Customer Reviews for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer

2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer

Average Customer Rating:
4 of 5
4
 of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
29 of 37(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Review 1 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Trailblazer Enthusiast

September 21, 2014
By Excellent Machine
from Massachusetts
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I own a 2002 Chevy Trailblazer LT, and a 2006 Trailblazer LT. I have put 158,000 miles on my 02 and not a single problem (except regular checks/tuneups) so then i bought another Trailblazer, 2 tone tan and maroon with beautiful tan leather seats. I love everything about this car; however, i wish power lift gate was available!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2006 Trailerblazer review

September 28, 2012
By TBMike
from NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought a 1997 GMC Jimmy.... New.... It was time to get a new SUV... I bought a 2006 TB..... love the outside of the TB..The first impression of the inside, it looks nice. After having my 2006 TB LT for several months, the interior could have be better. Leather seats are nice.... but way too many plastic parts thru out interior..I would think a LT would be better... The Vehicle rides nice..... As another post stated the brakes seem to be too small when stopping quickly...give your self enough space...spare tire is a full spare , mounted under the car... they could have placed a smaller spare tire iinside ... Not sure why they have so many radio commands on the steering wheel ..should have placed the speed control buttons there instead... Also not a lot of leg room in rear seats. so far, no snow...hopefully its good... Overall, I like it, but where are the nice touches for the the interior?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

:)

September 16, 2012
By carman
from illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i found it very comfort able and sporty. Chummy brakes, loud highway noise. otherwise great. i like it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not a Practical Purchase

July 10, 2012
By JHoodie
from Somerville, MA
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"When my wife and I were expecting our second son in '06, we decided to trade up her Pontiac Vibe for something roomier. The Trailblazer LT was attractive to us due to its handsome exterior and seemingly functional interior. We bought the car and, after a few months use, were tremendously dissatisfied. Reliability wise, the vehicle was for the most part ok--it had a few electronic gremlins from time-to-time but there was nothing inherently wrong with it. What put us off was how under-designed the vehicle felt. The interior was cheap-feeling and somewhat cramped once we got two child seats in it. We traded our Trailblazer in last year on a Volvo XC90 and are much more satisfied with it. If you are looking for an SUV that can get you from point A to B then you may consider the Trailblazer but from the standpoint of a family man, this vehicle is just not practical."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Really Comfortable Car!

May 13, 2012
By Sue in NJ
from Branchville, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Tried lots of small SUVs but most of them were not very roomy. The Trailblazer is great for long trips, have had not problems."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

VERY NICE

April 12, 2012
By TX MOM
from TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"NO COMPLAINTS I OWN A TB AND THE ONLY TIME IT HAS BEEN TO THE SHOP IS FOR OIL CHANGES/ CHECK UP AND TIRES WHEN IT WAS DUE."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Trailblazer Review

April 3, 2012
By SUV Mom
from Cincinnati, OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have owned quite a few SUV's over the years, and this one is my favorite! I LOVE my Trailblazer. The only reason I am considering trading it in is because we need a vehicle with a third row. We have a big dog that needs room in the back for lots of car rides, and we need the extra seating for trips with the kids and grandparents, or kids with friends. Love having 4 wheel drive when I need it. Has been very reliable and served us well. I will miss it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good car

January 23, 2012
By clean car man
from pittsburgh pa
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"overall good car ,4 wheel dr is great in winter wife is only one who drives it and shes happy.dont hear her complaining a bit"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So far...so good

November 28, 2011
By WHJEK
from Shawnee, Kansas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased my 2006 Trailblazer about 3 months ago. The vehicle had about 65,000 and I have put about 8000 on the vehicle since purchase. I get about 16 mpg mixed city driving, and about 21 on the highway. Have not had the chance to try out in snow yet, but with 4wd, should not be an issue. Vehicle has an excellent ride, and have had no issues at all. I was a bit shocked to find out the engine holds 7 quarts of oil!!!!, but having so much oil, it should help the engine last a long time."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car I Have Ever Owned 06 TB SS

November 2, 2011
By Chi Town
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned seven cars in all my years of driving. The '06 TB SS is by far my favorite. I usually trade-in vehicles after two years. I just can't seem to part with the SS. It has every thing a person needs and is very fast!!!! It is also safe. I have two children for our family trips, and the navi, DVD and ample space make the trips a breeze. I have over 100K miles on my TB SS and I have yet to have any problems, just required maintnence needed. I am very upset Chevy no longer makes the Trailblazer. I guess my next car will be the 09 Trailblazer SS. Bottom line, I love these cars!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SS vs Standard Trailblazer

July 30, 2011
By Dan
from Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Something not mentioned in these review. "A Trailblazer LS/LT IS NOT in the same league as a Trailbazer SS.
OK, with that said let me explain. The standard Trailblazer has an inline 6 or the 5.3l V8. It uses the less capable transmission and transfer case as well as a much smaller rear differential.
To give you an example, the rear differential in a SS is the same as an H2 Hummer (yep, the big one). The engine is an LS2 (same type as the Corvette Z06) and the trans, a 4L70e, super heavy duty unit. The SS also feature front Corvette brakes and Air suspension.
There are many other features that are different from the standard Trailblazer. Comparing an SS to an LS/LT is like trying to compare a smart car to a real car..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

unimpressed

May 18, 2011
By akmama
from Alaska
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"The passanger space is limited, with small children it's impossible to fit three in the back seat using car seats. I owned mine for almost four years and all I can say is I'm glad to be upgrading."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The worst car I have ever owned

May 6, 2011
By TFGI
from Southern, California
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have had a 2006 Trailblazer LT with the 5.3 V8 for about 3 years now. We bought the vehicle Certified, with about 20,000 miles on it. We now have 85,000 miles on it and it has been in the dealer about twice a month for repairs.
The gas mileage is worse than a Tahoe or Suburban with the same engine and it has no more power than the inline 6 engine.
I don't know if I can think of an interior piece that has not fallen off of the vehicle.
We started with electrical problems roughly 3 weeks after we bought it. 4 different dealers told us that they knew what the problem was but since they couldn't replicate it they could not get GM to authorize the repair.
Then we went mechanical. Oil Pump, Fuel Pump, Radiator, Sensors. All of them. Then it was the entire engine at 35,000 miles.
Now the vehicle will shut off in the middle of driving up the road. I bought the car for my wife and 2 kids. I cannot have them driving a vehicle up the freeway no knowing if it is going to just quit running!
I have owned cars from Ford, Nissan, Infiniti, Saab, Audi and Dodge. I cannot believe how unreliable this one is! The worst money ever spent!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2006 Trailblazer SS AWD w/ LT Package

April 27, 2011
By Ed
from West Chester, Pennsylvania
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"PROS: Extremely powerful drivetrain (LS2/4L65); All Wheel Drive; Loaded with Luxury Options: Navigation, Heated Seats, Memory, Rain Sensing Wipers, Integrated Rear Entertainment, Leather/Suede; Highly comfortable & supportive front bucket seats.
CONS: Gas Mileage--I get 14mpg around town with a light foot, and as high as 16mpg on highway trips;
GM interior materials & quality; Chronic Fuel Gauge issues. 2006 Model doesn't have the 100k GM Warranty like 07+ Models.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great for camping and everyday use

April 26, 2011
By NYS Campers!
from Orange County, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This SUV is great for camping! It can fit lots of camping gear in the back (with or without the seats folded down). It can carry 2 kayaks on the top and 2 bikes on the back. It also has a hitch to pull a camper or boat! When you are not camping it is great for everyday use. It is easy to drive and park. It isn't as good on gas as a car but better than a larger truck. It is a SUV that can be a truck or car...whatever you want it to be! My final advice is to go for the model with the sunroof and power seats!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2007 chevy trailblazer

February 8, 2011
By lookin4bigfoot
from Erie PA.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned my 2007 chevy traiblazer for about 4 months now. Iam very impressed with the stabilitrack feature which gives great handling in the ice and snow. The on-star technology with hands free calling is state of the art, and very convenent. The sound system is top quality as well. The most impressive thing about this vehicle, is how smooth and quiet it rides while doing 75 mph. on the open highway ! It is without question the best vehicle I have ever owned !!! Kudos to cars.com for all the great information provided."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Trailblzer SS Monster

January 9, 2011
By SS Fan
from Phila
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"These SUV's are awesome. Where else can you have AWD and almost 400hp in this price range. If you can get beyond the Chevy plastic interior, the suspension and motor are amazing! Do not buy this SUV if you are concerned about fuel, it will stop at every other gas staion on your trip...but it will be fun getting there."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very disappointed they stoped making them!

July 8, 2010
By baker1576
from Penn Yan, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"I was shocked when I wanted to buy a NEW one and was told Chevrolet has discontinued they manufacture. I would have bought a new one the last production year. Really hoping Chevrolet gets enough complaints that they reconsider in the future and start making them again. I know they are not fuel effecient but because of where I live, I HAVE TO HAVE 4 wheel drive to get to and from work. Guess I'll have to change brands when I buy my next vehicle!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Cheap

June 7, 2010
By DR
from PGH PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Everyone I know loves theirs but i've had mine 2 1/2 years and i hate it! It shifts gears very rough. Coil pack went. Hose fro the rear winshield wiper disconnected from the inside of my hatch so it does't work. Check engine light is on because the fuel gauge has been broke and the only reason i haven't got it fixed is because im told it will just break again within the next 6 months. The control panel for the power seats is haning by 1 clip. It's so low to the ground in the front that my 4x4 SUV GETS STUCK IN THE SNOW. Very unhappy with the quality."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2006_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Chevy Trailblazer LS '06 > good so far

April 30, 2010
By mdwebneck
from DC Metro in MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had been driving a 94 Cherokee Sport for >11 yrs prior to this purchase, but was needing more legroom for longer rides and the TB was the only truck model SUV that had the legroom I was looking for.
Having been used to a 'no-frills' SUV for so many yrs, I'm still getting used to all the electronic controls that came std in this truck.
{will report later on that whether it is my learning curve or if it really is a delay in the electronic vs mechanical controls}
The one thing I was slightly worried about before the purchase was the handling compared to my (turn on a dime with a nickel change) Cherokee, but have done a few U-turns in pretty tight situations and have likewise had ample opportunity to back-in and parallel park without any horrible blind spot issues (the TB sits up a bit higher, so I sometimes have to adj the mirror down to see the lines, but I'll get over that)
I drive to work on an Interstate for most of my commute, but the speeds traveled are seldom hwy speeds, so consider my MPG as a urban/hwy blend and am getting between 17-18mpg.
The Cherokee was a bit faster off the blocks, but the TB reaches a higher top end, so smoothly, I have to be careful about exceeding the speed limit.
***
I've only had this truck for six weeks, so may chime in later with an update, but am certainly pleased with my purchase thus far.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.