Customer Reviews for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata

2006_Hyundai_Sonata

Average Customer Rating:
4.435 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
64 of 69(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Review 1 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We LOVE our Sonata!

August 8, 2006
By Melissa
from Phoenix, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We needed a larger car because we have another baby on the way. At first we did not want to buy a Hyundai and looked at many of the other cars in the same class, the Camry, the Accord, and even considered a SUV since they have plenty of room. The Sonata just kept bringing us back because of their GREAT price. We saved thousands over the other cars in the same class and go so much more car.
When I started doing more research it didn't take long to make up our minds with more airbags and safety features than you could ever want, standard CD/MP3 player and lots of space, we found our car. Even my 6yr old daughter can't get over how big the trunk is - there's room for fold up chairs, the "big" stroller" and still plenty left over for the groceries. Even though the 4-cyl gets better gas mileage, the V6 is incredible and so much fun to drive, we LOVE our Sonata!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my 3rd Hyundai

May 24, 2006
By Chris
from Lewistown, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"First I owned a 99 Elantra. Then a 2004 Elantra. Both with no problems what so ever. Then I took my car to get serviced and got a loaner car. What did they give me a brand new 2006 Sonata. To boot only 3 miles on the car. When I first saw the car I could not believe that they gave me a new car as a loaner.(not expecting that). I must say I fell in love. The whole car was so much better than my Elantra. After I had the car for a day I took it back and started the paper work for a new one. 3 Hours later I had a Black GLS 4 cyl. Brand new, I picked the car out on the lot and had to wait till they pulled all the plastic and everything off from inside. Yep that NEW. AWESOME. Love my 3rd Hyundai, even better than my previous Elantras. I like the bigger, more roomier Sonata. Perfect. So Far. The Aezra looked nice also. WOW!!! They will soon be(to me they are) ahead of the domestic brands. Watch out, that day is coming up fast, just like a new V6 Sonata in your rearview mirror."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good value for the money

March 25, 2014
By ace
from Philadelphia. Pa.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased 2006 Sonata 1 week ago liked car from start my neighbor had 1 same year never had any issues to my knowledge 06 I think is when Hyundai got their act together as far as styling I have GLS model did research and concluded so far better value than Honda or Toyota Car is loaded engine is whisper quiet interior is well laid out seats are a little too firm but other than that car is solid has 65500 miles on it will do regular maintenance on it to keep it running right will post further review when I have car for 6 mts./ 1 year Thank You"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

140,000+ miles and going great

February 22, 2014
By Tom14701
from Jamestown, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Even with as many miles as this car has on it, my Sonata is the best car I have had in many years. I would advise everyone to buy one of these to anyone who is looking for a good dependable vehicle. I love mt Sonata and will probably trade for another when the time comes."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Saved my life

February 8, 2014
By Matt
from Atlanta Ga
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First I must say this car probably saved my life. I was Tboned in an intersection after someone ran a red light and I walked away completely un harmed. Even after the hit the car still drove fine (had to move it out of the intersection). Sadly it was toatled in the accident but I would recommend it to anyone on this alone.
That aside this was my first car I personally bought and owned. Great styling and the V6 model has pretty decent performance, took it up to the mountains and besides the fact its a heavy car it handled well. That being said gas mileage around town was around 18mpg but did much better on the freeway.
Had very little issues reliability wise. I started to have electrical gremlins involving the headlights before my accident. Never actually could figure out what it was (likely grounding issue with a wire somewhere) but had to replace my bulbs a few times cause of it. My door lock actuators also started to die near the end most of these issues seemed temperature dependent really hot or really cold messed with it a lot.
Though the car never let me down and always ran fine. I drove it across country (Washington to Georgia) and it did it great, even after hitting a big pot hole in Illinois (probably bent a rim but never checked because I got in my accident not long after) it was great.
I moved onto to a much sportier car but this was my first car I owned and always has a special place in my heart. I can recommend this car to someone no problem."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fantastic car

November 29, 2012
By retired guy
from Moreno Valley CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my "06" Sonata V6 new in November of "05" and was one of the first to buy it after reading reviews on it.. I now have 56k on it and have had no problems at all. Very reliable, very smooth quiet ride. I am 71 years old and have owned many cars in my lifetime.. This is the BEST car I have ever owned.. bar none. I keep her garaged and polish it almost every day.. Could not be better.. Hyundai makes great quality cars."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Vehicle I've Owned.

October 19, 2012
By Sonata Buyer
from South Carolina
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my V6 Sonata w/~20k miles on it. It never gave me any trouble except for the sun-visor issues, (which was common for this year model. seems they all want to droop, but I replaced mine for a measly $60.) I drove mine to about 70k miles and the only things I changed were the tires and the oil/filter, air filter too. Unfortunately, I was leaving for work one morning and another driver decided to go through a STOP sign without stopping. He broke my car :( I really liked that car! So I'm going shopping for another one.
As well as it was doing during the time I had mine, I felt like I was going to get another 100k out of it. Just my opinion though. I never felt cheated in the power train, as it always accelerated very well. The combined mileage for me was always around a good 27mpg. If you drive it rough and are a lead-foot, you will get less. At the current gas prices (around $3.50 a gal), I could go back and forth to work for about $36 a week. That's driving 30 to 35 mins one way. Except for the dog that tried to chew through my front grill, the exterior held up very nicely. Nothing fell off and the original paint kept it's shine.
The interior took me a short while to get used to, like any vehicle. I did not like the drivers seat at first, then learned how to adjust it to my back. The cruise control works well on the steering wheel's right side with volume and radio mode control on the left side. The only improvement I could think of for the steering controls would be to add an ON/OFF switch for the radio to make it a perfect control. (Nothing's ever perfect right!)
Where I live the temperatures can get over a hundred degrees for long stretches in the summer. And NO, it's not a dry heat, lol. The humidity is just as unbearable. Walk outside and you feel like you've been hit in the face with an open oven. The Sonata's air conditioning never failed me. And though the "feels like" temperature outside would be 110 degrees F, I kept cool inside my car on those drives back and forth to work.
I happen to like a lot of trunk space in my car and this one happens to have just that. If you find you need a bit more space, the rear seats will fold down for you too. Not a feature on a lot of sedans I've seen.
Ok, there is one thing I don't like about this (and other) cars. I like an antenna to be off the glass, not on it. I feel you get better reception that way. All car makers are going this way though. To make the glass "embedded" antennas work a little better they are equipped with amplifiers before they ever get to your radio. If the amplifier fades, so does your reception. I think mine began to fade before the accident and I was going to replace it with a better antenna. That's just a personal peeve with me.
All in all this is (was) a great car and I'm going to look for another one. Just take a look at Consumer Reports summary on this vehicle and you'll see the difference, most hold up very well!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great car

May 14, 2012
By bob
from Phoenix AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have this car since 2005. I have had only two issues with the car. Last year the drive belt broke on the rear window, and 2 summers ago the a/c had to be replaced. The car has 96000 miles on it. I feel for a v-6 the mileage is great. 24mph and 29 hwy. I love this car and wish I could keep it. I would recommend this car to anyone."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very nice car

April 28, 2012
By long time driver
from long island ny
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"love my sonata.. only complaints is the gas miles,
interior dash boards looks cheap , broke my sunvisor.
driven cars since 1980 never had to replace a sunvisor before, minor issue but odd enough to mention.
love the stereo, how the car rides, very comfortable
woule recommend to anyone!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Bad Corporate Carma

April 28, 2012
By Nota Sonata
from Rochester, NY
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"2006 Sonata with 38,000 miles had a defective part in hydraulic system; failure with the tensioning system. When the car was passed from father to daughter due to death 4 months earlier, the $1000 cost was not covered by warranty and corporate would not participate in any solution even though it was a defective part. Not customer oriented at all and they lost this customer forever."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best yet !

April 3, 2012
By Bill
from NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my Sonata New with a 2.4 engine, I can't say enough about this car, it's Awesome ! gets around 29 miles P/G The Best car I ever owned I put 115000, miles on it, never had to do any major repair work on it, other than, Brakes, tires & oil changes ( very important) still rides and handles like brand NEW. I give it "10 STARS""
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good car but it has safety issues with Srs system

March 15, 2012
By fc
from San Francisco, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought my car brand new in September 2006. The first five years was good once the warranty expired the airbag light came on; it came on because I need a passenger weight sensor. The dealer wanted nearly $1,300; i declined i could buy be another used car for that or put a down payment on a new one. This experience make me not want another Korean car again. If i would have bought a Toyota I doubt I would be having these problems."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Weak struts, poor service

February 27, 2012
By Shadow
from Indiana
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"All 4 struts and 3 of the mounts were replaced before 40,000 miles (each of the struts at different times). At 100,000, they need to be replaced again. There has been a clicking sound from the engine when it's cold weather and the engine is cold (sounds like lifter noise). I took it to the dealer 3 times and even left it overnight one time and they said they couldn't hear it. I have a hearing problem and I can hear it inside the car even. The performance is good and the gas mileage was around 27 at first but not at a little over 100k, it's dropped to 23."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car

January 25, 2012
By Tom C
from Leesburg, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Over all, this is a great car. It's smooth, quiet, comfortable, is good looking, and has good power (I have the v6 engine).
The only way it has disappointed me is with the mpg. The EPA rating is 20 highway, 30 city. It's true that if you go 50-65 miles per hour on the highway, it will get 30 miles to the gallon, but get up into the 70-75 mph range and the gas mileage goes over a cliff. At those speeds I only get about 25 mpg. As someone else mentioned, the city gas mileage is also less than advertised, about 16 mpg or so for me. (I mean real city driving, with lots of stop lights).
The car's greatest strength is it's value. It's very near toyota quality for quite a bit less money than you would pay for a Camry of the same age and mileage.
I bought my car a little over two years ago with 89,000 miles on it, and it has 140,000 miles on it now. The only trouble it has had is that just recently the air bag light came on. I haven't bothered to get it checked out yet.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Blew its engine at 144,000 mi

January 3, 2012
By Bart
from Minneapolis, MN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Maintained the oil level, did everything by the book, didn't abuse it but engine still threw a rod at this mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car ever

August 15, 2011
By Ralpho
from El Paso
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love the way this car drives! It will impress you. It's almost like a Cadillac without the gas hogging and with more power. If you have not driven one of these vehicles, you are missing out!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Practical Car

April 25, 2011
By testme
from Brewster, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is one of the most practical cars I have driven/rode in. it would be great for a person of any age and gender. The car is a great price and drives very well. Nothing high speed but it has enough pick up to get the job done. Highly recommended car, especially to parents with teens soon to drive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value Family Car

March 1, 2011
By Owned many cars
from Brooklyn, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Had my '06 with 70K miles about 6 months and it has been great. Best value in the used car market since the reputation for the '06 redesign has not caught up to the reality. The safety features, reliability, interior size - esp huge trunk and other features are fantastic. The acceleration with the six cylinder is great, and so is the highway milage - 30 without trying to be efficient. The one downside is the city MPG is really bad. I live in Brooklyn, NY but even so 11-12 MPG is pretty lousy. Such a good buy though that I would have to drive it for 10 years before the MPG ate into the price savings."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car so far!

February 4, 2011
By 28 y/o male St Paul, MN
from St Paul, MN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I really like the 2006 Hyundai Sonata! I have owned it for 3 months of a Minnesota winter so far. It is typically parked in my driveway and I have never had any issue with starting it up. It drives smooth and I like the brake and acceleration pedals (not too touchy). I have the 4 cylinder so there is not a lot of acceleration power there, but it is definitely ample. I am a little disappointed with the gas mileage right now but I will blame it on city driving and Minnesota snowy roads (about 23 mpg). Great amount of space; plenty for my ice fishing pop-up shelter and gear, cc skis, and the comfort of your chubby friends.
I think it's a great car for what you pay!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Impressed

January 1, 2011
By Car Lover 1982
from St. Paul, MN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"First Hyundai I've purchased. I was a little hesitant given their past reputation, but I think their bad days are behind them. At first glance I thought the exterior look of this car was very sharp, especially the 5 spoke wheels and dual exhaust.
On the inside you will notice how they kept the costs down. Mine is fully loaded with every option which makes it fun. However, the quality level is very average. Simple design, but much better value than purchasing another car without the fun options. My single dislike of the entire vehicle is the factory radio. I have owned many cars and this radio is by far the worst. We may need to upgrade the unit and speakers if we intend on keeping this for sometime.
The performance of the 3.3 V6 is exceptional. The acceleration will really make you gasp. It was far more than what I had expected. I do tend to drive fast on the highway and this vehicle doesn't let me down at all. At high speeds it doesn't seem to be working all that hard.
The ride is pretty good for a sedan. Again, this is more of a budget car, so you should expect to hear more bumps and noises than a higher end car.
Overall I would highly recommend this car to anyone looking for a fun ride without spending a ton of money. We average mid 20s for mileage and maintenance costs are next to nothing. Purchased it with 90,000 miles and now close to 110,000. No end in sight."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.