Customer Reviews for 2006_Toyota_Camry

2006_Toyota_Camry

Average Customer Rating:
4.226 of 5
4.2
 of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
24 of 31(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Review 1 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How to love a car instead of a pickup

June 10, 2006
By cliff
from benicia, ca
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This Camry is wonderful. After 40 years of owning nothing but pickups with stick shifts, I decided to go for comfort, gas mileage and an automatic transmision. I certainly found all of the above. It has electrically adustable seat, power windows, cruise control, and much more. And, when I drive 65-70 MPH on my daily 64 ,(one-way), mile commute, it gets 35 MPG. If I drive 80 MPH, which is common on 680 in Ca., it gets 31 MPG. It has the 4-cylinder engine, which I find has enough power to get on most on ramps at 65 MPH and it will go 95 MPH. (When I want to go fast, I drive my BMW Motorcycle, which will beat any stock car costing less than $225,000 in the quarter mile, including Corvettes. My motorcycle will turn a low 12 second quarter mile.)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great Car

March 31, 2014
By Aamir
from Saudi Arabia
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"An excellent car ! I have been using this since two and half year and its great car no major fault piece of mind. Its very spacious and great looking except its little noisy in cabin because of air flow. I even changed its doors sealing but still problem persists.
When I start using this it ran only 70,000KM and now 300,000KM."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car

December 1, 2013
By Camry lover
from Plymouth ma
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2006 camry se brand new it has the 3.3 V6 and i now have 200,000 miles on it.I do the regular oil changes and maintenance on it and it's been extremely reliable.Beast car I've ever owned."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Car

September 1, 2012
By Paul
from Prescott,Az. and now Shamrock,Tx.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned a lot of cars in my life and this one is one of the best cars I have ever owned. It is very reliable and has never let me down. I bought it when it had 20 thousand miles on it in 2006 and I have only had to put a battery and tires wiper blades and a few oil changes. It now has 152 thousand and still running great. more than a excellent car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

still a good car

July 30, 2012
By camry driver
from cerritos, ca
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i bought camry in 2006, it has been a great car ever since. Then I changed my job in Dec 2009, from 2009-2010 oct the car beside started twice monthly, as garaged all the time. but car never lost its function..nor need replacing parts. drove 4 months then garaged for 14 months..no problem at all. i had also 2007 altima parked for a year (run engine as twice monthly) ..everything went wrong..won't start at all plus change belt and a lot stuffs. couple small complains are the style. people think driver of camry are mostly married w kids. and braking producing weired noises if you dont use geniue Toyota pad. 2002-2006 is biggest camry of all camry, 2007 is stylish.. but smaller.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Camry I-4

April 18, 2012
By K4ajaco
from Mountain View, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Terrific car. No problems and roomy. Car was purchased used with 6,500 miles. Draw back was stains on the seats and pitted windshield. Windshield since replaced. Some times it would be nice to have a V6, but pay with gas millage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Car

April 12, 2011
By pandaexpress2401
from Orange, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First car I've owned. Was bought brand new. Used mainly to drive my parents and brothers around and getting me to work and school. Drives really nice. Problems include speakers' covers in the back chipped into pieces. Have had the battery burn off its own battery cord. A piece NEXT to the water pump came off and created this horrible noise that made me think it was going to explode. When going past 65 mph it doesn't feel too sturdy to drive especially when we get Santa Ana Winds here in OC, CA. Other than that I like the soft[?] steering, the nimbleness of the car, great mpg, maintenance cost is low for the most part. :) Probably better to get the 6 Cylinder for more horsepower for highway, but the 4 Cylinder is good for city drive. Would love the 07+ models."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could not find a better car anywhere GREAT VALUE

January 3, 2011
By doc
from little egg harbor N.J.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car,easy to maintain,great on gas mileage,comfortable on a long trip could not ask for a more reliable car.85000 miles should be good for another 100,000 miles"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best auto I've owned

May 15, 2010
By LAW
from Texas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Owned this car for 5 years have maintained properly and only needed to replace tires and battery. Most reliable auto I've owned so far."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my car

October 6, 2009
By Camry
from Oklahoma
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"There has been a break in period where this car just wanted to go go go. Now that she is broken in at 12,000 the gas mileage is going up almost by the tank full(28 if I gun it almost 33 if I drive sensibly) and the handling is smoothing out. Compaired to the buick I was driving this 4 cylender car is very snappy and holds the road great. It is a joy to drive. Quite and reliable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Engine problems

February 15, 2009
By Time to buy american
from Florida
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased this car used in the beginning of 2007 with only 6,800 miles on it, and it has been a great car until the engine problems began. It has the 3.0L V6 and is very fuel efficient yet quick when you need it to be. I always have the dealer change the oil every 3000miles to keep it running like top routine oil changes are the key to longevity, but despite my efforts the motor seized at 23,000miles due to an engine sludge problem. It has been really upsetting to deal with, I had high hopes for the car considering the good reputation of Toyota, but it is really frustrating I have never had a car suffer such a major frailer before. Now I get around in my wife’s old 1995 Saturn, and when I decide to get another new car it will not be a Toyota. I will not make that mistake again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very reliable

August 23, 2008
By Tina
from Rowlett, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Has 3 seat belts in back with lots of room. Trunk is deep and wide and seats fold down for extra room. Carries 5 people quite nicely with room in the back seat for your legs.Leather interior is great with small children and carpet is easy to clean. Car parts are comparatively cheaper than a honda and maintainence is cheaper than a honda. Handles quite nicely on wet and icy roads..Like the handling of turns and easy to parallel park. Air conditioners are excellent in these cars, just takes seconds for the cold air to start to circulate throughout the cabin of the car. Only need to change the oil every 5000 miles..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Safe and Reliable

March 31, 2008
By Natasha
from Princeton, WV
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought a 2006 Toyota Camry LE for me to drive (husband drives a 2000 Toyota Camry), and I absolutely love this car. It handles curves very well, provides a smooth ride, and feel stable on the road. This car has a very spacious interior as well."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sturdy, Peppy little car

January 12, 2008
By Ex GM guy.
from canada
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased 2nd hand off of a rental company
54 000km,and it has performed flawlessly ,now at 70,000km a year later. Very touchy steering,a bit noisy at hiway speeds, base model driver seat does put pressure under your thighs, poor rear visibility for backing up.
I find the 4 cyl has plenty of power, as does the stereo and A/C and headlamps. The great resale value helps too. Huge trunk ! and fold down rear seats for lumber or sleeping, and good summer gas milage 37mpg summer, 29 mpg winter. at 10 clicks over speed limit.
So far I love it for a small car,
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Quality is lacking

December 16, 2007
By Just a guy looking for a decent car
from Boston, MA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"1. Underpowered
2. Car has been unable to hold wheel alignment
3. Turning radius poor
4. Somewhat underpowered
5. Gas mileage poor (<30 MPG highway)
6. 2 1/4 years old, 38000 miles. Steering shaft failed. Windshield wiper linkage failed.
Now exactly what was it that is supposed to make this car great? It's not fun to drive. It's not particularly comfortable. It gets mediocre gas mileage at best. Interior amenities are poorly designed (cup holders not well set up, interior lighting logic and placement poor). And it's not reliable. Hey, at least it waited until the warranty was over before failing!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nearly perfect car

October 17, 2007
By teddy
from southbury ct
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"only negatives: Drivers seat comfort is poor--bolsters keep pressure on your thighs making it VERY uncomfortable-corrected to some degree by inserting a thin pillow in seat center/ door side panels are finished in CLOTH!!!!!!! this is a high wear area and should be finished in a plastic cloth-will not look very good for more than a short time"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

a little bit let down

August 30, 2007
By country nurse
from Bonnieville, KY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought a 2006 camry LE 4 cyl. because of high reviews but I have been dissatisfied with my decision. It now has 34,000 miles (1 1/2 yrs old) and I have already replaced the tires a few thousand miles back. The paint is coming off everywhere and rust is coming on those spots. I have had it back to the dealer a couple of times because I felt like the transmission was slipping (they tell me its normal). The transmission delay has been so bad that I have almost been rear-ended twice. Overall, I wish I had gone with the Accord."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Camry is a good car!!!

July 4, 2007
By Joe
from Wash State
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have had my 2006 Camry one year and a pleasure to drive every day with no problems. 38 MPG with the 4 cylinder and smooth as silk on the road. My 4th Camry and the best one yet."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not so hot

December 16, 2006
By Fred
from wisconsin
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is not such a great car. It pushes (understeers) badly, is louder than comparable cars, doesn't have a lot of room, and gets worse gas mileage than other cars in its segment. True, it is reliable, but for the premium you pay for it, you can buy a heck of a lot of repairs."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2006_Toyota_Camry
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nicest overall car I've owned

October 21, 2006
By Johnboy
from Calgary Alberta Canada
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I leased an 05 4-cylinder Camry, then purchased an 06 version of it.
I'm so satisfied with it, does exactly what it's supposed to do without fuss. Has plenty of power, nice gas mileage (can reach upper 30's on the highway if I'm careful), quiet, plenty of room (huge trunk), comfortable seats & ride. I have the base version, but so nicely appointed, it 's a steal! I even pull a small, 1400 lb. trailer (this car is rated for 2000 lb., but 07s are not) amazingly well, still get gas mileage in low 20s while towing. 5-speed transmission is really nice, makes for a responsive drive train, yet gives nice low revs at highway speeds. Build quality is excellent, zero problems after 20,000 miles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.