Customer Reviews for 2007_Dodge_Caliber

2007_Dodge_Caliber

Average Customer Rating:
3.742 of 5
3.7
 of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
27
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
6
50 of 66(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Review 1 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

She is the best! I love her!

December 17, 2006
By 'Not my first rodeo'
from Euless, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just purchased the 2007 Dodge Caliber RT AWD. I love the way it handles. I don't find the engine sluggish in the least. I got 29 MPG on the first tank and that was part highway and part city. I did weeks of research online, looking at various vehicles, and kept coming back to this one. The best value for the dollar and sassy too!
I bought it sight unseen and had never even taken it for a test drive.
I have owned a Nissan 200 SX and Mitsubishi Galant. I drove both vehicles over 12 years each. I wanted to give the Dodge a try and could not be happier!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Roadtrip

June 27, 2006
By Pennsylvanian Driver
from Philly,PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I own a Caliber SXT sport Edition with the 158 hp 2.0-liter I-4, It has now over 3400 miles on it from Road Trips to different amusment parks. It has yet to give me ANY problems. Up to four of my adult size friends can fit in Caliber comfortably along with me. It's Chillzone Keeps our drinks Nice and cool while its 458-watt 9 Boston Acoustic speaker sound system with subwoofer with Sirius Satellie Radio makes Caliber have Loads more entertainment then any other car of this class that I have driven/driven in."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Subframe rot and throttle body failure

April 6, 2014
By dodge boy
from Central New Hampshire
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"We bought a 2007 Caliber new in February 2008. Car has been reliable with the exception of the throttle body unit going bad, and the front subframe rotting out. That was by far the worst problem. It rendered the car unsafe to drive. Our local mechanic replaced the frame (not an inexpensive repair). The problem has been reported to Chrysler and after a report was made to NHTSA, the Defect Investigator asked us to ship the frame to Washington to be looked at and evaluated. Anyone owning a Caliber should definitely have an inspection done, and make the reports to Chrysler and NHTSA if a failure is found. This needs to lead to a recall."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

ROTTEN SUBFRAME

November 11, 2013
By disapointed caliber fan
from Duncansville, PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"loved my car until this Saturday doing brake job and mounting snow tires noticed the sub frame had holes rusted out on the top. car is an 07 with only 34220 miles on her. poor quality steel bad design. also notice a lot of rust on rear axle assembly. fighting with Chrysler to fix since I bought it new. there needs to be a recall. won't pass inspection this make it useless. STEER CLEAR until a recall is issued. no more Chrysler prod. for me."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Subframe failure

October 24, 2013
By Char
from Pinckney MI
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Just like the last reviewer, get rid of this car before it turns 100k miles. Started replacing upper and lower control arms, alternator went out then the subframe rotted through. Look at other review sites. It is a common problem and needs to be recalled. I liked the car a lot for the first three years. Except for the well known helicopter noise that blows your eardrums out when you have more than one window down. Cargo space is good and ride was comfortable. The fan blower motor was always loud. After three years the car became increasingly noisy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Good new, with age terrible and costly

July 16, 2013
By GEmbree
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought a caliber in 2007 new. The driver's side is very roomy and I am a big man so that was great for me. For the first few years it was a good car aside from a very loud helicopter sound like noise when you drive with more than one window down, but around the 100,000 km mark, the problems started. replacing wheel bearings (over and over), control arms, wiper motors (twice),emergency brake failing,and the showstopper of them all is the sub frame rotting through. The air conditioner runoff drips directly on the frame which caused the frame to rust and overtime rot through.The mechanic has deemed it unfit to drive and it will be a 3000 to 4000 dollar fix. It is only a 6 year old car, so this is not a problem any car should have at this age. My advice is to stay clear of the caliber and if you own one, definitely go check your sub frame as I have read others have experienced this problem."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love my Caliber

April 3, 2013
By Little D
from Redding, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had a VW Beetle before and it had a huge amount of get up and go. My Caliber, not so much but I knew that after I test drove it. It gets great gas mileage and is a great trip car. I would definately get another one. Great car for the price."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best small SUV on the market.

March 11, 2013
By Dodge Guy
from Detroit, Mi
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had my caliber for a few months, I drive a lot of highway miles and this car is great. Awesome gas mileage for a vehicle in its class. I have never had reliability issues with it and the ride is comfortable. Tons of storage space and the styling isn't bad either."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

awesome car

January 7, 2013
By dodge man
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i didnt think i would like this car but i fell in love with it , the gas milage is good the ride is good and the cargo space is great . i would recommend this car highly."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

102,000 Mile Review

September 24, 2012
By Nick Montos
from Worcester, MA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased car new in April 2006. Now have 102,000 miles on it. The Caliber will not win any awards for excitement, but the car is super versatile and has been very reliable. Aside from normal wear items, the only repairs have been lower control arms at 80,000 mi and the TIPM ($800) at 95,000 mi. The 2.0 with CVT has averaged 26.5 MPG in mixed city/highway driving. This is comparable to my 6 speed Vibe/Matrix GT which averaged 28 MPG. The Caliber is actually cheaper to operate since it does not require premium fuel."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

so far so good

September 15, 2012
By average joe
from ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had high hopes for the advertised 27 city 30 highway. Im getting 20 city. I love the cvt....hope it holds up. 56k on it now with not a single repair. Its due for an expensive cvt fluid change at 60k"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Transmission = total loss

August 12, 2012
By Lisa A
from Richmond, Virginia
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought our dodge Caliber new. It now has 62K and we just found out the transmission is bad. Over 2K in repairs! The tech that is working on the car said they just had three other calibers in last month for similar repairs with 70K in them! Typical American-made car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Don't buy it

June 18, 2012
By hlp
from Mayfield, ky
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought my 2007 caliber at the local dodge dealer with 40,000 miles on it. Generally I loved the car but at 75,000 miles the engine failed. I had it to the dealer 3 times before the catastrophe happened. I faithfully changed the oil and took care of the car. I was just lucky I wasn't stranded on the road when it happened. A piston or something broke and the dealer wanted 3000$ for a used engine. I should have bought a different car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great affordable college car

October 11, 2011
By rt man
from mt.vernon, iowa
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"heard mixed reviews about the caliber,bought a used 2007 caliber r/t awd for my college bound son.performed a normal 60,000 mile service and had dodge update all computers.car is awesome,updates greatly improved driveability and eliminated bogus check engine light codes.drove the car cross country trouble free.22mpg city 26 mpg highway. a great car for the money"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

my favorite car (so far)

August 10, 2011
By love2drive
from Long Island, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fun car to drive! From the moment I gave this car a test drive, I knew we'd be together a while. Drove it all over the northeast, as far west from NYC as Chicago, over the Alleghenies and through the Catskills. Even with only 4 cyl, packs a punch. Love the beverage cooler in the glove box. And the back seats fold down flat so you can haul just about anything. Definitely a good buy if you love to drive!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Costly repairs

June 7, 2011
By Dodge Lemon
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Purchased a new caliber in 07 and have been very disappointed by its performance since. I have always had regular maintenance done as required during this time. I have already had to replace one front ball bearing and now I have to replace brakes front and back. Now the control arm bushings are shredded on the passenger side and pretty bad on the drivers side. Over a $1000 later I am informed that there is know recall for the cheap manufacture of these parts but Dodge has redesigned the control arm bushings. I know you get what you pay for in manufacturing but putting cheap parts from other controls does not hold well for repeat business in purchasing these automobiles. A recall would be most appreciated since many other owners are having the same problem. Read other reviews on other sites. Run from Dodge as fast as you can."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car.

May 15, 2011
By my3bbyangels
from Windham, ME
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I really like my new dodge caliber. I thought that I wouldnt like a car after driving nothing but suv's. But when I say this caliber online I liked the style of it. So when I went to test drive one I really liked it. It doesnt feel like your riding on the ground in it like you do with most cars. My kids even really like it. We still have plenty of room for things. We also save a lot more money aweek on gas and stuff. Would recommend to anyone."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very practical car :)

May 2, 2011
By cargirl
from Aqaba, JO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My father and I shared this car. He bought it new in 2007, and I started driving a little over a year ago, so he let me use it fairly often. I loved driving it. It's an easy car to drive because it's not too big, but it sits higher up than expected, so it felt like I was driving an SUV. Also, the car handled really well in bad weather, and I never felt insecure while driving in rain or snow.
It was fantastic for long drives (we drove it from Indiana to southern Tennessee and it was really comfortable) The rear seats recline, so it was easy to take a nap or lean back to read no matter which seat one chose.
My only real problem with the car was that it was a little hesitant to shift into a higher gear sometimes, and the automatic transmission would grind a little bit when that happened, but after it shifted, it would go as fast as one cared to go.
It was a really great, practical car for us, and I would buy another without a doubt. The only reason we sold it was because we had to move out of the country.
May I add that this was a perfect car for me as a new driver. I also loved driving my mom's Mitsubishi Spyder Eclipse GTS, but I felt very insecure driving it because I was always afraid of losing control of it or accelerating too much. The Caliber felt much safer to drive, and it was easier to control.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2007 Dodge Caliber SXT

March 28, 2011
By Sammy
from New York,NY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought my caliber SXT in oct 2007
heres what i think about it
pros
hatchback roomy, body design, engine quality, power 75mph feels like 30mph FWD great handling
cons
1000lbs to heavy suspension squeaks at low speeds it get annoying, delay of power at higher speeds, the interior, the steering wheel is nice but everything else looks ugly and most important to have the brake override recall done to ur car
THE BRAKES let go when you hit a bump get the recall done
dodge hasnt been known quality since the 70s but here there is quality
the throttle body is the only thing to have been changed mechanically after 80K and still drives like the day i bought it pretty good (tough)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2007_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2007 Dodge Caliber SXT

March 27, 2011
By sam
from new york NY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought a 2007 Dodge Caliber SXT in oct2007.
once all 3 recalls are done its a great car
most important recall the brake override change
beware throttle body($800) for rough drivers
and ball joints the car is heavy but doesnt feel it
acceleration is very good for a 2 speed cvt low for fuel savings and high output but takes a second
the car gets about 25mpg
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.