Customer Reviews for 2006_Subaru_Baja

2006_Subaru_Baja

Average Customer Rating:
4.571 of 5
4.6
 of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Review 1 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Subaru

September 10, 2014
By Ann
from Taos, NM
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the 2006,5 speed, turbo. I'm still getting used to the turbo , the car really takes off. I've only had this car for a month and I bought a 3 year warrenty with it so I don't expect any problems."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Little Vehicle

May 10, 2014
By Ghosting
from NE Oregon
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently bought a 2003 5-speed with 74k miles. I had looked into the Baja when they came out, but with a large family, a vehicle that only seats four didn't make sense. Now with two kids through college, it was a logical choice. I looked at the Turbo as well, but ultimately decided I didn't need the extra power, and also read that those motors were less reliable.
It is a rock solid vehicle that is zippy and grippy to drive. It allows you to haul small loads of garbage and recycling without having to worry about trashing the interior of your vehicle (as has happened in our old minivan). Since I bought this vehicle, I have had dozens of people ask me about it, and claim that they wish they could have one. It seems odd, as the reviews of the Baja when it came out panned it, and sales weren't great.
This vehicle also holds its value. They regularly sell for over bluebook, and I imagine that trend will continue as they become more and more rare."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

almost perfect

January 10, 2014
By Highlands Hovel
from Florida and West Virginia
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car was bought as an errand runner and to go up the mountain road to the cabin in the snow. The driver's and passenger's seats are comfortable for long periods once you get in, getting in is tight for tall or heavy folks. The more aggressive may look for a turbo, but for my driving style the standard model is more than adequate for efficient driving. I tow a 54 inch X 96 inch aluminum trailer with ATV on it and the Baja pulls it just fine. I ordered an ARE topper for the bed so we can take stores and baggage on road trips as the folded down back seat belongs to the dog. Frankly this vehicle is as close to perfect for my needs as anything else out there."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

baja

May 26, 2013
By stubby
from rock springs wy
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"this is the second one we have had she hit a bridge with the last one totaled it bought this one 2 months later and its just as good as the last one you can haul 4 people and a small amount of cargo nothing large or heavy remember to change timeing belt and radiator /water pump/t stat every 100,000 miles and it will go 300k or more the early ones had head gasket problems if you can see if it has been done if not have it done tune ups at 100k and if your year has the fuel filter under the hood change it twice a year"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

06 Subaru Baja

July 16, 2012
By fitzgeoff
from Baton Rouge
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is close to perfect. The open bed means you can do most the work that any pick-up can do but it hugely more comfortable whether it's commuter driving around town or cross country. It's also amazing where the AWD can get you without getting all scratched out like the big-beast pickup trucks would get. Also, highway is 28 mpg. My combined has been around 25mpg. Other than a limited towing capacity, a Subaru Baja is the best all round, do-anything truck there is. If you could have only one vehicle, this would be it. It is a 4door sedan, a truck, an all wheel drive go anywhere utility vehicle and it is one of the most reliable vehicles made, perhaps the most reliable vehicle made."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reliable, Stylish and Safe

January 3, 2012
By Mssally
from Kilgore, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"All the above. It's a true Cruck. Good seating in car type cab for four and great little bed for hauling potting soil, dog food, etc.
Bring Back the Baja!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

How did these things not sell better?

November 30, 2011
By SubiConvert
from St. Louis, MO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had my Baja for a few months now, and have fallen in love. I rarely haul anything too big, and I don't carry drywall or plywood, so the 44"x41" bed is a good fit for most of my hauling, and with the bed extender, I can carry most anything I need.
I have the turbo version, so the performance is exceptional. It handles better than anything with over 9" of ground clearance should.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Nice!

November 29, 2011
By Vehicle to hold my style of driving :)
from Lowman, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my Baja!!! This car handles so smooth, corners real nice - would recommend to anyone. The only complaint I have is that Subaru quit making these in 2006. I love this car!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best for snowy roads

August 8, 2011
By Mountain Racer
from WNC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I LOVE THIS 06 TURBO and would own no other. When my neighbors are snowed in, waiting for the roads to clear, I have freedom to explore the beautiful snowy countryside. This car/truck hugs the road like a sports car. Well...to me it is a sports car, it handles these mtn curves beautifully, with plenty of power to pass slow pokes on the road. I also love not having a huge gas bill like with a truck. Another big bonus is being able to haul things for the garden, lumber and other large items that would dirty up the interior or wouldn't fit in a regular car. I have had no problems with this car, I only have to do regular maintenance."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2006 Subaru Baja Sport

August 2, 2011
By Segundo
from SW PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I love this vehicle. My other vehicle was eating me alive on fuel for my daily commute so I was looking for something better. I selected the Baja because of the styling and the increased fuel economy and have not been sorry. It is a shame that Subaru decided to stop production on this vehicle since most of the people who see it are interested in it as well. Just wish the roof was a tad taller so I would not have to bend like a pretzel to enter."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So Far, So Good

May 7, 2011
By EADavis
from Crawfordville, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the vehicle used with 58K miles, so far, I'm pleased especially with the 27 mpg. The comfort is ok, a little tight for an older person, but easy to get in and out of. Performance suitable for me, but you will not win a race. Does not have great excelleration. Exterior is really cute, I get a lot of comments. Interior is a little tight for me and I'm 5"1" and the cup holders are a little odd for comfort. I do feel I got a good deal for the money. The reliability has been great. I've hauled a number of things now and that has been great unloading at waist high level and you can a suprising amount of "stuff" in the bed."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Versatility!!

April 26, 2011
By Rico
from Houston
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The most practical car I have ever owned!! Everything is engineered perfectly! It is quiet, comfortable, spacious, and handles like a car even though some would call it a truck. The turbo is fantastic!!!
The downside is the gas mileage suffers a bit and takes premium. I average 22mpg, which is not horrible.
I would buy this vehicle again without hesitation. The AWD system is great in the rain and snow too. While the rear wheel drive trucks are spinning out, I keep on truckin'.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first SUV that didn't look like one!

December 13, 2010
By Former Jeep Chick
from Helix, OR
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I love the mix of station wagon and pickup truck. It reminds me of the El Camino I always wanted, but it runs better and is AWD. Already the AWD has gotten me though some nast weather! The back is great as I live on a small hobby farm and can haul smaller farm items without needing a large (and gas sucking) pickup. I also love the outdoors, so gear fits great in the back!
The only problem I've encountered is a touchy front headlight that keeps going out. I've heard this is a common issue with Subarus.
Overall, love the zippy little thing. I've been driving Jeep Wagoneers and Cherokees, so while I'm still getting used to the lower seat, I'm enjoying the better gas mileage!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my Baja!!!!

May 12, 2009
By Rumdawg
from Covington, VA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"I am so happy with this vehicle. Very smooth ride and quiet. I've always loved the way the Baja looks. In fact, I also liked the Brat in it's time. But the Baja makes the Brat look like a joke. The interior of this vehicle is cherry. You'd be proud to take a date out for a night on the town with this little ride. And if it snows, no problem.
Mine is silver in color. My favorite color scheme is black on top and silver on the bottom. But that was not offered on 2006 models. As they only offered solid colors for 2006 models. And personally, silver is my favorite. Lucky for me as mine was bought used. I will baby this vehicle for some time to come......
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brilliant Aesomeness!

March 15, 2009
By Yogi
from Colorado
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love these things.
I've owned three of these,
I will never own anything else ever again!
Power, versatility, reliability, sports car handling, and style. You can't go wrong.
JCRG
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bring back the Baja!

February 10, 2009
By Blue Baja
from Wny
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just like Subie groupie, we had an 03 Baja. We hung on to it longer, just trading it in 09 for a used 06 with low miles. We just couldn't find anything else that was as useful and comfortable (not to mention safe) as the Baja. If SOA advertised them, they would have sold a ton! They are great off road, can haul all sorts of home improvement and gardening items, are amazing in the snow (who needs to shovel?) and have very unique looks. If I had to describe the Baja in 3 words or less, it would be Swiss Army Knife! I wish they had offered heated seats and the hard tonneau on more than the Baja turbo with leather, but even without those options I love my Baja. I don't know what we're going to do when we have to buy a replacement for the 06, I'm just glad we have a few years before we have to worry about that!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Dream Car

January 4, 2007
By Subie Groupie
from Kansas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When I found out 2006 would be the final model year for the Baja, I was crushed. I'd finally found my dream car and wouldn't you know, it was being discontinued! My husband had our 2003 Baja at the dealership for routine service and saw a blue 2006 there. Sigh. What to do, what to do?
Externally, there was no difference between the shape of the two cars. But inside, the 2006 was even more fabulous than our 2003. Vinyl door panels rather than velour--much better for dog-owning Midwesterners who have lots of snow, ice, and mud in the forecast! The seats (also vinyl, but with a tweedy seat surface) have even cushier, snugger lumbar support. We caved and bought the Bluebaru.
Quite simply, this is my dream car--powerful enough without being ridiculous, handles like a dream, looks great, quiet, nice stereo. (Subaru loads its cars so the moonroof is standard.) Now that it's discontinued, I'll be driving it a LOOOONG time.
Because the Baja is a niche ride, the owners are a bit culty. We always receive a cheerful wave when we meet another Baja on the road, and it seems there are more of them in town each month."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's the brakes that I have a problem with

November 15, 2006
By 2005 baja
from flatwoods, ky
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The brakes and the local subaru service dept.; subaru could've have transferred the seat heaters over from their other models and the sound system lacks umph. other than those things, it's everything that the reviews have mentioned. I hope to hang onto mine until they bring them back out again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will never let you down!

October 6, 2006
By Sandy
from Morgantown, WV
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm a loyal Subaru owner, and the Baja hasn't let me down. It's a small truck, with seating for five, which is great if you don't want a large pickup. Subaru has really outdone themselves...Hopefully, they will start making them again, so I can trade it in for a new one when I'm ready."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2006_Subaru_Baja
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I can't imagine a more useful vehicle.

August 16, 2006
By baja
from TX
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For 95% of what I used to use a truck for, this little truck/car is perfect. Easy to park and drive around the city and very capable where the roads aren't paved; this is about as well-executed as a mid-size truck/car combination can get. Plus, it's just fun to drive in the turbo model."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.