Customer Reviews for 2008_Nissan_Sentra

2008_Nissan_Sentra

Average Customer Rating:
4 of 5
4
 of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
0
16 of 21(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Review 1 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Place

March 1, 2014
By Shawn
from waterbury CT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just got my new Nissan and everyone was so nice to me and helpful. The salesman Jeffrey was so nice and helped me so much from start to finish. The Finance lady got me a great low payment. So Thank you to the Jim Juliani Motor family. I would tell everyone if they want a great car buying experience to go see you guy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the best car we every owned good pic-up power

November 28, 2012
By duker
from jefferson twp. pa
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i love this car best car for your money, like i said it has all the power i need for passing when i have to,a nice solid car that gets great mpg's"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car and Great Value

May 22, 2012
By First time car owner
from Florida
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car was extremely reliable. I found it very easy to drive and it required very little maintenance. It had good mileage too. I never had any problems with it and would highly recommend it. I took it on a lot of road trips and it handled dirt roads well."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Don't waste your money!

April 18, 2012
By KAYALA
from El Paso TX
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This has been the worst car I have ever owned. There is always something wrong with it. I loaned it to my sister-in-law, who took it to San Antonio. On the way, the check engine light came on, the speedometer stopped working, and wouldn't go over 55 mph. The CVT Transmission is the worst. So noisy. After we got the car back from her, I took it to the dealership, they informed me that the warranty on this particular car was extended due to the transmission problems. They changed my transmission for free. However, I was without a car for 3 days. I am still having problems with it. After driving for an hour, it smells like it is running hot. The temp stays normal, but you can smell it. I would not recommend this car to anyone. Nissan is supposed to be dependable, but the 2008 Nissan Sentra is the worst car ever made. I am going to be trading it in this week. Please don't waste your money and AVOID anything with a CVT transmission."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Happy with My Sentra

January 10, 2012
By First Time Used Car Buyer
from Chapel Hill, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good set of wheels. Seems to be reliable and more fun to drive than I was expecting. All in all, pleased with the value for money."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy for money

April 24, 2011
By Regular Joe
from Rosendale, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got 27 to 32 mpg and was able to buy new & fully loaded for less than $20,000. with tax. Smooth ride."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Worst Car to Own

March 10, 2011
By JD
from Maryland
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Where to start
1) Engine Block Cracked after only 22,000 miles.
2) The interior Lighting burned out for the Gear selector after going on and off several times.
3) The Speaker started making cracking noises.
4) Temperture Meter was jumping into the red and drops back down.
5) AC and heater Smell when you switch back and forth after seasons
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not the greatest ever...

February 4, 2010
By fancy pants
from Grahamsville, NY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"We were pressured into this car to begin with. Our fault. The car is cute and it gets good gas mileage. Has a lot of zip for a 4 cyl. That's about it. It has been recalled two times already-once for the master cylinder, once to adjust the air bags. I feel like I'm sitting on the floor when I'm in it. I always forget to pop the gas tank door-it has to be done inside the car. Dash lights are too bright and busy. Interior is cheap and plastic. What's the purpose of a hide away trunk anyway? Had to put new tires on it within the first 12,000 miles which is RIDICULOUS!!! Tires are garbage! Can't see the back of the car when backing up so I have to practically stand up in the car to back out of anywhere. Keyless entry is handy and the fact that I just have to have the keys on me to start it is cool. Doesn't take much to dent it. Already lost the whole mirror to a run away shopping cart-over $1000 damage. Not the greatest car I've ever owned and I miss my SUV way to much."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nissan Sentra 2008 Reliable and little more

November 12, 2009
By Transportation - Reliable -
from ComwellCT
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I reviewed the Honda Civic and The Nissan Sentra and found out the following: The Honda was rated higher overall, however, the parking brake would rub up against my right leg and I felt the front end was non existent, could not see the the hood, I'm 5-11. So I decided on the Sentra. After 16 months of driving 29K the front seats are not comfortable, no back support and the tires have a very low rating of 3.0. I don't think I will make 35k. Gas miles - I have driven 38 mpg on the highway 28-31 in the city. I owned a DATSUN in 1978 and I can say the metal is just like a DATSUN, thin, check the rear quarter panels. This car provides me transportation at inexpensive costs and no extra maintenance bills, it's reliable. That's what I wanted. You cannot see the trunk, well maybe just bearly, but not enough to judge the back end when backing up. The gear shift sticks out a little the knob is a little too big. Could be in the way of the controls , radio, heat a/c. I plan to keep the car for 200k. At a start the engine is loud at 2100 -2300 rpm's keep at 2000k and it runs fine, very good CVT. Need an extra key you can only get it from Nissan."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interior Falls apart , poor service policies

August 22, 2009
By Long Commute Sentra Owner
from Cary, NC
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this car in 2008 new. My commute is 35 miles one way, and we use this as our primary car.We have taken it on a couple of long trips. We put over 36000 miles in the first year and 3 months. I change the oil every 6000 miles.
Mechanically it is holding up with no engine or transmission problems, but the interior is falling apart after a year. Kickpanels won't stay attached, the soundproofing under the passenger side will not stay up and keeps falling down, the mirror broke on the passenger visor (They would not fix, see below). All of these were taken to the dealer, but remain broken because they simply are poor design.
WARNING: Once you hit 36000 miles, NISSAN abandons you. I took the car at 30K and asked for the molding on the sunroof to be replaced. They had to order the part. When I returned at 36139 miles, they said NISSAN would not allow them to install the part since I was out of warranty! It took all day and several phone calls to get the NISSAN Area Rep to approve the repair. This was not a dealer policy but NISSAN.
I would not recommend this car because you will regret having a car that embaresses you when friends get inside and dealing with NISSAN on repairs will be exhausting."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

iightt

July 10, 2009
By Car Man Bayonne
from Bayonne, NJ
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Well i bought it last summa and like itz iight. It get me from point A to point B without taking da bus and sweatin in da hot weatha.It juss stinks in da rain, it be sliding like everywhere and I'm like danng. I take like mad people in ma ride, all ma homies from jersey (holaa) dats it. its iight u should buy it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-17points
4out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Could've done better

May 5, 2009
By Driver
from CA
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Bought this as a gas saver to complement my new truck which sucks gas. So far gas mileage is not as great as the sticker says, and I dont drive it hard. The syling and design are ok, but there are definitely better looking cars out there. My main issue has been a few interior trim pieces are coming loose, and had to take it in for the CVT tranny having problems. This will be the last car I own with one of those. It's also not the best driving car, and not good for long trips. I'll be looking into the Cruze once it comes out to replace this one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fun car

April 11, 2009
By Sintra
from Phx, AZ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Personally, the handling is pretty good. The body is little big (much heavier) but the Spec V's 200 hp gives a little. Somewhat disappointed in the interior color options. Overall a fun car to work with!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2008 Sentra

October 26, 2008
By Rusty
from Atlanta, Ga
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this car. For the money it is stylish. Very reliable, and good on gas. The dealer was happy to work with me and give me the price I needed. It would be nice if the base car came with a few more luxury items, cruise control, and remote mirrors, but this is an economy car, and it is what it is. So far I have had a fun time driving it and it moves through traffic with ease. I enjoy the CVT transmission."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Commuting
This vehicle was purchased: New
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value

July 1, 2008
By James
from Texas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We've had our Sentra S for over a month now and am completely satisfied with our purchase. The car handles extremely well, is responsive and is getting 28 mpg city and 36 hwy. We compared it to the Fusion and Focus which had their good points but overall the Sentra sold itself. A couple small points take some time to adjust to. The door handle and door lock are so close together that its easy to bump the lock and lock yourself out. Thats happened twice. A glare from the dash on the windshield during the day in certain conditions is distracting. Both items I can live with. The indash information center is great. Wish they included auto headlamps and keyless entry"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It gets the job done

May 31, 2008
By Craig
from Orlando
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased a 2008 Nissan Sentra SL in May 2008. For mostly around town I am getting about 27.6 mpg, which is about 4 mpg better than my 2006 Altima was getting. The head room is great but my kids don't have a lot of leg room in the back with the driver seat pushed all the way back. I am 6'1'' and miss the telescopic steering wheel I had on my Altima. It seems that with the driver seat all the back I have to reach out too far for the wheel. If I move the seat up so my arms are more comfortable my legs are too bunched up. I haven't driving it more than 37 miles in one shot but not sure how comfortable it will be on a long drive. I traded my 2006 Altima 3.5 for the Sentra SL for better mpg and better monthly payment. I was able to get both."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ser Spec-V 2008 low price for a good car.

May 30, 2008
By Ballaz
from Montreal,Canada
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I own my SpecV since 8 months.. And I really enjoy driving it everyday. Yeah I know most of people dont like his look..The roof is kind of too high with too much curve in it.. but with some mods its going to have a better general look.
The mechanic is tight.. it has great power but you wont feel the speed as much because the seats are not close to the ground as in a civic..
Even when you're close to 130mph you feel safe.. The body is strong and the suspension is fine tuned..
I'm not an expert but for the price I really think its one of the best car you can get..
The only cons for now is I cant find any performance parts yet.. I cant wait to tune it ! Please Nismo ..deliver some parts soon! :)
PS: Sorry for bad english.. its not my 1st language.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car in its class

February 29, 2008
By Jeep1953
from NJ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My wife and I purchased the 2008 Sentra SL a couple of weeks ago. We compared the Honda Civic and Mazda3. After researching all three cars, we decided on the Sentra. We love the roomy interior, bluetooth, CVT, leather seats,
satellite radio, quiet ride, sunroof.
The only things that I would like to have seen are more illuminated light switches and door locks that have a timer. I alway forget to lock the doors when I'm driving."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Am Very Pleased

February 25, 2008
By April86
from Newport News, VA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the first car I've bought New. My previous car was a 2000 Sentra. I definately did my homework when searching for a new car. I took my time and test drove competitors before I made my final decision on the 2008 Sentra. The Senta had everything I wanted and more. I love the way the Sentra drives and how responsive the brakes are. I hate having to push the brake down far for it to start slowing down. My 2000 Sentra had been very reliable, so I know that I am in good hands with my 2008 Sentra. I LOVE the remodeled look of the 2008. It looks so much more classy and clean. I totally enjoy my Intelligent Key (I used to lock myself out often). The CVT works soo well. I used be annoyed by the feel of shift change. Now my rides are continuously smooth. It does a wonderful job of keeping outside noise out. I was suprised to see how spacious it is compared to competitors. I do not like the feeling of being cramped in my own car, and I surely do not have that problem in the Sentra. I can hardly find anything wrong with it. The 2008 Sentra is well worth it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2008_Nissan_Sentra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This Car holds it's own

December 13, 2007
By Car Shopper Extraordinaire
from St Louis
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned this car a little over a month/3k miles and it is a pleasure to drive. Have had dozens of cars over the last ten years or so and this is one of the nicest. This car is a great commuter car with little wind/tire noise and an overall quite and comfortable ride. Even the CVT is very nice and works well. Had an 06 Civic which I didn't like for the fact that it was low to the ground, front seat had no lumbar support, and too much wind noise at high speeds. The Sentra doesn't quite get the gas milieage of a civic but I average almost 30mpg mostly hwy so far and hoping for it to get better. The comfort level in the Sentra is also outstanting with lots of headroom and very comfortable seats even without lumbar adjustment. The Sentra also has many more nicer featers than some of its competition. The only car that even came close ride wise was the Hyundai Elantra; however, it did not have some of the tech features of the Sentra. The gadgets you shouldnt do without is the bluetooth and keyless ignition. Don't bother with the expensive stereo as it sounds almost the same as the lesser. Also, I shopped around and got a great deal. Some of the issues addressed in the 07 models about easy panel scratching I have not seen so far. I also got the beige interior which makes it harder anyway to see scratches."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.