Customer Reviews for 2008_Jeep_Patriot

2008_Jeep_Patriot

Average Customer Rating:
3.875 of 5
3.9
 of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
5
35 of 48(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Review 1 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Cant believe my luck with cars!

September 9, 2014
By Newbie Mom
from Odenville, AL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"A few years ago I had an Alero and someone rear ended me and totalled it. I then got a Nissan Xterra and the air conditioning went out within a few months. I traded it in for this 2008 jeep patriot. I have had it 3 years with no issues.....till now. A couple weeks ago it started making a loud noise when I was on the interstate but only if I got above 65mph. Then it also makes a loud popping sound when turning or going over big bumps. Took it to a Transmission place yesterday and they said the transmission needs to be replaced! I still have 2 years left to pay on it and it doesn't even have 100,000 miles on it!!!! How is this even possible?? And from what I have been reading its a common problem-yet the manufacturer refuses to correct it! First and LAST time I buy a jeep!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst car ever

June 6, 2014
By jd
from pittsburgh
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The worst car. This car was bought brand new sand after 3 yrs it has been non repairs. Car stalls out on highway in the past yr it has been in the shop six or seven time for major repairs and dollars. And jeep will not help u out one bit. Disgraceful"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Plan on driving it forever!

May 6, 2014
By Thomi
from Portland, ME
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2008 Jeep Patriot Sport 4x4 brand new off the lot in April 2008. I was the first to test drive it and the last. I love the color. It's called Brilliant Black Crystal Pearl and it's black with metallic sparkles in it. My hubby washed it the other day and someone came up and asked me if it was a new Patriot. They were really surprised to hear that it's 6 years old.
The car currently has a little over 108,000 miles on it and it's a little beast in the snow. The average gas mileage for my car is about 27mpg or if I drive all highway on a tank, I can get about 29mpg. The car is definitely driven a lot and used, it isn't a car that sits in a garage and only goes to the grocery store 2 miles up the road once a week! It has never been off road though. I'm sure it'd do well but off-roading isn't something that interests me.
There have been a couple issues but nothing all that major. The ball joints needed replacement after about 50,000 miles which is a well known issue and this past winter, a couple valve stems broke but we have had the same awesome mechanic for over a decade and he fixed them no problem. We haven't had any problem maintaining the car. I've never had it go to the shop frequently or long term. My car came with the lifetime powertrain warranty but so far, I've never had to use it. I took it in for it's 5 year maintenance check last summer and the dealership gave it a clean bill of health.
I have a manual transmission and the shifting is a bit sensitive but it never pops out or acts in anyway that it shouldn't. It accelerates well for a car it's size with a 4 cylinder engine and I really enjoy driving it.
I'm 5'6" and my hubby's 6'1" and both of us are very comfortable in this car. There's plenty of room for driver and I sat in back as a passenger with a friend on a 4 hour trip while my hubby drove and I was very comfortable. The interior of my Patriot is very basic but that's what I like. I like manual locks and windows and specifically requested them when I went car shopping. I will say that if you open all 4 windows in my Patriot, it creates a very unpleasant humming and vibration that sets my teeth on edge so I never open more than a couple windows at a time. I have dogs and the interior is easy to wipe down which is awesome. My Jeep has AC which is a wonderful thing on a hot day.
I only gave the interior 4 stars because the rubber that surrounds the shifter is coming apart and the driver's seat is cracking. I don't see any reason for the shifter cover to be falling apart. The paint on my hubcaps is almost all gone and the silver paint on my 4 wheel drive lever is peeling off. There's a small patch of rust on the nose of the car as well. I feel like Jeep could have done a better job in using more durable material but the Patriot as a whole is still a great car.
I'm on my 2nd set of tires and I make sure to balance and rotate them as recommended and I also make sure my car's alignment is checked. My tires tend to last as long as they should or a bit longer.
I love my Jeep Patriot and I can't express how satisfied overall I am with it. I plan on driving it until the wheels pop off and then I plan on buying another Jeep Patriot Sport 4x4!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car for a tall person!

May 2, 2014
By Allgames
from Cumming, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this for my son, he loves it! He is 6'4", so this works perfect for him. The manual door locks and windows is pretty typical for some of the jeeps, but he does not care. The vehicle has lots of room, style, and function. I heard about the transmission from others, but I have not notices anything. It has 74k miles on it. I did buy the extended warranty anyways."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love it and not agreeing with bad reviews

April 30, 2014
By Concerned
from California
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had my jeep patriot for 3 years and never used my warranty and it is at 86,000 mi. Its great in the snow and gets great gas mileage for a 4wd, great sound sysytem and features, i take care of this jeep though as i would suspect most of the bad reviews do not. Driving it hard and not changing oil or doing the recommended maintenance will of course cause problems. i hear all the breakdowns but not about how you took great care of the car. You simply cannot just drive a vehicle and expect it to run. and yes you could possibly get a bad model of the patriot but mine wasn't :)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Forced me to buy a Toyota

April 14, 2014
By Unhappy
from Colorado
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought the 08 Patriot as our second Jeep Product. Within 3 years we have had the tranny replaced 3 times. Can't drive it beyond 50 miles or it whines and over heats. We had to rent a car to go visit family beyond the 50 mile mark. When I asked to borrow a company car while it was being looked at, they apologized as the company car was having problems. The company loaner car was an 08 Patriot (Absolutely true story!) Jeep would not fix it or take it back. So disappointed that I sold both Jeeps and drive a Toyota now. Even my kids comment, "I wonder if that car whines", when they see another Jeep. Thanks Jeep as you probably lost future sales from two current and two future car owners."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Uncomfortable, cheap made

February 24, 2014
By Prefer my truck
from Florida
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I got one of these from a family member. Drove it for five years. It's full of ugly bulky plastic that I constantly banged my head and legs on and I'm only 5'4". The back seat is very uncomfortable and the cargo area is tiny if you have the back seats in use. The head rest on the front seat is always in my way. If I have a clip or barrette in my hair I have to drive bend forward, so it doesn't get caught on the head rest.The gear shift is real touchy. Can't tell you how many times it got knocked by accident into manual, while stopped at a light. As soon as the warranty was up things started breaking. Maintance/repair over five years cost me as much as 10 years with my other vehicle. Even a battery had to be a special expensive one. On the positive side, it handles great and has excellent acceleration. Takes off like sports car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Vehicle Owned - Jeep Patriot

February 24, 2014
By Kerwin Maude
from Vancouver, Canada
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We bought our 2008 Jeep Patriot new and paid cash (no bank loans) with a trade-in. A few months after driving it off the lot, our endless nightmares began with chronic 5-speed manual transmission repairs, down times of no transportation, waiting times and lost value in a substandard product. We had over 4 factory warranty major repairs and the company even replaced the whole transmission with a new one. The gears were constantly grinding (not my driving as manager echoed that fact) and the company estimated Jeep Canada lost about $13,000 in repairs, parts and labour on a $25,000 vehicle that was a "lemon". After being a regular face in the dealership with their sales manager and service manager we were deeply stressed and frustrated. The sales manager (no big deal - failed to give us customer satisfaction) wrote a letter in support of our claims and the stack of warranty repairs, typical Jeep Canada failed miserably to solve the crisis and merely "rubber stamped " the dealership following warranty protocols. Jeep lost our confidence, lost our respect and I would neither recommend the dealership nor the product. We finally got rid of our headache with a better product at a better car lot and have been trouble free for 2 years. Nobody should have to suffer what we endured. Records, statements and repair paper work do not misrepresent the truth...we need to overhaul the auto industry in many ways for the benefit of the consumer not the companies. We felt uneasy driving it locally or going across the border and heard similar stories from other customers. Maybe some had good experiences with automatics but manual transmissions in this car was nothing less than an intense throbbing headache that was unacceptable. We should not be afraid of factual truths or poor ratings that are deserved including bulky handing on the roads and around turns.
Kerwin Maude"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very relaible transportation

February 23, 2014
By jeep Enthusiast
from South, Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this vehicle new in late 2008, it has 120,000 miles as of January 2014. I have done required maintenance. Only problem had to replace alternator at 108,000. There are no rattles and it is holding up very well. It went in for the 5 year warranty check recently no problems found. I bought this vehicle because I drive a lot and it get better gas mileage than my Dakota pickup. I am a big guy and it is easy to get in and out of, and is very comfortable to sit in for long rides. I have made trips from California to Texas and back, 3 adults and a 15 year old plus luggage. I would recommend this vehicle without reservation."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DO NOT BUY THIS CAR

January 27, 2014
By Hannah
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"the 08' Jeep Patriot is my first car. I've had it for about two years now. I'm 18 years old and I have had trouble with my car since I drove it off the lot. I've had to get the main computer replaced just shortly after my purchase and now the problem has shown up again. I've also had to get a few censors replaced, a new battery, and wheel barrings. All together, I have put in way too much money on this car than it is worth. I'm about to go off to college and I need something reliable. This is not the car for me or anyone who needs reliability over looks."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Beware

January 20, 2014
By jt50310
from Grimes, Iowa
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have Jeep Patriot with 58, 000 miles. The car requires new transmission and ball joints for a total cost of $5, 040.
This is a typical problem with the Patriot and Compass.
Jeep will not honor power tranny for the second owner.
Save yourself alot of money.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Daughters' favorite car

August 23, 2013
By Caring Mom
from Indiana
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My daughter has been wanting a Jeep Patriot since she was in Middle School. She is now in High School and has the car of her dreams. When she saw the Jeep in the exact color she wanted I did everything I could to make sure she got it!! She bought it herself and this Mom is very proud of her. The car is in great shape has low miles and runs awesome!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Patriot

August 17, 2013
By Jeep lover
from Benton pa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love this jeep! Only complaints I have are how easy it is to put into auto stuck and the gas tank is too small on it. I drive 120 miles a day round trip to work very comfortable!! Mpg are great and love the room in it!! I'm very happy with it !!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

08 Jeep Patriot

July 18, 2013
By Ocbrudy
from Kalamazoo,Mi.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have wanted a Jeep for a long time, finally got a Patriot in 4/2012. I just love the jeep and will always own one. The only problem i have is with the CVT, When we travel only about 2 hours the manual trans-axle light comes on and the tranny whines and forces to pull over and let the car cool off. This happens even when the temp. outside is in the mid 70's. Its just annoying. I took it to be looked at the the mechanic could not find anything wrong. It gets great gas mileage but I cant even tow anything because of the CVT."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sporty yet adorable

July 3, 2013
By Jeeper
from KS
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Not sure why, but I've wanted a Jeep since I was little and glad I finally got it! Drives great, and big but not big. Was expecting it to have more features to it (auto windows/locks/mirrors) since it's not an old car, but overall thrilled with it and already added auto locks, no big deal."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

WHY BUY ANY OTHER CAR?

June 11, 2013
By HUBRIS
from NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Splendid is an understatement when I decide to describe this car.Despite annoying the humming sound it makes its performance is woooow and value for money cannot be matched. I bought it 3 years ago and all I do is routine servicine even though i travel off-road most of the time."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I will miss this car.

February 26, 2013
By Vuksan
from Virginia
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife and I bought our 4wd 2008 Jeep Patriot in 2009 and we have enjoyed driving it these past 4 years. Unfortunately we have grown out of it with the addition of our son and recently traded it in on a 2012 Dodge journey. The Patriot is an absolute tank in the snow. I have driven it through as much as 3 feet of snow without getting stuck. The patriot never left us stranded in any circumstance including Hurricane Irene. We always got 25 miles per gallon and features like an actual power outlet made traveling great.
At 85,000 we had to put new tie rod ends and ball joints on the Patriot. If you read the reviews you'll see this is pretty standard. The only bad thing I have to say for our patriot is that it burned through rear tires like crazy. We had to replace the rear tires every 6 months. No I didn't rotate the tires but I also didn't want to replace all 4 at once. The other kinda negative thing is that it accelerates like it has an anchor attached to it. 0 to 60 is slow, but once its at speed it runs great.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's nice

March 6, 2012
By Janeski
from Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my new Jeep Patriot, Great Size! and great price for the space. I love it, but I wish I had bought it in any other color but Gold! I HATE THE COLOR IT BOUGHT!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I will never but another Jeep

September 15, 2011
By crys
from Pennsylvania
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I am averaging a trip to the shop and about $400.00 every 3 months. Now my 2008 Patriot, which has 67, 000 miles on it, needs a new CVT transmission. NOONE works on them, not even Jeep. They cannot be fixed, even if the problem is a small pin, they will only replace them at the reasonable price of $3,700 for a new one. Good luck finding a used one. We have replaced the tire rods and tie rod ends twice in 2 years, no off roading required! This thing has been nothing but a headache with 2 kids and a lot of miles to drive everyday I need a reliable vehicle. This is not it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

slowly dissapointing

August 24, 2011
By Stuck in Coshocton
from Coshocton, Ohio
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought my Patriot direct from the factory in sept. 07. It was nice looking and I really liked the leg room and the lifetime warrenty of the CVT transmission. Overall I was happy with my Jeep. However this past year 2011, i have had to get a new water pump(covered under the warrenty of the tranny??) Ive had to get a new control arm installed and now it is in the shop for the engine jumping around at 20 mph and 40 mph. I really like my jeep but I am contemplating trading it in, not a nother jeep though, they just dont seem to be as durable as their name once was. There is only 80,000 miles on it. I will be getting a second set of tires for it which good year is the only brand that makes this particular size, so the cost is outrageous for a tire. Is anybodyeles having these issue?? I have 2 family members who liked my Jeep and have purchased their own this past year. I feel bad for them that in the future they may run into the same problems as I have."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.