
By Car Enthusist
from Munroe Falls, Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have driven this car for 3 full years now and it continues to perform very well.
There were some problems with the rear brakes at around 25k miles but it has been resolved. The ride I would compare to BMW 7 Series or Mercedes E Class. Interior space is very comfortable. Ford did do a very good job designing this car.
The 500 of course has taken on a new life with being renamed the Taurus but this only made the Taurus a better car.
The mileage is around 17mpg in town and 22mpg on the highway. The CVT Transmission is extremely nice...no shifting of gears ever felt.
All in all... a very nice ride.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OWNER OF TWO OF THESE VEHICLES

November 22, 2008
By Happy Owner
from Bakersfield, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a hidden gem of a car. I have had it for two years. By driving very carefuly I have gotten 21 mpg in the city and as much as 36 mpg on the highway. Normal driving is 17 city and 30 highway. It is roomy and comfortable. Plenty of room for five adults. Huge trunk! BRAKES!!! This model Ford had rear brake problmes, BUT Ford was well aware of it and made the repairs at no charge. There was an issue of certain vehicles having a problem with the rear brake cylinders. Once this was fixed, the vehicle is trouble free.Try one out and you will be very pleased. My wife and I both have these vehicles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

would not recomend buying this car

May 22, 2008
By Displeased with Ford
from La Vernia, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Rear brakes and rotor had to have replace at 40,000 miles at my our expense. In researching this seems there are alot of owns of this vehicle with the same problem. I am trading in the car ASAP and getting another anything but a FORD.
Since they don't honor problems they have with there vehicles don't think it is right no wonder everyone is going to foreign vehicles.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Can't Stand Up To A Crash

April 1, 2008
By Not Happy
from Tulsa, OK
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased this car less than 3 months ago. Last month I was involved in a crash that was less than 5 mph. The impact was hard enough to knock the hat and sunglasses off my face. Not only that, but the car had to be totalled. It completely crushed the bumper, knocked the radiator into the engine, broke some of the motor mounts, and also crushed the stabilitay bars behind the bumper. I will never purchase another Ford vehicle again. The bodies are made of cheap plastic junk."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

One of the better cars I've own

November 3, 2007
By Buckeye
from Kill Devil Hills, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased this car for my wife. The car I believe is under priced for what you get. I can seat five people and all are comfortable. I believe this car is right up there with the Lincoln. the only proplem with the car is that the engine is under powered. Way under. Too bad Ford changed the name. A little like what they did with the Ford Probe when needed a new body for the Courger. I can not understand why Ford doesn't have more ads on this car. It should be an outatanding seller."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Driven 30K + on this car already

October 2, 2007
By sfdukeaj
from Green Bay, WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I drive this car over 30K miles a year to work and I love it. I drive all highway miles anywhere from 70 to 80 mph and am very comfortable with over 2 hours each day spent in the 500. Trunk space is huge and the sitting up higher is great since my last commute vehicle was a 3/4 ton truck. My only complaints are that it isn't the best in snow and the engine could have more take off power especially if you compare the 500 to the new Chevy Malibu. I really like the CVT, just rock steady with no shift points. I recently hit a deer and the car held up well mechanically (for wasting a large buck at 75 mph.) I realize how nice a car the 500 is since my loaner is a base model Ford Focus."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The most spacious car I've owned

April 13, 2007
By FARMERS INS. AGENT
from SAN DIEGO, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Ford Five Hundered is by far one of the most comfortable cars I have dirven in and own/ed. Passengers in the back seat fit have plenty of room. The trunk has enough room to fit all your grocires from costco without the need to fold dwon the seats. The power is moderate nothing to special but very effiecent. Handling is a breeze; and the mileage is anywhere around 20/22 city to 24/27 highway. For the comfort, and features the Ford 500 is difinitely a good deal for the buck."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very well designed car

December 27, 2006
By Maple syrup producer
from Rumney, NH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Somewhat under powered. Would like to experince better gas milage, should be in the middle to high twenties.. Poor rear window visa-bility due to obstruction obstruction in front of mirror. Numerical entrance a fine idea. The center console could be a little lower."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The reason ford is #3 in the U.S. and falling

November 18, 2006
By Non-biased opinion
from Philadelphia, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Love the ample room in the trunk and cabin. That would be pretty much it though. It's interior is decently designed but with too much plastic and cheap materials. Performance was strong thanks to that six speed auto borrowed from the mazda6. Engine was harsh not very smooth at all. Drove okay but wasn't exactly a car you could drive for hours. Biggest complaint was that it is a hollow car. I leaned my knee against the rear bumper while taking something out of the trunk and the bumper caved in. I couldn't imagine what would happen if it was ever in a accident. Doors are hollow you can just tell from the sound they emit when shutting them. Overall a step up for ford but nearly close enough to help sinking company.
P.S. Why do I see people saying "I've driven 10,000 miles on it, its great, its so reliable!" Any foreign car I ever owned i kept for at least 200,000+. Maybe since I am a mechanical engineer I notice even the smallest thing when it comes to automobiles, so for me the Ford five hundred just gives me a headache with all its imperfections.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2006_Ford_Five Hundred
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice car to own

November 1, 2006
By scroggo
from lake worth , florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great car , great price lots of room bought car new in 01/06 and have driven over 35,000
trouble free miles.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.