Customer Reviews for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara

2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara

Average Customer Rating:
4.643 of 5
4.6
 of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara
Review 1 for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE IT

May 7, 2009
By Girl w/ Vitara
from Virginia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the only vehicle that I have ever owned that I have kept over two years and have no plans to get rid of it anytime soon. I love it!!!! There is plenty of room for when I take all three of my very large dogs somewhere. We took it to Florida a year or so ago, and it was my sister her two boys and me, plus all our luggage and all the boy's stuff that they had to keep them busy and there was plenty of room for everyone. We didn't have to move our seats up to give them more room. Adults will fit in the back also with plenty of leg room.
THE BEST SUV EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If I were to have to buy a new car I would buy the same thing again:)
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Car I ever had!!

October 27, 2012
By Devoted to my Suzuky
from Bridgeport , CT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this is by far a great small suv, i love it, never had a problem in 6 years!! It is a strong, reliable, fun to drive car with lots of power."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So Far So Good

August 16, 2011
By Working Mom
from Utah
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I like the looks of the vehicle and so far am very happy with the performance. I do not like the layout of the shifting handle though. And it has been very uncomfortable to sit in for very long."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Value

April 10, 2011
By Heavy Equipment Operator-35 YEARS!
from Fort Myers, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2006 Luxury Grand Vitara-4X4 in October 2006. I had one issue with the ABS wheel sensors at 30,000 miles which were both replaced under vehicle warranty. The only other issue I have is right now with the A/C. I did some diagnostics and it appears the control panel needs to be replace at $495. Everyone buys a new blower as soon as it stops working. If you pull it out and check it with power direct from the battery it probably will work. The resistor can be an issue but in my case probably not because nothing works. Generally, you would get at least one speed with the resistor.
Outside of this, the car has been fantastic for the 135,000 I have on it. One tune up at 120,000 but it wasn't having any issues. I did it as preventative maintainence. I use Mobil-1 synthetic and Mobil-1 filters. Amsoil is the best but very difficult to come by.
I think for the options that come standard you can't beat the value for the price! Toyotas were at minimum $5000 higher with less options!
I'm looking for 300,000 out of this vehicle with minimal repairs. I am a stickler on PREVENATIVE MAINTAINENCE!!!! ABSOLUTE NECESSITY IN MY BOOK!!!!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Go For It! Tight, Responsive, Reliable

February 15, 2011
By Empty Nester
from Midwest
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"While the Suzuki is not one of the most popular vehicles in the U.S., after doing some research and discovering the 7 yr/100k transferrable warranty, I was sold on it. Hubby was more of a skeptic, but once he got behind the wheel, his hesitation ceased.
I bought this for transportation to/from work and getting around. I live in the north, so 4 wheel drive really is a great option - and sometimes more a necessity. Hubby is a big guy (6'4", 275) and fits comfortably in the drivers seat. Back seat has enough leg room not to crowd anyone. This wouldn't be a vehicle for more than 4 - 3 in the back would be a very close fit.
The steering and overall handling is tight. It has power when you need it.
The ride is higher than a car, so you can see a lot more, but not as high as the largest SUV's.
I love the keyless. I don't have to look for my keys - just have them with me. The only thing to be aware of is your cell phone may interfere with the key signal. Just be sure they're in different pockets.
This is all time 4WD vehicle, so when you need it, you've got it. There's also lever to lock in 4WD. It's also got ESP - my understanding is the vehicle senses when you're losing control and will apply braking to various wheels to stablize. There's an ESP lock out for under 20mph if you want to go 4-wheeling. (Not yet.)
Mileage is approx 20 around town. I guesstimate it will be the same on the highway; I don't see that it will change much.
Not much of a "trunk" at all. I keep a basket of necessities in the back (jumper cables, windshield washer, etc) and there's room enough for groceries. Not much beyond that. I guess I'm easily adaptable because that didn't stop me.
Lots of added extras for this vehicle - heated seats, multi-cd player, stereo controls on steering wheel, sun roof, automatic headlights...
Overall, I love this vehicle.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT VALUE

July 23, 2010
By REPEAT SUZUKI OWNER
from Louisville, KY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"PREVIOUSLY OWNED A SUZUKI XL7 FOR 3 1/2 YEARS + ABOUT 80,000 MILES AND HAD SUCH GREAT EXPERIENCE WITH IT I BOUGHT AN '06 GRAND VITARA LUXURY 4X4. MY ONLY REGREAT WAS THE ORIGINAL TIRE PERFORMANCE AND NEEDING TO REPLACE AT ONLY 29,000 MILES. THE GRAND VITARA LUXURY HAS SO MANY OPTIONS IT IS UNHEARD OF IN ANY OTHER VEHILCE IN THE PRICE RANCE IT RIVALS A LUXURY VEHICLE SUCH AS A LEXUS OR SIMILAR SUV. GREAT WARRANTY BUT CAUTION IT REQUIRES A MAJOR SERVICE AT ABOUT 36,000 MILES IN ORDER TO CONTINUE THE WARRANTY. OVERALL I WILL ALWAYS THINK OF THIS AS A DEPENDABLE MEANS OF TRANSPORTATION AND LUXURY TOO. THE 4X4 OPTION AFFORDS THE SECURITY OF KNOWING IN THE SNOW AND ICE YOU STILL HAVE THE ABILITY TO TRAVEL WITH LOTS OF PEACE OF MIND. IF YOU HAVE A SOMEWHAT LIMITED BUDGET YET WANT ALL THE NICER THINGS THIS CAR IS AN EXCELLENT VALUE."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good vehicle

May 25, 2008
By ready to retire
from St Joseph, Mo
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had a G.V. luxury 4X4 It was very dependable car. I liked the styling and handling . Fuel economy was "ok". I got 22 mpg on the hyway and 19 mpg average driving. Anything over 70 mph cut mileage by at least 2mpg.
bigest dislike was cruise control. It shifted too quick in rolling hills, making it almost unuseable . The hood and headlight design cast a shadow limiting visiablity on the edge of hyway causing some concern in our area with the amount of deer.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Stay Away From The Automatic

March 16, 2008
By Rob
from Halifax, NS
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"06 Grand Vitara Leather Loaded
+On the Plus Side
+Great value for the money.
+Keyless entry / start is second to none. As long as you have the Key Fob on you you can un-lock the doors and start the engine.
+All the saftey features you could ask for and more. Anti lock brakes, ESP, Traction Control
+Home link system is great
+Heated Leather seats
+4x4 Hi/ Hi lock/ Low lock /Neutral
+Climate control is great
-Negatives
- Automatic tranny is not good on the highway. It is down-shift happy. The slightest hill will have the tranny down shifting to 4th or 3rd even though you are giving it very little gas. It revs to over 5000 RPM on even the small hills out on the Highway. Stay away from the auto tranny.
-Windshield wiper switch is backwards compared to other makes.
Buttons for power acc are not lighted.
-Rear door opens from the wrong side. Should have been hatch style and open up ward to help keep you dry when loading/un-loading in bad weather.
What could have been a GREAT SUV is really ruined by a very bad Auto tranny. If you live in a hilly area STAY AWAY FROM THE AUTO TRANNY..
I had the dealer test drive and say it is normal for the Grand Vitara to rev like that (5000RPM)
on the highway. And I had the regonal Rep take a test drive and say it is normal for the Grand Vitara to REV like this on small hills on the highway, it is normal. I have owned many cars and trucks and drivin many company cars and trucks but I have never seen an auto work this bad. Stay away from the Auto Trans.
Rob"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I LOVE my Car - Grand Vitara

August 10, 2007
By VS
from New Jersey
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I will recommend this SUV to any one as it is real value for money with great style & driving pleasure. I was looking for a good SUV & came across this from a Nisan Dealer with 10,000 miles on it but still feel likes new as it is over 20,000 miles now."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet car!!!

July 25, 2007
By I used to drive a Mustang GT
from Indiana
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I agree with the other reviews almost entirely. First of all, the car looks really sharp. I have the X-Sport package with 18 inch rims and tires, and an added sunroof. It looks real nice and stands out from the other comparable vehicles in its class like the Rav4 or CR-V and is cheaper. Other greats: the steering wheel controls, the temperature controls, the 6-disk cd in-dash changer, smooth riding and great handling. The cons: 19-20 mpg average, engine whines a bit when punched but is not too bad, a bit slow of a car for the lack of great mpg, the mpg indicator which goes up and down as the car goes slower or faster, up hills, downhills, when you let off the gas, braking, etc... It would have been nicer if the gauge just showed you what you have been averaging for mpg for the tank as a whole instead of what you are averaging every second you are driving. Or it would have been nice to take out this feature and add a compass instead. This would have been a better and more usable feature.
All-in-all, it is a great looking vehicle with nice features, for a lot less money than comparable vehicles.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This vehicle is a great value and a joy to drive

September 2, 2006
By Suzuki Johnny
from Baltimore, Md.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My version is the 4x4 luxury model. I am very impressed with the options and performance of this vehicle for the price that I paid. I am convinced this vehicle is equal in quality and economy to Honda and Toyota without the higher cost. I would recomend the addition of power seats and a more accurate mileage gauge."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Funnest, Most Useful On/Off Road Vehicle Around

August 16, 2006
By Bryan
from Denver, CO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After I put after market tires on this thing it absolutely tears it up off road. I found out that by using premium gas I get 3 MPG better gas mileage (Phillips 66) or around 22 MPG city!!! I only have two minor complaints...The options were tied into packages so I couldn't add a sunroof and I hoped for better gas mileage or would trade it for 50 more horsepower. Otherwise, this thing is SAWEEET!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great suv option

June 30, 2006
By hard to impress suv owner
from n.m. ct.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"chose the grand vitara after great consideration of two other suv's in its class. not at all sorry with my decision."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2006_Suzuki_Grand Vitara
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A whole new Suzuki!!

May 19, 2006
By Steve
from Albuquerque, NM
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased one of these in Jan 06 with the Premium package. I had wanted a small SUV that had ample room, was good on-road and off-road, lots of good features, and that I could afford. I found all these in the Grand Vitara. I looked at several other small SUVs, and none had such a good combination of all factors. I was very surprised at how well the GV drove on road. It felt very smooth and little road noise. Everything felt very solidly built. The styling is very attractive, I thought, and bore an uncanny resemblance to the RAV4. But unlike the RAV4, CRV, VUE, etc. it can actually go offroad! The interior is absolutely gorgeous. It is very well laid out and even the "aluminum" trim encircling the gauges looks very nice, and also on the shift knob and along the sides of the console (wood trim in higher models). The wood and leather of the higher models looks even better, but I'm very happy with the black mesh cloth. It all looks more expensive than it is. Its very comfortable, even in the back seat with 3 people. It was also thousands less than the toyota, even when the toyota had only a 4cyl and fewer amenities. I got my premium package with 6 disc, 7 speakers (with subwoofer), keyfob, steering wheel mounted audio/cruise controls, auto climate control, 6cyl, 4x4, 5spd auto, ABS, traction control, 2spd transfer case, and more for just under 20K. (The RAV4 with 4cyl and less "stuff" was selling for about 27K when it first debuted in my local dealerships.)
But every car has its cons. Automatic gear shifting was slightly jerky, but mostly from 1st to 2nd or when gunning the engine. Not enough to bother me, though. The car could use some more power, for when you really need to gun it, but it doesn't need to be a sports car. It could also be more fuel efficient. Suzuki has been making engines for a long time, you'd think they could either make it more powerful or more gas friendly. Preferably both, but I'd rather see more fuel economy - the power is pretty good as is. The engine also likes to whine a little when you're punching the gas, but I'm usually too busy blaring my Clarion audio system to notice!
But, in short, this Suzuki is a whole other animal than its previous incarnations. It is refined, handsome, more powerful, inexpensive and multicapable at the same time. I love it. I would buy it all over again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.