Customer Reviews for 2006_Toyota_Corolla

2006_Toyota_Corolla

Average Customer Rating:
4.524 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
40 of 42(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Review 1 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst car ever

December 9, 2013
By Fasteddy
from Toronto
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"2006 Corolla; toyota used certified. The car needed brakes after 7000 km , the dealer install new pads and shoes on worn out rotors and drums, the dealer did nothing because brakes are not covered under the warranty , they also have major computer problems which will negatively affect your transmission and engine. Do yourself a favour and look at another car . They do not get the mileage stated this car consumes 10L/100km. Stay away from Toyota ."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car For The Money - EVER!!!

November 30, 2013
By Desert Red - New Mexico
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 2006 Corolla SE is the only car I have ever bought totally brand new - and I still love it! It is the best car ever made in the good ol' USA. It was manufactured by Toyota in California - the best of both worlds. It now has 146,000 miles and showing much less wear than me. I haven't even replaced the brake pads yet, much less the rotors. I just came back from a 800 mile trip and got my usual 41 mpg. There have been times with a tail wind and summer blend gas that I've gotten 48 mpg! My only complaint is that if my wife sits in the passenger seat she has a back ache after long trips. But since I drive it alone 90% of the time, I won't mark it down for this. I dread having to replace it (Toyota has since closed their Fremont, California plant), but then again I fully expect it to last another seven years. I hope I last as long!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first Toyota

November 26, 2013
By David
from Bakersfield CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Was looking for a reliable car and found it in the Corolla. Did extensive research before buying, no impulse. Get 40mpg plus on long trips, a good blend of power and economy. Test drove a 2014 and no way, will keep my 2006 until the wheels are square so to speak. 100% satisfied."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasantly surprised

November 5, 2013
By Grumpy Senior Citizen
from Carson City, NV
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this 2006 Corolla CE in August of this year. It was elderly driven and had only 15460 miles on it. I have always driven trucks and SUV's but needed something more economical for frequent trips from Reno to the Bay Area for medical reasons. Never had much use for a sedan type vehicle but couldn't pass up the deal. Quite a bit of road noise, not much in the get up and go department but seems to handle well and gets phenomenal mileage! No Rolls or Ferrari but quite serviceable and even somewhat fun to drive! Wish it was a wagon but no problem. It has a couple of glitches in the computer but my friend is a Toyota service manager and he is helping me with that. Great little car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Value for money vehicle

September 20, 2013
By Allan Car lover
from London, UK
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Hi,
Much recommended for those who prefer better mileage and stability. It is worth the price tag attached. Good interiors and durable body. I'm happy with the car. :)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A really reliable low cost high performer

January 28, 2012
By practical fun loving driver
from south Orange County,CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"In late November, 2011, we bought a 2006 toyota corolla with only 36,000 miles on it. the car runs very well. it has great manuverability. it gets 28 miles to the gallon on regular gas. although i am used to driving 8 cylinder engines, this 6 cylinder has really good power, and it does not strain like many of the 4 cylinders i have heard. the car is well balanced on its wheelbase so handling is excellent. brakes are firm and stopping the car in an emergency is not a problem. the windows are designed in such a way that the driver has excellent visibility front, sides, and rear. the exterior paint job is still in really good condition (looks new) except for a few dings and scratches. the interior, while not luxurious, is attractive, instruments well positioned, and seats are comfortable. it has a good sound system and a 1 cd player, radio works very well. all in all, a winner!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value

January 3, 2012
By Long commute
from Fort Worth, TX
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car used with about 60,000 miles on it. I have only done the bare minumum; new brakes once, tires a couple of times, and oil when I find the time. It is now over 150,000 and has a couple things that have come a bit loose, but the engine and transmission run as good as ever. It isn't fast or pretty, but you will consistantly get about 35mpg and almost never have to worry about fixing it. Great commuter/economy car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wrecked ours

September 11, 2011
By Catrina245
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought our 06 Corolla new. Drove it for 6 years. The engine is peppy, not a car that is sluggish to get going at all. At the end, there was about 116,000 miles on it. We did all the usual maintenance, changed the oil, had new brakes put on it and changed the serpentine belt at about 115,000 miles, changed our tires. The usual stuff. When it was still under warranty I had an issue with the dome light shorting, but it was an easy repair that took less than 10 minutes. Other than that, the car always ran great. I'm not crazy about the location of the cruise control stick, but that is my only complaint.
But here's the real reason why I loved my Corolla: We were involved in an offset head on crash. The Corolla was destroyed. The engine was pushed more than two feet in. The crumple zones worked. To look at the car, from the beginning of the dashboard to the trunk of the car, you can't tell it was in an accident. The windshield didn't even crack. Everyone in the car walked away with bruises from the seatbelts and some soreness. In another car, there would have been serious injuries. Even the tow truck driver who sees wrecks all the time was amazed at how this car absorbed the impact.
I describe this car as peppy, reliable and safe. If that's what you're looking for, I reccommend this one 100%.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

'06 Corolla LE (Awesome Car!)

August 15, 2011
By Ian
from Baltimore, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this used w/29,000 miles. I chose this car because I needed a reliable 4-door to get me where I need to go in everyday life (work, school, movies, etc.) It has not disappointed. I could not be happier about my decision. I now have 87,000 miles. I have averaged 31.5 MPG in the 3.5 years I've owned the car. I have changed the oil regularly, changed the front and rear light bulbs a few times, replaced the ECU (Toyota recall, no cost), put a new set of tires, and replaced the front brakes. VERY minimal upkeep cost. My only complaints are minor. It is very loud at high speeds. On the highway, it is noticeable and I just turn the music up pretty loud. Also, when braking while going downhill, the engine automatically downshifts and sometimes the RPM/speed adjustment can be abrupt. The clock works sparingly. It's become a joke in my family that if you happen to be lucky enough to see the clock turn on, you should play the lottery or something. Again, nothing major. Overall, an outstanding car and a very pleased owner."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Corolla Upgrade

May 25, 2011
By Toyota fan
from Braintree, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this 2006 Corolla to replace a 2000 Corolla.
It has numerous improvements over the 2000 model.
As of 2003 Corollas were built with a stronger engine. They also gave it wider tires covering a wider wheel base, which greatly improves the car's traction. This seemed a particular weak point of my 2000 model. I was happy to see added creature comforts like electric windows and cruise control.
For those who wish to upgrade the factory stereo system (recommended) themselves, the front door panels are easier to get off and on than with the 2000 Corolla. I've owned the 2006 for almost three months now; it's a pleasure to drive. It had one previous owner who kept to the maintenance schedule and it shows.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My dream car.

March 8, 2011
By Chihua mom
from Ft. Thomas, KY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had driven a rental Carolla years ago, and loved it, even though it was just the basic model, no extras.
I found this car, from a private owner, in great condition, just like new, low miles. Beautiful. Handles well, great gas milage, roomy. No more complaints about an uncomfortable back seat from friends and family. The trunk is much roomier than my old car, that was a mid size model. I would definitely recommend a corolla, and have already to everyone.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a lot of fun to drive, great mileage

February 3, 2011
By reformed
from Howell, Michigan
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"At first, the clutch was a little annoying, but I've not driven a standard shift car that doesn't require some adaptation by the driver. Lots of room, smooth ride, nice pickup, very responsive (it's an 'S'-type with a slightly tighter suspension). My only gripe with this car is due in part to arthritis; the foot-rest (L) is too close to the driver. It's too tall and makes me cock my left leg for to long on long drives."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT Quality. Reliable Car. No Problems.

September 22, 2010
By LRivera
from Philadelphia, PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just to make it short. NO PROBLEMS. EVER. I bought it on November 2005. Done the scheduled maintenance as specified in the manual. The only small repairs were:
1) a new lightbulb (only the lightbulb, not the whole headlight) for the headlight and rearlights,
2) change brake pads,
3) change wiper blades,
4) got a new battery and,
5) new tires
Now that I think about it, I am not sure if I should have mentioned those since are just regular wear and tear, nothing major. This car has been moved three times. One within the US and two times overseas. Great gas/mileage rate. Space is an issue however, you get what you paid for. Backseats can be folded forward to create trunk space but then (depending on which backseat is folded) only one or two people would seat. I am quite impressed with the quality of the car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what would i need

August 5, 2010
By Wise
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I believe that any car is as good as it meet the user needs & expectations, for me what i need is a reliable comfortable car, can do what it have to do without any problems, i don’t need it to complete my image, nor to race some Ferraris, ... am 32, am building up my life so i need a car that i can depend on, and for me the corolla is the perfect choice, with millage over 35, no need for any maintenance (beside the regular preventive maintenance) i can say that this car is for sure giving me more than i spend on it. (my previous car was a Nissan pathfinder, it was a great car, but for sure the running cost is not a something to compare with the corolla)
From the other side, i've never felt any lack of power (even on the highways), never felt lack of handling in any weather....
I agree that the design is a little bit conservative, it doesn't give that feeling of luxury, but for it's price & running cost u can notice that the materials quality is over average, any way am not that kind of show of person so i don't mind the classic design, my wife who judge any car according to the shape and color (as a lot of women do) thinks that it's a silly car ...she thinks that a convertible BMW would be more attractive !!! don't we all do ?
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good for the money

July 1, 2010
By Sceptic Buyer
from Kansas City, Missouri
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We were skeptical about buying a used car due to previous experiences. However, this car has been great. We are relieved every time we drive it because it gets good mileage, rides nice and has been reliable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

06 Corolla S - Bang for the Buck

May 14, 2010
By Thrifto-Sport
from Buford, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"Reliable is defined by the Corolla. For a few extra bucks the S model adds fog lights, Alloy Wheels, white gauges, leather steering wheel, Ext.Temp Gauge, Side,front & rear Spoilers, Upgraded Cloth/Velour Seat Upholstery/door panels, Driver Seat Height Adjust,Trunk Light & more. Sport suspension rides/handles better than lower version Corolla."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If you can get past the little things...

April 10, 2010
By Bob in Dallas
from Euless, TX
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the 2006 Corolla S model used with about 25,000 miles on it. I was impressed with the torque in the manual transmission. This is a great car overall; plenty of room, plenty of power, and comfortable. I did had trouble mastering the clutch, I guess because I had always driven GM vehicles before (I've never owned an automatic). I like all of the little compartments where you can store things. The problem is that there are a few little things that take some getting used to: 1) the hazard lights button is the same shape and just above the AC button, so you could hit it accidentally 2) the driver-side sun visor hits the rear-view mirror when you pull it down 3) the windshield wiper control works like a blinker, so it gets bumped a lot and is embarrassing 4) the pedals are too close together 5) you cannot turn off the headlights at all, ever, unless you kill the ignition 6) the AC vents are placed directly behind the steering wheel, so you cannot point them anywhere but directly on your hands (if you hold the wheel at 10 and 2) 7) if the passenger seat thinks there is someone not buckled up (ie. a case of beer) the ding ding becomes obnoxious, but it will stop eventually.
But, like I said, great car overall.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Corolla Ever !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

March 17, 2010
By Mark
from Glendale, AZ
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought it Brand New from Dealer. I've put in over 160000 miles and nothing went wrong with this car. No problem with Engine or Transmission. I love the Exterior and Interior. This is the best car i have ever own. I've had Honda civic and accord but they give me a lot of Transmission problem and expensive to repair. My accord had 21k miles and transmission is DEAD. Where is Honda Quality and Reliability???? I will never buy another Honda.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Value Ever!

March 1, 2010
By Asian Chicka
from West Lafayette, IN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought my car used, and within a week, the ECM started kicking up a fuss. Took it to Toyota to have it replaced for free under warranty and it drives all smooth again. It's my first car, and I love driving it around. I got it for an amazing price and it's totally worth the money."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2006_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Little Road Runner

December 3, 2009
By First Car Buyer
from California
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently bought a 2006 Toyota Corolla S at a Toyota Dealership through the Toyota Certified Program. Well let me tell you DON'T EVER DO THAT!!! I bought my car for $14,500 and the brand new 2010 ones cost only a couple thousand dollars more! Toyota tries selling their used cars like if they were brand new---they're not!!! In any case it's a great car...it runs well and very efficient. I love the exterior look of the new ones, but I wish I would have never purchased a used one. Oh and the steering is a little odd, but other than that GREAT CAR!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.