Customer Reviews for 2009_Kia_Spectra

2009_Kia_Spectra

Average Customer Rating:
3.857 of 5
3.9
 of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
10 of 14(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2009_Kia_Spectra
Review 1 for 2009_Kia_Spectra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good car for teen

June 20, 2012
By Deni G
from Dallas, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We bought this car for my daughter, she loves it. It was preowned, but in good condition. It drives nice and gets good gas mileage. We hope it last her through college and into her first job."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2009_Kia_Spectra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2009 kia

August 22, 2011
By tony
from tx
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"very impressed by all the included features.
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend
good look both inside and out. Good Gas miles"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2009_Kia_Spectra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2009 Kia Spectra - What a find!

May 6, 2011
By tobias1955
from Pittsburgh, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i found this website by accident and the car we ended up buying was the first on the list - very low mileage, 2 owners, no accidents, great condition. we drove from PA to Ohio to get it - well worth the trip. very few body blemishes, immaculate interior - super value for the price. great car for our daughter at college, especially with kia's warranty."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2009_Kia_Spectra
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I wish I hadn't bought it

December 27, 2010
By SoMuchForResearch
from Crossville, TN
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought my Kia new.
The good - 60/40 split. Size of trunk. The seats
adjust several ways. You can sleep in it
if you get stuck somewhere.
The bad- Switches gears on the littlest of inclines.
Whines when it starts cold, and doesn't stop.
The brakes are a little squirrely. You feel
like you have none, almost to the floor, and
then, boom, they kick in.
Don't rely on the tire pressure sensor.
I have NEVER seen the passenger air bag
sensor light go off; no matter how large the
person sitting in the seat.
The UGLY:
I was cleaning my windshield with a sqeegy
at the gas station. The rubber part barely
touched the paint on the car. Now I have
a long black scratch on it. I have been so
careful about the paint on this car.
The best gas mileage I ever got, going Interstate at 65 MPH for the whole tank, was 29.5 MPH. I don't jack rabbit it.
I had to call the dealership to get to get the
roadside assistance number. The dealership
had to search for it. They were just closing.
I called the Roadside Assistance company.
Waited on hold for 25 minutes. When they finally answered, I could barely hear them. I was told
it would be FOUR HOURS before they could
get someone to help me. I had them repeat it. Four Hours. Perfect weather. No accidents on the freeway. No excuse. I gave up 22 years with AAA for THIS??
NEVER EVER AGAIN-KIA - NEVER.
Note: Their commercials are an embarrassment to any car owner. Imagine what it's like for someone who actually owns a Kia.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2009_Kia_Spectra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good car off the lot, better once you toy with it

December 24, 2010
By performspec
from denton, tx
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"test drove mazda 3, cobalt, scion xA and xB, and caliber but chose this car. i got the LX base model for a great price, brand new. they car had moderate styling, performance, and comfort but with a little tweaking this car became one of my favorites ive owned so far. new wheels and tires, exhaust and intakes this car became quite fun to drive. along with adding new struts it became nice to take around those sharp turns. all of this achieved at a minimal amount of money. this car is fine of the lot with its economy and warranty, but depending on what YOU want, it can be made into a fun little machine."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2009_Kia_Spectra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value

November 12, 2010
By MJ
from Maine
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this car. I've had no issues with it whatsoever. I think it has a good look both inside and out. Good Gas miles. It's always ready to go. I like all the little features and it feels like all the other cars in it's class(civic, corolla, sentra) it's just less money with a better warranty. I'm very pleased with it. I'd buy it all over again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2009_Kia_Spectra
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst purchase of my life!

May 11, 2010
By Bwild44
from New York
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought this car about 9 months ago and to be completely honest, it was the worst car I could have ever bought. The acceleration is horrible, the seats are very uncomfortable, the interior is boring. Now the main reason I hate this car is from day one after driving off the lot, the passenger side airbag would work only if it wanted to regardless if someone was sitting in the seat, I weigh 240 ibs and most of the time it wouldn't turn on for me. Also, the estimated 27 mpg is a lie, I've been getting at most 19 mpg on a full tank of gas, and I mainly drive back and forth all highway to my college classes driving at most 65 mph. Overall the car is horrible and no one should waste their money on one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2009_Kia_Spectra
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Biggest mistake of my life

March 31, 2010
By T bone
from Newaygo, MI
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought one hated the ride went through two struts something else was starting to go out on it. Good news I was able to trade it in lost very little money and got smart bought a Chevy. Please don't recommend this to anyone. I did get into a wreck with a raccoon with the spectra, the raccoon won, that is how safe those vehicles are!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2009_Kia_Spectra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great economy car!

November 1, 2009
By robkni
from Greensburg PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"First KIA for me and very impressed by all the included features. I have had other similar: Toyota, etc and I love this one especially for the money. I got an extended warranty up to 100,000 b to b from when I purchased it for only about 1 grand more. Impressed with the way it handles and comfort inside. We have smaller and larger drivers and both like it. Had over 6 months now and plan on another KIA."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2009_Kia_Spectra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First impression

April 5, 2009
By New Owner
from Paso Robles,CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I had bought the Rio (2008),six months ago,and didn't like the vibration at 65-75 MPH on the highway.Just traded it in for the Spectra,and after 3 days of driving 450 miles for work,I'm really enjoying the quieter ,smoother ride. The Rio was sitting in the driveway for months,and this Spectra is on the road every day.I'm pleased with the difference."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2009_Kia_Spectra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car for the money

April 5, 2009
By clint-nc
from north carolina
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"the value for the money and with the rebate and dealer discounts WOW !
sticker price $16,000.00
sale price $11,000.00
this is my 2nd Kia (08 sportage ) and
1 year old and only maintance on the sportage. and thats why I bought a new 09 spectra for me.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2009_Kia_Spectra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best value for the money

March 17, 2009
By Value Guy
from Parsippany NJ
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is one of those cars that has a better overall rating than you would think. I bought one for my daughter's college commute. It is filled the bill perfectly. Great safety features, good comfort and economy, easy to drive and a superb value for the $. There are better cars, but you will find none better within 5k of this price. If the US could do this car at this price I would by US....sadly they don't."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2009_Kia_Spectra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I have ever had!

January 6, 2009
By mustangkrs
from Sheboygan, WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"You need to give this car a chance. I took some advice from a friend and took a look. I couldn't be happier with my new Spectra. I got the SX version, which is the sportier model and the hatchback. I love the extra room the car offers, plus the gas mileage has been great. I run alot on the highway and a vehicle with this much versatility and 30 plus mpg was very important to me. Everyone has different experiences and mine has been great, I have no complaints at all. The car runs great, looks great and drives great. Why would I buy a 3 year old car for the same as a new one with a 10 year warranty?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2009_Kia_Spectra
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Keep this car in Korea

November 17, 2008
By double 55
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Lets start; poor acceleration, noisy from stop, loved the transmission kick down 2nd to 1st, quite a thunk. Heavy vehicle handling at slow speeds, some body roll at higher speeds. Quality paint job that is easily seen when somebody "keys" vehicle. Chrome on the interior door handles-- one must be joking. Shift from OD to 4th consistent, this thing shift at any slight uphill in the road at 60 mph. SAVE your $$ and buy a used 2-3yrs old Toyota, Acura or anything else, as this is not even good enough for a rental"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.