Customer Reviews for 2009_Kia_Sedona

2009_Kia_Sedona

Average Customer Rating:
4 of 5
4
 of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
5 of 7(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2009_Kia_Sedona
Review 1 for 2009_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Smooth powerfull ride, and 100% reliable:

February 22, 2014
By 007
from Minnesota
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have almost 180000 miles on my 09 (all highway - 2 hour commute every day to work), and am contemplating trading it in. After reviewing the competition, I really appreciate the ride quality! A comparable Dodge Caravan rides harsh with a noisy engine/transmission. I notice the shifts on the Dodge, but not the smooth Kia. Other then replacing the iridium spark plugs, and a couple of recall notices from Kia, nothing but reliable. I do use Mobil 1 and do all my own maintenance. I buy the filters and parts from the Kia dealer (better prices then 3ed party and OEM). I think people get in trouble when they hire so-called professional mechanics to do this. I learned the hard way when the local shop we had been using damaged my wife's Taurus. I ended up repairing the professional repairs - never again - do it yourself and save time, money, and stress. Now I can't find an equivalent Sedona in my color choice to trade it on - bummer. It seems Kia may be exiting the mini-van market"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2009_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good luck.

October 20, 2013
By Minivan driver.
from Albany, NY
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought our 09 Kia used with 22k miles and drove it about 50k miles.
Positives: Good pickup on the 3.8 liter engine to get into highway traffic. Dashboard controls easy to use. Very smooth ride when I bought it. Service with a smile LOL!
Negatives: Dozens of repairs including new front axles (70k) , new transmission(40k), heat shield rubbing on exhaust, throttle position sensor (suddenly no throttle on highway), key tumblrs went bad and could not start car 100 miles from home (Out of town dealership wanted my family to take a taxi to the airport for a rental while they fixed it - on a Sunday!! - it was under warranty! They did finally give us a loner to make it home), mass air flow sensor, sliding doors constantly stick shut (kids have to climb in through front doors), rear door would not latch shut full of luggage 200 miles from home (had to tie it shut and listen to the Ding!Ding!Ding! until we could get it to shut), cd constantly getting stuck in player (Kia claims library cd), drivetrain felt like it was on its last leg (75k), driver seat like sitting on a park bench after long ride, caliper stuck and ruined rotor, engine knock until vehicle warmed up (70k) - very scary! (Kia claims it's normal)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2009_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worked for me

March 1, 2013
By Joe Smow
from Dallas, Tx
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The car is what we were looking for and had extra perks that I wouldn't have found on my own. especially for the price we paid."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2009_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Worst van ever owned- 23 repairs in 1st 11 months!

February 9, 2011
By dissatisfied kia owner
from Clay, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased my 09 Kia Sedona new in Dec. 09 and by October 2010 it had already had 23 repairs. Although it was all covered under warranty it wasted a lot of my time and energy and was extremely frustrating to deal with. KIA motors did not think it qualified as a lemon and refused to buy it back. The engine was loud and the check engine light came on frequently. The tire light came on frequently as well as the ABS and ESC lights. By August it had been seen several times for numerous issues. It had a mass air flow sensor replaced, 2 ABS sensors replaced and a hub ring replaced. There is a constant pool of oil near my engine which the dealer just said they don't know what it's from but they wipe it off until next time. One of the sliding doors gets stuck and won't open at all sometimes. Instead of fixing it under warranty they just wanted us to pull on the door handle twice and push really hard on the door. I will never again own a Kia. Not only is it a poor quality vehicle but neither the dealer nor the manufacturer stand behind their product when there are problems. This purchase was a huge mistake."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2009_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

owned 1 yr and so far so good

January 30, 2011
By mimi van owner
from rochester,ny
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"we got thisvan used andhad2 small problem covered by the factory warranty.
I wouldbuy another KIA
Running good!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2009_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value in a van

March 15, 2010
By Erin
from Twin cities, MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This van has everything I need. Lots of room, seats fold down easily, lots of nice family features. It has a smooth ride and solid frame. Climate conrol is specific to passenger/driver and rear for maximum comfort. There are 7 cupholders within drivers reach including tray/drink holder that folds down out of way so that front seat occupants can reach rear of van. This is my favorite car I have ever owned."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2009_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kia Sedona Review

July 23, 2009
By Jetta25
from Chino, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I test-drove Kia Sedona and was amazed. I especially liked its ride comfort and maneuverability. I would definitely recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a low priced minivan."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.