Customer Reviews for 2008_Mazda_CX-7

2008_Mazda_CX-7

Average Customer Rating:
3.85 of 5
3.8
 of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
0
14 of 20(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Review 1 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Mazda sucks

March 5, 2012
By djr777
from Wichita Kansas
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have a Mazda CX-7. It has had an engine knock since I bought it. They know they have a huge timing chain problem, but won't fix it is my mileage is too high. Now I get to spend $1500 for a problem that is of factory origin. Oh yeah, I get to spend another $550 to fix A HEADLIGHT!!! Thats right...a headlight. Nice product Mazda. BUY AMERICAN!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

cheaply made...

February 1, 2012
By long time mechanic
from orlando, fl
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"We bought this 2008 Mazda CX7 Grand Touring edition brand new... and the two happiest days we had with the car was the day we bought it and the day we turned it in... :-( i would not say it was the worst car we ever owned.. that would have been the 1987 Ford Taurus... but it was close.. The car looked nice and had a very responsive 4 cylinder turbo.. but past that.. wow!!! it was a the cheapest built thing i had ever owned... from a paint job that you could scratch by looking at it too hard.. to the cheap extremely thin carpeting... that the little bit of fuzz they put on it wore off in the first year.. to thinnest leather seats.. i had ever seen. well maybe the luxury Yugo may have had thinner :-) And Air conditioning??????? yes.. it got cold in a second.. IN JANUARY!!! when it was 30 degrees outside.. but not from May to October... when the temperature was above 75 degrees. then you would sweat your rear end off.. because the tiny little puff of air that came from the vents could never catch up.. and what did the Mazda dealer say??? Oh yeah.. we know.. but unfortunately, that is how that model is... and then last.. let's talk about the pathetic Zoom Zoom design for the suspension... which ate an expensive set of tires up in less than 16000 miles.. and what did they say about that??? yeah it is because of the way that the factory sets the camber for handling .. we know it wears the insides of the tires out.. but that is the cost of having a sports car?? what ever..
Well enough... i dumped it and will never own another one.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Peppy, but Thirsty

September 26, 2011
By Flirty Librarian
from DC Metro
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've had the CX-7 for 4 months and I am pleasantly surprised by how peppy and fun to drive it is. When I step on the gas, it really takes off. I feel pretty confident navigating traffic and I like that option of using premium or regular fuel.However, I seem to be visiting the gas station much more now which is a drag. There is plenty of room to hall things about, but the seats are a major drawback. Ouch! They really don't provide enough lower back support. Overall, it's given me the higher driving position that I wanted and has been a really good bargain."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not bad!

December 22, 2010
By Fire688
from Lowell,Ma
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Had this vechicle for a week now and i luv it. I dont mind the stiff suspension because i live in Mass. Luv the cloth seats. Dont like leather cause its too hot for u butt in the summer and cold as @#$# in the winter. it performs pretty well. Yes i do have the turbo but listen hear people u can get away with regular. All u have to do is go to Auto Zone and pick u up some Prestone 0to60 octane booster and Bam! there goes ur premium! Boots octane by at least 10 points. And yes it is a very nice looking vechicle. Also it should have come with an audio output dang! But overall is a good driving vechicle with lots of room in the back!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Bad Mileage

December 22, 2010
By shawnie101
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my CX7. It runs great, is comfortable to sit in and drive. Keyless entry is wonderful and I love the exterior design.
That said, the gas mileage is horrific. I get about 17-18mpg on highest grade gas. It's so expensive to gas up that it makes the car less enjoyable.
Also the Bose sound system is lacking in clarity and richness - oddly enough for a Bose product."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

really enjoy this vehicle

December 2, 2010
By ellabakeoven
from wilkes barre pa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My husband bought this crossover and I have to say we are both extremely happy with the purchase. the interior is very roomy. I highly suggest you be careful if you have a lead foot as this thing has some real get up and go :)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good sports car for the money!

May 9, 2010
By 1st time car buyer
from Minnesota
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought a used 2008 CX-7 AWD touring model with 36,000 miles on it.... I have clocked almost 2000 miles and the ride has been smooth so far, even though the engine is little bit louder especially when you accelerate, but its understandable due to turbo engine!
I was initially worried about gas mileage but I have been getting decent gas mileage, 16 gallon tank last me about 300-330 miles... giving me about low 20's in city and around 23-24 mpg on highway. I do travel a lot so that was my main concern, but I am pretty satisfied with the performance so far.
This is my first car... so I had done my homework, drove a lot of other mid-size SUV's, but the feel, look, style, bose stereo, and driving performance was appealing to me and not forgetting the price, its cheaper compared to other mid-size crossover SUVs. The car is also pretty precious.. more leg room and it has a feel of sport car feel... good luck buying!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

oloved it

December 1, 2009
By ted
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"i loved it when i rented one. we took a trip across the lower 48 and it was really fun to drive this thing. i want to buy one now"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I've ever had

July 14, 2009
By Love my mazda
from Central PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had so many cars, its sad to think about sometimes. So, my husband and I decided to lease this mazda cx-7 (grand touring) since I tend to change my mind so quickly. Well, I wish we would have just bought the car. I have never been so content and enjoyed driving a car as much as I love to drive my mazda.
Pros:
-Love my 18" rims
-The exterior look
-Bose (upgrade) sounds good
-Fun to drive
Cons:
-Gas mileage (I was already prepared for that... and considering we have a trailblazer, its not too bad)
-Premium gas, if it was 20 mpg with regular unleaded, then gas mileage wouldnt be as much of an issue
-Tires are expensive to replace
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Favorite Car Ever

June 9, 2009
By MazdaLover
from Central IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am definitely new vehicle obsessed and I have never been as happy with a car as I have with this one. I've had it for 14 months now and still say almost every day how much I love it. I ended up just getting the Sport 2WD because I really liked the cloth seats (I know, sounds weird, but they're really soft!) and Mazda makes so many features standard that I didn't have a good excuse to upgrade.
Pros:
Exterior styling - people often mistake it for the Lexus RX or the MB R-class
Radio controls on steering wheel
Comfortable seats
Cargo space
Extremely reasonable price
Handling
Size - feels roomier and wider than similarly sized crossovers
EVERYTHING but the things I'm going to list as cons I LOVE
Cons:
Ambient temp not standard
Weird blind spot on driver's side by the side-view mirror (for me, but probably if you were taller or shorter it would be different)
Gas mileage - though it doesn't matter for me b/c I only drive about 6500 miles/yr.
I've never been happy with a vehicle for this long. This is our...5th Mazda and we're still very pleased with them."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for the price

March 2, 2009
By Cx-7 Owner
from Chicago
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I got a great deal on this car and have really loved driving it for the past 2 months.
Pros - Great looking car. Doesn't have the cheap look of the Rogue or other vehicles in its class. Looks like a Lexus. I have the Touring AWD and the heated seats and extra handling in the snow are great. As far as the price, if you can settle for something used, you can get your hands on a farely new 2008 for under $18,000. If you look at other cars in the class you will be looking at over $25,000. This may say the re-sale is not that great, but if you are looking to keep the car for 7 or 8 years like I am then it really doesn't matter.
Cons - Terrible gas mileage. Not worse or better then anything in its class, just not very good. Sticker said 16/23 for AWD. The best I have got is a little over 20 on the highway. In the city(I live in Chicago) I average about 15. Also it takes premium fuel which on average is about 20 to 30 cents extra. There is also no Aux input or an adapter for I-pod. You would think a new car would have that standard.
Overall, I clearly bought this car based on looks and price. I new the gas wasn't going to be great so there was no surprise there. If you want a car that is fun to drive and will get a few looks, you can't go wrong for the price."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

DO NOT BUY THIS CAR

February 8, 2009
By MAZDA ZOO
from HAMILTON
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
""Rough rider, harsh suspension, too firm, etc. Center console too close to knees. proprietory stereo unit. NOISE NOISE..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fun, nice car but not for everyone.

December 17, 2008
By Houston Dad
from Houston
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"As I read my fellow CX-7 owner's reviews I get the feeling that many of us purchased this car more due to looks and the ability to boast about having a turbo charged vehicle than anything else. Yes, the styling and presence of this vehicle cannot be denied. Nor can I say that it isn't fun to drive. However, if you are considering this car think about these few things:
MPG - it gets at best 20 for me on highway and 17 combined on top of the fact that it needs premium fuel. If you think you are going to get away with less, the dealer will tell you that you can but you lose the whole point of having a turbo charged engine and might as well buy a 6 cylinder something else.
Size - the RAV 4 has more cargo space and the CR-V more passenger space.
Family use - it is much higher than similar CUV's making it almost impossible for my 3yr old to get in and out of. It suffers from an odd placement, operation or complete absence of buttons - the master window control panel is an all or nothing deal, if the windows are locked, even the driver can't manually open a window. And it also locks out the passenger. There is no master lamp control and no vanity mirror lights. Doors are intended for adults, they are heavy and do not stay open with the force a typical young child would apply.
Standard Features - For a vehicle produced in 2008 and not 1998 I would expect it to have MP3 disk playing capabilities (that is $600.00 more for an mp3 changer), an axillary jack and more than one charging outlet. (Hard to decide whether to charge your cell phone or your GPS unit sometimes).
Many of these issues are minor but do you really want to deal with them daily for 3-6 years?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Greatest car I've ever had!

May 21, 2008
By Working Mom
from Fairfield County, CT
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this car. It handles wonderfully, has an awesome Bose stereo (upgrade). It's perfect for a small family and stylish as can be. Solid engineering and seating is very comfortable, no matter what other reviews may say. The only down-side of this vehicle is the gas mileage - and having to fuel up with high grade gas. I considered selling the vehicle for that reason, but the positive aspects are way too many to trade it in!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best SUV

February 21, 2008
By Masood Alam
from Saint Louis
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is one of the best cross over which has all the luxury of Infinity and Acura.
I will recommend this SUV to everyone.
Better value for money"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best

February 6, 2008
By Mazda CX7
from STL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great SUV, Handling is great shows excellent power and interiors are too good not to mention the Bose music system.
A fully loaded CX7 is far better then a Acura RDX and even Lexus 350h, If we compare the price of 28K Vs 35 and 49K for fully loaded version of other SUVs"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mazda is hot!

December 11, 2007
By Love cars
from Philadelphia
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had the CX7 now for 4 months, love it. A real road car, even tho it is a crossover. Lots of power and roadability, attractive, SIRIUS and Bose together is great."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

You don't see many of these and you won't

November 30, 2007
By No Can Do
from LA
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Rough rider, harsh suspension, too firm, etc. Too much metal frame in the seat bottom. Center console too close to my knees, hurts after an hour. No Ipod adaptor???? Poor MPG. Kinda fun 10% of the time, kinda harsh ride 90%. In LA you can lease one for about $250 with no money down. I still can't get myself to do it. Needs a better seat, suspension, mpg, wider cockpit - less console and for the love of god if you are going to put a junky stereo in the car please make it easy to replace it with an upgade. Very poor proprietory stereo unit."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"SO FAR SO GOOD"

September 29, 2007
By JMAX77
from STATEN ISLAND,NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I just recently leased the 2008 CX-7 Grand Touring and i was most impressed with the power of the four cylinder engine,at first i was sceptical on weather a four cylinder could deliver enough punch,boy was i wrong! The handling of the vehicle was also very surprising does not perform like an suv but like a car, the tech package is also a great option on this vehicle would highly recomend this package. Over all great vehicle for the money,plenty of room,fun to drive, would definitley recomend to all."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2008_Mazda_CX-7
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great engine and great handling XUV.

August 19, 2007
By Performance Driver
from Cincinnati, OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Great design. Here's what's missing.
1. Front seats are too short for leg length, leaves about 3 inches of your leg with no support behind your knees.
2. My dealer installed custom leather - beautiful. Standard leather is poor.
3. No outside temperature gauge - you get this in the Mazda3 ???
4. Body metal is like tin foil dings easily.
5. Gas mileage is horrible. Less than 20 mpg on highway.
6. Bose stereo is not upto par against other Bose cars systems I've owned.
What they got right:
1. Engine design - great performance engine
2. Instrument design
3. Body styling.
4. Six speed Manual/Auto Gearbox
Nice car - a few things need replacing and the gas mileage is very poor (4 cylinder, turbo engine should get 30-35 on highway).
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.