Customer Reviews for 2007_Dodge_Nitro

2007_Dodge_Nitro

Average Customer Rating:
3.83 of 5
3.8
 of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
17
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
2
34 of 53(64%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Review 1 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Problems after Problems

July 28, 2014
By Suzie Q
from Jackson, MS
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I bought my Nitro brand new in 2007 and I have had problems after problems with it and I will never own another Dodge. First of all the window motor went out more than once in two of the windows and that's $240 a each time. and the window regulator went out in two of the windows and the window tech that fixed that said they just aren't built to last. The air condition hasn't work properly the past couple of years. And now the motor has gone out in my Nitro and it has only 150,000 miles. I have had my vehicle serviced regularly so this vehicle is just not built to last very long. It is a VERY bumpy ride. My husband hated riding or driving this vehicle cause he said its like riding in a go cart! LOL I have been very unhappy that I have had so many issues with this vehicle and I will never own another Dodge."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great little SUV

February 8, 2014
By Nacho
from Maryland
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought my 07 SLT used with 24k mi on it. Had it for two years now with very little trouble. Had to replace the gas tank but Dodge acknowledged the problem and extended the warranty, so it was covered. Not sure why some people knock the handling and say it drives like I truck. Those people obviously have never owned a truck. I think it actually handles great for what it is. This is an entry level, mid sized suv people, it's not a Range Rover! Gas mileage could be better, but would probably say that no matter what suv I had. Interior is mostly plastic, but I'm an avid mountain biker, also make trips to Home Depot, so it's fine by me. The fact that the passenger seat folds flat and you can fit 8 foot boards in there and still close the hatch, is awesome! It's slightly lacking in power but has enough to get the job done. I think if I had gone with the R/T would have been satisfied with power. Oh, the 4WD works great too. Been getting hammered with snow this winter and it's performed flawlessly. Overall I think its a great little truck and does everything I ask it to. If you're looking for luxury, look at the Nitro's cousin, the Grand Cherokee. But be prepared to crack open the check book. FYI: Grand Cherokee actually has less cargo room than the Nitro."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This thing is a TANK!

January 30, 2014
By jennaandboys
from Virginia Beach, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Wasn't a huge fan of the styling when they came out, but we bought ours because it was such a good deal I couldn't pass it up, and VERY glad we got it! Last year we got rear-ended by a texter going 45mph and we were at dead stop waiting to turn. My son was in carseat in back and was fine, just mild headache. I had pretty severe whiplash since I was bent over getting my purse the moment we were hit, but otherwise the Nitro protected us very well. Nitro had frame and exhaust system damage, hitch was pushed into the middle of the spare tire, and husband was STILL able to drive it to follow the ambulance for me and my son, and drive it to the body shop for repairs. Got it fixed and back on the road. Other vehicle (newer Mazda SUV) that hit us was totalled and had to be drug off the street because they couldn't get it up on a tow truck. We plan on keeping this tank for a long time to come.
Pros: Unbelievable turning radius (turns on a dime!) makes it so easy to park, regular AC plug in 2nd row for video games or whatever is really handy, sits up higher for safety and awesome vision, back storage has carpet on one side and hard rubber on other side - tough enough to carry firewood one day yet comfy enough to sit in the back for a tailgate football game the next day, reliability is great, on demand 4WD at turn of a knob, can take a pounding from a larger SUV going 45mph and keep on driving!
Cons: would expect better gas mileage for size, back end gets a little squirrely on turns in snow more than expected, wish back seats folded flat to be even with back storage area for our lab - I love everything else!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Car

August 8, 2012
By TitasStarr
from Copiague, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am a rough driver and so far this car has kept up with me. The only thing I have had to do on this car is the brakes and have had it over a year. Love it!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great SUV

May 7, 2012
By DEACON
from Warrensburg NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Excellent SUV, I had a module go the 1st 10 days I had it....thats the only reason I gave it 3 stars for reliability. No problems since. Dodge should keep making them !"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Mine

April 23, 2012
By NaKitah05
from Kentucky
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I absolutely love my nitro. We just took it on a cross country vacation and she was terrific! Comfort is outstanding and a "beefy" design to an suv. LOVE it!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Style + Performance = Great Car

March 16, 2012
By Toyota Turned Dodge
from SE, Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently purchased the 2007 Dodge Nitro SXT 4x4 and boy, I was hesitant at first after reading some reviews.
But let me tell ya, this car is awesome!
Good fuel mileage for the size of the motor and car its self. Sweet style, love the sunburst orange color it has.
great room to haul around plenty of people and things. I am not used to having abs breaks, personally i do not like them at all.
I always said i would never own anything but a Toyota switching to this SUV, Its great!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love my Nitro <3

July 25, 2011
By NITR0
from Rapid City SD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"looks hot....comfortable and strong. Dodge is a great vehicle to own. Glad I bought mine when I did because they go fast here."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most stylish inside and out!

July 10, 2011
By NitroOn22S
from Killeen, tx
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love the nitro because instead of plain design it goes for bold and beauty! The nitro's handling and ride is a bit like a truck but that's a plus for my liking. If you put some accessories you will make everyone jealous."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nitro RT Is The Best SUV For The $$

October 14, 2010
By Rockinroller
from Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Nitro RT is America's sleeper sport 'ute. The 4.0 liter engine scoots this truck along like a sportscar (and was only available with the RT pkg). The standard Nitro engine is sluggish and noisy.
I've had Liberties, GC's, Explorers and lots of other vehicles and this Nitro stands above the rest in terms of combining a unique appearance, brawny look (with those monster 20s and chrome rims), agility, great views out all but the rear windows, excellent seating arrangements and the use of high quality trim materials. The 4x4 is excellent for Michigan winters and the cargo area is plentiful.
Mine was an 07, three year lease which I bought out at lease-end for around $17,000 total. Best investment I've made in a while."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME

September 7, 2010
By Nitro-RT
from INDIANA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"MY 07 RT JUST TURNED 45K TODAY. I LOVE DRIVING IT! NOTHING BUT COMPLIMENTS SINCE I BOUGHT IT NEW WITH 8 MILES ON THE OD. BEAUTIFUL, SPORTY, AND RUNS ABSOLUTELY GREAT! MY ONLY PROBLEM WAS WHEN I TOOK THE FACTORY AIR STEM CAPS OFF, AND REPLACED THEM WITH NICE LOOKING CHROME CAPS TO MATCH THE 20" CHROME RIMS, ONE OF THEM SEALED TO MY VALVE STEM AND COST ME 80 DOLLARS TO REPLACE. BACK TO THE ORIGINAL CAPS. MY FAULT. THX. COMPLETELY SATISFIED!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Never Again

September 7, 2010
By Disappointed
from Baltimore, Maryland
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have the Nitro RT bought still under warranty w/ a purchased extended warranty. Has been in the shop at leat 5 times for repeated complaints of "whistling noises" at slow accelerations, , dealer/service manager said typical of this vehicle. To me unacceptable answer, service manager said to pursue legal action. "We are NOT going to fix it". Then the loud humming noise at high speeds, was told change differential fluid, no problem, had it done immediately. Turns out after repeated complaints and another "typical Dodge noise" the "0" rings in the rear were out of manufacture specs, I guess that cost the dealer alittle. Plus repeated rental cars, I guess that had to cost someone something. Customer service at the dealership has been at the least "offensive" to a new Dodge customer. Don't bother w/ the customer complaint line either, you'll get no satisfaction there either. All I wanted was for someone to help me w/ my problems and step up to the plate to make a very dissatistied Dodge customer a believer."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

UGGGHHHHH... Greatly Disappointed

August 5, 2010
By MsLady
from Chicago IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bought my truck new with about 7600 miles on it. The 1st year I had it spend 100.00 to replace the stem valve on my tire. The cap came off during the winter salt got in and corroded the stem valve from the inside out. A year later driving on the expressway with my family doing 60 mph and the car shuts completely off and slows all the way down. I hit a bump and the car comes back on. Sat at the dealership for 3 hours for them to say that they couldn't find the issue and I was talking about. Guy told me that it just needed to be reprogrammed it should be good. Took it back 2 months later for the same issue by this time I was having problems with having to replace one of my tail light bulbs on the driver side cause it kept burning the bulb out. Had the dealership look at it for another 3 hours and still couldn't find the issue. Took it back a 3rd time by this time I was pist. A few days prior to taking it in I went to get out of the car and the door handle snapped off. Still having the issues with the truck just shutting off, the door locks were locking and unlocking on their own, only one speaker was playing in the whole truck at different times of the day. Had I not gone in I would have never found out about the 2 recalls on my truck no one called or notified me about. They needed to replace the cords of some kind with the wiper blades and the rail racks and come a lose. After sitting in the shop for 6 hours and had to return a week later for them to fix the issue. The dealership broke my remote starter and said they weren't going to fix it and had no intentions of telling me it was broken. Had I not gone back in to ask why I had car parts in my front seat I would have never known. I'm tired of this darn truck it starts up on its own without moment’s notice. The only way to cut the car off is to press down on the brake. The remote starter has no range and if you are standing next to it sometimes it won’t even start. This sucks in the winter time when I have to walk all the way outside to start the darn thing!!! FUSTRATING!!! is what I am with my truck... DO NOT SPEND YOUR MONEY ON NO DODGE OR CHRYSLER PRODUCTS!!! I haven't had any luck with none of their cars I've had a neon prior to this. The truck is 4 years old I've only had it 2 1/2 years it has 40,000 miles on it and some days I don’t know what to expect when I drive it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hate this car

October 29, 2009
By Tiger8
from Roselle, NJ
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"My car has 35k miles and its making a noise when i drive and this has happened to a friend of mine too that owns a dodge. And my front windows stopped working out of nowhere."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very good for people w/knee problems/reliable

October 2, 2009
By suv hooked
from Roselawn
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first Suv and I love it. I can see everything and I don't have any complaints about it at all. I would buy this car again and again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Satisfied

September 11, 2009
By dafan53
from Campbell,NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If your looking for a family vehicle, the Nitro isn't for you. After years of owning family mini vans, I was ready for a change. Just look at the exterior and it screams,"man's vehicle". That's what caught my eye. Our kids are grown, so I wasn't looking for a family vehicle. I bought a slightly used Nitro with a manual 6 speed transmission with the 3.7 liter engine. Talk about power, this Nitro has it. I needed something that would tow our camper,and although I haven't towed with it yet, I can tell it won't be a problem. If your looking for something totally opposite of the family vehicle, get you a Nitro."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

July 27, 2009
By ky girl
from ky
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought aftermarket wheels and tires. SLT and LT both have v-6's though. The RT's engine caught my eye. The SLT's sporty body is hard to wash because of the sleek groves. The front passanger side is a little crowded though."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than I expected.

March 18, 2009
By Lost Creek Land & Cattle Co.
from Myrtle Beach, SC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I traded in a 96 Jeep Chrokee Sport w/300k miles. Style and price was my original attraction. After one year and 28k miles I could not be happier. Most comfortable vehicle (from the drivers seat) I have owned. Visibility is outstanding. Average 19.5 - 22.75 MPG. Plenty pep and power. For all the bells and whistles I would expect to pay much more. I would like a broader choice of colors."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet features

February 19, 2009
By The Man
from rochester ny
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought this car new and currently have put 53,000 miles on it. The Nitro gives you a feeling of confidence driving down the road. I would def recommend the SLT over the SXT. The SLT comes with a better 2 tone interier, way better steering wheel, and nice chrome accents. The cockpit it real nice and I can reach all the controls easily. The actual power outlet is a major plus, and having one touch windows on every window and moonroof is nice. I have had no major problems with the car as of yet which is nice since my warranty is gone.
The cons of the car are that it has a soft suspension so you really need to slow down off road. Also my driver windows controls for the rear window stopped working a few months ago. It has turned of randomly while driving about 4 times since I owned it too but it turned right back on. But even with these cons I would recommend it because it has alot of features that similar cars do not have."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2007_Dodge_Nitro
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great car for the price

June 24, 2008
By Car lover
from Nashville, TN
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I loved the way the Nitro looks and that is what sold me. A year and a half later I'm not as impressed. The ride is very "bouncy." There isn't a lot of foot room in the front or back seats however there is a ton of cargo room. The side mirrors are so large they actually create a blind spot when turning. The gas mileage is pretty much horrible. I average about 15 in the city but on the highway get up to 23. The acceleration is awesome, it sounds pretty great off red lights! The interior trim is a little cheap looking. I've had a few recalls but they were fixed quickly. All in all, ok for the price. I'm glad I'm driving a product of the USA."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.