Customer Reviews for 2008_Mercury_Mariner

2008_Mercury_Mariner

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 of 5
4.7
 of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2008_Mercury_Mariner
Review 1 for 2008_Mercury_Mariner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it...

September 4, 2013
By jo
from Vernal. Utah
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"First new car I've ever bought. I love it, I get so many compliments on it. Nice looking, comfort, and sporty."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2008_Mercury_Mariner
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Window Design Flaw

June 29, 2012
By ATX Driver
from Austin, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I have had this car less than four years. In the last 6 months, two of the power windows have broken. For both of these, the motor did not break, but a small piece of plastic holding a wire to the motor did.
Unfortunately, this did not break and leave the window closed; instead, when it broke, the window went down and would not raise. The repair cost was close to $300 per window.
When the first window broke, I chalked it up to a chance problem. However, when the exact same thing happened to a second window, I asked to see the part and realized it was a design flaw. This is particularly troubling because I rarely, if ever, have passengers, and I honestly cannot recall if any of the windows, other than the driver's, has ever been used.
After the second window, I contacted the Ford Motor Company, and they told me that, because the three year warranty had expired, there was nothing they were obligated to do. Further, they stated that, if a third window broke in the next few months, they would still not admit a flaw in the manufacture of the car nor offer me any compensation."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2008_Mercury_Mariner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

July 30, 2010
By Joe meckmandal
from N.Y
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just Everything Excellent I Would Keep It Forever Love It And I Would Not Sell It Or Trad With Any Other SUV My 08 Mariner Is The Best .."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2008_Mercury_Mariner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my mariner

May 4, 2010
By Just want reliablity, style and safety
from Oklahome
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am a grandmother of 12. I wanted a car for me
comfortable to run errands and haul grandchildren in a safe car. I mostly bought it on safety features (Side air bags and roll bar) plus I thought it was sporty but stylish. Mine is red. I would buy another Mariner in a minute if I need a new car.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2008_Mercury_Mariner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Small SUV I've Owned

September 20, 2009
By SUV Auto Enchusiast
from Mesa, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This vehicle is the best SUV for the money and value that I've ever owned. It has the size to hold four adults pluse four golf bags without any over-crowding."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2008_Mercury_Mariner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVE my Mariner!!!

February 16, 2009
By JD
from Wichita, KS
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had read that the Mariner/Escape have been rated very reliable for small SUV's and so far that had been right. I love the features on my '08 Mariner Premier, including the backup sensors, 6 disc CD changer, leather/suede seats, dual climate control, etc.
I wish Mercury would put a different type of tire on this vehicle, because it does seem like there is a lot of tire noise at highway speeds. I learned to get used to it.
There is lots of room in the backseats and its great to put my 2 giant dogs in the back because the seats fold flat, making a large cargo space.
Gas mileage is very good for a V6 SUV. I drove a few hundred miles of highway and was getting almost 26 mpg. Around town I tend to drive pretty hard and I average about 20mpg."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2008_Mercury_Mariner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE IT !LOVE IT!

October 16, 2008
By A NEW 16 YR OLD DRIVER
from KY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i am a new 16 yr old driver. my mom and dad bought me a brand new mercury mariner premier. with the new alloy wheels, leather and heated seats, with the heated mirrors, the works! it is completely loaded! i love it! iv always known that i was going to get a brand new car of my choice depending on safety. i expecially wanted the Lexus RX but after compared them the Mariner had it beat by a land slide! then i compared every every small suv, i wanted only a suv! the mariner had more for the money! i got a $27,000 vechile for $24,000! i was so excited! its am awsome ride, and drive! i get SOOO many Compliments on it! i love the ice blue lights on the interior and the popup window in the back! its an AMAZING SUV! i would recommond this to anyone!!!! over anythin!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
-12points
4out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2008_Mercury_Mariner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice american car

April 17, 2008
By joe
from chicago illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"rides fairly smooth for a short wheelbase suv, could use a less aggressive tire, but its pretty standard with all suv's. very roomy in back seats.....plenty cargo area. nice touch, getting rid of parking brake lever on console and putting it back on lower foot pedal, makes interior console much nicer. good gas mileage with six cylinder, regular gas. i wanted to buy an american named vehicle, and mercury came through just fine."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2008_Mercury_Mariner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!!

April 3, 2008
By Mother of 2
from Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I was a little concerned about buying this vehichle based on another review I read about the vehicle being very noisy on the highway. I test drove it again, on the interstate and noticed no noise problems. I even drove with the moonroof open and actually thought it was a lot quieter than other vehicles I have had. It is a great family vehicle. With a 2 1/2 year old and one on the way we needed the extra space. We were debating between the Ford Escape and the Mercury Mariner and decided on the Mariner because we liked the look better and the price for the features. Definitely worth looking into, I have no regrets!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2008_Mercury_Mariner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

March 26, 2008
By Happy first time Mercury owner
from Olathe,KS
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I traded in my Expedition (which I bought new in 2000 and loved) I needed better gas mileage and I found it. It's hard to get used to the smaller size but it's fun to drive and I am much happier now that I am paying less than half of what i use to in gas!I Love my little car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2008_Mercury_Mariner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Gas Milage but noisy

September 14, 2007
By Businessman
from Waterford, Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love many of the features of this vehicle. I am getting 35 mpg in
around town driving and 32 on the highway. That's pretty good for a
vehicle of that size. My biggest disappointment is the road noise at
higher speeds. I need the radio really loud to hear it most times. I
find myself putting in ear plugs and then turning up the radio. This
vehicle needs active noise supression. It would also be nice if you
could get a digital AM/FM radio. Lots of stations are going to it but
the auto companies don't have it as an option yet. The Navigation
system could also use a better interface and the voice commands are not
audible at highway speeds. Otherwise, it does track well and get you to
where you are going. It could use a telephone directory disk to allow
you to look up a place or person then go there on the map.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2008_Mercury_Mariner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overlooked by many, but try one first

August 27, 2007
By Mongo
from Tacoma, WA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 2008 Mariner Premier has style, quality, features, quiet ride. I tried to find a good reason to buy an import, but Merc had an overall solid feel, a better ride and more features. Not perfect but a really fine choice in compact SUV category. Worth trying out. JD Power rates Mercury higher initial quality than most other makes."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.