Customer Reviews for 2007_Jeep_Compass

2007_Jeep_Compass

Average Customer Rating:
3.857 of 5
3.9
 of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
4
37 of 49(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Review 1 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just paid it off, now it needs struts and brakes

April 22, 2014
By Miss my Wrangler
from Chicago suburbs, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Overall it's an average vehicle. Good suburban gas mileage, but for me it feels small - I'm 6'1" and it feels too short for me, especially when putting my 3 year old in it. Not great in snow like my Wrangler was. I just paid off the Compass and now I have to replace the struts - $750."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disapointed

January 1, 2014
By lilwolf
from Babbitt, MN
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"My 2007 Jeep compass seem like a good are when I bought it. Here's the thing, in the last 6 years that I had it there was a recall on the brakes. Witch were fixed but lately seems there maybe a problem, the dealer says there fine. Tie rod problems, Acceleration problems and now for the 3rd time problems with the power steering. Hmm not liking this Jeep right now. Costing me an arm and a leg and the problems happen again. Good gas mileage but now it isn't reliable for long trips. for the price I paid I expect more. This was the first new car I ever bought. I am very disappointed."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

perfect suv

June 8, 2013
By party boy
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"it is great................................................................................................"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Beware: $1000 to replace a headlight

February 22, 2013
By Caution
from CHicago
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I originally liked the style of the car. I have been a Jeep owner for over 20 years. I liked what I saw in the Compass, however after 5 years of costly repairs I am ready to move. The struts went at a cost of $750, ball joints a couple of times, then the electrical system began to malfunction. A head light went out and I was told by three different repair shops that it was not the headlight, but the computer that regulates the electrical system.The cost of the latter was just under $1000. Then the catalytic converter, had that replaced at a cost of $1000, and the engine light keeps coming on.
I have previously owned Jeep Wranglers and I would go back to them in a heart beat, but never a Jeep Compass again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Its ok....not great....but not terrible....

January 10, 2013
By jeeplet
from white lake/MI
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have had this car for almost 40K Miles. I average 22 MPG with a mix of city and highway driving. It is a good looking car with the Rallye pkg. It is uncomfortable on long drives and terrible in the snow. The seats are hard/small and uncomfortable. It is slow to accellerate and very under powered."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nothing Great, But Good Value (2007 4WD Automatic)

July 22, 2012
By July MH
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"It's hard for me to judge this vehicle because I've only owned it from brand new through the first 37,000 miles. I never went off-roading, nor have I had many opportunities to test the 4WD. I found out on my own after having purchased it that it only takes mid-grade gasoline. It drags and struggles when I put regular unleaded. As expected from a small engine SUV, it does struggle to speed up. It handles surprisingly well and is the perfect car for novice drivers. It came with all-weather tires and performs adequately in inclement weather. It's a practical vehicle, but it's not fun to drive. I bought it because for $22,600, I got a fuel efficient SUV with 4WD and automatic transmission. Whereas for $1,000 more, the 2007 Ford Escape only offers a FWD manual."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jeep Compass

June 18, 2012
By Mel
from Indiana
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love it. I have been looking for a vehicle for six months. Just couldn't decide what i wanted and wanted to make sure I'd found the right one.......well I did."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent little vehicle

April 16, 2012
By Guswriter
from Dennison, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I wanted something that would give me decent gas mileage, but still have the utility of a small SUV ... all, of course, at a good price. The Compass achieved. And now that I've taken it on a few longer trips (500 + miles in a day), I like the gas mileage, and the comfort is good. Only hit I have against this vehicle is that, for a 'Limited,' it sure doesn't have a lot of features. No Bluetooth/Sat radio. No self-dimming mirror. No chrome on the outside. Looks pretty plain. But it functions and is a joy to drive. So far, it's been worth the purchase. We've yet to see about the long-term reliability."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE MY JEEP COMPASS!!!!

March 28, 2012
By Tiff
from Friendswood, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When we started car shopping, my husband tried to get me into a Ford Escape. I test drove 2 and didnt like the feel or handling but I wasn't giving up. I went one day to a dealership by myself and told the salesman what I wanted. He asked me what I would be using it for, how much driving I would be doing, kids, work, ect. He didn't bring me a Ford Escape to test drive, he brought me a Jeep Compass. I got in, drove it up and down the highway, and MAN! I love this vehicle!! I somehow convienced my husband to go look at it and the next thing I know, we are bringing it home. I have had it for 3 months now and I am still in awe of the SUV! It handles great, so comfortable inside, my 11 month old loves it, it has alot of space to store stuff (I recently bought a bike and kids trailer and they both fit in the back!) It also has a ton of little cubby spaces. I wouldn't trade my Jeep Compass for anything... unless it was another Jeep Compass! 5 stars from this stay at home mom!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great car great mileage and 4 wheel drive

February 1, 2012
By cj sloss
from st.louis,mo
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I love my jeep compass its 4 wheel drive that gets 28 miles to the gallon, its a 4 cylander but because it has a cvt transmission it feels like a v6. The only down side is the control ARM and or ball joint goes bad , but most Chrysler vehicles do, but it has satellite radio, and it has an actual outlet that you have in your wall. It's great and u feel like ur on ice its so smooth on the highway I would highly recommend this car to any one its an suv but is lite as any normal sedan and its looks so great on the outside"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Ride 29 MPG

October 31, 2011
By nitevis
from Donnelsville,Oh
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Was not sure but after a week i think its a great ride for a 4x4 with performance and great MPG alot more room then you would think from the look on the outside would recommend you take one for a test drive.After driving this one i'm looking at a new one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reliable car

June 6, 2011
By Jeep Compass
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is good on gas I get 30mpg on freeway. I travel 30 minutes to work and another 30 back home."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a joy to drive

May 18, 2011
By steelcurtin
from pittsburgh pa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i bought this vehicle with 40,000 miles on it. and i love it. dont have all kinds of bells and whistles on the interior but everything else is superb. the handeling and the comfort is the best i have ever driven the seats are so comfortable i could drive it for days sound system great and plenty of room"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Silver Ghost Keeps Movin'

February 28, 2011
By Silver Ghost
from Edison, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I now have 28,000 miles on my 2007 Jeep Compass Sport (purchased new in 2008) 4X4 with the 2.4L engine and a manual trannie. I'm happy to say I hsven't had any mechanicall problems with the vehicle. Reviewers have given this vehicle poor to fair reviews. I don't believe they ever owned one. I have driven through one of the worst winters in the Northeast without any difficulties.. I really enjoy driving this small suv."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Problems

August 9, 2010
By New owner
from Waukesha, WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I just bought this vehicle with 60,000 miles on it. It is in the shop right now for a broken control arm on the drivers side. Has very little power to pass or go up a hill."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Most Practical, reliable Automobile

June 20, 2010
By A Mother
from San Francisco
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I once owened a Jeep Cheerokee and downsized to the Compass, What a great desicion. I am very pleased with the way the compass drives and handles long travels. The size is perfect for a tall person the interior is at a comfortable hight for my 5'11"husband and the seats all adjust. The hatch can fit luggage for 4 or more grown travelers. This car was a perfect choice and you should consider purchasing it. I believe the Tahoes and larger SUVs are over rated and very costly. Good luck and enjoy the compass. :)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The WoW factor

June 3, 2010
By Jeepsy
from Virginia Beach, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned my car for 3 months now. I was a little hesitant to buy it at first because I had read that the seats were somewhat uncomfortable. As someone with lower back problems I can honestly say that this could not be farther from the truth. The seats are in fact very comfortable and provide plenty of support. I took a thousand mile road trip and not once did I feel uncomfortable nor the need to stop somewhere just to stretch. I LOVE my Compass. When I was first looking for a car, I accidentally saw it and let me assure you, it was love at first sight. I Love the way it looks and everyone has told me that it's a beautiful car. It gets between 25-28 city miles to the gallon, depending on my driving. For the most part it averages 27. The interior is actually very roomy; I've had four other adults car pool with me and not one complained about being over crowded(this were family members and they would have said something). The car handles pretty good too. Its a nice, smooth enjoyable ride. This car is worth every penny I paid for it. So far it has not given me any problems and I did take it to the mechanics so that they could do a thorough inspection on it. The maintenance on it is also very simple. For the most part is oil changes until you get to 60K miles. I bought the life time tire rotation and balance along with teh lifetime wheel alignment, to keep it running at its optimum level. I would 100% reccomend this car to everyone, although quite honestly, I enjoy being one of the few people who has one. I can honestly say that I am very, very happy with this purchase and I know that I will keep this car as long as I can. Thank You Jeep for making a car that does not look like a box. I LOVE my Compass!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jeep Compass

March 29, 2010
By ex SUV owner
from Jersey City, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I wish I could keep this car forever, but it doesn't make sense to have a car in the city. Great car in all weather conditions. Handles snow flawlessly. Great mileage for an SUV."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

JEEP COMPASS

March 19, 2010
By IRONMAN
from CANALWINCHESTER OHIO
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"GREAT GAS MILEAGE IN A FOUR WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLE IS HARD TO FIND BUT THE COMPASS HAS IT. THEY ARE HARD TO FIND USED ESPECIALLY WITH THE RALLYE PACKAGE. I LOVE MINE."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2007_Jeep_Compass
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Battery leaked acid

February 11, 2010
By Valerie
from saint peters, missouri
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought this vehicle new from dealer. Drove it about 15,000 miles and suddenly the car went dead as I was getting off of the highway. Clutch would not work, brakes would not work, car went black. It was only by the grace of God that no one was directly behind me. Car had to be towed and I was told that the mopar battery leaked acid everywhere. Had to have the clutch replaced, retainer, axel, slave cylinder, wheel speed sensor. Found the managers at the dealership to be rude and at times threatening. Took the car to a real mechanic after the dealership claimed that the car was finally fixed and the real mechanic found fatal errors that the car had to be towed again back to the dealership and fixed again. Would never recommend, jeep or anything chysler to anyone. The cars are simply garbage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.