Customer Reviews for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR

2008_Chevrolet_HHR

Average Customer Rating:
4.371 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
31 of 35(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Review 1 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

my 3rd HHR SS

April 24, 2013
By Haul-n-SS
from Atmore, Al
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"These cars give you great fuel economy along with superb performance and lots of cargo space. My 5 speed SS HHR wil run 158mph top end after having it tuned by trifecta tunes. These cars were built to be tuner cars to compete with imports. Chevy hit a homerun with the SS model. A mustang GT is a joke. They sound good, but can't compete with a tuned HHR SS 5 speed car. And still the thing gets 34mpg on the hwy! If you buy an SS model have it tuned and you'll get more mpg and lots more performance."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

bought

April 22, 2013
By 1
from albertville ,al
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I went looking for one thing and was amazed by russell sconyers and his skill he was very honest and direct and led me to the right car"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HHR SS

December 23, 2012
By ChrisDaFish
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased 08 HHR SS 5 speed. Love the gas mileage compared to my GTO that I got rid of. Motor is very strong 2.0T from cobalt SS and Sky/Solstice. Interior is pretty comfortable seat is a little high. Great storage cargo room car is very versatile. The interior is usual GM plastics but it does its job in this class. Its a decently reliable car if you like the styling and want good mpg in a fun versatile package, the HHR SS is a great option. Plus you don't see a lot of them which I enjoy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best deivery vehicle we have.

December 15, 2012
By DAWNY
from Red Lion Pa.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"MPG IS OUTSTANDING !!! WE like the dependability, user freindly type, and this has it all. Since they do not make the HHR Panel no longer, we will be purchasing another soon. Also like the options, power windows and locks are a must for us."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little car

September 1, 2012
By Funky Car
from Oklahoma
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It's such a great little car, I wonder why Chevrolet stopped building it! Love it. Mine gives me 32 mpg at 60mph."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice vehicle. Great small crossover.

April 22, 2012
By nfmnh
from New Hampshire
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Traded in a 2000 Blazer for a 2008 HHR LS for better MPG. I have been very happy. The vehicle has nice pick up, feels solid with no rattles or sqeaks and I am getting a combined 27 mpg. The interior is mostly hard plastic but is practical, easy to clean and is not ugly.
The vehicle holds a respectable amount in the back but get a cargo net to keep items from sliding around.
The climate control system is very good with nice warm heat and very cold a/c.
Chevrolet really hit a home run with this one. Too bad the model is discontinued.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Luv it

January 22, 2012
By Cheap Car Guy
from Tampa, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I reviewed this car when I first purchased it comparing it to the Honda Civic that was my previous car. It now has 50,000 miles on it and it has been flawless. I just replaced the original tires with OEM's and they were $400 total at Pep Boys. I had the front pads replaced just because I was in the3 shop but there were still a few more miles on the originals left. When I reviewed before I complained that the interior was cheap, cheap, cheap and guess what, it still is. The hard plastic sux but it doesn't rattle or squeak. Compared to the cost of another Civic or Fit this thing has been the bargain of a lifetime. It was cheap to buy (used, $13,000 with 5K miles on it) and after 3 years it's still worth $9 to 10K. It's cheap to operate and it's cheap to insure. Chevrolet got this one right."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great styling and fun to drive!

December 13, 2011
By TJ
from Clovis CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Had the vehicle 1 month until it was involved in an accident. During that time it was a fantastic vehicle and constantly getting 33mpg at freeway speeds which is a big plus! Looking for another one now to replace it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Does It All

November 14, 2011
By DaGrinch
from Western MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We needed a vehicle that could haul a couple dogs as well as get good gas mileage around town and out on the open road.
The rear cargo area is large enough for groceries or medium size dogs. The seats are comfortable, front and rear, and there's good visibility all around. The power window controls are a little awkward, being down low in front of the gear selector. This was changed in the 2009 and later models.
Gas mileage is decent - 26-27 mpg @ 75mph in the Appalachians with 23-24 mpg in town. The suspension I have is a sport suspension, so you have a good feel of the road.
Would I buy another? Yes, indeed! Too bad this vehicle has been discontinued. Those that have them plan to hold on to theirs for many years to come.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice hhr

June 26, 2011
By shadow
from DALLAS,TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"BOUGHT OUR HHR OF THE SHOWROOM FLOOR IN DALLAS COUNTY STILL LOOKS NEW IN 2006 LT PKG ALL BELLS @ WHISTLE, ORIG BATTERY STILL IN CAR HAD NO PROBLEMS NOW IF I COULD ONLY FIND MYSELF A SS MODEL JUST LIKE MINE IN EXCELLENT COND.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

HHR-LS -- great little wagon

June 6, 2011
By Wagon guy
from Suburban Philadelphia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"You either really like the look of the HHR or you really don't. It's kinda that simple. It's not a clone mobile; so if you don't like throwback look for something else. If you do like it and are looking for a comfortable, flexible small wagon with space the HHR is a good car. I'm tall (6'2'') and pretty big and have plenty of leg and head room for a small car; it's 3 or 4 inches higher than most. The front seats are big for a small car and the back seats are OK. The back seats fold down for a huge space for a little car.
Performance and handling are just OK. If you're really a driver, you'll probably want to look elsewhere. But if you're looking for a reliable versastile HHR is not a little performer like say a Jetta, but if you're looking for a reliable, economical wagon its a good choice. I get an honest 31 mpg on the open road.
I also recommend the LS package with the power driver's seat. The adjustments are much better. there are a couple different LS packages with slightly different features. I've owned two, and liked the look of the one with runnng boards much more."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Chevy HHR pros and cons

May 17, 2011
By KZ1000Man
from Denver, CO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The car has been a mixed bag. On the one hand I like the retro, late 40's inspired styling, the decent fuel economy (low 30's on the open road), good rear storage area and good pickup. On the other hand it's as though GM doesn't want smaller hatchbacks and wagons to compete with SUV sales because they won't engineer enough conveniences into these types of cars. E.g. the door pockets are too shallow and are half-moon shape, permitting only a small amount of stuff to be stored; the cup holders are also too shallow to safely hold beverages, and there is no center console (which there was in the Vibe, my previous car) though there is plenty of space for one. The glove compartment is too small as is the dashboard storage compartment, even though I'm sure there is enough space to make these larger. The interior lighting is poor, the single dome ceiling light was placed in the rear of the cabin, beyond reach of driver leaving only map lights for front cabin illumination. The windows are far too small and resulting visibility is awful. I'm a 6'1" male and I have to crane my neck to see out. Overall, the car has been a disappointment and I would not buy another. I have been trying to find another used Vibe/Matrix, but because GM made so few of them, they are hard to find."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great car for the money

May 13, 2011
By jimmy
from Fort Wayne, IN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have brought many cars in the past but this is by far the best money I ever spent on a pre-owned car!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fun hhr

February 22, 2011
By gato
from atlanta,ga
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car in December .I have enjoyed it since day one. The car is fun to drive (manual transmission),the car styling is different from anything else in the road and the performance is great. You won't find a car with this kind of power that is so good on gas.It is a great car and fuel economy is amazing for the size and the power. Very comfortable interior, beautiful upholstery (I have the SS model)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Just driven it till 200k and then ditchen the HHR

November 28, 2010
By macbwtjr
from iowa
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Front end is just a poor design. New Rotors and brakes (I recommend aftermarket and don't go cheap) Both right and left suspension rods failed and were replaced. Right front wheel bearing failed. All this before 72K miles. Now have 113K miles on it. Hoping to ditch it in the next 18 months or 200K miles. Fuel mileage highway driving 95 percent of the time at 60-75mph and all I get out of it now is about 21-22 mpg. My GMC Denali XL gets 18 on the highway!!!! I have used three sets of tires so far. Point being the tires on the car are expensive low mileage tires. This makes for an expensive work/road vehicle. SNOW!!! this HHR gets stuck looking at snow!!! Overall a poor vehicle for road travel and too work out of. Do not put your sun visor down or you will be blind!!! I use a piece or card board and a paper clips. The window is too small for good visibility in the city. Just stop at a traffic light and you will learn why."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-8points
1out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my HHR!

September 27, 2010
By Bumblehead
from Sherburne NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just purchased an HHR and have fallen in love with it. When I began looking for a new vehicle, I noticed that it seems as though every car out there looks exactly the same. The HHR has a retro style that I like (I think you either love the style of the car, or hate it. There is no in between). The engine isn't the type to set you back in your seat, but that has never been big on my list. I'm also not a big fan of all the plastic in the interior (A rug in the trunk would be a big improvement)
I have a 66 mile round trip commute, so I'm digging the 30 miles to the gallon this vehicle gives me. I also have a large family, and this car allows me the opportunity to pick up my kids and still pick up groceries on the way home with no problem. I've also been enjoying the XM radio. I think this is going to have to be added permanently.
All in all, I've throgoughly enjoyed this car and I really don't mind the daily commute, which hasn't always been the case. Definitely a thumbs up."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun & Sporty

July 29, 2010
By New SS owner
from Kapolei, Hawaii
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We needed a car small enough to fit in our enclosed garage. (We had a full size pickup that we had to bend the mirrors to get it in and out.) We also wanted a car with some zip and manuverability. We wanted space to fit things when we go shopping and we wanted a vehicle that was good on gas. After all the candidates we found the SS HHR. A 4 cylinder with turbo and a prety good suspension makes it handle well. Although this car does not ride like a Cadillac, it is fun and easy to drive. It is perfect for what we needed and the price was within our budget."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Life long Chevy person

March 31, 2010
By Sports Car Enthusiast
from Amarillo, Tx
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Mechanically, the car is excellent. Highway gas milage is as advertised. On two major trips to DC (4000 miles) and Las Vegas (1800 miles) averaged 33+MPG. Body and interior are lacking. Components seem cheap. Cruise control is a pain to re-engage (take multiple pushes on the button to re-engage). Rubber around driver side door is already cracking (vehicle has less than 20,000 miles and was bought new less than 2 year ago."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

pleasant surprise

February 25, 2010
By sdafins
from sc
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"comfortable, economical, roomy, good sound system, a pleasure to drive. good exterior fit and finish, supple leather seats, comprehensive trip computer, even shows individual tire pressure, so no guessing when TPMS light might come on."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2008_Chevrolet_HHR
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good work car

January 23, 2010
By mac
from Quad Cities Iowa
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"I purchased the 2008 HHR in Sept 2008 new. I now have 62,000 miles on it. I have had to replace the front brakes and rotors due to warped rotors (very common problem with HHR's) Mileage has been about 23-27 mpg and I drive mostly highway. It is the 2.4l LT loaded with equipment. For a car this size I would expect better mileage per gallon. The window controls are the worst idea in placement. I do get about 12K from each oil change. I just have not found much information about the service times for the transmission fluid. I am told it is lifetime but if you drive the miles like I do who's life are we talking about? This vehicle is horrible in the snow. Worst I have ever driven. Without traction control it is no better. Traction control actually helps except on steep hills at a standing start then for get it. Visibility is terrible in town due to low windshield. Forget about even using the visor in the sun you can not even see the road as it block the whole field of vision. They should have made it a sliding visor that you could slide down just a little bit to block the sun rather than a flip visor. If you are in a hurry in the morning and it is winter time, test your brakes as it takes them a bit to actually start to work. Found out going down hill in a hurry and almost did not make the turn. They need warm up time. I will not be purchasing another HHR, but will drive it until I have 200k or the maintenance gets to expensive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.