Customer Reviews for 2009_Honda_CR-V

2009_Honda_CR-V

Average Customer Rating:
4.433 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 of 30(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Review 1 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Student car

August 2, 2014
By Dad of twins
from Fresno CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After researching cars.com and talking with my high school seniors we settled on the CRV. They like the way it drives, gas mileage, seating and sound system. Pleasing 17-year old twins... mission completed."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

CRV

March 27, 2014
By Bob
from MA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"excellent car with awesome protection. Bought for family to use around town...fun to drive! Great color too!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Short owned

December 14, 2012
By mh
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Only have had it for a couple weeks, but love the ride, great room for transporting items. Only thing I don't find convenient is the cup holders are too small for large cups/bottles (liter size)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid car for the money

December 13, 2012
By Tap Tap Tap Is this on?
from Aurora, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We have driven almost 2000 miles on the car in the past month. The driver's seat could be better, but a good vehicle for most purposes. On a 3 hour drive, my back can tell the difference between the CR-V and my truck."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sr. Project Manager

August 31, 2012
By have no nickmane
from Wexford,Pa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Since the auto will be used for business, I wanted to make sure I would purchase a reliable auto for all conditions. I feel my Honda will meet this test."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST SMALL SUV

June 23, 2012
By Jim
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this new in 2009 and it is now three years old with 30,000 miles. No complaints at all. I recently replaced the tires which made it a lot quieter. Plenty of room and power and the heated leather seats are great. The mileage is about what I expected, not great but it wont break the bank. I wish it had Blue Tooth and I understand that the new ones do so maybe a trade in next year."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

June 21, 2012
By Sprite119
from Indianapolis
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Such a comfortable ride and great gas mileage! Perfect for family and long distance travel. So glad I bought this!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love It

June 4, 2012
By smurphy
from Chesapeake, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was looking for a dependable vehicle. This is it. The Honda CRV fits me perfectly. Good gas mileage...better than advertised. Plenty of room inside for passengers. I bought a used 2009 LX with about 30,000 miles on it. Affordability was more important to me than all the bells and whistles of the EX or EX-L. I plan on putting at least another 200,000 miles on it. Been driving it for about 4 months and I love my CRV."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great SUV

May 3, 2012
By exhausting research
from warwick
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I love my new crv for a compact suv it's very roomy and comfortable (I,m 6'2"). The one thing I had to have was a clear view of the road something the other small suv did not have. What do I mean ? most small cars/suv due to the position of the rear view mirror it blocked my sight."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Honda,Of course!

January 2, 2012
By Honda enthusiast
from Western, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great ride. Incredible value.
Primary vehicle is a Pilot.
This is a secondary vehicle, which could easily replace the primary in a pinch.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Family car

October 22, 2011
By AlexS
from Stoughton, MA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good: Great family car; well designed interior with lots of storage room; my wife sits between our twins' car seats in the back seat, which allows grandma to ride with us (a big convenience); exceptionally reliable; acceptable mileage (consistent 21 mpg on average).
Bad: weak engine; high level of noise; 21 mpg is so-so for such a weak engine.
Bottom line: it is a sensible shoe, no more - no less; easy to live with, but would probably not buy this car again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

CRV_Lover

September 7, 2011
By CRV_Lover
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Small and reliable SUV. If you are looking for an SUV with lots of power, this is not the one. Other than that, it is nice car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2009 Honda CRV-LX

August 24, 2011
By Felipe
from Oakland, California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this 3-year-old car after a disastrous 6 months with a new Mini Cooper (I won't go there!). This is my 3rd CRV and I should have stuck with them ... .they only seem to get better and better with each model. I have NOTHING bad to say about this car that I've had now for 5 months, except I don't particularly like the GPS navigation software but Honda is replacing mine free under warranty so the new one may be better designed. Other than that, it's the best-designed car I've ever owned or ridden in."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great car

August 17, 2011
By pm7334
from Leeds, Ma.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Love the car. Easy to get in and out of with my bad knees and back. Rides nice. Wish it got better gas mileage, but I do only have to travel 3 miles to work. Love the open area in the front seat on the floor. It's what made me get the CR-V over the Toyota or Subaru."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Cars but watch the tires

July 6, 2011
By TexasMike
from Grapevine Texas near DFW Airport
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car purchased 18 months ago [Jan 2010] - demo with 1300 miles. But the factory Bridgestone tires were very worn after 9000 miles and had to be replaced after 18,000 miles. Honda Dealer said that was fairly "common" with those tires. I went online and found similar situations. So it cost me $800 after 18 months. Bridgestone dealer said "no warrranty". Honda Dealer would not do anything. Otherwise the ride is a little stiff but the handling is great. Air could be a little more powerful but with all the 100 degree days here last month not too bad. I would buy another one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better than most

April 4, 2011
By HC
from Maine
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned the crv for 2 years now and like it . It is good in snow and slippery roads as we have plenty of both where I live. I usually get about 32 mpg on the highway and about 25 on short trips to town which are about 15 miles each way. The road noise is a bit much but I got used to it as this is my 2nd crv. I will buy another one when I trade again next year if not sooner as they hold their value quite well. Improvements could be a quieter ride,better tires as the ones that come on new cars now just don't last. I have had zero problems with the car thus far."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

takes time to appreciate

March 7, 2011
By davo
from chicago suburbs
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"we are leasing a 4x4, heated seats etc and the initial feeling was it did not have enough power to provide for a smooth ride. Having driven it now for 2years i've come to realize the 4 gives a smooth ride and makes the fuel economy better...a win win situation.
I will be buying the car at the end of the lease"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First New Car Purchase

December 3, 2010
By Fan Of SUV's
from Chicago 'Burbs
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased my CRV-EXL NAV new in 2009. The CRV was my first brand-new-car purchase right out of college. I've driven the GMC Envoy (horrible gas mileage) and the Chevy Equinox (pretty powerful engine), previously to my CRV. Though both of my previously owned American-made autos were very reliable, the styling on the interior of the CRV truly takes the cake.
The front display with navigation has saved me alot of time (and gas money) if i'm ever in a pinch and need to know how to get somewhere fast. The downfall of the navigation system is that the dealership contacts me to upgrade approx. once every 6 mos (the upgrade is not cheap) to update the maps. I wish the navigation system would just upgrade automatically for the amount of money I sacrificed to own this car. The CRV navigation screen turns to a backup camera when the car is shifted to reverse. I don't think i'll ever purchase another car *without* a backup camera again. There are A LOT of dog-walkers and children in my neighborhood and sometimes they are hard to see when backing out of the driveway. I LOVE the radio display (very large and well lit screen.)
The leather throughout the car is beautiful. The car came with the voice-control prompt (you can change the radio stations or the climate in the car without pushing a button), but I never use it (too many commands to remember.)
One mediocre downfall of the CRV is the power the car falls short of. When i'm accelerating, I sometimes feel the engine doesn't have enough power for the size of the car. But, i'm no racecar driver and i'd be getting far less MPG's with a larger engine so I deal with it.
The rear-passenger legroom is more than plenty as i've trucked a lot of adults around in my car with no complaints. The rear passenger doors open to a 90 degree angle which is wonderful for getting carseats and children in and out of.
I researched the CRV because Honda is known for reliability. This model received 5-star safety ratings, and I've always felt very safe in it. The all-wheel drive in the winter is the best thing in the world. I read a review on here in which someone stated there is a rearview blind spot problem; I have to completely disagree. I've never had a blind spot problem with this car. I think anyone that is seriously considering a crossover SUV should take this one for a ride because I think you'd be surprised!
In summation, every person that has gotten into my CRV for the first time has expressed **extreme** "oohs", and "aahs" and i'm very proud to own and drive it. I'd buy another one in a heartbeat if I had the chance."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will get one more Crv for my wife.

November 24, 2010
By Dragon
from NYC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Hi to all.Since my old accord was giving out after some 190ooo miles,i needed a new vehicle.My back is not so grate so i decided to go with "higher" vehicle.I honestly tested ALL competitors and fall in love with Crv.
Ford escape looked good from out side,but very cheap inside,as well as Mazda tribute,same thing.Hyundai Tucson looked OK,but cheap as well...All Chevy,Jeep and other competitors are just,in my opinion cheaply built.Main competitor Toyota rav4 is ugly for my taste.Wouldn't buy it if it was $100.The only one that was kind of close to Crv is VW Tiguan.However,Tiguan i way too small.Much smaller then Crv.
When driving Crv i fell really comfortable and exhilarating,averaging 22 mpg mixed driving.On highway i was getting 33 mpg.What,can you ask for more?
Stories about Crv being underpowered are nonsense.What do you expect from V4 that is powerful enough and fuel efficient.If you want sporty SUV,buy "BMW","Cadillac","Audi" or any other WAY to expensive vehicles.
Every thing about this vehicle i love,BUT it has one thing that i would make it little different.Instead of "captain chair" i would rather have center console for "hand rest".I don't know,its my taste and opinion.All to all,grate vehicle that will last for a really long time with no trouble.And that you will,when decided sell it "top dollar".Buy it if you need it and its gonna make you happy owner.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2009_Honda_CR-V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Honda CRV EX 2WD

October 7, 2010
By JandV
from Chico, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love everything about this car, except wish it was available in a 5-speed. This vehicle was only manufactured with an automatic transmission in 2009."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.