Customer Reviews for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser

2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser

Average Customer Rating:
3.823 of 5
3.8
 of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
12 of 17(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Review 1 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car

November 3, 2013
By Mr PT
from NH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great little car cheap to run. This car is good on gas and parts if it needs something are also cheap but I think its a great little car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Snappiest Car on the Road

July 27, 2013
By PT LOVER
from Minnneapolis, Mn
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a 2003 PT Cruiser Base new and put 210,000 miles on it and loved every mile...granted I had to put some money into to keep it running smoothly...but nothing that normal wear and tear did not dictate....I just sold the PT and bought another higher end car but missed my PT so much went out and bought a 2008 yesterday for a second run around car....and love it also! Only had it a day...but think it will be as fun and reliable as the last....now I am looking for a low mileage convertible PT....sigh...sure wish they still made this snappy little car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

dont buy this car worst car ever

February 20, 2013
By jack hin
from newoleans,la
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"dont buy this car. It is a rip of.for.the.price this car my car had all kind if problems to pthe oiunt where tge deremind.me.of.my old.pt.crusier it had the same.kind.of.pro.as.this one to.one day finally cluncked.out . I would.not.buy.this car.it has been seviced to many times.wich mean its.about to.break. A computer had to be replaced and a.timing belt. Its clear to.to a owner was taking care of it but most lkey it just a.pt crusier because a co worker car also had all.kinds.of electrical probems. This car do not seem like a car.u should want to buy especialy if u r going to.have to put mone itno tieds and more.thing once.u buy it..please.dont.buy this.car.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Value For the Money

December 17, 2012
By Dave
from Los Angeles
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First, the PT Cruiser is not an economy car. Just because it is a 'small' car, don't think you will get 22 mpg city, 30 mpg highway. I get 18 mpg city, 24 mpg highway, average 19.5 overall. Think of it as a small SUV, with seats that fold down or pop out, you can carry as much as a big SUV, including a mountain bike, with the front tire still on. Try to do that in Honda Fit. I bought a 2008 loaded Turbo in 2012 with 34,000 miles for $9800. Dealers want $15,000 to $16,000 for a used Honda Fit or Nissan Versa, with less power, ugly styling, cheaper interior materials. No, I dont get 24 mpg average. But the $5,000 I saved will buy a heck of a lot of gas."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

pt cruisers

June 27, 2012
By peanut gallery
from sonoma, ca
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"what a loser piece of junk of a car... do not buy this accident waiting to happen. I have had to replace the windshield twice, the spoiler in the front is useless. the mileage is horrible, it isnt comfortable front or back at all."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

pt cruiser

January 5, 2012
By sandhammaren05
from Houston, Tx
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Three years ago we bought a 2008 PT Cruiser from a close friend who makes a living buying wrecks at auction and rebuilding them. The car had 12000 miles, now has 49000. It's the most comfortable touring car I've ever driven (compared with VW, BMW, Ford Contour, various vans, and Opel Vectra (in Germany)). I really like not having to squat to sit down, there is enormous leg room fore and aft, and even the back seat is comfortable. We drove 4000 miles, W. Tx., N.M., Az., Col., Christmas 2010, and I was never tired. The car handles like a sports car, has excellent suspension and does not oversteer or understeer. The gas mileage is awful, 19 mpg towing a small boat, 23.5 mpg cruising on an interstate at 80-90 mph. I've even hauled 15-25 hp outboards back to Tx. from Ky., weighing 77-120 lb., in the hatchback trunk. And there was still room for baggage. You pack vertically instead of horizontally. Best touring and towing car I ever drove, hands down. Also, the car cost $8000 and the only sign of the wreck is that the left rear door closes a bit hard. Unfortunately, the side mirrors must be adjusted manually."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

did i buy a lemon? or are all cruisers like this?

May 21, 2011
By jswade
from memphis, tn
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"in 2009 i bought a used 2008 pt cruiser that had about 48000 miles already on it. within 6 months it started overheating. got that fixed for about $700. then within a year after that it started overheating AGAIN. another $1500 to realize that this "SUV" has a dodge neon engine.
thanks for letting me know that quality is not #1 here. next time, i'm getting a toyota."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Looks Great, Feels Great!

May 21, 2011
By (InsertNicknameHere)
from Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a Used PT Cruiser Touring Edition (Non-Turbo) about a week ago and traded in my 2005 Chevy Cobalt. My PT Cruiser has 48,000 miles on it.
First of all, I should say that this car offers a generous amount of space for both driver and passenger, unless you're sitting in the middle of the rear seats. I'm 6'3", 230lbs. and have no problems with getting in or out of this vehicle, having poor legroom, or anything of that nature.
This car handles excellently on the open road and accelerates well-enough to make it down the entrance ramp and get you on the highway at appropriate speed with no problems. I read a previous review where it was mentioned that they have difficulty accelerating their PT Cruiser uphill and maintaining speed, however, this (Ohio Valley) is quite a hilly area and I will report that I have not experienced that problem. This automobile rides quite smoothly and barely notices potholes.
In fact, the only negative aspect of this vehicle with respect to performance is the turning radius. I have found that it can be difficult to pull into (and even moreso back out of) tight parking spots. That's an issue that can very easily be avoided where I live, but at the same time, I would not recommend this car to someone in a major city unless they are really good at parking to begin with.
The exterior styling is a throwback to cars of the 30's-50's. I have heard many say that it looks like a, "Gangster," or, "Mobster," car. The only thing I can really say about the exterior styling is that I love it. I could go into detail, but it would be pointless because: 1.) Taste in design is purely subjective, and 2.) You can find any number of pictures of them on-line and make your own decision.
The interior design is very classy, clearly modeled to look like a luxury vehicle. If I could give the interior design four-and-a-half stars, I would. My only objection to the interior design is that it is very difficult to get to the button for your read-out on the left: (1.) Temperature/Direction/Radio Function-Station-CD Track 2.) Miles per Gallon 3.) Distance-to-Empty 4.) Elapsed Trip Time) while the car is in motion. The read-outs on the right are a bit easier (Odometer, Trip Distances, etc.) are a little more accessible. I do not warrant this minor nuisance as being worthy of subtracting an entire star, though.
I have nothing else to say about the interior design, again, I love it, but pictures are easy enough to find.
I consider this automobile great value for the money, given both the Used Car valuations that can be found on this site as well as the MSRP's at the time the automobile came out. Regardless of whether or not someone appreciates this car's exterior appearance, I doubt if there are very many people at all that do not consider the automobile unique. Furthermore, I think that the cargo space is more than sufficient, and the extra shelf that comes with the automobile makes it very convenient for loading breakable/smashable groceries separate from non-breakable groceries without having to clog up your seating area.
There are many who complain about the fuel economy of this automobile, but I find these complaints rather odd. Information concerning the EPA's Estimated Fuel Economy 19-City 24-Highway is readily attainable, so nobody should be surprised when this vehicle does not give them the gas mileage that many others would. I reset my MPG's monitor when I drove it off of the lot, and after one week and 300 miles (even split between city/highway) I'm cruising along at 23.4 MPG's. That's a far cry from the 29.8MPG's (Combined) in my Cobalt, but I knew that was coming. Why does everyone act so surprised?
I'm giving reliability an assumption-based five stars, I'll either update this review or post a new one if the situation changes. Again, I've only had it for a week.
Overall, if you're an individual that's looking for a unique-looking, comfortable vehicle at a reasonable price that includes many of the frills one can expect to find in a luxury automobile, then the Chrysler PT Cruiser may be the automobile for you. I would not recommend this vehicle to anyone that is greatly concerned with MPG's or saving money on gas (That won't happen), and I would not recommend it to anyone living in a big city because this thing would be a nightmare to park in a tight, but crowded, area."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Car

April 20, 2011
By AAT
from ca
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Comfort: I am compare this car with my 2004 sonata. The seats of this car is so hard and uncomfortable, specially the drivers neck pillow. so I decrease 1 star. and another star for the break pedal level that is so high! I ask the dealer to adjust it. but they told me it is not adjustable.
Performance:For sure it is not as good as sport cars. but I expect more.The gas millage is 18-24 mpg (compare to my sonata 24-29) with the less power!
exterior styling: simply I do not like it!
Interior Design: It is nice and I like it.
Value of the money: I bought this car used for 6000 with about 50000 millage! I think think it is unbelievable!
Reliability: So far so good!
I hope this can you guys."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Used Car Purchase

February 12, 2011
By PT Mitchy
from El Paso TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Considering the world raves about Honda, my PT LX replaced a 2000 Honda Civic that at 74,000 miles blew its Automatic Transmissoin, I will never purchase another Honda again!! The PT however has been great, more space than a civic, very versatile for carting people or things. The engine isn't performance oriented but then again its intent isn't to do that, but it keeps up with traffic easily and has plenty of passing power. It is stylish enough and can be presentable anywhere...not something you can easily find in the economy crowd. The equipment is generous and I love the different functions of the trip computer. My little PT has already gone to Austin twice and Las Vegas in a single year and has already earned 30,000 miles on top of the 40,000 it had when i purchased it (former rental) All in all the best car I have ever purchased."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FOR MY DAUGHTER

January 31, 2011
By CACTUS
from ELK GROVE, CALIFORNIA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"WE ARE VERY HAPPY WITH THE CAR. IT IS RELIABLE AND DEPENDABLE AND COST EFFICENT. WE BOUGHT THE CAR FOR OUR DAUGHTER WHO GOES TO A COLLEGE 3 HOURS FROM HOME. WHEN SHE'S HOME, MY WIFE DRIVES IT TO WORK AND IS VERY PLEASED WITH THE PUCHASED VEHICLE."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun, competent ride

September 29, 2010
By PTdriver
from East Falmouth, MA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My 2008 PT Cruiser was purchased used; a former Enterprise rental car. I'm using it as a 'spare'; that is, I do lots of business in an area I fly to, and the car sits there for local transportation. I wanted something a little more interesting than the usual low-end econo-boxes, but that wouldn't break the bank, as it was a second vehicle.
The car has good looks, is more substantial than something like a Hundai Accent or Chevy Aveo, and is reasonably roomy. It could use a few more horsepower (mine is non-turbo), but one must calibrate ones expectations. Complaints about the poor turning radius wound up being a non-issue; it could be a bit better, but its not bad enough to be a hassle. My mixed city-highway fuel economy is about 23 mpg, as shown on the in-car computer; not bad, but not spectacular, either. That's probably at least partly due to the car's aerodynamics; it was styled to look cool, not to slip smoothly through the air. That's fine by me.
All in all, while you'll never mistake this for a $50k Mercedes, its a perfectly reasonable ride, and for a decent price. Go for it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

get the limited

April 2, 2009
By rossario
from Phhoenix AZ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Terrific vehicle but make sure you get the turbo engine limited it has all the options! Sunroof,antilock brakes, very cool 17 inch wheels! The turbo is fast too"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PT--Good value for the money

February 22, 2009
By lincoln owner for years
from Bismarck ND
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my third Cruiser 01 02 08. All have been good cars. Easy to get in and out, nice features-does exactly what it promises. Am again pleased to have one as a runabout. Have yet to need repairs on any of them. Either they are good cars or I have exceptional luck."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nostalgia not worth the poor performance & low mpg

July 27, 2008
By Green Machine
from Northeast Iowa
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I drive a brand new, 2008 PT Cruiser 4-dr. The car is not the worst ever. Once it gets up to 60mph, it seems to have uniform acceleration ... unless you are trying to pass someone! Also, the car does not maintain acceleration uphill without intense application of the accelerator. It also accelerates very slow from a complete stop, until it finally gets to 40mph.
I have no real complaints about comfortability -- the ride is smooth enough. Also, the cabin height seems to be good enough to let me see the stoplights (unlike in my 1994 S-10 Blazer). The cargo room in the vehicle is small, but larger than it appears.
I have only had this vehicle for a week. I would personally HATE driving this vehicle for longer than a month! I am in my thirties and performance is a key criteria for me.
This car would be perfect for the those who have you have lots of money to pay for lots of gas (only 200miles on a full 15gal. tank), who aren't planning to haul much, ever, only travel for fun, and like to take life slow. Also, those who gain an irreplaceable feeling of NOSTALGIA, (The 50+ crowd), may be able to forgive this vehicle's shortcomings. In contrast, the Nissan Altima is a great vehicle for anyone who appreciates style, luxury, and performance -- and a great big trunk!
I hope this review has been helpful. Have a great day!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice and Easy Going

July 3, 2008
By R.J.
from CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a white 2008 Chrysler PT Cruiser LX with a 5 speed stick shift. It is a really fun "Cruiser" because it just really likes to cruise and goes over bumps like nothing. I really like how the body is based on a 1930's body design with a 1941 Plymouth name. It's nice to see some history in recreation."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2008_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Least reliable car I've owned

June 9, 2008
By car lover
from Akron, Oh
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The car is the worst car i have ever owned. The suspension on the car is horrible. You have to put more money into the car than it is worth. I would not recomend the car for everyday driving."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.