Customer Reviews for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6

2009_Mazda_Mazda6

Average Customer Rating:
4.735 of 5
4.7
 of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 of 34(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Review 1 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Like the car but it is not holding up well....

December 24, 2013
By Mazda6 Owner KY
from Louisville, IKY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I purchased this car new in 2009 - 4 cylinder, i-touring. I have been quite happy with it - style, performance, driving fun. I drive 100 easy highway miles per day as a commuter.
However, as the card passed 3 years and 80k miles it has been having various quality problems - no, not just wear and tear.
Overhead sunglass plastic broke and fell in my lap. Headliner has a rattling noise. This car eats headlight bulbs and they are not easy to change. The keyless entry is hit and miss.
WORST of all, the car through a Check Engine Light for the catalytic converter at 80K miles. Apparently very common - you need to spend approx. $1,000 to replace the single cat around 80k. I never owned a car where cats were treated like wear items - eg spark plugs.
I wanted to like the car and I guess the transmission and engine are holding up well. Though, I never had so many quality issues with the various Honda's I have owned. Wife's 2006 Odyssey van with 138k is still flawless. 2009 Mazda 112k is a check engine light, squeeky overhead,, light bulb eating car with less then great gas mileage.
For me, Mazda was leap of faith. I think I'll be wandering back to Honda during my next purchase when this one wears out.
The 2014 Mazda 6 looks pretty but I am going to steer clear based on my 2009 experience."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mazda 6 review happy with my car

September 4, 2013
By BC
from Plum, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The mazda 6 I purchased is a very reliable and stylish car. First off the online posting was in correct as it was listed as a 6 speed manual, ended up being a 5 speed automatic. I love the car and all it's aspects, although the 2.5L 4cycl is lacking in some power I am still happy with my the dealership experience and my purchase for the cost."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well balanced w/ options, good price

July 11, 2012
By Bill
from Franklin, TN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have driven the Mazda 6, Camry, Altima, and Charger (3.5L). I chose the Mazda 6 (3.7L) for several reasons.
Very good power, nice. Options, fun to drive (tight steering, responsive in curves, balanced braking, and generous seating room.
My personal experience was Dodge Charger was under powered (3.5L), Altima research showed less reliability especially with transmissions, and Camry seemed so common looking. Just my viewpoint. Good lhunting!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Afordable fun

May 28, 2012
By Love to drive
from Boston, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is an enjoyable experience. Great features that perform well. The styling of the interior and exterior are in tune with the car's sporty nature."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Experience!

May 7, 2012
By Roha
from Washington DC.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned this car for a while, previously owned a Toyota Camry 2008 for two years, and Hyundai Veracruz for one year, I highly recommend this car. The model I have I Grand Touring + Tech Package, with many features competing much more expensive cars. maintenance schedule is every 7500 miles. so drive without worry. I you dont care about gas prices go with 6 cyl for the ultimate joy of driving in economy family sedan. Much more fun to drive and responsive than Camry."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I've been thoroughly amazed

April 9, 2012
By Amazed Mazda owner
from Pueblo, co
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2009 Mazda6 two months ago and could not be pleased more. The performance of the car is outstanding, has plenty of pick up and go and I'm used to v8 power. The styling is classy and sporty I get compliments all the time when out and about. The leg room in the front and back is surprisingly spacious (I'm 6ft 1) and is comfortable on long trips.
The only complaint I have is wind noise, the drivers door has a quite annoying wind noise and the sunroof is havin the same issue, quite annoying. I have an appointment soon to hopefully remedy this only issue I've had.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Camry? Altima? Accord? Why!!

February 29, 2012
By Tom
from Queens new york
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After graduating Optometry school and my 95' BMW 318i carrying me through all the years, I finally decided to get something newer. I searched and searched and finally found a used preowned 2009 Mazda6 Grand Touring S, fully loaded with every available option offered. Its Frost white with black leather interior, HID's, blind spot detection, self leveling headlights, LED tail lights, rear spoiler, sunroof, heated seats, BOSE sound system, Navigation with Bluetooth, literlly every option from the factory this car has. What's more impressive is the 272hp produced from the V6, it's extremely fast and under hard acceleration it really picks up power. My friend who just bout a 2012 altima V6 wishes he had taken a little more time to do research since he absolutely loves mine. This is my first Mazda and from the reviews and my own personal personal experience with this car, I can't see why people would buy anything else. As a 28 year old entering the professional years of my life, I couldnt have chose a better vehicle. Also, I purchased the car for 15,550 with 36k."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun to drive and a great value!

December 13, 2011
By Cruzdreamer
from Algonquin, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is my 4th Mazda(Protege 5 wagon, RX 8, CX7 and now 6). Loved them all! Mazda is always my top choice in cars $25,000 and under. The Mazda 6 GT handling is superb and it really grips the road(no body roll). The interior is very well done...very comfortable seats(I have leather), sporty and a big notch above all plain interiors out there! No comparison. I had an HHR before I got my 4th Mazda because I had financial issues and I have to tell you...Mazda is a dream in comparison. HHR was cheap in and out, seats were rough(fabric), handling was poor, lots of things went wrong...worst car I have had actually! I have the 4 cyclinder and though it could use a little more horsepower from the red line, there is plenty there to have fun and passing cars is a blast. I drove a 6 cycl. which had tons of power but I am female and I was more concerned with gas mileage, not speed. After pricing other cars this was the best value out there! Lots of extras too...adjustable headlamps, blind spot monitoring, rain sensing wipers etc. The trunk is huge and cabin is very spacious! I had to have the GT for the dash...it has the blue glow around the orange! I get 25-26 mpg 90% city. Just some FYI, I have the black cherry and added sporty black rims, spoiler, LED lights under headlamps, color interior LED's under dash and rear seats lighting, graphic stripe etc....it looks awesome(and turns heads!)! If you have never driven a Mazda...do so before you buy!!! You will love it!! There will be more Mazda's in my future!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3.7L V6

October 5, 2011
By Aj
from CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this car new from the dealership. Found a model with all the options I wanted and test drove it. I was not impressed with the 4 cylinder so when I got back the dealer told me to try the V6. Wow it blew me away. I had to have it. I skipped on a few of the options but I think my touring S model is still very well equipped. My only complaint would be it doesn't brake as easy as my CX7. Love this car and wouldnt trade it for any similar sedan."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First Legitimate Car

July 21, 2011
By Zag
from Eau Claire, WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2009 Mazda 6 I-Touring used so keep that in mind during my review. When I was car shopping I really only wanted an altima or a mazda 6. After driving both there really wasn't a large difference between the two. I liked both exterior styling and I knew both were "sporty" sedans, so I don't think I really could have gone wrong with either. Anyway, I ended getting an amazing deal for the 6 and I haven't had any regrets in almost 5000 miles. Obviously, I will be driving this for many years to come, but my first overall impression is that it is honestly everything I wanted in a midsized sedan. Everyone has their own opinion and their entitled to whatever they feel meets their needs, but if your looking for a fun to drive, nice looking, decent gas milage car, I would definitely recommend you at least test drive one and see for yourself."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Why buy an Accord or Camry?

June 29, 2011
By Mom Car Savant
from Hopkinton, MA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It's the mom car savant again...this is our 3rd Mazda6, and we are very satisfied with only a few minor complaints. We have the top of the line w/ the 4 cyl with stick shift. This is one fun car to drive that really hugs and caresses the road. Also gets great mileage at about 27mpg combined. The seats while very adjustable and good for long legged drivers, can begin to feel numb after a long distance. There is also more road noise than we originally thought.
However, no mechanical problems...now with close to 30,000 miles. Great car and Mazda dealer gave great price. The 6 is way undermarketed....no reason to buy either an Accord or Camry (note that I do own an Odyssey and love it)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A touch of sporty and lots of luxury

March 5, 2011
By Gadgets freak
from Old Saybrook, CT
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm a gadget freak and this car fills the bill! The i-Grand Touring model has every bell and whistle (except a heated steering wheel and heated rear seats, which I bet I could get on my own).
I did not opt for navigation, preferring my Droid, so I'm going after market for the stand. And I would have to install my own camera for rear viewing if I thought it was necessary but the rear window honestly affords an excellent view and the vehicle is not high off the ground. The rear view mirror (the auto-dimming one with HomeLink) is big enough to view the whole rear window, another feature I like very much.
I also had a remote starter installed without complications, not at the dealership.
The roomy seats are comfortable, I dropped one star for my 6'0" friends' comment that he'd like a touch more rear seat headroom (his head doesn't touch the roof but it's close).
Also, the suspension is tight to allow for the "zoom-zoom" sporty aspect of this car...sometimes that makes the ride itself feel a little stiff, esp on bumpy roads. On the other hand, I love the way this car can corner at speed. It's a compromise.
The 4-cylinder engine meets my desire to save on fuel costs, I'm averaging 24-26 mpg, 50% highway commutes. I love that when I have to move out of the way quickly, the acceleration is swift and responsive (no delay when I press the gas pedal hard). It makes lane changing and merging a breeze.
I would have chosen a different interior scheme if there was a choice. The zebra-like stripe is not too flashy and it goes with the "zoom-zoom" theme, however I would have preferred something that appeared more luxurious; Mazda isn't offering choices though so they lost a star from me.
The list of features is available on dealer's websites so I won't bother to repeat but I have heard from a few people that they hate rain-sensing wipers...I love them! Instead of changing the Intermittent timing, one turns the sensitivity up and down. The sensor does not react to snow unless it's very wet but I always turn off the Auto wipers when it snows so they do not try to clear the windshield before I manually clear, else damage the wipers or motor.
Traction control works well and there are times I had to turn it off: Mazda made that easy with a button on the left dash. I was assisting a friend try to move his car out of an icy area but we could not find the disable traction control in his vehicle.
The Blind Spot Monitoring is a real boon, I use the light to help me change lanes. You can turn it off easily, button left dash. The only time I did so was when the snowbanks were so high the sensor picked up the snow, which I found humorous.
I do love the headlight height option! Being able to roll down the headlights when in a familiar or well-lit area and not blinding other drivers with my Xenons is a comfort. When I'm alone on a dark highway, the option to roll them up and not have to constantly turn the high beams on and off is a very nice feature.
That tiny blue light that emits just enough glow in between the front seats at night is perfect! It never interferes with your night vision but allows you to easily and quickly find whatever you might be looking for: your travel mug or a coin for toll booths. The reading lights are quite bright when necessary.
The ability to use the key fob to roll down the windows and open the sunroof on a very hot day to start airing out the car before entry is such a cool feature, although now that I have the remote start I don't know how often I'll use that (the a/c will do the job so much faster). But it's still cool.
I've played with the Automatic Drive vs. Manual Drive but honestly I'm an automatic drive person, you'll have to find a manual transmission kind of person for more info on that feature.
The trunk is absolutely cavernous! To minimize things rolling around, I installed the cargo net and even put a couple of laundry baskets in there to keep things organized. I know the rear seats open as well but haven't tried that yet.
Love the 3-person driver's seat memory!! Since it's just my husband and I, I have #3 set for valets and repairmen.
Black Cherry was my preferred color but would have paid $4000 more so I ended up with Comet Gray and I find that it's a very nice color, taking on a bluish hue on cloudy days.
The rest of the Mazda has the quality of the maker, you can read all about that elsewhere. I hope my review gives you other information than the usual."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Smooth comfy ride, minor issues

October 12, 2010
By J
from Montreal, Quebec
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought the car new in December 2008 and have 60 000 km on it. Overall quite satisfied but some minor annoyances. A plastic shroud came loose under the passenger seat floor and rattled for 8 months before I could figure out what it was and have it fixed, and have since found out this is a common problem. The air conditioning is adequate at best but does the job I suppose. It is quite slow to cool and must be kept on recirc in really warm weather, dealer says it is to spec. Clicking noise from front brakes has been addressed several times by the dealer to no avail. Paint quality is less desirable than the previous generation as my hood, despite a deflector, is riddled with chips.
Other than that the car is very enjoyable to drive, very sexy exterior, well appointed interior, and very roomy for its class, even with the front seats all the way back there is plenty of legroom for a 6 foot rear seat passenger. I have had no real reliability issues but with American carmakers making such huge progress in quality and desirability I'm not sure Japanese really have much of an edge anymore."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2009 Mazda6 i GT w/manual

September 24, 2010
By 3xmazda
from New England
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Pros - good discounts on loaded GrandTouring - love style & features for money. Roomy interior, rare combination of electronics, leather and manual. Huge, easy to access trunk. Don't see one on every corner. nice shifting experience.
cons - ride too stiff/firm for something that leans this much in corners. Ok performance for 4 cyl. Biggest issue is throttle/accelerator combo. Nothing is smooth, hesitates at times, lift off gas & car acts like automatic & keeps going. Has had 3 repairs under warranty in 1st year."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't think about buying this car - BUY IT

March 21, 2010
By Buck
from Bratenahl, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 2009 Black Cherry Mazda6 iSport is alot of fun to drive. I highly recommend it to all. ZOOM ZOOM."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most reliable car I've owned

February 3, 2010
By Mike
from chicago
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had mazda6(5spd))for over 5years,and that car has never broke down on me,not even once!85000miles"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Buy one if you can!

February 3, 2010
By trincinf
from Wilmington, DE
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this car! I have had my S Grand Touring for a year now and have 20K miles on it. Only had one issue last summer with the A/C and cooling issues. The problem was a "known issue" and once it was fixed, no problems since. I have been very happy with the car, and never get tired of driving it.
Here is a brief list of my pros/cons
Pros
transmission, acceleration, quality interior materials, navigation system, bluetooth, blind spot monitoring system is great, fun to drive
Cons
Advanced keyless entry not responsive enough when opening the door, the v6 is thirsty unless you baby it (duhhh!), road noise on cement roads, stereo is pretty good but could be better.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's mainly the wife's car

January 21, 2010
By kyvince
from Louisville, Ky
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We purchased our Mazda 6s Grand Touring new, close to six months ago. Now have 3K miles. She loves it. My only complaint as a "car guy" is that road bumps are easily felt through the firm suspension. It rides very well on smooth roads, and handles well overall. Power with the V6 is more than adequate. It is a well constructed machine!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2009 Mazda 6 V6

December 16, 2009
By Wayner
from Dallas, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It is a good car for the money. It does lack a few options, parking assist, folding side mirrors and remote start. Those are the only items I miss. I think the MPG for a V6 is good on this car. The MPG is in your control. The car has more than enough power for passing and is really fun to drive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2009_Mazda_Mazda6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent vehicle

November 28, 2009
By Matt
from Pittsburgh, PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a 2009 Mazda 6, 4cyl i Touring with the convince package.
This was to replace a 1996 Buick Regal which did me will in reliability and comfort.
For starters, I really like the choice of trim levels—they offer you a full range of options, but they are mostly separated by trim level. You will have to pay attention to the trim levels to make sure you get what you want.
Of note is that all of the safety features (ABS, traction control, side airbags, etc.) are standard on all trim levels.
I wanted a car with similar power and comfort to my Buick, the Mazda 6 fits that bill. The 4 cyl is about as powerful as the 3800 v6 in the Buick, and slightly more fuel efficient. It does have a bit of a “ricer” sound at higher RPMs. The 4 cyl does not lack in torque or passing power.
The 6 handles much better than my Buick, particularly at speed. The 6 does 90 mph effortlessly. In contrast, 90 in the Buick (and most cars) is a white-knuckle thrill ride where one flinch could send you careening off the road. The 6 handles well in the rain, and corners very well. I guess this is what Mazda calls “zoom-zoom.”
My biggest criticism of the 6 is that it has a stiff ride. It has either softened up, or I have gotten used to it, so it doesn’t bother me much anymore. You will definitely notice it on a rougher road (e.g. the PA turnpike). This is the reason I give it a 4 star in comfort.
I’ve only had the car for 6 months, so I haven’t seen any mechanical troubles. I am impressed that the engine seems to be designed with ease of maintenance in mind.
I closely compared the 6 with the Lexus IS and Camry SE. The IS is a bit smaller, but has the smooth comfortable ride I like—but it was certainly not worth it for 15,000 more.
The stark contrast is with Camry. The SE is the allegedly sporty version which is priced slightly higher than the 6 i touring (with the same options). The SE 4 cyl lacks in every category imaginable compared to the 6. Do what I did and thoroughly test drive the 6 first, then test drive the comparable Camry and you will see what I mean. The 6 was clearly designed to outdo Camry in every way imaginable, and Mazda succeeded at that. I would recommend the 6 to anyone looking for a mid-sized car who doesn’t want to pay the extra 15,000-30,000 for the mid-sized luxury marques."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.