Customer Reviews for 2008_Mazda_CX-9

2008_Mazda_CX-9

Average Customer Rating:
4.625 of 5
4.6
 of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Review 1 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love it

October 1, 2014
By performance perfect mom
from cincinnati oh
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm absolutely in love with this car. I purchased this used at 95,000. This is the best car I've driven or owned. Doesn't rattle of ever misbehave. Definitely purchase this if your trying to decide what to get."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I ever owed!

May 28, 2012
By Formeracuralover
from Seattle, WA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"There isn't one thing I'd change about this car. It's the perfect size, inside and out, good value, good quality."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

so far so good

February 22, 2012
By Mazdamom
from westchester, ny
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased a used Mazda CX9 with just over 40,000 miles. So far so good. Nice features and drives very smoothly. Very easy to transition from regular car to this sized vehicle. Also the 4 wheel drive has done pretty well in the snow. Lots of room as expected. Also, as expected, gas mileage is not so great (but none of these cars are good on mileage)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plenty of room for the family

January 24, 2012
By Grandma's Taxi
from Central Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased vehicle to seat at least 7 people...5 kids, 6 grandkids and the family is still growing. Not interested in minivan, wanted an SUV. CX-9 was great value for the money. Ranked well in various consumer magazines. Gas mileage is good. Plenty of room and loved the heated seats on cold winter nights. Overall, very satisfied with our choice."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my CX9!

November 28, 2011
By Becky
from Vermont
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This was such a sporty step up from my mini van and I can still seat 7 passangers. I would highly recommend this vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2008 CX9

October 24, 2011
By Jerry
from denver, co
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"just purchased the Grand Touring model. This car is very nice to drive, heated seats, bose sound, 20" wheels and pretty quick. shop around to get a good price and low miles"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Alternative to a minivan

August 24, 2011
By Nominivan Mom
from TN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my Mazda CX9- I wanted a 3rd seat car with good gas milage that was roomy but not huge. The CX9 is perfect, the 3rd seat is very roomy and easily accesible and also easy to put up or down as needed. (one hand to pull up or put down 3rd row seats). Also- 3rd row seats fold completely flat so tons of room when they are down, and a good amount when they are up."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ties with Accord as most favorite car owned

July 14, 2011
By Directpb
from Dallas, tx
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love this car! I have had it for 6 months and there is NO buyers remorse at all. Still excited that I get to drive it. Was looking at Acadia, Enclave and Traverse. It just drove the best of all those choices and had the biggest bang for the buck! Lots of nice extras. We call it Zoom Zoom because it is very responsive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Sporty 3-Row SUV

January 18, 2011
By Richmond Car Lover
from Richmond
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We bought our 2008 Mazda CX-9 new in Dec. 2007. My wife loved her Lexus RX330, but wanted a 3-row SUV and did NOT a minivan. She insisted on leather, navigation and an automatic rear-door. The CX-9 had everything she wanted in the Grand Touring trim level plus keyless entry, Sirius Radio and we added DVD players in the headrests. It compared feature-wise to much more expensive Lexus & Mercedes models.
After owning it for 3+ years I can tell you this is one great SUV. It handles like a sports car and the transmission always seems to find the right gear. In our Lexus we used to have to downshift with the +/- shifter in order to pass people on the highway. In fact be careful you don't get speeding tickets because you don't feel how fast you're really going.
It could benefit from better cup holders and door storage and the gas mileage is worse than its competitors (we average 18 mpg in the city), but overall it's a great car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

CX-9 Greatness

March 25, 2010
By Very very picky car owner
from Mansfield, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have to say without a doubt the best crossover SUV out there for the price and quality you receive from the vehicle. I have three kids and they love this car. My daughter love climbing into the the 3 row seating and hooking up there Nintendo DS systems to the AC power unit and they say sitting back there is like camping out because it's their own space back there with everythign the need. They can still use the headphones to watch the DVD overhead. The SUV has alot of power in the engine, it gets up and goes and sounds so smooth inside the car when driving around. I bought mine as a 2008 model Grand Touring in WHITE, no other color would do. With the white exterior and black accent from the trim and 20" tires, what a great looking car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2008 Mazda CX9

February 3, 2010
By Silk
from Chicago area
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We dorve over 20,000 miles in the first twelve months. No major problems. It is everything we read about. My only complaints are cheap carpeting, cheap plastics on the door handles & console (scratched easily, but were replace at no charge), no MPG monitor, only one seat heater setting, poor mileage, navigation not great compared to Honda and screen hard to read at times. Have received many compliments on exterior & interior. My wife says very easy to drive compared to Enclave she tested. All-wheel-drive is awesome, although 2009 & 2010 performance tires not as good as 2008 (per friends). Blind spot monitoring worth every penny."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mazda CX-9 is a great SUV and an even better value

June 25, 2009
By HBWilson
from Mankato, Minnesota
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just purchased a 2008 Mazda CX-9 Touring. I really don't know what to say, other than that this is an incredible vehicle. The CX-9 is an even better value compared to what you get with the Toyota Highlander and similar vehicles. A lot more features and value for the money. It's easy to see why Motor Trend picked the CX-9 as their 2008 SUV of the year! Don't just believe me, take a CX-9 for a test drive and see for yourself."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mazda: .... 3 Thumbs UP!!!!!! :)

October 8, 2008
By Auto Critic
from Dallas, Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am a HUGE auto critic, and I am SPEECHLESS about this car ... Just got a 2008 Grand Touring FWD, and I think this car is amzing INSIDE AND OUT!!! If this car LASTS as good as it looks, I am one happy camper! DO NOT even begin to compare this car with Honda or Toyota ... This is right up there with the BIG names, if not better than some of them!!!!! Many people talk about the MPG on this car, but what do you expect from an almost 5,000 lb. vehicle?!?!? Having a touch of Performance in a solid 7-passenger SUV is going to cost us a few few miles per gallon, but please DO NOT let this change your decision as this car has SO MANY pluses that the MPG issue becomes trivial!!!! ... By the way, I did not want to rate the reliability question since I just bought this car, and don't know, but the system would not allow me to submit my bid without answering that question! ... Let's just say I am HOPING it will be a 5 just like all the other 5's I scored! ... :)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Spacious SUV for the money

May 28, 2008
By 1st time Mazda owner
from Orlando, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"We just took delivery of this 2008 Grand Touring model and my wife loves it! Handling is pretty good, but does feel a tad heavy through turns. Interior quality is better than expected and we love the sporty look of this full size SUV.
Only problem that we've encountered so far is that the bluetooth volume is not working. After doing some research on the internet, this is a common problem when Sirius radio is installed at the factory. We're taking the car in this weekend and the dealer has told us that it's an easy fix.
Another note: If you buy this SUV with Sirius installed, you lose function of the Auxilliary input located in the armrest. In order to get both to work together, you must buy an additional "switch box" which is about $140 from the dealer. Try to negotiate this to be installed prior to taking delivery of the car.
Otherwise, I would highly recommend this vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

No on 2008 CX-9

January 4, 2008
By SOVREN_Member
from Seattle, WA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"As a less then happy new owner of the 2008 Mazda CX-9, I am wondering if perhaps Consumer’s Report erred in tallying the scores of the CX-9 and the similar cars when they did the review before selecting the CX-9 as “Car of the Year”.
After only several months of ownership, I now realize that the purchasing of the CX-9 was not a good value for the dollars spent. At fewer 2500 miles, I have had a body seam fail and there was no sign of any impact.
Since my previous car was also a Mazda (2006 RX-8) with significant mechanical problems that Mazda proved incapable of solving, I am wondering if the overall quality of the entire Mazda line has not been degraded.
Another word of warning, the surveys for Mazda of America are shared with the dealers without adequate screening. I recent had a dealer threaten to withhold warranty work because I “was defaming his dealership” as he regurgitated (inaccurately) comments I had entered on a survey concerning delivery problems with my CX-9.
I loved my 2 previous Miatas (1990 and 2001), but my last 2 Mazdas (2006 RX-8 and the current 2008 CX-9) have me very concerned with not only the vehicles, but also the dealer and Mazda of America support of them."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
-5points
7out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2008_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Vehicle We Purchased So Far!

November 5, 2007
By Mommy of 3
from Waianae, HI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great look, great style, very comfortable, excellent turning radius, quick excelleration, and best of all, lots of room for 3 child and infant car seats with pleanty of room to spare.
We get complements about our CX-9 everywhere we go.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.