Customer Reviews for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe

2009_Pontiac_Vibe

Average Customer Rating:
4.719 of 5
4.7
 of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
30 of 32(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Review 1 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wish the Pontiac Vibe was still made

February 5, 2014
By johnj
from Northern Vermont
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"One of the best cars we have ever purchased.
Since new this car has been dependable and a pleasure to drive. Very low maintenance, 95,000 miles before we needed the breaks replaced. Other than that no maintenance other than oil changes.
For a small engine was very peppy even with a/c running.
Averaged 30.8 mpg.
Even in -30 degree weather started right up.
Car was crushed in an ice storm in Vermont.
Don't think we will find a car as dependable as it was.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car for both Mom and Son!

January 13, 2014
By Mom of a teenager
from Rochester, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"GM needs to somehow bring this car back. I was first introduced to Vibes a couple of years ago when renting them on business trips. They were comfortable, and easy to manuver. I was searching for a car that I felt was safe for my teenage son, that he and I were both willing to drive -- and the Vibe was the car. He needed a car that he could haul guitars and amps in, and I needed a car that I could easily haul 50 -pound bags of animal feed. He wanted a Subaru until he drove the Vibe -- then he understood how comfortable it was -- much more comfortable than a Subaru. The hatchback is perfect. This car is heavier than most small cars, and therefore has less road noise than other cars its size. There is ample room in the backseat to comfortably seat two passengers, and not have your legs rammed up against the front seat. It has better excelaration than other cars its size, but it also has a larger engine. It has stability/traction control, and seven airbags. We purchased the model with low-profile tires, and I would not recommend that style of rim -- at least where were are located in upstate, NY. The car has handled well in the snow, but we did not purchase an AWD model. The car also came with PRETREATED undercoat -- which is necessary given all of our road salt and harsh winters. I have absolutely no complaints, except the low-profile tires/rims. I would recommend this car to any parent looking for a safe car to share with their kids. Great heat! Good luck finding a used Vibe with low miles. A friend of mine has over 200,000 on his, and many of the Vibes listed were 150,000+ miles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great car, safety issues.....

December 3, 2013
By Loved it, but disappointed...
from Ankeny, IA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I loved my Vibe! LOVED. It! I bought her used with 140,000 miles on her and put 65000 on her in the last 2 1/2 years. Had a couple issues with battery and connections, but overall I was completely satisfied with her and the convenience that she provided while I nannied and was in College
This past weekend I was in a car accident and hit by a Chevy Truck who was going 65 MPH and never applied the breaks. I was hit on the right front section of my car completely totaling my vehicle. My airbags did not deploy. That is very frustrating to me, and for this reason alone, despite how much I loved my vibe, I will never purchase one again.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i love my vibeGT

October 6, 2013
By cara
from new jersey
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i saw the car went to look at it fell in love with it drive it i got it i love my vibe 5 speed all the gears are amazing"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just bought this car

January 2, 2013
By Just bought this
from olympia, WA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"after a lot of research and driving cars. This was the car we bought. I do think it is a bit bumpy as far as the ride goes and the heat takes a little while to warm up. The gas mileage is definitely not the 31/38 I've read on the internet. I would say it is in the low 20's.
But did well in the snow and is a compact all around great car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car, Better Price

March 4, 2012
By Vibe Fan
from Ankeny, IA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 2009 Vibe has 42,000 miles. Bought it used a year ago -- most advertised seem to be rentals but this was a local individual's car. The GT model has good but somewhat noisy accelleration, but it has helped me steer out of a couple of tight spots on interstates, getting around semis with ease. The interior is very comfortable with controls in easy reach. I've never cared about sunroofs but the Vibe's is very smooth. MPG is about the same as with my old Chevy Prizm for a vehicle that has many more features. The Toyota Matrix is a twin and still being built. Vibes were redesigned in 2009-10 with a lot of standard safety features like stability and traction control. I would certainly seek these out first. Since it has a Pontiac badge, the resale price doesn't seem great. I got my mine for less than the minimum blue book price. It remains a solid vehicle and a pleasure for me to drive. Its cargo space is huge and very useful. The only caution is be very aware that it has thick pillars that eat up a lot of the rear-view mirror's view. Get used to using your side mirrors and you will be OK. Reliability is reported as top notch and I have had no issues."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very dependable Vibe

August 29, 2011
By Imodify
from Toledo, Oh
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Not much to say. For the $$$ the Vibes are great utility cars to have . It's too bad that GM had to dump the Pontiac line which included the Vibe."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dayton1026

August 9, 2011
By dayton1026
from northeast Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my 2nd.Vibe. Great little commuter car. Went with all wheel drive this time. Front wheel only,leaves a little something to be desired in deep snow,due to the wide tire,I'm sure.Live in northeast Ohio and put over 90,000 mi.on my 03 Vibe and managed not to get stuck. Good choice as a used car. Toyota quality."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car built in USA on road

July 1, 2011
By Linkskin
from Wayne, NE
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased a used 2009 Pontiac Vibe in March, 2011. It had 21,000 miles on it. I have driven it on several 300 plus mile journeys. It is a joy to drive. I get over 30 mpg on rural roads ( 60mph ) and around 28 when cruising down the freeway at 70+. I have the 2.4 liter engine with a manual transmission.
The car looks nice. People look at it wondering what it is. It looks different than anything else out there. I value the anti-lock breaks and the electronic stability control. They have helped me out of a couple sticky situations when I found myself traveling a little too fast in the snow.
I know this car is nearly the same as a Toyota Matrix. It was built by a partnership between GM and Toyota in California. So I get Toyota realiability, built by fellow US citizens, with the GM network of dealerships for support, if needed. It seems like a win for all to me.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GLC - Great Little Car for a 6' 5" Guy

February 6, 2011
By GLC - Great Little "Big" Car
from Indianapolis, IN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have owned this Vibe since August 2004. Still runs and looks great after 85K miles. Drive mix of city and highway each day to work and get almost 27 MPG. Have only changed brake pads once and no other major repairs. Would like to buy a newer version, but nothing is wrong wiht this one. One satisfied owner. Best joint venture model between GM and Toyota. I was skepital after the GEO Prizm and Chevy Nova from years gone by. I will probably drive this baby for another three or four years. BTW - I am six foot five inches and fit in this car better than my wife's Saturn Aura which is much larger car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Deal for your money

February 3, 2011
By Mechanic
from New Orleans,LA.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After owning numerous cars over 40yrs,I find this GT Vibe one of the most fun cars to drive.It has a sports car feel and plenty of power if needed, the 5sp trans,drops RPM down at crusing speed giving me over 30 MPG.Brakes have excellent stopping power and very smooth feel.The best radio system too.You dont have to worry about changing the timing belt,since this toyota 2.4 engine uses a timing chain.Plus plenty of interior room for my 3 dogs and gear.Priced lower than other cars in the same class & I like the Cool body Style, go for the GT."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2009 Vibe

December 13, 2010
By New Car Owner
from Vancouver WA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Saw this car in a parking lot of a store, and thought..mmm.. cute car.. went home, looked on line to see what it was and how much, then searched in my home town... and there was one on the lot just waiting for me! Bought it in the middle of a snow storm. Great handling on the slick roads. LOVE this car. Roomy, affordable, and easy to drive and see out of. Lots of windows and storage space. For a mini SUV, it gets great gas mileage, 30 MPG!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car I've Ever Owned!

November 17, 2010
By LuvmyVibe!
from KS
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently traded in my 2006 Chevy Cobalt SS for a more practical Pontiac Vibe GT. I needed an economical 4-door car and liked the idea of a hatchback, similar styling of an SUV without the higher gas consumption! The Vibe seemed to be the perfect fit for me. My best friend owns an 06 and my mom recently bought an 09. I loved both of theirs and I found the perfect used 2009 Pontiac Vibe GT, beautiful blue metallic, all the features I wanted and styling. It gets up and goes faster than my Cobalt, barely have to step on the peddle. Very quick and nimble on highway. Love it! Love the aux. input, stereo sounds great. Great overall value for the money I'd say. Having a Toyota powertrain should make it last a long time. It has a quiet interior, engine is quiet too, and doesn't get blown around too much on windy days. I think the utility of it with the hatchback and all the storage, especially when you put down the back seats makes it a very functional car. My Cobalt's trunk opening was so narrow, it was very difficult sometimes to fit a box or things of that sort when you would of thought it'd fit in easily. On average for me it gets about 26-28 mpg combined highway and city driving. I think the Vibe has been the smartest car purchase I've made, price was good, car is even better. Too bad they are gone, unless you get a Toyota Matrix which is basically the same, but I think the exterior styling of the Vibe looks better, more sporty."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Steering Column

October 29, 2010
By Oak Park
from Oak Park, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After 5 trips to 2 dealers with 2 repairs made, the steering column no longer makes noise. The intermediate shaft was initially replaced without solving the problem at the first dealer. The second dealer called gm technical service and had to replace the entire steering column. Problem solved."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a Ride!

October 15, 2010
By VIBErations
from Oklahoma City, OK
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"These cars are roomy, comfortable and pretty quick too. Mine gets an average of 25.87 in 50-50 driving and 31 on the highway. As with any smaller vehicle, it does have a little road noise...but not enough to keep you from enjoying the ride. The dash is the very best! There is no time, brightest day or darkest night when you cannot plainly see all your gauges and lights. The vents are also the best. They are round and can be directionalized to suit any driver. All controls are easy to access. I added an after-market body side molding (Brandwing Sport) and it made a great difference in the appearance. These cars have the finest Toyota drive train every produced, so they can be counted on for a long time to come. And they are cute too!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Hatchback

August 26, 2010
By jo mama
from St Louis
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife and I own a 2006 vibe loved it so we got a 2009 vibe gt. Great small car with plenty of room and good MPG. The 2.4l motor is a big upgrade over the standard 1.8l. Not the fastest hatch in the world but it has some pep with nice handling. The interior is nicely set up but would have liked to have had more standard options on a GT, moonroof, power seats, stability control."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great utilitity car!

August 21, 2010
By Frequent car buyer
from Kansas City area
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great little car. Very large cargo area, great gas mileage, spunky in city driving, good on the hiway, too. Fairly sporting to drive. Interior is nice, clean, seats are comfortable, especially for a relatively compact car. It's our second car.
Only drawback might be is that it can be a pretty stiff and abrupt ride over choppy surfaces.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

2 year nightmare

April 23, 2010
By car nerd
from virginia beach va
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"This vibe was a well behaved machine for the first 1000 miles. Then you name it happened. the the electronic steering box rattled like marbles in a hard cup. Then in the process of taking dash apart parts of plastic dash broke, half of dash replaced. Then the plastic radio voice knob broke, radio needed replaced.Then the icing on the cake car started locking doors on its on. This car has 18,000 miles on it has been in shop 28 times since june 08. I just purchased a civc goodbye nightmare vibe."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2009 vibe gt

March 19, 2010
By squad
from new york
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"bought a certified GT, very impressed how car takes off and handles. Im gald I bought it. I surpised my wife with the car she had fallen in love with it at the car show and now she owns one. she loves it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2009_Pontiac_Vibe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

safety first

February 22, 2010
By Father of 4
from Long Island
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Car has every safety feature a dad could want for his son. Can also haul a lot from the Home Fix it stores. Highway mileage is actually better than the 32 mpg, probably closer to 35mpg if you go the speed limit.
On star is an asset, though because of the Toyota heritage in the Vibe, you do not get the free monthly diagnostic checks. Linking cell phone thru on star is added safety. XM and CD/ MP3 and aux jack add to a young drivers delight.
1.5 years and 20k later and just a few oil changes, which Pontiac did for free. Only drawback is that the 2009 model lost the separate opening rear hatch window, and big blind spots due to ridiculously small porthole of a window on the rear pillar.
Overall, this car was a winner for Pontiac. Too bad they never promoted it the right way.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.