Customer Reviews for 2008_Smart_ForTwo

2008_Smart_ForTwo

Average Customer Rating:
4.455 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
40 of 44(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Review 1 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Zero To Sixty? Yes.

July 27, 2009
By City Bus Driver
from Brooklyn, NY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"It's size, economy, and handling make the smart the perfect urban commuter. Even using premium fuel, I average 37 mpg. Fillups are not painful.
Ride can be poor on less than perfect streets. You'll feel every dip, every gap. However, it's not an exercise in torture as the seating is excellent.
The transmission is manual, but with an electronic clutch. The smart decides when to shift, and coupled with the low horsepower, the response is usually disappointing. A casual driver, like me, does fine, but if you have a lead foot, it's behavior may give you a coronary. With steering wheel mounted paddles, you can shift for yourself, but even then, the response is lethargic. It's an acquired skill. Acceleration can be best described as "eventual."
Cargo capacity? A few grocery bags or a medium sized suitcase is about the limit.
Long trips? I've been to Boston and Ohio in the smart. I miss cruise control, but it can be purchased aftermarket. It's also a bit more tiring than a typical, larger car, but overall, on the interstate, just fine. No need to worry about those big ol' nasty tractor trailers. Crosswinds on a rainslicked road can be scary. Solution? Drive intelligently.
The smart is well made and the maintenance schedule is pretty much an annual oil change. Excepting insurance, the car's running cost is about seven cents a mile. Really.
Not perfect for everyone, but if you're single and most of your driving is the daily commute with an occasional pleasure trip, the smart deserves serious consideration.
I love it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+33points
36out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Reliable Never had a problem

December 6, 2012
By ARNOLD
from RENO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have a 2008 Smart with 30000 on it and no problem
it is a FUN CAR do drive.More fun than my 500SEL.In the City.Live at 5000 FT. and I am loving It.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get One

October 11, 2012
By blondemom1400
from newport beach
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this car. I am going o have to sell mine, as my 6 year old has outgrown it. Im so sad to see it go. It has been the best care Ev-er! plenty of room on the inside for myself and 6 year old. Enough room in cargo for a very large doberman! I get great gas mileage, have had no problems. Drove this car from so cal to New York through wind, sleet and snow and had no problems. Get One!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best car I've ever owned!

April 19, 2012
By Smart Car Lover
from Grove, OK
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Despite it's small exterior size this little gem is big on the interior. Only when you step out of it do you realize you're in a small car.
It handles well on the freeway just as it does in two-lane traffic. It's reliable, well built and a real attention getter! It easily handles a weeks worth of groceries for the two of us. Changing the oil is a piece of cake. (I'm a lady, by the way.)
Should I ever hit the lottery, my first purchase would a second Smart Car.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Smart car

March 6, 2012
By smart car lover
from Falcon CO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The car is perfect and I enjoy driving it. it is a huge small car. when you drive it it does not feel like a small car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it, love it, love it

October 20, 2011
By Smarter than the average bear
from Mooresville, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the car I have wanted since I saw one in France in 2005. Now I have a yellow convertible and I could not be happier with it. I added wood tone skins to the dash, etc. and they really dress it up. It really is an eye-catcher and I get stopped all the time for information on it. I highly recommend it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little car

August 20, 2011
By Nick
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love it. Great on gas, parking is very easy. Just a great little car for the money. You should check one out!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Most fun I have ever had driving

June 23, 2011
By Car Buff
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Want heads to turn? Want to have fun driving? Want to park almost anywhere? What reliability?
Want great gas mileage? Want a car priced below $15,000.
Consider the Smart Car by Mercedes Benz"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I have ever owned

April 18, 2011
By RED MAN
from Bremerton, WA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great little commuter car with over 40 MPG. Plenty of room and lots of fun to drive. And looks, yeah you get lots of looks in it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great on gas

January 23, 2011
By Smartdriver
from Lakeville, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It took me two years to find the Smart car I wanted for the right price and I have owned my car now for three months and I love it. It s fun to drive and the gas mileage is what I expected."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic car, I & everyone else loves it.

January 18, 2011
By Smart Lady
from Gap, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Feel of dramatic shifting takes some getting used to, car is not very good in snow/ice, obviously, otherwise super fun to drive, good pick up for speed when needed, unbeatable turning radius, park virtually anywhere. I love this car. I have the Smart For Two, Passion Cabriolet & recommend it to anyone who questons me about it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Go for it!

November 16, 2010
By Suburban driver
from Queens, New York
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was one of the first to take delivery of the 2008 Smartofor two. Now with two years under my belt, I can truly say that I would buy another one in a miunte.
I have to agree with Kelsey Mays review of the car, but not his endorsement.
Yes it's a bumpy ride on rough roads, quirky transmision, limited storage, slugish pickup, and some trepedations on safety. But you know, I'm not racing at Indianapolis, and for the price, I'll live with a few jarring jolts now and again. I also drive a motorcycle, and have found many a dreaded NYC pothole, and survived. The Smart car handles the bumps easier than my bike, but don't compare it to a standard medium or full size car.
Last year, I drove from Indiana to NYC. The car did a steady 65-70 the whole trip, and never felt underpowered. The ride was comfortable, and neither of us felt fatigued at any point of the trip. We had enough storage for all our gear, plus my girlfriends two dogs, and their collapsable cage. Ok, they were annoying little lap dogs, but still everybody had enough room.
The other half of the coin is the ease of parking, a major consideration in an urban environment, low cost, both initial, and, at least so far, maintenance.
Yeah, pick up isn't stellar, but I've yet to have a problem getting into any highway. Along with the electronically modified transmission in 2009, which allowed the gears to run a bit longer before shifting, Smart also modified the paddle shifters. If you need to downshift, just touch the down shift paddle, and the vehicle automatically converts from full automatic, to a manual setting requireing you to use the paddles to change gears. Want to go back to automatic? just hold the upshift paddle for two seconds, and you're there. On the earlier models, you were required to change between the two via the gear shift lever between the two seats.
Parking is the greatest asset this car has to offer. Most times I had to go to the western suburbs, I'd need 20 minutes to try and find parking with my pick up, and then have to walk three, four or five blocks to get to where I'm going. With the Smart car usually finds a spot within one block of my destination. Salesman, Locksmiths, Tradesmen or any one who need to be mobile in an urban area, carry their tools, and find parking frequently will revel in this car. I've even see a few used as pizza delivery vehicles.
Now, the Smart car isn't for everyone. Forget about it if you have a family, however it is a perfect commuter vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

smart vs. bike

May 15, 2010
By guido
from Indianola, IA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"Hiit a deer with my motorcycle - traumatic brain injury - bought a smart convertible
40.3 mpg average with 36,200 miles...shouldn't love inanimate objects, but I love my smart.
Shifts great when you realize it is an automated manual. Wind is not a big deal. Rides a little rougher than my Lincoln Continental, but mpg is 3 times better... it is worth it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow. Just plain wow.

May 10, 2010
By The Nightbird
from Tucson, AZ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Okay, I have always liked smaller cars. I had a Swift, a Metro, a CRX.... you name it, I have tried it. And this is the BEST. I have made long trips, short trips, around town, and the only annoying aspect is being stopped by people and having them ask me about it. Yes, you are right, you feel those bumps on the road.... oh, and having run over an extension ladder on the interstate and had to go through a repair/insurance process, I have to tell you, this little thing is a BEAST! This is one tough car. People look at me while they drive their big trucks and SUV's, and you can see how annoyed they are when they see you driving on "their road", but the whole thing is I am in this tiny car, just me, and they, all alone in their big ol' vehicles.... it's not about a carbon foot print, it's just that it makes sense."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth the money

April 19, 2010
By Guido
from Indianola, IA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My 2008 Smart Cabriolet has over 33,000 miles, and I am averaging 40.2 mpg. Plenty of room for me and my laptop. Granted it is slightly rougher riding than my Lincoln Continental, but saves a me lot of money. Smart cars are smart, if we care about preserving resources for our children and grand children. It is a hoot to drive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We own two....

October 10, 2009
By Smart owner x 2
from Colorado
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We bought our first a year ago on the "orphan" program when our ordered car arrived two months later. GREAT commuter car! When gas was $4 a gallon the savings over our BMW made the car payment! Not quiet as free now, but still a huge gas saver on a weekly basis. The car does best in the city, but will ride on the interstate without trouble. Not a long distance car on the highway (comfort) but is do-able. We live in the mountains and have had no trouble on trips on the uphill.
I would recommend!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love that car

October 7, 2009
By Grandmom on the move
from Philadelphia, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased a smart for two a year ago and I love it. I hate when critics put down a car they don't know. I get 60 miles to the gallon highway not 41 and do plenty of city driving to say that I saved over 50% in gas purchase over the year. That's a whopping $2000.00. I looked at other cars in the category and since 95% of my time in the car I'm alone, there was not need for a larger car like the Mini Cooper. It costs much much more and I didn't like their design. I think the Smart for Two or the future Smart for Two+2, which I am purchasing in 2012, gives you a lot more for your money.
I hope that the consumer does their own homework before they purchase a car that someone else recommends. Talk to someone who actually owns one.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Little Trooper!

August 8, 2009
By J.J. Binx
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had my smart for about a year now.
Comfort- Superb, you sit up high, and visibility is great!
Performance- 71 hp is deffinatly enough to make this car zippy in the city, or on the highway!
Handling- "Think Go-cart." Love it!
Styling and Design- Only the best! This car is Art on wheels!
Features- Panoramic roof, heated seats!
Value- A brand new car for under 13,000.00.. that come standard with this many safety features is always worth the money. You can't put a price on life.
Reliability- Never any problems."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun to Drive, Great MPG

July 29, 2009
By Old SGM
from Richmond, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I drive my Passion Coupe to work and shopping, I have accumilated about 11,000 Smart mile with an average of 40 MPG and have made as high as 44 MPG. Think about this; 70 HP from 60 CU (1.0L), that gives the car the same HP per cube as a Corvette, it just doesn't have as many cubes as the Vette. About the transmission, it has a pause to shift, just like someone needs to pause between gears on any stick shift car. If something happens to mine, I will buy another in a NY minute. It is a love or hate car, it is in a class all by it's self. Freedom of choice, if we all drove the same car, what a boring place this would be!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2008_Smart_ForTwo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

we own two

July 10, 2009
By tadpole
from Kansas City
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife has had hers for a year. She's averaging 42 mpg mixed driving. I just bought one for $14,400, including cd plaayer, a/c, ower steering, heated seats and a few accessories. We can fit the two of us, three small dogs and two bags of groceries. Yes, I feel every bump on the road. It's not a Cadillac. I used to own a Kia Sephia. The Smart is easier to get in and out of.
At 71 hp the car is a little sluggish compared to my 18 mpg 6 cyl Ford Ranger, but once you get past 1st gear I have no ttrouble keeping up with traffic.
By the way, the dealership we went through offers excellent service.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.