Customer Reviews for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta

2006_Volkswagen_Jetta

Average Customer Rating:
4.127 of 5
4.1
 of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
12
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
2
42 of 55(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Review 1 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than the Civic

June 30, 2006
By NEW VW OWNER
from RALEIGH, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned Honda's since I leanrned to drive, but when I test drove the new Civic Ex I wasn't impressed. My sister told me to look at the Jetta's, and I did. WOW, I got the Jetta 2.0T out the door for about what I would of paid for the Civic Ex with Navagation.
The car is fully loaded, the leatherette seats are so much more comfortable than the Honda. I am getting almost 37 miles to the gallon on the freeway. The interior has everything I need, and more in a car. It handles like a dream throught the corners. The Jetta has much more horsepower and torque, and am getting almost the same gas mileage as a new Civic.
I never thought I would say this, but I will proabally never buy a Honda again. I am having a better experiance with this car than any other car I have owned."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Transmission Died at 127k

March 20, 2014
By Sad VW Customer
from Indianapolis, IN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"We had a top of the line fully loaded Jetta for about 5 years. Right after purchasing the vehicle the stickers for the radio button began to bubble. The center LED Driver screen only shows about half the information on it even after multiple replacements. The car never got to the expected MPG that was advertised by about 4mpg. The car also went through name brand performance tires faster then any other car I have owned. The transmission died at only 127k, and after getting quotes from 3 different places the lowest price we were able to get was $6,000, and we still have one year and $4,200 owed on the vehicle. The transmission issue could probably have been avoided if you were able to check the transmission fluid easily instead of having to get the car on a lift and taking off a handful of items to reach the area to check the fluid level.
When the car was working it was only the small things that really didn't matter, but when major things happens to the car expect to pay a lot to fix it and not being able to fix anything above changing a light bulb by yourself. The price to repair items on this car is why I suggest looking at another car brand.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car we've ever owned

March 6, 2014
By Gary
from Camano Island, Washington
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased a 2006 Jetta DTI new and we've been very impressed with nearly every feature, the comfort, the ride, the performance, the build quality and the mileage (still seeing 47 mpg after 130,000 miles. It's a keeper!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

have owned for270000+ do the math

October 29, 2013
By ike
from ft smith ar
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"50mpg+ yes I have spent a little on maint. I bought the best fueler abaible and it will compete today. of course it is a diesel. before 300000 I will replace the trany if needed and keep driving. always change oil at vw.every 10000mi.did not service trany. my jetta is actualy a 05.5tdi dsg trany.glad I didn't buy a electric vehicle or a toyota. might consider natural gas in a honda or something after it has ben tested a bit longer--1.39"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Loved initially but disappointed

September 11, 2013
By Last time for VW
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I loved my 2006 Jetta 2.5 when I bought it brand new. It was fun to drive, had power and a nice ride (I was driving a 2001 Civic prior). It was great until I hit the 100K mark. Since then, I have had nothing but problems. Very expensive problems. It's something new every few months. I take good care of my car and understand that as things get older and worn they need replacing. I am on a limited budget as it is and attempting to fix this car every few months is killing me. I repaired the cal. conv. for $1800. 2 months later had electrical problems that cost another $500. Not but 1 day after fixing that, I had the check engine light come back on. The dealership said it needed another $400 worth of work. Not to mention, every part for this car is "unique" and therefore, more expensive. I have a hard time finding places to service it correctly around me if I can not afford the dealerships pricing and need to shop around for repairs.
It's a great car if you can afford the upkeep that it needs later on. Had I bought a new car sooner, my review may have been all positive. Having kept it longer than anticipated has seemingly backfired on me. I would only think about buying another VW again if I planned on buying new and not keeping it for a long time.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my cute Jetta GLI

September 7, 2013
By Lisa from New Jersy
from Towaco Newjersy
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My Parents purchased my white Jetta GLI as a gift because my 2003 Volvo s60 was totaled while leaving college one after noon. To start I love my Jetta to death and I am a VW girl I didn't exactly know what GLI even meant until my bf told me what a GLI is. I do have a heavy foot being a jersey gal and I feel my Jetta can definitely keep up on how ever I drive it . my favorite features are the sunroof, the GLI leather seats I do recommend this and I will keep my Jetta for as long as I can!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Worst Car I've ever owned

July 11, 2013
By Worst car I have ever owned
from Boston, MA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought my '06 Jetta in 2009. Since then, I have had nothing but problems. The electrical systems in the car are constantly malfunctioning. My fuses blow every three months, causing the power outlets not to work, I have had to replace the headlight bulb about 12 times, the air conditioning system only works when I press on the gas. And now, my newest problem is that I can't move the gear shifter out of park, again due to a faulty electrical break sensor, so I can't even drive it. Everyone else my in family who has owned a volkswagen has had similar problems, even with newer models. I will NEVER own another Volkswagen again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Its cute!!!

March 6, 2013
By Mindless
from Paris, France
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It's so cute!! I love it! #teammindless I love the interior and exterior. I personality would have picked a different color, but other than that it's very nice(:"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Be aware

September 5, 2012
By Dino
from PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Always loved the looks of the Jetta and the ride. When my daughter started looking for her first car we started looking at the Jetta TDI, Diesel. The car looked as new inside and out, 158k miles, transmission worked great and the motor seemed to run great. After filling the tank and driving home about 100 miles we checked the mpg and were disappointed to see only 33mpg when I know others that were getting almost 50 on the highway. After a week I noticed when she left one day that it also seemed to smoke excessively out the exhaust, which is rare to see on a newer clean burning diesel. Upon taking it to the dealer to check it out,we were informed that the #1 and #4 cam lobes had worn through the lifters. After joining TDI Club Forum (awesome group) People informed us this was a common problem on that model TDI. Car is now fixed, she loves it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

BUY NEW with A LONG WARRANTY

May 29, 2012
By Big D
from Orange County, CA
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I bought my 2006 GLI after reading the reviews and thinking only the negative reviews were for the 1 in a 1,000. My car needed a thermostat and brand new a/c compressor a week after I bought it with only 76k miles. The car get decent gas mileage on the highway but better in the city. It is fast and you will be doing speeds of 89 before you notice the cop in your rear view mirror. The seats are uncomfortable if you plan on taking this car for a long drive. The car has AMAZING features for the price but you will pay for those too. I do not recommend a VW GLI unless you sell it after your warranty runs out."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

dont buy german

May 15, 2012
By former vw lover
from Ann Arbor, MI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"this car was a fun car with good looks and great handling, but thats where it ends I have driven 3 vws the past 10 years and this will be my last, trunk would not close and not usable in the winter, gas latch would not close all of the time, was in the shop 8 times in the first 75k and now at 110 miles the camshaft and timing belt are seized up a $3000 repair, do not own a vw unless you are under warranty, electrical is horrible and maitining then is a cost nightmare, vw should be ashamed of the product they are now producing."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2006 Jetta 2.5

April 9, 2012
By Toggy
from Nashville, TN
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought this car used in 2011 with around 60,000 miles and owned it for a year and less than 10,000 miles. In general I liked the way the car drove and its responsiveness. I have owned a number of VW's over the years and they all seem to have some rally annoying problems. One issue is the headliner failed (and was failing when I got it) but this is a common problem with this year of Jetta. The trunk also had trouble latching when closed and would take a number of tries before it would catch. there were also a few strange noises emanating from the breaks, sort of a buzzing that would come up through the steering column and would go away when the breaks were tapped. I could not locate it or demonstrate it when I took it in for service. from time to time the radio would also decide to go out. Anyway, after a year I traded it in for a 2006 GTI that I absolutely love! Build quality seems hugely better and so far no issues but time will tell."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car to Own is a TDI

November 15, 2011
By TAPTDI
from Fort Myers, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is awesome - fun to drive, plenty of power, and incredible fuel mileage. Buy one, you will not be sorry."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2006 tdi

September 26, 2011
By 2006 tdi
from Victoria BC Canada
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"good fuel economy, sporty, would like to put it in gear from neutral without putting foot on brake, when using remote door locks can the beep be turned off? timing belt and dual mass fly seem to be very expensive and fail early"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Performance of transmission

July 18, 2011
By Jetta owner
from Houston
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"2006 Jetta 2.5 fully loaded. Been in VW repair shop more than 4 times to find our what was wrong with the automatic transmission. The mfg could not explain the continual electric problems either. With the transmission slipping and sliding all over the place, a $654.00 electric repair and a diagnoses of no problem anymore with the transmission, I, the owner had to insist the problem is there. Low and behold, today, the diagnoses is that the transmission is completely burned up all in 106,000 miles. The mfg has let this go undiagnosed until we're out of warranty. Now what? Pay 5300.00? Really?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reliable if you just take some regular care

June 8, 2011
By Jay
from Alexandria Virginia
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have to be honest, the services can be expensive at the dealership, but if you just follow through with them, and have them done, you will not have any problems. Before the Jetta I had a Touareg, which was a maintenance queen, so I am saving money in service. Worst case, if you have a problem with the price the dealer charges, do the service yourself, and stop being lazy.... I say most engine problems are due to the fact that people have not had the proper maintenance done. I am sorry to rant, but this is a plucky, fun, well built, well designed car, and if people didn't treat them like junk they would return the favor. My only complaint is the interior room, I am a tall guy, so getting in and out, i have hit my head a few times and if i have a passenger in the back I need to scoot my seat to far forward. Another problem would be the paint used on the interior, I found if you are just very diligent about it you will not have to worry about the flaking paint, but I shouldn't have to be diligent to avoid paint flaking off of my locking button."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Money Pit

May 26, 2011
By rmon
from Providence, RI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"My parents bought me this car for my 16th birthday. It's styling and handling won me over. It was VERY fun to drive AND it was safe as volkswagens always are. Awesome paddle shifters and cool features such as the xenon lights and headlight washers. I also like the rain adaptive windshield wipers that adjusted depending on speed. This car however couldn't handle the slightest slope in the snow. Now, this car was in the mechanic at least once a month, the engine light never went off, the AC broke, interior paint peeled off, it frequently over-heated, I needed to put oil in once a week, and countless things went wrong with the computer and engine. The GLI is esthetically great, however it is a money pit and a waste of time."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good quality for a fair amount of money

April 5, 2011
By Chris
from Houston, Texas
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"One thing I have to say is that when you drive a German car, will be hard to go and drive another car from an other country. I purchase this Jetta 2.5 L as work horse, commuter. I purchase it with 77,000 miles. I have now 103,000 miles, have done two service according inspections and one warranty call back on the transmission valve. I make in a year around 30,000 miles on the road, and no issues at all. The only not happy side of it is that the noise insulation could be much better, however this depends as well on the kind of asphalt on the road, plus the type of tire you are using. Gas mileage is just great, according manufacturers specification should be 29 miles per gallon. I do that on combination city and highway. On my many highway trips between Houston and Baton Rouge, I was able to bring even 34 miles per gallon. This is just a great car. you have good comfortable seats, the driver seat can be adjust in many ways and heights! If you have the chance do a test drive!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst car ever

February 4, 2011
By srutan23
from Waynesburg, PA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have 68K miles and the timing belt loosed and bent three valves. Head had to be sent a machine shop and parts alone was $1700. Transmission bearings are going on the front axles now. My mechanic even told me to get rid of it as soon as I can."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2006_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Volkswagen Jetta

February 1, 2011
By Oen
from Harrisburg, PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It is a great car for the money. It is fun to drive, gets good gas mileage, and for the most part if still drives like it did the day I bought it. The finishes inside have held up very well, and (knock on wood) I have had no major repairs at all."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.