Customer Reviews for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500

2006_GMC_Sierra 1500

Average Customer Rating:
4.438 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 of 16(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Review 1 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Denali

May 30, 2014
By Bubba
from Jonesboro, Georgia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I test drove the truck and immediately knew it was mine if the price was right. The truck has exceeded my expectations from the engine to the spacious interior. The gauges and driver controls are easy to read and to reach. The interior is spacious and very comfortable. The engine is the Vortex Max, when I need a fast response the power from the 6.0 Liter is spot on. I plan on getting another GMC Denali when this one gives out."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2006 Gmc sierra-overall great truck

June 24, 2013
By Pick up truck man
from Farmington,MN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Nothing beats a gm product. I now have 110,000 miles on my pick up and there has been absolutely nothing wrong with it. It pulls like a champ and is a great daily driver. I cant wait to buy a 2014 Silverado. Chevy guy for life!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good deal

April 22, 2013
By ted
from anniston, al
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"russell sconyers was honest and knew his product, he listened and took notes on my needs and then presented the perfect car"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst vehicle I have ever had

November 10, 2012
By avid gardener
from Morgantown, WV
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"We've had this vehicle for six years. We bought it to have for winter driving, hauling the canoe/kayak/bikes and trips to the hardware/garden store. It is: under powered, left me stranded after only the first 100 miles, and we've needed to put $2100 into the brakes-includes new lines- after 17000 miles. The undercarriage has rusted beyond repair despite being kept clean. My mechanic-who is very good- recommends looking for another vehicle. Apparently GM used inferior materials in this model/year. None of our other vehicles which are the same year or older have had the brake/rust problems this vehicle has."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Work horse to Daily Driver

August 26, 2012
By T@ho35treetRaCEr
from Dallas, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The truck helps me a lot I get things done and has not left me stranded. I have hauled motorcycles and tile, towed a boat and corvette. Although it wasn't new It did prove its worth and will be expected to stay with me till it kills it's self. Easy driver and excellent fuel economy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

ok

July 23, 2012
By punk900
from Arkansas
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bought directly as a trade-in directly from dealership at a dealer-only auction, as at the time I was a licensed used car dealer. At the time, it was purchased at a deep discount compared to retail so I cannot complain. On to the truck. If I would have paid retail, I would be greatly disappointed as it has more rattles ,and small irritating problems than my 98 did with twice the mileage and use and abuse from me and the previous owner. That being said, it has not left me stranded yet, more than I can say for other vehicles that I have owned,bought,trade, and worked on !"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely Going to last 250,000 Miles

July 13, 2012
By GMC TRUCK Enthusiast
from Valparaiso, IN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this truck in August of 2006, brand new. It's a crew cab, short box, 2WD with SLE-2 trim level. The truck is pure POWER! The 5.3L V8 can pull anything you throw at it, and the fact that it can run on E85 is reassuring when gas goes up to $4 a gallon and I need to save money, while also putting less pollutants in the environment. I primarily use this truck to pull around my kids and carry cargo in the bed (wood in the winter months). It's a great family hauler and with an average 18.4 mpg, I couldn't wish for a better truck! I love the driver information center on it, giving me full information on how the truck is doing (ex. engine hours, fuel economy, when to change the oil, etc...) Right now the truck is at 110,000 strong, and I'm sure that i will at LEAST get another 110,000 out of it! GMC is Professional Grade!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great truck!

February 1, 2012
By Mike
from Wayne County, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a 2006 GMC Sierra Crew Cab SLE, Z71 Off-Road with approximately 73,000 miles on it. It was between that truck and a Nissan Frontier (was considering a mid-size after 10 years of driving an S-10).
Thankfully I chose full-size. This truck rides nice, accelerates great, gets decent fuel economy, and my favorite - has room for enything or anyone I want to put in it. One day it has all my hunting buddies, the next it has the family. It suits both perfectly.
The drivetrain on these American Trucks are bulletproof if you take care of them. Buy one of these trucks, dump the conventional oil out of them, add full synthetic, change it every 3,000-4,000 miles, and get the transmission flushed every 30,000 miles and there's no reason why they won't last you until 250,000 miles or more.
When they say professional grade they mean it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1500 HD

April 8, 2009
By tpifher
from Davison, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A workhorse, this 1500 has guts and doesn't quit til the job is done. I've gone cross country with out a problem.
I tow a travel trailer without any issues.
The OnStar gives me a new level of comfort. While leaving ND into MT they found a motel for my dog & I. They also gave me some directions finding a small town in the middle of MT.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Towing
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Broke down again !!

June 26, 2008
By No more GM purchases for me - ever !!!
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Today it's at the dealership with a transmission / electrical problem - they think !!!! This is the second GM product in a row I have had that is nothing but trouble. A truck less than 2 years old should not be costing me this kind of $$$$ for repairs - of course it is not covered under warranty and I will be out $700+ this time."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great value

January 19, 2008
By Harduc
from Canada
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Practical, V-6 power is adequate for hauling moderately heavy loads and suspension doesn't sag with two full-sized motorcycles in the bed. Great highway mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This diesel rocks

March 4, 2007
By Big B
from Southeast PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned this 2500HD Duramax Diesel crew cab for a year. Previously I owned a Dodge with a Cummins. This GMC out pulls the Dodge by leaps and bounds. The diesel and 6 speed allison transmission is a great combination. I feel like I'm driving a hot rod instead of a diesel pickup truck. The truck is fast, smooth, quiet and the interior is roomy. I've gotten as high as 21 mpg on the open road in the great plains of the USA and usually around 15 mpg towing a 20 foot enclosed trailer. There is nothing about this truck I would change."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy for the money

January 16, 2007
By Otis
from Waterford WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have the 2006 sierra denali, and I love it. It pulls my boat like a dream (19' searay) and is very comfortible on long rides.The AWD feature is better in snow than I antisipated, and has more power than I need.I have driven pickup trucks for 20+ years and this is my favorite to date."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Truck Going

December 1, 2006
By Converted GM Owner For Life
from New England
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Over the years I have driven many pickups ( Dodge, Ford and Chevy) for work and play and this truck is the best of them all. Luxurious but very practical. Interior comfort exceeds all other pickup trucks. True workhorse. Not afraid to push the vehicle to its ' max. I just wish I had this vehicle sooner instead of my last piece of junk Ford F150"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I thought the new f150 was good.

October 11, 2006
By Chris B mn
from Monticello Minnesota
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had a 2004 f150 and i loved the truck. But i have to say that GMC sierra has just that bit more. I love all the options and the ride is great, so quiet and smooth. This truck stands out from the rest. I am so happy i dident go to the over priced fj toyota."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2006_GMC_Sierra 1500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GMC's Great

October 10, 2006
By Adam
from Cocoa, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Best truck I ever owned. This is my third and will have over 200K miles just like the first two. GMC and Chevrolet are almost identical but the GMC front is more attractive in my opinion."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.