Customer Reviews for 2006_GMC_Canyon

2006_GMC_Canyon

Average Customer Rating:
4.273 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_GMC_Canyon
Review 1 for 2006_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

TRUSTWORTHY

April 20, 2013
By Another Alberta Canyon lover
from Alberta. Canada
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my used Canyon 3 years ago for a great price, many thousands less than a foreign make, and I have a truck that is just as good or better. The 3.5l is so much fun
to drive, incredible response, great power, and good fuel
economy. Iridium spark plugs and synthetic oil really improve engine performance and economy. 220,000 km
and does not use a drop of oil. Transmission is flawless,
crisp,yet smooth shifts, and always at the perfect r.p.m.
Handling is good for a truck, very little body roll in corners,
and very accurate feel to the steering. Brakes stop the truck quickly with no sign of fade. Ride on even pavement
very smooth and big car-like. The suspension handles bumpy roads well, although there is a bit of the bounciness
you will get from a light truck with a stiff suspension.
The interior is simple but functional, with comfortable adjustable seats and everything within easy reach and
working like new. I bought this truck to use in the winter and it has not disappointed me. Starts in -30c like it does in the summer, and the heater is awesome, no chance of
cold feet or frosted windows in this thing. I have 2-wheel
drive, but with winter tires and 70 kg. in the bed I have never even come close to being stuck. It just works great in the winter, not a one squeak or rattle. I am never worried about being stranded in it, and when your out of the city in very cold temperatures, being stranded means
you could die. I have never regretted buying this totally
reliable truck and I dought I ever will.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing little Truck

March 26, 2012
By canyonlover
from Alberta, Canada
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"To be honest I bought my truck without actually driving one. I had driven other small trucks that either friends owned, rented, or just through test driving.
I looked into the Canyon before heading to the dealership as I did the other vehicles, and I couldn't find a lot of solid reviews. Not a lot of bad reviews by any means, but just overall not really any reviews period.
I love my truck. The price I understand but it'd be great if it were cheaper but I have no regrets AT ALL with what I paid.
I've owned my truck for 6 years this year in August and it's still going strong. It has 256,000kms on the engine with no major issues.
A crack in the Manifold, and an issue with the heater/ac switch (it works when it wants to but works just fine if it's on the hightest setting...which can be a little much sometimes).
Other than that (and these issues hadnt happened until 5 years into owning it and HIGH kilometers so please don't think this is a horrible problem that would deter you).
Worth all the pennies and if I didn't have to consider a new vehicle for 'warm storage' (only Canyon drawback with crew cab is still nowhere warm to pack the bags when the passenger spots are full.), then I would consider another Canyon.
I couldn't find the Canyon on any kind of buy-back or lease return...people that bought them loved them too much to bring them back. Reliable for sure. great for mileage. comfortable. appealing look."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

most fuel efficient truck I've driven

May 17, 2010
By truckin along
from Raleigh, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had my 2006 GMC Canyon Crew Cab Z71 4WD for almost 3 years and 50,000 miles now, and I am still quite happy with it. I get about 25mpg on the highway, and 17-18 when mixed with city driving, which is great for a truck. The interior is reasonably sized. My truck has the six-disc cd changer and XM, so there are plenty of music options on long trips. I have had very few problems with the truck that required service or warranty work."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best

January 17, 2010
By Biggin
from Sebring, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My 2006 gmc canyon is one of the best trucks ive had it is a 5 speed and has the Inline 5 Vortec that is more then peppy it is close to my 350 vortec it drives wonderful and gets great mpg about 25 i love this truck and would recommend it to anyone"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not bad

March 21, 2009
By don
from lafayette, indiana
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"it's alright on gas just dont add any electical. it also needs a couple of grab handles 1 4 each side."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mid-sized Truck

April 20, 2008
By Boogie
from Arlington, TX
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've enjoyed this vehicle. The handling is above par and the inline 5 cylinder seems to make more than enough power for our daily commutes."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

"gas my $$"

February 27, 2008
By low tank
from Wi.
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"while over-all happy w/ the truck, the negatives include 16-20 mpg instead of the 27-34 listed.
door window cranks and cup-holders not functional w/ soda bottle, so watch the fingers..
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT TRUCK / EXCELLENT VALUE

November 19, 2007
By Jetguy
from Bristow, VA.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought my 4x4 Crew Cab GMC Canyon new last year. A sleek all-Black Beauty, Loved it from day one. good pricing and GMC was very willing to make the deal...toyota and the other foreigner's were not!!!
I have the 3.5L 5-cylinder, and it has excellent power. The 4x4 system is terrific, and very easy to use.
makes 4-wheeling seem effortless, and the Canyon is an extroadinarily capable backwoods 4-wheeler...
I put the GMC Tonneau cover on the Bed, and it is waterproof enough to carry home the groceries, or rolls up easily to carry heavy, dirty or bulky loads. 4-doors make for easy entry, and exits, and the ride is most comfortable.
Goes anywhere, in all types of weather, and gets very good gas milage with the 5-cylinder...that pulls like a small V-8 !
Overall, I am more pleased with this Pickup truck from GMC than I ever imagined, and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone !
Save yourself some money, and Make sure you take a look, and drive one, before you decide to waste thosands more on any of those puny foreign imports.
This truck should also hold on to a very high resale value....It earns it !!!!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best pick up Ive ever had

August 3, 2006
By charles
from Pennsville, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I highly recommend the canyon. I have the 4wd off road package with leather interior. It is comfortable and rides nice. I even put a dual exhaust straight out the back with flowmaster and this canyon sounds bad. Don't buy one of those piece of junk imports until you check out the Canyon. You will be very satisfied."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quiet and carlike

July 31, 2006
By Oscarcat
from San Diego California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Vehicle: 2006 Extended cab SL, I-4, automatic transmission. I was attracted by the styling and quiet ride. The transmission shifts smoothly. Engine is surprisingly peppy and easily accelerates onto the freeway. Quirks: Without the power package there is no way to unlock the passenger door from the outside. Also, no inside adjustment for side mirrors. Cab is roomy and seat is supportive but base model lacks tilt adjustment for seatback. Overall fit and finish is excellent. Controls are easy to reach and logical."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Value for the money

July 27, 2006
By oscarcat
from San Diego California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Note: It is too soon to rate reliability. My previous S10 was average. The rebates made this new truck afforable. The ability to research prices and locate vehicles online made the buying process pleasant. GM has excellent web sites for the Colorado/Canyon that show dealer's inventory. Really saved time and gas. Except for the test drive I did all my negotiating by phone. My truck: 2006 2WD 4 cyl extended cab, SL trim, hard to find in my area as most were either base WT or upscale SLE trim. Overall build quality seems excellent. Unlike Toyota and Nissan that load vehicles with expensive option packages, GM has trim levels and dealers order options, easier in my opinion for the consumer to get what they want and not have to pay an arm and a leg for what they don't need. The base interior trim fits well and is attractive. Mine has the optional Value Leader Package [$115] that includes carpet making it feel upscale. The ergonomics and comfort are far superior to my 1995 S10. Overall it is very refined. My criticism is that with the base seats there is no way to adjust seatback angle. This seems strange in view of the fact the seat tilts forward for access to the rear. It would seem a no-brainer to make the feature work in both directions. Also, unless you purchase the $500 power package the mirrors are manual - not good with multiple drivers. Note too that without remote locks, [included in the $500 power package], the passenger door cannot be unlocked from the outside - no lock. I would gladly give up the standard cruise control for power mirrors and the lock on the tailgate for one on the passenger side. The ride is the quietest of the pack I considered [Toyota, Nissan, GM] and the handling is competent and predictable. The 4 cyl 2.8 liter engine feels as peppy as my S10 with the Vortec V6. The automatic transmission upshifts and downshifts flawlessly. The truck never feels like it is working hard or struggling, never sounds coarse. The bed feels like it is made out of thicker steel than the others, although I have yet to figure out what the large cutouts in the sides of the bed are for. Conclusion: It is a lot of truck for the money. Only time will tell if "professional grade" translates into a durable, reliable vehicle that confirms my purchase."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.