Customer Reviews for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta

2008_Volkswagen_Jetta

Average Customer Rating:
4.703 of 5
4.7
 of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
34 of 37(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Review 1 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2008 Jetta Wolfsburg

July 14, 2014
By Wolfsburg
from Keller, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had been searching for a while for this car and finally found exactly what I wanted close to home and a great deal!!!! Car has more than enough power to keep me happy and the engine has a nice growl to it when you hit the pedal on the freeway. Overall I am very happy far and look forward to driving this bad boy for years to come!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My 5th V-DUB

March 24, 2014
By JK
from Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought my 08 Jetta SE new. (Sunroof, heated seats, power seats, V-tec seats, leather wheel, leather shifter, Alloy whls, Surius radio, chrome pipes) Currently 102,000 and still looks new, Great fit and finish for the price. If this car had a upscale badge on the grille people would pay 30K even with whats in my car. Love the V-TEC seats, better than leather. Mines a 5-spd manual. I've been in upscale cars and yes they are awesome but for almost twice as much, Why? Save your coin. Still get German engineered car and for half the price. Only drawback would be HP. Mine is 170HP. A bit slow out of the gate. 200 would have been better. GLI has that, costs more, hindsight I should have bought the GLI. Only because of the HP. Jetta SE, A lot of bang for the buck. If you are getting one used, this is a well built car, but like any car, if it's well maintained, the Jetta is reliable. But do think VW has cut some corners with the 2014's, One obvious was the dashboard was plastic in the 2014 SE, mine is the molded soft rubber, much richer higher-end feel, also noticed no chrome pipes, And that's just from a quick glance. VW needs to put back what they left out. Anywho, VW is still a bargain reliable, fun to drive car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Car

February 8, 2014
By Car Crazy
from South Carolina
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this car for my granddaughter. She loves the car.
It is the perfect car for a new driver. She feels very safe driving it.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

'08 Jetta -love it.

August 13, 2013
By mazz
from Washington, DC area
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"As a long time VW enthusiast, I knew pretty much to expect. Love the German design and engineering for Toyota prices."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car!!!

May 23, 2013
By Fashionably wheeling!!!
from Los Angeles
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Body of car looks like a BMW, features are great and gas mileage is good. Seating inside is comfortable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent car for the money

November 25, 2012
By Classic car fan
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Iv'e had several Jetta's and I own an 08 Wolfburg that's been trouble free for 90,000 miles. Also have an 03 with 150,000 that's never let me down. Like any car you have to do the regular maintainance and the turbo cars are a little harder on oil so you have to keep up on that. There's 8 VW owners in my family and I figure there has to be a reason."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jetta Volwagen

August 6, 2012
By Lia
from Pittsburgh, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Dear friends:
This car of mine is very valuable in all aspects wherever you drive wise areas. Especially in the freeway its perform is excellent and you save a lot of consume gas. It will give you around 31 miles for gallon. Whoever will buy a VW car will be very please."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great car

April 27, 2012
By ellomoto
from south carolina
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i just bought this car,i love it so far.we have another one we bought last year and it`s has not disappointed us.if you find one that`s properly taken car of you should buy it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wolfsburg VW Jetta - great car

March 12, 2012
By Wolfsburg VW
from Tampa, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car. purchased 2008 CPO Certified VW Wolfsburg Jetta 2.0turbo DSG tranny. amazing combination of mpg and performance. Mixed driving getting 27-29mpg.
Great stereo, seats, driving, brakes, interior very upscale high quality materials, huge trunk.
back seat a bit tight, a bit loud on highway - performance tires
great used car. recommend spending the extra money try and find a CPO car and then spend the extra VW extended warranty (not aftermarket), 4 years, 100,000 miles $50.00 ded. everything covered.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2008 jetta 2.5

October 26, 2011
By mike b
from Boston
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the most reliable year for the jetta, it has perfect safety , and after 4 years, 34, 000 miles, reliability
two problems:
1. back seat is too small in legroom
2. snow, handles great but snow in Boston brings me to
maybe seek awd
. too bad new VW have diminished the engineering, and not given it awd; I would have bought a new awd model in a second
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent car, tight suspension, fun to drive

October 5, 2011
By Tom
from Lowell, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm glad for the chance to review this car. I've never liked a car as much as the Jetta. I bought it new for the styling, suspension and features. I looked at the Corolla, Civic, Sentra, and others, and the Jetta was the best. It is sporty, quiet, and comfortable for four adults. I now have 60K on it. The gas mileage is less than expected, around 29 on the highway, but maintenance has been cheaper than I expected; the 60K checkup was only $190. Only regrets: I think I would have liked the standard more than the automatic. The TDI wasn't available at the time, but you might want to look into it now. Enjoy!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful first car

July 21, 2011
By Austin
from South Bend, IN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have driven a few piece of s**** in my day and this isn't one of them. I bought this jetta as the second owner with 54000 miles on the clock as the second owner. Almost five months later she now has 69700 miles and I can't say one bad thing about this car. Aside from a few $70 oil changes (if i do it myself,) and tires on it, I really can't complain, considering the tires were the originals!! I love this car, and drive it everyday and have put quite a few miles on it doing cross country road trips so I can really say bounds about it's reliability. It is very comfortable yet sporty and practical at the same time with good interior space (i'm 6' and have about 8 inches of seat travel left) and a HUGE trunk. Love the handling, automatic transmission, and the premium sound system. My next car will be a VW, you couldn't ask for a better value."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best all around car I have had

April 28, 2011
By sporty practical
from Boston, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"handles well, good car can get good mileage if driven properly, but can also be driven fast!. Comfortable. Heating and air sometimes only fair. Some initial minor quality issues"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best compact in it's class

January 29, 2011
By Moorish Brown
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Stylish with all the bells and whistles for an affordable price. Only issue is gas mileage. For a compact it only gets 22 mpg in city and 28 mpg on highway."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get this car

October 11, 2010
By College Student
from Denton , TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had my Jetta for over two years, it was a graduation present, and I love it. It gets me where I need to go when I need to get there. My home town is 7 hours from my University so I knew that I would need a safe, reliable, gas sipping car for the long trip to and from home and the Jetta was the perfect choice. The best part is that after having it for over two years, the gas mileage just keeps getting better. I now get around 38 MPG on the highway while it's in cruise and around 36-37 when I'm doing the driving. This is a great car. Super safe too!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous Car for a Great Price

September 10, 2010
By College Student
from Cleveland, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned my Pre-Loved Jetta for about two months now and absolutely love it. I was able to get my car with about 31,000 miles on it and hardly even noticed that it had been driven previously to my owning it. The car handles beautifully; I've tested it out on curvy country roads doing 65 mph on sharp turns and on the highway just cruising to wherever my destination may be. It's fast, reliable, and so much fun to drive. Not only does it drive great, but it looks great, too. It'll turn heads and gives a good impression to anyone that may see you driving. The Pre-Loved warranty was definitely a greatly appreciated feature that helped me settle my decision on this car quickly. I highly recommend Volkswagens, especially Jettas."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great 1st Car!

August 5, 2010
By Student
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased a 2008 Jetta SE after looking at Fords, Chevys, and Hondas. The Jetta's quality and performance puts it in a different class from the other cars I looked at. The Jetta is a great value with everything I got in my car: leather, sunroof, TPMS, rear AC, ESP, the list goes on. I love the red and blue lights at night. Its unique 5-cylinder engine is sporty and its nimble handling makes it fun to drive. I would have to say its more luxurious than my dad's Volvo. My only is complaint is that I don't have steering wheel controls on my leather-wrapped steering wheel or bluetooth, but both are available on higher-end Jettas. My VW dealer is always friendly and accommodating. Plus you get three years of no-charge maintenance. I love my Jetta and will now be a loyal VW owner."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun Family Car

June 11, 2010
By Joy
from Chicago
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought a Jetta in mid 2008 and have nothing but praises for the product after 35000 miles since. The car has taken us on road trips with the assurance of safety and has taken me on business trips with sure footed handling. My only complaint would be the somewhat tight rear seating but hey, this is a compact after all."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my Jetta

April 27, 2010
By EMBG
from Albany, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have had my Wolfsburg Ed. Jetta for almost 2months and LOVE it. I can't really rate the reliability a 5 yet since I've only had it such a short time, but everything about it seems super! Would definitely recommend a Jetta."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2008_Volkswagen_Jetta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent choice for the money.

April 9, 2010
By Happy Jetta Owner
from Long Island, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have a 2008 VW Jetta SE 2.5 5 cylinder with the 5 speed manual. I paid 21,000 out the door and I can't beat the car for the money. The build quality is far superior to anything else in the class and even exceeds that of much more expensive cars. It handles very nicely mixing a blend of European sportiness with the practicality of a roomy, efficient daily driver. I've read a few other of the reviews and someone commented negatively about the gas mileage and the resale value and I have to politely disagree with both of those points. The gas mileage for one, is pretty much dead on with what it's rated. I average one mile per gallon less than the city rating of 21mpg, and one mile per gallon higher than the highway rating of 29. I am also not the most conservative driver and I do routinely calculate my mpg. It must be remembered too that this is a five cylinder car that has more power and torque than most fours but is capable of the same gas mileage as one. Secondly, the resale value; all cars lose a substantial chunk of value as soon as they're driven off the lot. All of them. This car amazingly has lost next to none of it. I could sell it today two and a half years and 32,000 miles later for just about 3,000 or so less than what I paid and that is something not everyone can boast about their cars. Keep in mind, most of that value loss occurred in the first year and does not continue to drop as rapidly in the time after. As far as reliability, I couldn't ask for better so far. I have had only one problem which was a defective armrest that needed to be swapped out. Again, it could be much worse. These cars do have one quirk that I know of which is the tendency of the rear brakes to wear down quicker than the fronts. My rears went at 18,000 miles while the fronts still had plenty of pad left. My rotors however did not need replacing since I changed the brakes as soon as I noticed they were on their way out. My front pads are still fine. The research I've done on the subject seems to indicate that VW designed the brake system so that the back brakes do more work so the car doesn't nose dive upon braking. Whether it's a good thing or a bad thing, I can't say, but if I have to change my rear pads every 18,000 miles and have no other major issues, I can deal with that. Overall, I do love the car. To sum it up, it's a well designed fun, reliable, efficient car that is well worth the money. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a car in this price range."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.