Customer Reviews for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler

2008_Jeep_Wrangler

Average Customer Rating:
4.548 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 of 31(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Review 1 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fantastic jeep! Beast off road

April 8, 2014
By Jeep freak 7
from Severna park, MD
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This jeep is fantastic! I love everything about it. I love customizing my cars and making them unique and with a jeep there's always more to do. The only down sides are the V6 doesn't give enough power and the floaty suspensions makes it's feel out of control at times. I took my jeep off roading the other day and there was nothing it couldn't concer weather it's a mud pick or a hill it didn't even struggle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jeep Wrangler (JK) and dealership

October 25, 2013
By 4xMark
from Norwich, CT
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Jeep (JK) Wrangler "Sahara" package is what I bought. Great vehicle. Really could have given all 5-stars as one doesn't really look for "comfort" when buying a Wrangler style Jeep. The interior design only got 4 stars because there could be more cubbies/storage places and grab bars even with the pad covered roll bars and a place to hang a jacket or something in the back. Other than that, great layout.
Overall this is my childhood dream come true to own a Wrangler. Makes me smile to drive it and the friendly waves from fellow Wrangler drivers makes the experience of owning one all the better.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Jeep Wrangler - Best of Both World's

July 10, 2013
By Pocampo
from Houston Texas
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Whether you purchase a Jeep Wrangler as your daily driver, or for weekend warrior adventures, it's a great SUV. My recent purchase of a pre-owned Wrangler (2008) was for my 16 year old twins to share. I'm not sure how they are going to work out the details of who gets the car on what days, but that's their problem, not mine. My problem was finding a used SUV that is reliable, affordable, yet stylish in the eyes of a teenager. The Jeep Wrangler accomplished this goal."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What an upgrade from my CJ5

May 23, 2013
By VW Split Bus Guy
from Huntington Beach, CA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I drove the 6 speed manual trans version of the Wrangler before buying the 4 speed automatic version. It's well worth the extra money for the automatic, far more comfortable to drive. The Wrangler is surprisingly quiet, even with a soft top. The a/c and heater are way better than what would be required. The turning radius is very tight, making the Wrangler a blast to drive. The brakes are outstanding. The engine has smooth but moderate power. Some things I wish the Wrangler came with but doesn't: A hood lock, hood lift, tailgate prop, door hinge locks, locking fuel door and a bracket to keep the rear folding seat from rolling around when tucked away."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

long time wrangler driver but several headaches in

May 15, 2012
By kdbp1213
from Oklahoma City, OK
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Have driven Jeep Wranglers since fall 1994 when they lacked airbags and back seats.
I bought my current '08 Wrangler X in Dec '08. It's been a fun and reliable vehicle except three issues that I've never encountered in a '94, '00, '05, & '06 Wranglers.
1. Around the 25K mile mark in the '08, I had to replace the steering dampener because of the 'death wobble.' Several times in Feb & March '11, I'd lose control of the Wrangler for 10-40 seconds on interstate driving. It was scary for me and other drivers around me.
2. Around the 35K-range, the Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) and the Sentry Key System lights indiscriminately have started popping on and off when they should not popping on and off. Dec '11 to May '12 opening a STAR case, a local Jeep dealer has thrown several 'fixes' at it but both lights pop off and on at the wrong occasions in the 39K-range.
3. The third issue was a significant drop in MPG. Dec '08 to Jan '11, my Wrangler's six cylinder engine got 17-20 MPG around town and 20-25 MPG on the highway. Since then, I'm getting 10-13 MPG around town and 15-19 MPG on the highway. My driving habits have not changed during the MPG change. Local Jeep service departments could not explain drastic change in MPGs."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Greatest car I've ever had

October 26, 2011
By car expert
from Georgia, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i think it is an amazing car and wouldnt trade or sell for anything. having this car is really helping me to look good and feel great and i plan on gibving it to my son"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best car ever bought!

August 16, 2011
By ed
from L.A. ca
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"best car i ever bought!!!! its incredible what this jeep can do on and off road! highly recommended to everybody!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Wrangler Yet

May 11, 2011
By 442Wrangler
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned a TJ and YJ and this Rubicon that I bought surpasses both in quality and comfort. Highly recommended! I love the sway bar disco and the lockers, they definitely help me in the rocks and off the beaten trail!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wouldnt buy anything else

March 5, 2011
By Jeeper
from vt
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Im on my third Jeep and I love them. I hate to see reviews of people complaining about the ride. Didnt you test drive it? Dont you know its a Jeep, made for off road, if you want a soft cushy ride go buy a Honda or a Toyota. Nothing beats a Jeep off road. My only complaint is I think they should of stayed with the time proven straight six. Guess well have to wait and see how the v6 holds up over time. OlllllO"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just drive it.

February 27, 2011
By Gotta Have A Jeep
from Denver, CO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Okay, like many, I 've read the reviews and decided to try the jeep wrangler anyway. I personally got a great deal on a Wrangler X soft top. Now for those of you whom want the smooth, quiet ride... this is NOT the vehicle for you. For those of you whom want to feel the road, take the top and the doors off, and look towards the mountains (I live in Colorado) to think, 'But a mole hill.' This is the car for you. It's not a sports car... it's not a minivan... it's a vehicle tuned to go off road! The ride is bumpy but it WILL get you where you need to go, regardless of the weather. I've had the jeep for three winter months and I've never failed to reach my destination, nor has it ever failed to start on the first turn. But now I ramble. Great car, drive it and see why so many people in Colorado have one.
-TK"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love My Jeep

February 15, 2011
By Jeepers
from Lakeland, Florida
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First let me say I love my 2 Door Jeep Wrangler. It's the easiest vehicle to drive that I've owned. Yes it's not that comfortable, it doesn't get get gas mileage, and it's not meet to carry around a large family. However, if you want something thats fun to drive, easy to take down to your favorite fishing hole or your favorite camp/hunting ground then the Jeep Wrangler rules. You don't have to be afraid to get back deep in the woods or go down by the river or even on the beach. The Jeep has, 6 CD changer and a great stereo, power windows and door locks, and hey you can even go topless, what more would you want. The 2 dr Wrangler isn't a family SUV but it's a must have vehicle for a redneck, back woods county boy like me."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

VERY FUN TO DRIVE..

November 2, 2010
By PORSCHE OWNER
from LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"VERY FUN TO DRIVE.. ACCESS TO THE BACK SEAT IS HORRIBLE. BUT THAT IS MY ONLY QUIRK WITH THIS VEHICLE.. JEEP SHOULD HAVE HAD A SEAT IN FRONT THAT LIFTED UP SO PASSENGERS CAN GAIN ACCESS TO THE REAR SEAT. EVEN A PAIN TO THROW GROCERIES BACK THERE AND RETRIEVE THEM. BUT AS I SAID. THATS MY ONLY PROBLEM I COULD FIND. RUNS GREAT. GAS MILEAGE IS VERY DECENT 21 MPG AVERAGE. THEY HAVE COME A LONG WAY!.. ITS MORE LIKE A CAR THAN A TRUCK FEEL.. ID BUY ANOTHER."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

be careful on bumpy curves

August 11, 2010
By jeep girl
from Twin Falls, ID
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First off, I would like to say that I absolutely LOVE my 2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited. I have waited and saved for 2 years to get one and I am very pleased.....except for one problem.
I was driving over a mountain summit (paved, US Highway) and as I was going around a curve at approximately 45 mph, I hit some bumps in the road. This caused the Jeep to begin to shimmy - I thought at first I had a flat tire. When I stopped and started again, the problem corrected itself. This was pretty scarey. It happened again later. When I took it to the dealership, I was told that the front stabling shock was not strong enough for the vehicle and I would need to upgrade. However, thiis is not covered under the factory warrenty.
The good news is that it will cost less than $200 to fix, however I feel that Jeep should cover this under their warrenty.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Driving my dream

April 9, 2010
By Jeep Lover
from Sudden Valley, WA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Ok, so I have driven cars with heated seats, GPS and great sound systems, and the comfort was top notch.However, if your one of us who loves Jeep Wranglers, then you know it is not about any of that with a Jeep.
I love my Jeep, because I have wanted one since I was 15. Now at age 40 I proudly drive my bright yellow Jeep I call Tibby. We take raod trips, we go offroading,and even to the beach with the top off!
When you own a Jeep, it feels like a part of the family, not just a car. As the saying goes.. It's a Jeep thing!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Jeepers Creepers

November 18, 2009
By jeep fan 4-life
from Addison, Il
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my second jeep in less that a year. I had a 04 "x" model, and moved up to a 08 Rubicon. I love it. The extra two doors give so much more room. It has the large off road tires on it, which ride nice, but not great. I would recommend a second set of all season for the summer. So far no problems, but ive only had it a week, but I love this truck. Everyone should own a wrangler in there life time. What a blast to drive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite vehicle, I've ever driven or owned

September 2, 2009
By tucker06
from Springfield, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have always liked the look of the Wrangler. Owned a 2 dr. Family size increased, test drove the 4 door and loved it. Family members are always wanting to borrow my Wrangler just for the fun of driving it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2nd Jeep, even better than the first

April 19, 2009
By GTNDRTY
from Chandler, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This is my second Jeep Wrangler Rubicon. My first was an '03 Tombraider special edition, which sold me on Jeep Wranglers forever! I was very impressed with the places it could go, and learned what "Only in a Jeep" meant. The Tombraider Rubicon had all of the features that most would add after buying a standard Jeep: larger tires, lockers, light bars, custom fender flares, hard and soft tops, neoprene seats, and a nicely upgraded radio with a sub. My 2008 Wrangler Rubicon has all of that and more! The special edition 32" BFG's have a "J" tread pattern only offered on Jeep Rubicons. Even the seats are made from a special "YES" material that is resistant to all things (except blood and paint). The Touch-screen, MYGIG radio plays DVDs, Sirius Satellite Radio, Navigation, and can be Blue-tooth and Voice Activated (U-Connect). Other well engineered features I love are the Sunrider soft top, which lets you flip back just the part of the soft top that covers the front passengers. The back seat, which when removed, also removes the center seat belts so they are not left in your way. The best feature I have found yet, is the very well thought out door removal. When the doors are removed with 2 bolts per door, and the wiring is disconnected, the interior light is only activated by the switch and by the tail gate and no door alarms or "door ajar" indicators are active. Just more proof to me of how well thought out this new Rubicon is. The Rescue Green color is very eye-catching, and the winch and rock crawler bumpers made the tough even tougher."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

extreme yo

March 29, 2009
By car man
from sammamish,WA
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"this thing can offroad like wind! it is way better than our crown victoria dismal fuel economy but great interior design back window in small and dull but this thing off roads from the eifel tower to the gobi desert!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this car!

December 21, 2008
By jono
from Tysons Corner, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i just bought my 2008 wrangler and it is the best vehicle i have ever had. I love everything about this car, its sharp, it performs in any condition, and i believe it to be the best 4x4 on the road!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2008_Jeep_Wrangler
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wrangler Unlimited X - First Jeep We've Owned

November 1, 2008
By Orimai
from Denver Colorado
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We love this thing! If you are rating this vehicle and comparing it to a Cadillac then you don't know what a Jeep is all about. For what it is, it ranks at the top in all catergories. It may be slow to get up on the highway, but that is not why you own a Jeep to begin with. Quiet, smooth, off road ability and great all around. Join a Jeep Club is my only recommendation :P"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Having fun
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.