Customer Reviews for 2008_Jeep_Patriot

2008_Jeep_Patriot

Average Customer Rating:
3.954 of 5
4
 of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
4
32 of 43(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Review 1 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Forced me to buy a Toyota

April 14, 2014
By Unhappy
from Colorado
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought the 08 Patriot as our second Jeep Product. Within 3 years we have had the tranny replaced 3 times. Can't drive it beyond 50 miles or it whines and over heats. We had to rent a car to go visit family beyond the 50 mile mark. When I asked to borrow a company car while it was being looked at, they apologized as the company car was having problems. The company loaner car was an 08 Patriot (Absolutely true story!) Jeep would not fix it or take it back. So disappointed that I sold both Jeeps and drive a Toyota now. Even my kids comment, "I wonder if that car whines", when they see another Jeep. Thanks Jeep as you probably lost future sales from two current and two future car owners."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Uncomfortable, cheap made

February 24, 2014
By Prefer my truck
from Florida
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I got one of these from a family member. Drove it for five years. It's full of ugly bulky plastic that I constantly banged my head and legs on and I'm only 5'4". The back seat is very uncomfortable and the cargo area is tiny if you have the back seats in use. The head rest on the front seat is always in my way. If I have a clip or barrette in my hair I have to drive bend forward, so it doesn't get caught on the head rest.The gear shift is real touchy. Can't tell you how many times it got knocked by accident into manual, while stopped at a light. As soon as the warranty was up things started breaking. Maintance/repair over five years cost me as much as 10 years with my other vehicle. Even a battery had to be a special expensive one. On the positive side, it handles great and has excellent acceleration. Takes off like sports car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Vehicle Owned - Jeep Patriot

February 24, 2014
By Kerwin Maude
from Vancouver, Canada
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We bought our 2008 Jeep Patriot new and paid cash (no bank loans) with a trade-in. A few months after driving it off the lot, our endless nightmares began with chronic 5-speed manual transmission repairs, down times of no transportation, waiting times and lost value in a substandard product. We had over 4 factory warranty major repairs and the company even replaced the whole transmission with a new one. The gears were constantly grinding (not my driving as manager echoed that fact) and the company estimated Jeep Canada lost about $13,000 in repairs, parts and labour on a $25,000 vehicle that was a "lemon". After being a regular face in the dealership with their sales manager and service manager we were deeply stressed and frustrated. The sales manager (no big deal - failed to give us customer satisfaction) wrote a letter in support of our claims and the stack of warranty repairs, typical Jeep Canada failed miserably to solve the crisis and merely "rubber stamped " the dealership following warranty protocols. Jeep lost our confidence, lost our respect and I would neither recommend the dealership nor the product. We finally got rid of our headache with a better product at a better car lot and have been trouble free for 2 years. Nobody should have to suffer what we endured. Records, statements and repair paper work do not misrepresent the truth...we need to overhaul the auto industry in many ways for the benefit of the consumer not the companies. We felt uneasy driving it locally or going across the border and heard similar stories from other customers. Maybe some had good experiences with automatics but manual transmissions in this car was nothing less than an intense throbbing headache that was unacceptable. We should not be afraid of factual truths or poor ratings that are deserved including bulky handing on the roads and around turns.
Kerwin Maude"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very relaible transportation

February 23, 2014
By jeep Enthusiast
from South, Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this vehicle new in late 2008, it has 120,000 miles as of January 2014. I have done required maintenance. Only problem had to replace alternator at 108,000. There are no rattles and it is holding up very well. It went in for the 5 year warranty check recently no problems found. I bought this vehicle because I drive a lot and it get better gas mileage than my Dakota pickup. I am a big guy and it is easy to get in and out of, and is very comfortable to sit in for long rides. I have made trips from California to Texas and back, 3 adults and a 15 year old plus luggage. I would recommend this vehicle without reservation."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DO NOT BUY THIS CAR

January 27, 2014
By Hannah
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"the 08' Jeep Patriot is my first car. I've had it for about two years now. I'm 18 years old and I have had trouble with my car since I drove it off the lot. I've had to get the main computer replaced just shortly after my purchase and now the problem has shown up again. I've also had to get a few censors replaced, a new battery, and wheel barrings. All together, I have put in way too much money on this car than it is worth. I'm about to go off to college and I need something reliable. This is not the car for me or anyone who needs reliability over looks."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Beware

January 20, 2014
By jt50310
from Grimes, Iowa
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have Jeep Patriot with 58, 000 miles. The car requires new transmission and ball joints for a total cost of $5, 040.
This is a typical problem with the Patriot and Compass.
Jeep will not honor power tranny for the second owner.
Save yourself alot of money.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Daughters' favorite car

August 23, 2013
By Caring Mom
from Indiana
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My daughter has been wanting a Jeep Patriot since she was in Middle School. She is now in High School and has the car of her dreams. When she saw the Jeep in the exact color she wanted I did everything I could to make sure she got it!! She bought it herself and this Mom is very proud of her. The car is in great shape has low miles and runs awesome!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Patriot

August 17, 2013
By Jeep lover
from Benton pa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love this jeep! Only complaints I have are how easy it is to put into auto stuck and the gas tank is too small on it. I drive 120 miles a day round trip to work very comfortable!! Mpg are great and love the room in it!! I'm very happy with it !!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

08 Jeep Patriot

July 18, 2013
By Ocbrudy
from Kalamazoo,Mi.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have wanted a Jeep for a long time, finally got a Patriot in 4/2012. I just love the jeep and will always own one. The only problem i have is with the CVT, When we travel only about 2 hours the manual trans-axle light comes on and the tranny whines and forces to pull over and let the car cool off. This happens even when the temp. outside is in the mid 70's. Its just annoying. I took it to be looked at the the mechanic could not find anything wrong. It gets great gas mileage but I cant even tow anything because of the CVT."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sporty yet adorable

July 3, 2013
By Jeeper
from KS
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Not sure why, but I've wanted a Jeep since I was little and glad I finally got it! Drives great, and big but not big. Was expecting it to have more features to it (auto windows/locks/mirrors) since it's not an old car, but overall thrilled with it and already added auto locks, no big deal."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

WHY BUY ANY OTHER CAR?

June 11, 2013
By HUBRIS
from NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Splendid is an understatement when I decide to describe this car.Despite annoying the humming sound it makes its performance is woooow and value for money cannot be matched. I bought it 3 years ago and all I do is routine servicine even though i travel off-road most of the time."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I will miss this car.

February 26, 2013
By Vuksan
from Virginia
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife and I bought our 4wd 2008 Jeep Patriot in 2009 and we have enjoyed driving it these past 4 years. Unfortunately we have grown out of it with the addition of our son and recently traded it in on a 2012 Dodge journey. The Patriot is an absolute tank in the snow. I have driven it through as much as 3 feet of snow without getting stuck. The patriot never left us stranded in any circumstance including Hurricane Irene. We always got 25 miles per gallon and features like an actual power outlet made traveling great.
At 85,000 we had to put new tie rod ends and ball joints on the Patriot. If you read the reviews you'll see this is pretty standard. The only bad thing I have to say for our patriot is that it burned through rear tires like crazy. We had to replace the rear tires every 6 months. No I didn't rotate the tires but I also didn't want to replace all 4 at once. The other kinda negative thing is that it accelerates like it has an anchor attached to it. 0 to 60 is slow, but once its at speed it runs great.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's nice

March 6, 2012
By Janeski
from Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my new Jeep Patriot, Great Size! and great price for the space. I love it, but I wish I had bought it in any other color but Gold! I HATE THE COLOR IT BOUGHT!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I will never but another Jeep

September 15, 2011
By crys
from Pennsylvania
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I am averaging a trip to the shop and about $400.00 every 3 months. Now my 2008 Patriot, which has 67, 000 miles on it, needs a new CVT transmission. NOONE works on them, not even Jeep. They cannot be fixed, even if the problem is a small pin, they will only replace them at the reasonable price of $3,700 for a new one. Good luck finding a used one. We have replaced the tire rods and tie rod ends twice in 2 years, no off roading required! This thing has been nothing but a headache with 2 kids and a lot of miles to drive everyday I need a reliable vehicle. This is not it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

slowly dissapointing

August 24, 2011
By Stuck in Coshocton
from Coshocton, Ohio
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought my Patriot direct from the factory in sept. 07. It was nice looking and I really liked the leg room and the lifetime warrenty of the CVT transmission. Overall I was happy with my Jeep. However this past year 2011, i have had to get a new water pump(covered under the warrenty of the tranny??) Ive had to get a new control arm installed and now it is in the shop for the engine jumping around at 20 mph and 40 mph. I really like my jeep but I am contemplating trading it in, not a nother jeep though, they just dont seem to be as durable as their name once was. There is only 80,000 miles on it. I will be getting a second set of tires for it which good year is the only brand that makes this particular size, so the cost is outrageous for a tire. Is anybodyeles having these issue?? I have 2 family members who liked my Jeep and have purchased their own this past year. I feel bad for them that in the future they may run into the same problems as I have."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Where the arm rest?

July 7, 2011
By Raggaty Anne
from Sacramento, Ca
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great Truck! Great ride! Has Skid plates on trail rated model like mine! The Hard plastic are terrible! no soft armrest. Did i mention the hard plastics... MPG's are great!!! came from PT Cruiser and needed more space so I landed on this Jeep. PT got 22mpg. My 4WD Jeep that holds 2 times the stuff is getting 24mpg! on really long trips 26 to 27mpg! Have 30K on and besides routine Maint. hasn't needed a thing. Good power off idle and gets going quicker then my PT as well. Seats are great just the Hard plastics are not good for elbows.... Goes great in the snow with the 2 speed transfer case too!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!!!

June 21, 2011
By Tiffer's
from San Angelo, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this vehicle new from the dealer and I have loved it. The only problems I have had is my rear shocks leaking, which the dealership fixed under warranty, and also just recently I had to have the alternator replaced, another jeep dealer did this under my lifetime warranty. I love the stain resistant cloth, because in TX you don't have to worry about the seats being too hot, or the seats cracking from the heat like leather or vinyl. Overall I love this Jeep and will keep it till it can no longer be repaired."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Value in a Small SUV

May 26, 2011
By BeachJeep
from Rhode Island
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my Patriot with 17k miles. It was a former rental and from what I cleaned out of the spare tire well, used off road on the beach.
Aside from some paint defects, this vehicle has proven to be an outstanding value. I use it for work, I'm self employed, and it handles all my gear perfectly. We also use it to travel to our ski home and while it is not as comfortable ride as the Town & Country it replaced, it certainly gets better milage.
In the summer, it goes off road at the beach, sometimes plowing through 13 to 14 inches of soft sand. We have been stuck once or twice and the unique 4WD system (not trail rated version) is strange to say the least. No wheel spins when the vehicle gets "beached" on a sand build up under it. But a quick clearing with a shovel and away she goes.
It has to be the smallest vehicle out on the beach. Yet it does just fine. I never would have believed it until we tried it.
Only drawback has been the Federally mandated tire valves. Overpriced, fragile (broke off in the snow) and a knee jerk reaction to another vehicle's poor design. Replaced them all with standard valves after the third one broke. $70 for a tire valve is absurd."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Jeep out there

February 22, 2011
By Meme
from Dallas, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So after my car wreck in June. I was looking for a SUV that was good on gas mileage, reliable, and stylish. I like to call this Jeep the car of Jeeps. I drive about 60 to and from work and I only have to fill up once a week. We also had some strong winter storms here in Texas and driving in this Jeep made me feel a lot better while trying to drive on the ice. I would say if you are looking for a starter Jeep this is it!!!
I found all of that in this 2008 Jeep Patriot. I bought my car from Volkswagon of Lewisville. They are so Awesome there!!! They really really took care of me.
I had an HORRIBLE experince at TEXAS NISSAN of GRAPEVILLE where they were giving me the run around and they didn't listen to anything that I had to say. I went into them and told them I was looking for the 2cars that I found on cars.com and before I could even show them the picture they were trying to run my credit so they could get the loan. I already had financing threw my credit union but they wouldnt listen. Then they advised me that the two cars that I came in to see were sold a week ago. When I asked them why when I called yesterday the person on the phone told me that it was on the lot they said they don't know anything. They just on the phone. I was so shocked!!! I will NEVER go back to them. Not even if they were giving away FREE cars!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2008_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Chrysler is NOT Jeep!

February 19, 2011
By Wishing Jeeps were still Jeeps
from Massachusetts
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"If you want water issues, buy a Jeep Patriot! 3 yrs of one water issue after the other. water POURING from back dome light 2x's
water POURING from front dome, MAJOR water collecting behind drivers seat unknowingly until mold from moisture grew! Tailgate collecting water inside panel, front wheel well seam not sealed allowing water to collect behind drivers seat.
Before I buy another car, I will research on web for "Problems"!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.