Customer Reviews for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata

2006_Hyundai_Sonata

Average Customer Rating:
4.443 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
65 of 70(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Review 21 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Impressed

January 1, 2011
By Car Lover 1982
from St. Paul, MN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"First Hyundai I've purchased. I was a little hesitant given their past reputation, but I think their bad days are behind them. At first glance I thought the exterior look of this car was very sharp, especially the 5 spoke wheels and dual exhaust.
On the inside you will notice how they kept the costs down. Mine is fully loaded with every option which makes it fun. However, the quality level is very average. Simple design, but much better value than purchasing another car without the fun options. My single dislike of the entire vehicle is the factory radio. I have owned many cars and this radio is by far the worst. We may need to upgrade the unit and speakers if we intend on keeping this for sometime.
The performance of the 3.3 V6 is exceptional. The acceleration will really make you gasp. It was far more than what I had expected. I do tend to drive fast on the highway and this vehicle doesn't let me down at all. At high speeds it doesn't seem to be working all that hard.
The ride is pretty good for a sedan. Again, this is more of a budget car, so you should expect to hear more bumps and noises than a higher end car.
Overall I would highly recommend this car to anyone looking for a fun ride without spending a ton of money. We average mid 20s for mileage and maintenance costs are next to nothing. Purchased it with 90,000 miles and now close to 110,000. No end in sight."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We love this car

December 31, 2010
By bears
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car. I will purchase another and or get a Kia.
I plan to buy in Feb, looking for 4 wheel drive.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sonata song

December 24, 2010
By Filbert
from Watertown, MA
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Reasonable car, although seats are not well padded and therefor uncomfortable, and road noise is too great on the interstate. It clearly could use more sound deadening material. Also, I find the car "twitchy" on acceleration - not nearly as smooth on take off, nor as comfortable as my 2001 Toyota Avalon. Then again it cost less, but you can really tell."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5 years and still love my car

November 11, 2010
By Concordenerd
from Central, Pa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had my car for about 5 years. I never though that I would love a family sedan for a car. I previously owned 2 Elantras. I loved them. That was until the dealership could not change my oil on the day they scheduled and sent me home with a new 06 Sonata as a loaner. I loved the car. At the time is was the getting headlines and had safety features that you could not get on other cars. The space, the ride, quality, reliability has all been a dream. As my third Hyundai I found my car. A black Sonata. In 5 years I will have put about 35,000 miles on my car. Still looks great inside and rides great too. It is when I decide to go on highway trips that I realize how much I like the car. Way different than my Elantras."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sonata 2006 GLS

November 7, 2010
By jabs
from Florida
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Well, I purchased my sonata from the first owner who left 74k on it when I bought it. I liked it so much cuz of the design and the its width. I do not like the tiny cars like elantra. Anyways, I found some bad stuff in it like:
1- Seat belt lamp is on and it won't go off. I did some research in the internet and all said it was a defect from the factory. The dealer might show some mercy and change the seat or the whole seat belt but it will turn on again after some time.
2- I think I have a problem with the fuel pump maybe. When I fix the speed on 53-55, the car starts like shocking or not steady. Not too much but noticeable. I hate that.
3- I have a feeling that it is not as sturdy as Toyota or Honda. It is just a feeling.
Overall, I like it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value - Great Features

September 20, 2010
By like it is
from Belleville, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Always owned American until 2006 when looking for a new car - decided to take a look at the Hyundai Sonata ... bought it - next year, 2007, bought wife one too. Now, the 2006 is for sale because I bought the 2011 Sonata. You owe it to yourself to give it some serious thought."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good job Hyundai

September 3, 2010
By Slodge
from New York
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned my Sonata GL 2006 V6 for 4 1/2 yrs now. I've done 46,500 happy miles. The only problem I've had is the power seat switch which has been replaced twice (under warrantee) and some minor visor problems all fixed by the dealer. Hyundai's service tries really hard to satisfy. The V6 is a joy and with a gentle foot I can get 30 to 31 mpg at 60 to 65mph. After nearly five years the car is still smooth, tight and rattle free.
I miss a MP3 connection.
I would recommend a Sonata anytime"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just keeps on ticking

July 15, 2010
By Sonota Owner
from U.P. of Michigan
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased this car with 19K on it and just drove it and drove it and drove it. Now has 110K with no major problems. Only complaint is the brakes seem to need replacing too often. The interiror in plain, but servicable on the 2006 model (however it was upgraded in later years). I used this as my personal vehicle for awhile, then gave it to my sales staff to drive into the ground. They love it. 30+/- MPG highway, roomy and a good ride. This is a great car for the money if you are looking for an inexpensive, yet comfortable and dependable car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good car for teens

June 21, 2010
By 2boys
from Massachusetts
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"bought car for 17 and 19 yo sons to share; safety features with airbags, ESC, and 4 cylinder engine make it the perfect car for teen drivers."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

reliable feature-laden value care

June 14, 2010
By value buyer
from wisconsin
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The limited trim design boasts a sunroof, 6cd changer, heated leather seats and a telescoping tilt wheel. The first is for anyday above 70F, the third for anyday below 50F, and the rest is for just plain anyday. Handling is a bit soft in emergency scenarios, but the electronic stability control with abs breaking is much welcomed in a (used) car at this price point. Safety is nationally double-rated at 5-star maximum, including side impact. Reliability has been above average. I would feel safer with a car having front and rear stabilizer bars, but this proves a dependable and comfortable commuter."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice clean car

March 2, 2010
By likes cars
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The exterior has too much damage. The inside is very nice and looks comfortable. The car is reliable and looks nice"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Exiting

June 9, 2009
By Retired
from Newfoundland, Canada
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The raised sides of the front seats make it quite difficult when exiting our vehicle. It's a situation both my wife and I find extremely inconvenient. When we buy again it's one of the conditions we'll avoid for sure."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice, but not perfect!

April 4, 2009
By a picky driver, apparently
from Texas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"If you're looking for an amazing deal, the Sonata is one. It has tons a features, a smooth ride, and it looks good, too. I only have a few complaints. My Sonata is the '06 LX V6, by the way.
Here's the bad/interesting:
1 - the MP3 player likes IDv1.1 tags best, if you have your music tagged with a later version of the tagging system, it'll sometimes get stuck between the tracks.
2 - Poor transmission behavior takes a lot of fun out of the V6 for me.
3 - The headlights go dim sometimes when you let up on the gas. According to what I've learned from my ScanGuage, during deceleration between a certain speed range, the car actually cuts off fuel to the engine. During this event, it also cuts off the A/C compressor, and takes the alternator offline, consequently reducing the amount of power going to the headlights.
4 - The stock tires (Michelins) were terrible in the rain, but made the car feel very sporty on dry pavement.
5 – I don’t find the seats cradle me enough and that amplifies the effects of body-roll. If you want to see what I mean, go sit in the new Nissan Altima, but I think it has slightly less body roll than my friend's '08 Altima.
6 – the passenger seat-back rattles if nobody is sitting in it, at one point I took it in and they fixed it, but it’s gone loose again. I feel like there should be a spring that pulls it forwards when you pull up on that bar, but there isn’t.
At any rate, all my family and friends love the car. It's very nice cruising on the highway, delivering about 35 MPG. People who ride in it always have nice things to say. It has plenty of power, when it finally decides to give it to you. And even though it doesn’t have the subwoofer, it still sounds better to me than my friend’s Infiniti Q45. For me, this car has such potential for greatness, there are just a few things holding it back."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good car, good value

January 17, 2009
By Me
from Somerville, MA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this car on the advice of my brother who had rented and enjoyed Sonatas before. I really like the V6 engine for quick starts, especially merging onto highways in the city. I also enjoy the adjustable-height driver's seat because I'm short. It's a nice seat also because you can adjust the lumbar support and the head rest. Radio and cruise controls are directly on the steering wheel for easy use. Generally, the number of extra features included at a price that is a lot less than Toyota or Honda (like the moon/sun roof) is especially nice."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best car for the dollar

November 29, 2008
By sold on sonata
from pasco wa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"wife did bunch of research and thought the Azera was the car. Found a used loaded '06 Sonata and had change of mind and couldn't be happier. 3.3 goes like all get out, heated leather is great(and hard to find), very roomy even for 6'2" in back,trunk is amazing, and styling is still good. Must be alot of others that are catching on to the quality as am seeing more and more. Only problem has been recall on pass. seat for air bag. Fun to drive!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

one hot car

October 4, 2008
By motorhaed
from Orlando,Fl
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"this car is pretty hot i hope to try the manual mode some daythe car is pretty fast to and only needs about 2 fill up in a full week"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best Hyundai i owned so far.

September 18, 2008
By Fc
from San Francisco, Ca
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 2006 Sonata is of best values in the Automotive industry, the best feature the car is value and build quality of this vehicle.
I remember Buying this car brand new 2 years ago in september. What attracted me to this car was the Aquamarine color and 17 inch alloy wheels and sunroof.
The performance of the vehicle is very good and even though gas is high i still would want the V6 version over the 4 cylinder, once you get on the freeway the V6 is worth it price of admission to be honest the V6 only loses 2 mpg in real world driving.
Inside the car i like the soft feel the Premium cloth seats, power driver's seat, the Mp3 Cdplayer for base stereo it is very good.
After two years of ownership i give this car 99 out 100 for reliability. If you want resale value and reputation the sonata is not for you, if you wanna spend about 6,000 less after rebates the sonata is for you."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most reliable car I have ever owned

July 22, 2008
By Jazz Fan
from White Plains, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We have had a number of Hyundai's and they have improved greatly over the years. This Sonata is the best I have had and I plan to buy a new one next year. It is reliable and survived a crash with a rogue deer, so much for Bambi. Now repaired it is better than ever. We love it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my Sonata

April 22, 2008
By Katie
from IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I previously owned a 1996 Saturn SL2 and got around 33 mpg. I was wanting a bigger car with comparable gas mileage, and after much research, the Sonata (rated at 30-34 mpg highway) fit perfectly. I bought a used 2006 Sonata GL (4cyl). I originally fell in love with the styling of the 2005 Sonata, but I like the upgrades they made in 2006. I get around 29 mpg, which is a little less than I was expecting since 90% of my driving is highway and it's rated 30-34 mpg highway. But I guess 29 is still good. It looks so classy inside, I love the new style of the dash. I would definitely recommend it to a friend (and have!) and would buy another one after this one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2006_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only thing I would change is the cup holders

April 15, 2008
By Sonata Lover
from victorville Ca
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Other than the cup holders(accesabilty), I wouldn't change a thing. I absolutly love my car! It handles with no hesitation, stops on a dime, and I think it looks quite stylish. The trunk room is more than enough. If you sit in the back you have plenty on leg room. I will most definatly buy one again when the time comes."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.