Customer Reviews for 2009_Jeep_Patriot

2009_Jeep_Patriot

Average Customer Rating:
4.136 of 5
4.1
 of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
17 of 22(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Review 1 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Biggest mistake of my life.

March 16, 2014
By StoneBone
from Tallahassee, FL
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have never owned a car that was created with such shoddy craftsmanship as the Jeep patriot. I purchased this SUV used, as a second owner, and this is by far the worst vehicle I have ever owned. At the time of the purchase, the vehicle was still well under the 36,000 mile bumper-to-bumper manufacturer's warranty and was two years old. After the first rainstorm, the sunroof leaked all over the carpet and spewed out of the dome light and on to my lap after the first right hand turn. When I say leak, what I actually mean is this thing created a 3 inch deep lake in the rear passenger footwell that consumed the entire area of the footwell. The water also leaks to the front footwell, shorting out the vehicle electronics. When the vehicle electronics short out, the car will not shut off after being started, and the electronics click off and on all night, until it wears the battery down. When taken to the Chrysler dealership 3 times while under the warranty (with technical service bulletin in-hand demonstrating step-by-step how to fix the exact problem) they decided to ignore the instructions and proceeded to run a hose over the sunroof, claiming that they couldn't see a problem. If they would've spent a minute to run water through the drain tubes, the problem would've been identified. When I reported the issue to Chrysler, they made half-hearted promises to help get the issue resolved, but they really didn't do anything to resolve the matter. Chrysler has denied fixing anything with this vehicle since the warranty ran out, and I'm still stuck with this pile of scum of a vehicle. Please avoid any year of the Jeep Patriot at all cost, and steer clear of Chrysler. The dealerships are aware of this problem (the service manager informed me) but they continue to sell leaking patriots in 2014+"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Car for the Money

June 30, 2013
By Chinacatrider
from Apalachin, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We have owned the car for a month. It gets good gas mileage for a Jeep, approx 28mpg hwy. It has plenty of utility space. This was a perfect car for our family. The car we purchased was stripped down... ie. manual locks and windows. However they are "endearing" as my 18 year old puts it. The car has a nice sound system and air conditioning. It is a comfortable car even with the jeep suspension. Over all I would recommend this car for a family that is looking for a reliable utility vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great car great deal

December 18, 2012
By ace
from lombard il.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"a great car for a great the guys at century went out of thier way to please us count be happier thanks"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty Giid so far... Minus One thing

April 16, 2012
By YEE!
from San Jose, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great on gas, great design... the only thing was the dome light began to leak water under heavy rain. The "drain rails" in the sunroof got clogged and for $150.00 Jeep will fix it. Only terrible thing do far, I'm at 69,000 miles.. so we will see."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Family Car

January 1, 2012
By Bassam
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought it three years ago, has been very dependable vehicle. Good value for the money. I bought an extended warranty which proved worth it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Many well known defects

October 30, 2011
By Patriothead
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I purchased my 2009 limited 4x4 fd1 brand new in 09. I always liked the exterior design as it reminded me of the old cherokee sports and when chrysler went bk in 09 i took advantage and got $7500 off.
Too many well known problems on this vehicle though. Three water leaks (front and rear dome light leaks, front passenger floor leak). These leaks are well known by chrysler and most patriot owners, yet chrysler corporate and dealerships deny knowing the problems.
Other problems include 6cd changer broke twice (apparently they can't play mp3 rewritable discs?? Are you kidding me, it's a 2009 vehicle, not a 1989), Horrible smell in the heater that the dealer explained is common but not fixable, ball joints totally shot at 35900 miles (thank God for the warranty)! The gas tank is way too small, only 13.5 gallons. The gas mileage is ok, but you feel like you're filling up all the time. Also had a tire monitor prssure button break.
I do actually like the cvt transmission and i like the way it rides when healthy, but way too many trips to the dealership for a brand new vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2009 Jeep Patriot Amazing Vehicle

May 2, 2011
By Jeep Lover
from Irving, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This Jeep was everything I was looking for and more. I love how the Jeep Patriot looks. The exterior is tough yet shows a hint of femininity.
The interior is durable and the features stand out showing why this is one of the best vehicles out there.
As part of the Jeep family, the Patriot may not be able to live up to the Grand Cherokee or the Liberty or the Commander but the drive and look of this prestigious smaller Jeep is just what I was looking for.
I love that you can move from automatic to manual.
This is my first Jeep and I love it!!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My first Jeep

May 21, 2010
By CarNut
from Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"This was my first Jeep and maybe last. I bought this vehicle due to good praise my mother told about her Grand Cheerokee over the years. I thought the Patriot would be ideal as it is smaller than a full Jeep(better fuel economy and practicality) and be easier to own. The overall fit and finish was very nice, although there was a rattle/squeak that comes from the passenger door panel when u hit bumps. I did have a breakdown where the vehicle wouldn't move and the brake lights would stay on(had to remove the fuse to disable). This turned out to be a faulty brake wire fixed by dealership non-warranty=280dollars. Now at 43k miles i have a bad rear brake rotor/pad that needs replaced, havent fixed this as of now. The gas mileage is not what I was expecting around 25-27 on hwy and 20-21 city, granted I have the Freedom Drive II and CVT transmission. Get the stick or 2wd for higher fuel economy. The biggest issue I have is the leak in the roof! This is apparently a known problem on the Patriot, I googled and found many others with same issue. I tried having Jeep pay for and fix...the dealership performed a repair which basically was some black gunk around gasket. The problem is still not fixed which became apparent in more rainy weather. This leak comes thru the front map light and also the rear cargo light. If heavy rain and vehicle is parked , when u take off in vehicle water will POUR from these locations and the roof liner in vehicle is saturated with water. If you buy this vehicle make sure you get something in writing that assure you this will be taken care of as it seems to be a design flaw. Google it! With all this said i still like my Jeep for it's all-weather handling, off-road capability, and the practicality. I would not get a Patriot in the future, I would opt for the larger and more reliable Grand Cheerokee. Goodluck!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My Cash for Clunkers Purchase

May 4, 2010
By Otho Nogo
from Houston TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I traded my 15 year old pickup in under the "Cash for
Clunkers" program. With the program rebate and a
Jeep rebate I paid an even $10,000 for this new Jeep.
Best deal I have ever made. I got a trade in offer the
other day for more than I paid. I miss power windows but otherwise I am very pleased.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inexpensive SUV and safe

April 26, 2010
By chicago suburban driver
from Chicago
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this last June for 15,000 and low APR. Unlimited warranty on engine and powertrain. The only issue is the noisy engine when accelerating. Once you are up to speed it is fine and does well on the highway even with the 2.0 liter engine. I had been worried about taking it on a highway trip but I drove 400 miles passing easily at 80 mph. I really like it because of its safety features and because of how well it handle in the snow- almost as good as my all wheel drive Subaru. It only has FWD."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Worst Jeep Creation EVER!!!

April 15, 2010
By Lifetime Jeep Owner
from Nashville, TN
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I purchased the '09 Patriot last June. I sold my worst nightmare today. This vehicle is poorly made. Doesn't have the feeling, handling, presence of a jeep. Gas mileage is not whats quoted so don't purchase on hopes your saving bucks on that one. I had more problems with a "brand new" vehicle than I had ever had with any Used vehicle I purchased. It is poorly manufactured. The rear end made noise that the dealership "couldn't hear." The windows didn't go up and down correctly. The high end super tech stereo system couldn't even keep the proper time. The sunroof leaked. The door popped ever time you hit a bump. Again, the dealership couldn't hear this either. The tire sensor constantly was warning me the tires were low. The dealership called it a glitch.
I had finally had enough. Called my experience a loss and sold it today. I did send all the work orders in ...full disclosure and all. I HIGHLY recommend giving this one a twice, three or four times thought before actually purchasing. Take a mechanic...Heck take a lawyer.
I am a Cherokee driver...Cherokee and Wranglers..thats my preferences...Shame on me for thinking this Patriot might be worth owning.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Limited

February 11, 2010
By Luganathan
from Pennsylvania
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased new. Very good in the snow and all weather conditions. The upgraded interior in the 09 models are nicely done. Love the sun and sound options. Leather seats look great and are very comfortable. The acceleration if fine for a 4 cyl. If you are coming from a heavy 6 cyl or v-8, the cvt transission will disappoint. If you are used to a 4 cyl it will feel fine."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Little SUV

February 9, 2010
By Happy Patriot Owner
from Germany
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought late 2008, Limited, 5-speed. 20,000 miles on it, through most of the midwest and lots of central Europe.
The limited is a nice touch, lots of nice extras like heated seats, chrome finish, ect. Comes with roof rails, which have been extensively used for us. We have carried skis, bikes, camping gear and lumber on the roof. With the seats folded down (including passenger) there is a decent amount of room, for all walks of transporting materials. Maybe not the biggest in terms of cargo space, but sufficient. There was never a time when we said we need a bigger vehicle.
Driving, it drives like a big car. Nothing exceptional, nothing super disappointing either. It is slow, but will be fine if you aren't Roger Penske.
Looks like a Jeep. Either you like the look of the outside or you don't. Jeeps look a certain way, its not for everyone.
Fuel economy, we get up to 30+ driving highways, depending on speed, overall it is in the mid to upper 20's if you drive fairly conservative.
Haven't had any major issues, the Kansas wind created a minor issue with the door, fixed for free.
Probably not the best if you have more than one child, we are childless and our dog owns the back seat.
It isn't for everyone, if you recreate some, its a great car. If you do some serious off-roading, not for you. If you are just a regular commuter, not for you.
We love it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just testdrive one!

October 18, 2009
By dablakes
from Grand Rapids, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If you’re looking for a small high mileage SUV you really should test drive a Jeep. I was having a tough time deciding between a Ford Escape, Toyota Rav4 and Honda CRV. A Jeep wasn’t even on the list but I took a test drive on a whim. Bought one last August and really like it, it’s quiet, has a great stereo, consistently gets 24 city/30 hwy and it drives like a Jeep. Best of all I could get a standard transmission without buying a stripped down model. Can’t wait to see how those 17” wheels do in the snow this winter!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good jeep

September 11, 2009
By patriot dude
from omaha ,nebr
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i like my jeep, i owned a grand chee
before this one, i would like if they
come with power window & locks. and not a opt.drive great and gas mile are good.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent car

July 5, 2009
By dohtur
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I get this car two weeks ago. First time after a lots of years of the driving (regular, and at field's), this one is a car to which I can relay :)
This is what a real professor need :)
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car at a great price

March 21, 2009
By Jeep Owner
from Tampa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently bought a brand new Jeep Patriot for under $15k. Most used cars are more than this! It included 0% financing for 36 months, lifetime power train warranty, and $1000 rebate ontop of the Employee Pricing. I have owned American and Japanese cars in the past, this car is superb. The only downside is that you have to floormats and cruise control are not standard for this vehicle and the engine is a 2.0. Regardless, its drives well with little effort and worth much more than what was paid for."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this vehicle

December 22, 2008
By Satisfied Jeep Owner
from St Cloud, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"For the money, this is the best compact SUV out there. I purchased my 2009 Jeep Patriot Sport for less than $18K. What I got was classic Jeep styling, a roomy and comfortable interior, great performance and great gas mileage. I love this vehicle and am very satisfied. i have always owned Japanese cars but have always wanted a Jeep. I'm glad I bought one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very disappointed

December 17, 2008
By New Jeep owner
from Miami FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I ourchased a 2009 Jeep Patriot Sport and after just three days, the engine stalled out on me while idling at a traffic light. This happened again several more times and I'm only at 750 miles. The dealer said it had something to do with a computer chip. It's still not fixed and I'm wondering if there is a problem with the vehicle or I just got a lemon. There are a lot of rattles and annoying noises already with the car, not what I'd expect with less than 1K miles. I love the styling but I have my doubts about mechanical quality at this point"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2009_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better than the 2008

October 30, 2008
By Joe
from Edinburg, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've had the opportunity to own both a 2008 and now a 2009 Patriot. The 2008 leaked from the dome light and was bought back by Chrylser as a "lemon". So they gave me a 2009 Patriot. The new interior is more luxorious looking and streamlined and has added features like padded arm rests and lock/unlock button on passenger door. Other than the interior, both years drive and handle the same and the gas mileage is great. Also, the auxilary input recognizes an MP3 player so no need to press Aux button on radio. Downside, the 2008 had a washable hard plastic floor in the cargo area, while the 2009 has a carpet floor that traps dirt and stains."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Work
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.