Customer Reviews for 2006_Mazda_Tribute

2006_Mazda_Tribute

Average Customer Rating:
4 of 5
4
 of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
12 of 15(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Review 1 for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value vehicle.

March 20, 2014
By Doug45ACP
from Clinton, IA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was looking for a Ford Escape. While doing some research I found that the 2006 Mazda Tribute was made side-by-side with the Escape by Ford here in the U.S. Mine is not fancy. The seats are just something to sit on. I'm not sure why, but mine has no cruise control, but it is a 5-speed. It's 4 cylinder FWD and so far I'm getting very good gas mileage. The exterior looks great and I've had a lot of positive comments about it. This was good buy for me."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my Mazda

February 21, 2014
By Kimberly
from Georgia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have been through two accidents with it (being hit from the rear). This car has held up great one was hit by an F150 the other I was just rear ended and they tagged the left side. Got her fixed and she still runs like new."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Second generation

February 11, 2014
By wiki
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"n 2007 for the 2008 model year, the Tribute was significantly revamped, like its Ford Escape and Mercury Mariner siblings. Originally set to be renamed the Mazda CX-5, the vehicle kept the Tribute name. The changes were significant, but fell short of a "clean sheet" redesign, as the vehicles remained on the CD2 platform, and kept the old 2.3 L MZR I4, and 3.0 L AJ V6 engines."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great fo the price.

September 28, 2013
By Noebug
from Central Florida
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my second Mazda Tribute. I love them. No issues. I am finding it harder and harder to find newer ones. Looking for a newer Mazda Tribute with towing package."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2006 Tribute, good value in a used car

April 16, 2012
By 70 Hoss
from Austin TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Mazdas have recently been rated highest in used car reliability by JD Powers. Good enough for me. I own two 2006 Mazda Tribute i models, both are very reliable and get decent mileage for a 4 cyl. 4000 lb SUV. I also own a 2005 Mazda6i sedan, another great car. Cheap to operate and insure, they are bulletproof and very crash-worthy. My daughters and son-in-law recently survived a 65 mph cow strike, followed 10 seconds later by a t-bone hit at 40 mph by a big pickup pulling a loaded 2 horse trailer wearing a brush bar on the front... can you say "locomotive"? The three passengers came out with only minor bruises. After insurance totaled the rig, my daughter went out and bought another '06 Tribute... Can't blame her. It's one safe and reliable little truck."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

poor transmission

November 12, 2011
By poor transmission
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"initially i didn't like the a/c performances and i still don't. we purchased the car brand new. after 80,000 miles we are having to get new transmission. we are being told that they(repair company) see a lot of mazdas and ford escaptes with this problem. i am not a happy camper b/c i don't we should be replacing a transmission at 80,000 miles. we have always had the truck serviced."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Made Right Choice

July 2, 2010
By MJ
from Albany, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Purchased used one year ago and was hesitant as never owned a used car before, but we all are aware of the economy. Always liked Mazda style and packaging and the car does not disappoint. Very pleased, handles great, comfortable, nice looking vehicle. Zips along on highway at 75-80 with ease, gas mileage isn't bad at all. Will definitely go back to Mazda, never been a Honda or Toyota fan, never will be.
Could use little more sound deadening but hopefully new tires I am putting on will help with that."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Would not recommend this vehicle

January 15, 2010
By Disappointed in Texas
from Dallas, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I own a 2006 Mazda Tribute w/ v6 and am surprisingly disappointed in it. The transmission blew at 58000 miles, and research online reveals this is a "not so uncommon" issue w/ the CD4E transmission in the tribute. It seems to require more maintenance than other newer cars I have owned. One very annoying feature is despite putting the air/heat on the recirculate option, all outside odors come into the car. Lastly, basic parts are wearing out: CD changer skips frequently, rattle in driver side door, driver side visor/mirror loose and non functioning, several of the plastic coverings for bolts, etc. coming off, seatbelt cover broken off. Despite a new transmission the car seems to be riding rough and possibly "slipping" again.
I was happy with the car regarding comfort and handling and features. It has been reliable until the transmission issue. I am currently looking to trade it in for a Honda CRV...my original car of choice when I bought the Tribute. Lesson learned.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

109,000 miles on my 2002 Tribute

August 18, 2009
By Moe
from Arizona
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"No problems, love my Tribute. Have never owned a vehicle for this long. I'm going to trade it for another if they can pry this one out of my hands! Nothing more than routine maintenance and the transmission went around 60,000 miles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Mini SUV

April 4, 2007
By Harvard15
from Jeffersonville, Indiana (Louisville Metro)
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a great Ford product by a Japanese manufacture. We opted for the Mazda Tribute over the Ford Escape for a different SUV. Seems like tons and tons of Ford Escapes on the road, but not as many Tributes. We live in an Urban part of Southern Indiana and this mobile works well in city traffic with easy maneuvering our congested freeways. We were impressed with its comfort, style and ride. We have owned this vehicle for 2 years and to date have had no problems other than normal scheduled maintenance. I would recommend this to anyone seeking a quality built automobile by Ford Motor. On another note, buy now, because the 2008 Tribute redesign is not very nice, in my opinion."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

5 year in builting, but still having basic problem

January 29, 2007
By Camping skiing hiking lover
from Montreal, Québec
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have chosen this truck beacause I really love the look and the overall package, I have a trailer tent and it is the perfect setup to do camping. good power, low gaz consuption. easy to move. Can accomodate 4 with no problem and as more laugage space than Rav4 or CR-V's.
One bad note that I have never expected, the back door (tail gate) is closing on the frame. Mazda canada took 6 months to figure they have to change the gate. 6 month of banging the door on frame. For a 5 year built truck , this is desapointing.
But never the less, I love my thruck now and I don' t plant on changing it.
The truck is good, but choose your dealer."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I like the car like higher ride.

January 22, 2007
By Tata
from Chandler
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got a 2006 Mazda Tribute now 4 months ago. I love it. It is a inexpensive vehicle, but it looks like a million bucks. I have color matched bumper, which makes it look that much nicer. I like sitting higher up, while not feeling much different from driving a car. I loved all the safety features. The next time I buy a car, if it stays as nice in the years to come, I am likely to get another one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best SUV I've Owned so far!

November 22, 2006
By Joel
from Inverness, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great SUV for you and your family!!! The performance is great. I have a 3.0L V6 version and you can feel the power of the car. I love driving my Mazda Tribute to work and for out of town trips with family!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Enjoyable SUV

August 17, 2006
By Trevor from manhattan
from Manhattan, kansas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just bought the Tribute and Ive got to say that The price for the vehicle is outstanding considering the quality of the car. I was very suprised how the Tribute handled when I test drove it. It defenatly handles like a car. Very stylish and very dependable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2006_Mazda_Tribute
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best of 10 small SUVs I drove

June 23, 2006
By Palmer
from Phoenix
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Handling and suspension are surprisingly tight and responsive. Corners like a car. Interior not cheap looking and the sound system is also suprising in its quality. Cruise-control, power package, road side assistance and free loaner was part of the standard sales package. I think it's one of the best cars I've owned in terms of value. It's not an Exterra but it does handle country roads in rocky, dusty Arizona passably well. It's primarily a city car however, and so far (8600 miles) I'm really impressed with it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.