Customer Reviews for 2006_Saab_9-3

2006_Saab_9-3

Average Customer Rating:
4.385 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
34 of 39(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_Saab_9-3
Review 1 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car

June 18, 2014
By GW
from New York State
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently traded mine in, I had it for more than 8 years and put 173K miles on it. I changed the battery at four years, had a cranking sensor problem at 6 years. Other than that, just changed fluids and new tires when needed. Only complaint about the car is the suspension wasn't particularly good..crunchy, noisy, bumpy. Other than that....flawless. As far as I know, the dealer I traded in to sold the car in a day or so."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car so far!

May 22, 2014
By Noah
from Holland, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had my 2006 saab 2.0t for almost a year. All I have needed to do is change the oil, and do normal maintmence. It runs great, has good power, and does great in all weather. It does great in the snow, it never left me stuck in this terrible michigan winter. The only con of this car is the rattles, if you have the radio on the door rattles and that bugs me. Other than that great car and I would really recommend it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprisingly satifying car

May 16, 2014
By Was indifferent about Saab before... now love ours
from Wilton, CT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Saab is out of business - sort of. They withdrew from the US market, but still make the 9-3 car under new ownership for Sweden and China. Thjis means parts are avaialble for the foreseeable future for this model only.
In any case, we bought ours new in 2006 and have never regreted it. Nothing went wrong for 70,000 miles, just using the Oil Life Management System and keeping the car running with oil changes about every 10,000 miles. At 70,000 the alternator needed replacing. That solved the dead battery every two years issue - took two batteries our four years to solve).
At 117,000 miles we need to replace the brushes and the shocks in the suspension, plus one spring broke. Total cost, $1300. Suspensions in the northeast go at about this mileage, my previous Hondas and Toyota needed the same at this point. At 100,000 I needed a headlight, and needed the second headlight at 120,000. Again, normal wear an tear.
At 120,000 also needed a new vaccum pump for $300. Nothing major, just minor annoyances.
The car has great handling and can keep up with the 3 series from BMW if you push it. Ride is not as nice as the BMW but it comes close enough. Back seat room is limited, and the standard 2.0 L turbo engine with 210 horsepower gets the car going in a hurry with a 0-60 time of about 7.8 seconds with the automatic transmission. Better yet, the gas mileage is very good with 24 average in city, 32 mpg on the highway (although have done as good as 36 mpg a few times).
The seats are comfortable in the front and the fit and finish is not bad. The suspension rattles a lot when it wears, so for about from 70,000 to 117,000 it rattled - but now that it is new, all ther rattles are gond again.
So a nice, reliable sports car that is fun to drive and good for long trips as well. What is there not to like?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my 2006 9-3

November 22, 2013
By jatpa
from Harrisburg, PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The best car I ever had. 75,000 miles and still running like new. The space in the back is not spacious enough for a tall person. Otherwise, a great car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth Keeping

August 28, 2013
By Bryan
from Virginia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I love my 2006 SAAB 93 it had a nice sporty drive feel and is extremly comfortable for trips. The trunk has a tone of storage and the passenger room is on the better side of average. I also love the body style. The interior is a nice grey leather and the materials are fantastic and feel high quality. I docked 2 points off on the interior however due to the useless phone buttons and poor dash design that has an overwelming number of buttons. I took 1 point off value since if you bought it new the value dropped really fast once you drove it off the lot. I also took a point from performance just due to the fact that the engine is capable of more power if tuned, although its fine the way it is. Lastly I took points off for reliability since around 60k miles I had both my front coil springs sheer, don't know how. I also had one window regulator fail."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car Ever!!

June 10, 2013
By vanialex
from Phoenix, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had my 2006 Saab Wagon for two years and it is the best car I have ever had. My husband owns a BWM 525i and prefers to performance of my car to his not to mention that his BMW is constantly needing repair for this and that while in over the two years that I've had mine the only thing I had to change out was a battery! I have gone from Honda, Toyota, Chevy, BMW to my now Saab and I cant honestly say that it's a keeper!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great SUV Alternative

May 29, 2013
By Saabaholic
from Lakewood NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Qk so I'm a little prejudiced about cars. I hate every SUV on the road. I don't understand why people can't just buy a station wagon. Having said that you know what Saab stands for' something almost always broken.'I bought my 2006 Saab Sport Combi Wagon in 2009. The first problem was the sunroof wouldn't close without pressing the bypass button on the driver door armrest. Then the passenger window would go up and come right back down. That was a 100 dollar fix by the dealer something to do with the computer. Then the right headlight blew 200 dollar fix. Then the left headlight blew. The brakes went south last month an 800 dollar fix. All the tires have been replaced. The front suspension makes a lot of noise at 76,000 miles don't know if there's anything wrong , Oh and the wipers stopped working last month as well . That was a 300 dollar fix.Needless to say Saab is out of business but the general public seems either unknowledgeable or indifferent about this fact."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastics!

February 2, 2013
By Saab Forever!
from Maryland
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I put 50,000 miles on my 2.0T since I bought it used in 2010. Great car: fantastic seats, great steering, quiet, the engine performance at low revs is amazing! I've recently tested (for my wife) Volvo's new 250hp S60, some Accura, but performance is nowhere near my Saab. The interior has some cheap plastics, sure, but it's definitely got the fundamentals right: safe, comfortable, performance, reliable, very good on gas. The design has aged gracefully. I would buy a new one in a heartbeat, unfortunately that is not an option anymore..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2006 Saab 9-3 Wagon - Great car so far

August 28, 2012
By Radj
from Boston, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I just recently purchased this 2006 Saab 9-3 2.0 Turbo wagon and it's the most comfortable and smooth car I have ever driven. I think for the money, this is a great choice. Saab may have gone out of business, but their product is top notch. I have not owned it long so I cannot speak to the long term reliability, but so far I am very happy I purchased it. Based on the fact that I saved $3-4k compared to other choices I had, I have no problem spending a bit more on maintenance over the next few years because this is such a nice ride."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Proud 2.0t Convertible owner

June 29, 2012
By Mr. A
from Seattle, WA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I really don't have much bad to say about this car. It's great all around. And it's an AMAZING value."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car for the money

April 16, 2012
By gito
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"2006 SAAB 93 with 75,000 miles. Car was in excellent condition. Everything worked on the car and even had extended warrantee till June 2012. I have nothing but good comments about this car. Acceleration is great, fuel economy is good at 23 mpg average (the digital readout is off by about 2-2.5 mpg - I have done manual calculations to confirm). This is a sport suspension. You can really feel the road. If you are looking for a cushy ride, this is not for you. Due to the situation with SAAB ownership, these cars have not held up their re-sale value which make them an excellent buy for a car enthusiast. They are ussually more loaded than the comparative sister vehicles of GM (Malibu, Regal,...) but resale values are lower. They share a lot of body parts with GM vehicles but their powertrains are still unique to SAAB. I have never seen a SAAB with anything but leather interior. You will definitely enjoy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Choice. Very good value for the money.

March 27, 2012
By Saab 1
from West Bloomfield, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am very happy with my choice, this cars are sporty in a very smoorg way, but also up scale, the compare to Volvo but the airplane inspired dashboard wins.
If you are looking for European style but can't pay for the 3 top germans. This is a great choice.
By the way I picked a 2006 over a 2007 on low milage and condition but I also liked the dasboard better without the standard stereo unit from. GM.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Car of the Money

August 16, 2011
By DrMrMom
from Libertyville, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 9-3 is returning 27 mpg city and 36 mpg highway with the 5-speed automanual. It passes other cars quickly on the highway and rides like it is on rails. Excellent handling. The suspension is set for handling not comfort. You can feel hard bumps but it is not jarring. Very reliable. You would be hard pressed to find a better used car for the money. Don't let the demise of Saab stop you from buying this car. From 2006 and on it is really an Opel at heart. There will be parts to fix it in the future if needed."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Safest car ever

May 1, 2011
By Saab enthusiast
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Safety, Safety, Safety!!!
Was involved in an accident where the other driver (street racing at the time) struck my Saab at the right rear corner sending me across the intersection and into a brick wall, then back into a light pole. My left arm was pinned by the pole. When I regained consciousness, the paramedics pulling me out were surprised anyone even survived the wreck. Had it not been for the rollcage construction of that car, I would have at least been left a parapelgic and probably lost my arm. Can't say enough good things about it.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

on our second Saab

February 15, 2011
By Keystone
from Colorado Springs, CO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It is sporty with economy. The turbo on a 2.0l engine is all we need to get up and over the high mountain passes or around snail man in an instant. Able to squeeze close to 40mpg out of it on th highway. Around 26 in the city."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Really good car

February 10, 2011
By saab93turbo4
from New Jersey
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I honestly love my 06 Saab 9-3 2.0T. There have always been mixed reviews on Saab's reliability especially in the 9-3 range. It seems like some reviewers have a terrible car and some have an excellent car, there really never seems to be a grey area with Saabs. Fortunately, for me, I believe that I have a very reliable one. It has had a few electronic-related quirks in the first few months that I owned it, but not anymore. The car always starts right up whether it has 4 feet of snow covering the hood on a 5 degree morning or sun beaming down on a 95 degree summer afternoon. Living in New Jersey, we get the extremes of all four seasons and this vehicle has performed admirably in each and every one. I would definitely recommend this vehicle to anyone in the market of something like an Audi A4 or BMW 3- series. It may not be for all, but for those who can appreciate the understated Scandinavian design and quirky interior touches, you will be very pleased. Keep in mind that test drives are still free, so try out everything in your price range before you buy it. Performance is great in the car as well. Go easy on the gas pedal and you can easily achieve over 30MPG highway. The nice thing about the small turbo is tons of power when you need it, but a small, efficient engine when you don't. It really is an ideal blend of both. Handling is very good, and not just "for a front-wheel drive car" but simply good in general. I do wish that the 13 speaker sound system had deeper bass and that the front seats more more contoured, but those are my only complaints about the interior. The 9-3 is definitely worth at least a 20 minute test drive, it could surprise you and be the one you end up with."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Bang for your Buck

September 25, 2010
By ClutchBurner21
from Buffalo, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought an '06 AERO with 29k miles on it, it now has almost 38k. I love driving it, however the gas mileage could be better. It's mainly because of the 2.8L turbo. Besides that, the exterior is stylish and well built. The interior is not like that of a BMW, but still fancy. The car has been in the shop more times in 1 year than my old BMW that I had for 9 years. Mostly minor things such as resetting lights, or a loose gas cap. I would consider buying this car again in the future! Great car, you get way more for your money than you would for a BMW or Audi."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun little car

June 4, 2010
By BB
from Western, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this car used 2 years ago with around 25k on it and it now has around 60k. I haven't had a single problem with the electrical system or any of the mechanics for that matter. I think overall this car is incredibly reliable and most of the reviews you will see of it are from the people who have had a bad experience with it.
The 2.0 turbo is fast and also gets excellent gas mileage. The fit and finish of the interior is not quite the same as you will get from an Audi or BMW but it is still quite impressive, especially considering the price point.
Overall, I have to say that I would purchase this car again in a heartbeat.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Saab 2006 2.0T Convertible

March 10, 2010
By I could name them all at age 3
from St. Louis Metro-East, Illinois
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this car from a dealer who specializes in low-mileage, high-end sports and luxury cars, i.e. Mercedes, Cadillac, BMW. I was looking for a nice, low-mileage convertibe for my wife. I couldn't keep my eyes off the Saab. The convertilbe top is well engineered (and fun to watch)and the vehicle is loaded with extras. The turbo and the shift option on the trasmittion controls makes this car fun to drive. Gas mileage is outstanding. Interior fit and finish is very good. One complaint- the some of the dash materials are a bit cheap and a few sqweeks have developed. We receive many complements on this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2006_Saab_9-3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A sweetheart of a deal!

January 28, 2010
By Saab Story
from Libertyville, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 2006 Saab 9-3 Super Sport is a wonderful sports sedan. I purchased the 2.0 liter 4-cylinder turbo model with a 5-speed auto stick manual. The car is very quick and fun to drive. I am getting 23 mpg around time in the dead of winter. The ergonomics are wonderful. The engine idles smoothly with very little body shake. I would recommend this car to anyone."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.