Customer Reviews for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo

2008_Chevrolet_Aveo

Average Customer Rating:
3.526 of 5
3.5
 of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
13 of 19(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Review 1 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

do not buy this car or a chevy

March 26, 2014
By unhappy chevy owner
from Troy, NY
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I Have had my aveo for 7 years now. I thought I could save money with a small car as well as save gas cost. Since owning it I have been in and out of the shop spending well over 8k on it now. I keep all the reciepts to prove that number. I have replaced the alternator, 3 wiper motors, numerous wires, all major fuses and amps, all radiator hoses, numerous rear lights, hatchback issues, and muffler and exhust systems.I have never been in an accident and have a clean drivers abstract. I understand upstate New York has it's share of weather but all other cars seem to do just fine. America...it takes more than Bob dylan to sell cars. A good product Iis a good product. Chevy should be ashamed of themselves for the conscious choice of putting this kind of car on the market. Suggestion to them is to think of what they can give in a car and not what they can get for it! It is flat out offensive and a waste of your hard earned American money."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unreliable hatch, brakes, clutch

August 31, 2013
By Low purchase price ends up being costly in the end
from Ontario
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I would not recommend purchasing this vehicle. I have been unable to use the hatch effectively for a couple years as there have been chronic problems with its opening mechanism. The brakes were repaired at a high cost last year and now need to be done again. The clutch was replaced last year."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ms Lisa

July 26, 2013
By Baby Blue Bell
from Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I wish I had found this car sooner . Love love love , love it . Roomy inside , comfortable for long distance driving , which I do a lot . Gas ha , can I get a woo hoo for that . never gonna own a big car again . Looking for a matching bike to strap on the back right now . There should be more designs like it ."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Will never buy a chevy again

May 30, 2012
By M
from Grand Rapids, MI
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Replacing my second alternator in 4 years. Worst experience of my life dealing with GM and Chevrolet dealerships over the past two days. After being told it would be covered, I was basically laughed at by GM customer service reps, then hung up on. While one dealership did replace the first alternator outside of warranty two years ago, because they said it must havee been a bad part, when it went out again less than two years later (two days ago), they wanted to charge me $960 for a part my husband can install for $150. They have no answers as to why I need to replace an alternator every two years. This is not to mention the shocks, other electrical problems (haven't had a working clock in years) and other problems with the car. I can't wait to trade it in for a different brand. I'm very lucky that when I was stranded this time (at 9 months pregnant) that my husband happened to be with me. You cannot count on this car or on GM."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

My 08' Aveo

April 14, 2012
By firstnewcar
from Alaska
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The throttle body went out at 50xxx miles. It handles decent in snow, however deep snow its quite pathetic. I live in Alaska and this poor car just hates the cold! I plug it in when the temp dips below 20 degrees and it still sounds like I stepped on a cat when it starts up. Gas mileage you would think would be great considering how small the car is. I average 28 mpg and I drive mostly highway. Bought for $9600 brand new, resale is very very low. MUST change timing belt before 60,000 or your 5 year/100,000 powertrain warranty is voided. (Nice little bit of info I learned after I took it in for when the throttle body went out).
Over all- Its a cheap commuter car and you get what you pay for."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

MY AVEO

October 22, 2011
By aveo idiot
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Good thing they dont make this car anymore. electrical parts are a nightmare! 23 headlights, 5t throttle bodies, to numerous to mention all of the sensors that have gone haywire. 6 timing belts. Would not reccommend this car, but then again I drive 150000 miles per year. Car now has 301256 miles on it, new cars are to expensive to buy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots Of Car For The Money!

September 8, 2011
By Porschelover
from Appleton, WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have been driving this car for almost three years and never had a problem with it (compared to VW...). It just stands there and is ready to go! Almost like a dog.
I love it! Also like filling it up at the gas station because it has such good milage.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2008 Chevy Aveo Hatchback

March 20, 2011
By Shaner90
from Rockford Il
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I've owned this used 2008 Aveo for about 6 months. My hatchback is fully loaded but its still pretty basic. I wish the gas mileage was a little better. I have the automatic and average about 28mpg and I spend ALOT of time on the highway, and im not much of a speed demon sooooo.... Also the timing belt problem is a real bummer (NOTE: at 60,000 miles get that belt changed!) My mechanic sees more of these cars on the back of trucks then driving in. I got my timing belt, serpentine belt and water pump changed for $550, but the repairs would of doubled if the belt broke... All in all its pretty decent car. I live in Northern Illinois and this little car handled like a champ in the snow, and if u live up here you know we got a lot of snow!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Highly recommended

May 3, 2010
By JAG_WAR of Val. Phils.
from Valenzuela, Philppines
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"I had my aveo for the last 2 yrs and have not given me any trouble at all. I am very much satisfied with my aveo. I highly recommend car lovers to get one.
In Philippines Chevy cars are not yet so popular but i think it will change because of this chevy aveo.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Our Aveo saved our life

February 1, 2010
By Aveo Survivor
from Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We purchased the Aveo for our daughter. She had a couple fender benders and the car protected her very well. My wife and I were using it one afternoon, driving 55 mph on the highway and a lady ran a stop sign and hit us. We flipped and ended up on the side of the vehicle in a ditch. We both were able to climb out of the car and are very thankful this vehicle is built as safely as it is. We have our life thanks to the safety features in this vehicle. thanks Chevrolet for the Aveo"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i love it

November 28, 2009
By usmcdad1960
from milesburg, pa
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"after driving a gas guzzling suv i bought a used 2008 aveo and not sorry i did. it was like a dream going from 14 mpg to well over 30 mpg. yes it is a cheaper built car but in these days the way the economy is the fuel efficient cars are the way to go. my friend has a 2005 with 70K on it and has n
had no major problems with it.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

extremly bad car.

November 1, 2009
By convertible
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The Chevrolet Aveo or should I say terrible Aveo was the absolute worst and I mean worstcar in the history of auto mobils. If you want to buy car don't buy this because it not only has no features but so unstylish. It is just so embarisingly ugly."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
-38points
3out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a starter car

July 30, 2009
By a father
from Sacramento,CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is the second aveo,the first was a 04 and was rear ended by a car doing 40mph,did not look that bad but repairs were more than car was worth. So far no problems. Daughter using car for school she loves it,mileage has been over all about 28mph. I am 6 foot 3'' it has plenty of head room and leg room front seats,back seats are ok. Great interior ,outside is nice. A very large trunk.Ya it is slugish on hills and power on flat land it can handle it's self ok. Yes it needs more power ,but it's a fun car to drive.For a starter car it's ok. You get what you pay for it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best car EvER

December 30, 2008
By rabbit4956
from lincoln, NE
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My aveo has been named "willy" and it is the best car ever! i have had it for over a year and the only trouble i have had is with the tires, the front ones were bald, and had to be replaced, a lot sooner than my other cars, however, it's probably due to the driving conditions, and not the car.
The inside is nice and roomy, and i love the way the seats fold in- plenty of room for 2 big dogs. the sound system is nice, and I love the way it handels (i also love to rev it up in traffic) ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS CAR! i plan on keeping it forever."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

You get what you pay for

December 6, 2008
By Mac
from Luck, Wisconsin
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"As long as the car is running it's a great buy, but expect to get burned badly for any repairs. I bought the car in April and in our first snow this month the car slid into a curb going 20 mph. Repair cost was $1300. ($600 for a new rim) The reason I lost control the Chevy service department concluded was the tires were shot. I accept it's my fault for not checking them, but after 6 months it never occurred to me I'd need new tires. Replace cost PER TIRE - $152!
I like the car. There's nothing fancy about it, but what can you expect for the great price they sell it for. It works perfectly for me as a commuter car, and has a lot of room inside. Road noise is present but not excessive. Just be aware that Chevy has not thought ahead to providing support for their costumers with affordable replacement part."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love my aveo

August 3, 2008
By girlie
from los banos
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"best little car on the road, but inside is not little plenty on head and leg room. love everything about this car and beleive me i have owned my share of cars. going to buy me another aveo in a couple months. this will be my second. the first was a company car which i got to pick out. our company has two both are awesome."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Incredibly Roomy Inside

August 2, 2008
By Cupid D
from Tustin NA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this car in response to high gas prices. Filling up for under $50.00 is a plus and the purchase price was also great. According to the information I have read, the car is 4 star rated in crash test so that makes me feel safe. People often comment how roomy the car is on the inside. I recommend this car to anyone who wants to save money and still have style and saftey."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A lot of bang for the buck!

May 2, 2008
By RedWolf
from Las Vegas, NV
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It's been 8 years since I've purchased a new vehicle however, my new wife has never owned a new "off the showroom floor" vehicle and with Gas prices soaring the time seemed right.
She is very frugual and wanted a vehicle with good gas mileage and a low price. She finally decided on the Chevy Aveo LT Sedan.
After owning it for a week we are very impressed. The styling is great front to back with the high roofline, Altezza tailights, chrome trim and styling.
The interior is comfortable and even more stylish than the exterior with simulated Burlwood trim, Chrome bezels around the A/C vents and gauges as well as other Chrome and brushed aluminum trim.
The features are plentiful and amazing for a vehicle in this price range, the ride is quiet and comfortable and the gas mileage on the first tankful was 25 mpg CITY not HWY as is usually advertised nowadays.
All in All a great vehicle all the way around including fit and finish. Bravo GM!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2008_Chevrolet_Aveo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Why I choose Aveo

February 16, 2008
By donaveo2008
from tomball,tx
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My 2008 Aveo is second one I have owned.The main reason is because the powertrain coverage:5 years or 100,000 miles can't be beat. Also the improved ride handing the car is fun to drive.My personal opinion is the Aveo is underdog to the small car segment.I recommend the automatic transmisson option because of the "hold feature" does allow you to fly on the highways.Lastly,the Aveo styling is great."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.