Customer Reviews for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma

2009_Toyota_Tacoma

Average Customer Rating:
4.13 of 5
4.1
 of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
18 of 23(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Review 1 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't Buy rust bucket

April 18, 2014
By sad toyota owner
from NW Mich
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I also own a 2009 Superwhite which sits most of the time in the garage just under 16,000 miles on it. The rust is everywhere and getting worse. This is a greedy approach to manufacturing as my Prius much older has no rust. Don't buy!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sold on TRD

November 22, 2013
By New Tacoma Fan
from Phoenix az
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I found exactly what I was looking for - 4wd, long bed, four doors, and a Great sound system - in my new 2009 Tacoma. The second day I had it I took it to the desert washes and it never missed a lick! I'd recommend this truck to anyone. It's a little pricier than its competitors but well worth the difference!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Truck Overall

November 17, 2013
By RaleighP
from Raleigh, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Here's my observations from owing the double cab, 4x4 model: Performs very well - moderately quick for a V6 engine (impressive passing ability); steers tight, braking is great, good gas mileage, and 4x4 mode is easy to activate. Ride is comfortable (for a 4x4 truck), and the interior has standard amenities (except no locking internal compartments, i.e. glove box, etc...my only complaint). Climate control works very well, heats and cools thoroughly and quickly. Stock radio sounds great. Exterior is very attractive and sporty. I would buy the truck all over again!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

own 91 truck still runnin this will last longer

October 10, 2013
By Toy-yoda
from Des Moines, IA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Firm believer in Toyotas reliability, glad bought the truck have two other Toyotas that are over 20yrs old and still run great this truck should last longer. If your searching for a truck like the Tacoma you wont go wrong investing in one!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2009 tacoma

December 11, 2012
By reds
from VA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Though I have only had this truck for 6 weeks, I really enjoy it. I have driven both to / from work and on one long trip, and for both it is good to drive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reliable truck

December 30, 2011
By jimmiejo
from Central Florida
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have the double cab, SR5 package. Beautiful, reliable truck. Leg area to high or seat too low, feels like my legs are jacked up and I am 6 ft tall, my wife is 5'7" and she has the same problem. Second complaint is it likes mid grade or premium fuel otherwise it has anti knock on acceleration. So about every other tank put mid grade or premium in and you will be ok. Otherwise great truck, will not buy again because of the leg height problem."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid Choice all the way around!

November 15, 2011
By Taco 4X
from Tucson
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"In the past ten years I've owned a Chevy Avalanche, FJ Cruiser, and Jeep Wrangler Unlimited all in 4 wheel drive. My choice this time; Toyota Tacoma, 4x4, short bed TRD Off Road pkg. This Tacoma is by far the best of them all. I realize this is subjective and each of the vehicles has their redeeming qualities but this, in my opinion is the best of the best. Over a 6 month period I'm averaging just over 17 mpg in town and 20 on the highway with regular unleaded. The tranny is super smooth, shifts effortlessly. Steering is solid and quick to respond. The ride is a little stiff for in town driving but the TRD Off Road package isn't made for in town driving so I didn't expect a car like ride. The stereo is the JBL premium with single disc CD, mp3 and sub woofer (you can plug in your iPod). You get great sound from the iPod when plugged in but only good sound from the radio including satellite. The steering wheel has both audio controls as well as phone controls. The blue tooth phone setup is to die for, especially in this level of truck line. A very nice hands free system for a truck! Hunting season is just around the corner so my off roading thus far has been mostly forest service roads. The switch to 4 wheel drive on the fly works quickly and smoothly. Putting the tranny in 4 low worked just as well from a stop. The 4 full size doors beat the heck out of the suicide doors on my FJ and offer just as easy access as the Avalanche did! Very roomy interior; I always have three pre-teens in the back, a load of softball equipment, and my gf riding in the front passenger seat. There is always ample room and no complaints. The bed liner that comes standard on the truck is great for protecting the bed, but everything you put in the bed slides around to the point of irritation. I am investing in some indoor/outdoor carpet to keep the sliding to a minimum. Maneuvering in and out of traffic is a breeze; your view of the road to the rear is very good with the rear view and side mirrors. The standard rear tailgate camera is a real blessing and works fantastic. No more worrying about backing over bikes or little children being out of view while backing. That about sums it up for me, a good solid choice in the mid size compact market."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfect except for the single seat up front

October 6, 2011
By chick
from Toms River, NJ
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"First truck I have owned and really like it except for the front seat. Cheap is cheap! Toyota should have never put such an unconfortable seat in such a great little truck. My grandfather had a seat like this in his 1951 Chevy and it too was uncomfortable, just as this one is. Aside from that I can not find fault with it. Wish I had known, I would have went for the bucket seats."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tacoma

September 4, 2011
By rixtruck
from Parkersburg, WV
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I was SHOCKED to find it has no intermitent wipers. Too many blind spots and the springs wont stop squeeking despite being serviced 3 times. Toyota isn't what it used to be My job takes me to peoples homes where I have taled to several 2009 & 2010 owner with the same squeeking spring issues. I like driving the tuck, it's reliable, but the squeeking is annoying!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2009 tacoma, 4cyl., access cab, 2wd

May 2, 2011
By pjl
from phila., pa
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A excellent vehicle when compared to competition. However, if ford would put a small diesel in the ranger along with a locking rear I would go for the ford with the full cab. I would not buy 4wd as I do not go off road. All that is necessary is better traction. The honda ridgeline would also be a good choice with a fuel efficient diesel engine. No interest in hybrid or electric. Too expensive and or poor range. The hybrids cost more up front and are worth less at trade in time due to battery deterioration."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car company

April 28, 2011
By Toyota lover
from Cary, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"In the 90s I owned cheverolet, ford, Nissan and dodge. In 2001 I purchased my first tacoma. It was the most reliable and comfortable vehicle I've ever owned. Since then I have only pushased toyota's. My family and friends all drive toyota also. Do not worry about what the press says, Toyota is and will always be the best vehicle made!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value, dependable.

September 23, 2010
By Stever
from Antioch, IL.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought new Access cab 4X4 TRD Off Road. Great handling when towing a boat or small trailer, back up camera makes trailer hookup easy. V6 has plenty of power. Like the 6ft bed size. The bedliner IS the bed not just a liner, has 120VAC outlet. Dislike slippery when wet BF Goodrich tires it came with. Dislike the fog lights only work with headlights on, so much for driving in snowstorm or fog. Radio would quit for no reason replaced twice by dealer OK now. Plenty of interior storage, Came with lifetime powertrain warranty."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid truck

July 29, 2010
By Dog Trainer
from Virginia Beach
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I own the 4-cylinder, which averages 23mpg city and hwy. I put a camper shell on it and a new radio in it. Great truck, with no real complaints."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect all-function utilitarian truck!

March 15, 2010
By firewood
from Iowa, Pennsylvania
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"For those of you that like to do anything and everything with an off-the-lot vehicle, the Tacoma is perfect. What it all boils down to is that it drives, tows, hauls, and performs on or off the road better than almost any other truck, combining the efficiency of a small pickup with the power of a full-size. Feature by feature, it exceeds others, even with little things like washer fluid capacity and the strength of the rail system. Despite having a lower horsepower rating, it beats all V6 competitors both on the dyno and on the drag strip. If that isn't enough, Toyota offers an unbelievably strong supercharger. Add a cap, and it becomes a sleepable, convertible SUV. Add a winch bumper and sliders, for extra hardcore off-roading. For most, the included extensive skid-plate system is plenty. I split my year between rural IA (towing heavy corn loads through rocks, mud, and highways), and the mountains of PA (effortlessly climbing and descending rough terrain, maneuvering between trees, pulling and hauling oak firewood that won’t dent/crack the bed when thrown in). The season ends, followed by a quiet, comfortable, and inexpensive cruise-controlled interstate drive back to IA. The Bilstein shocks keep the rough feeling smooth, but the mp3 CDs and ipod/laptop plug will keep the 5 passengers bumping with the strong steering wheel controlled stereo. You never need to get out and look when backing to a trailer/obstacle with the backup camera. You rarely slip with the locking differential, traction control, and A-TRAC. Bad weather seems like a dry warm day with the rugged tires, anti-skid control, and ABS with electronic brakeforce distribution. There are so many airbags and plush seat/armrest pads that it’s hard to imagine getting hurt in an accident. You feel at home, plugging in your laptop, cell phone, or power tools into the AC outlet, even when camping away from the grid of pavement and electricity. You mistakenly say “I forgot something”, and then you look in the bed’s 4 cubbies, then even more in the cab, finding everything needed stowed away from when you first equipped your new toy. No more borrowing your neighbor’s truck or van to haul something, dad’s SUV to tow the boat, fun-loving nephew’s 4-wheeler, uncle’s tractor to pull out a stump, or wife’s fuel-efficient sedan for the comfortable daily commute. It’s all right there, in your new Tacoma."
Video Review
(click on the play button to start movie)
This truck will get you there. No excuses for not showing up.
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Midsize Truck

March 4, 2010
By DM
from Southeastern Minnesota
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"There are a few minor annoyances I am having addressed by dealer. Transmission shift points need to be reprogrammed and there is a vibration when accelerating from a stop. Otherwise truck is great. I can fit my family and a good amount of stuff in truck. 4x4 double cab gets 19-20 mpg on highway trips with automatic trans. Pulls a trailer well. 4wd system is easy to use and goes through major snow amounts. I think seating is more comfortable than Honda Odyssey we traded in for the Tacoma. As long as it never accelerates out of control, I will recommend it to others."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

still have mine..

February 19, 2010
By moltencore
from Alexandria, VA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"Bought a '09 used only had 1000 miles on it. Overall I am very pleased with my truck. It is just the regular cab but the bed liner and tie downs are very good. I had a cap installed from SNUGTOP and it has made all the difference. It is a stick shift so the gas mileage is awesome! I drove it X-country and never had a problem. The stock tires were awful i had to get new ones. Great truck!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

truckguy

January 31, 2010
By truckperson
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I tried this truck and was very un-impressed. It was gutless, had cheap interior, and wasn't comfortable. It was too basic of a truck as well as in not many features."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
-12points
2out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tacoma buyers beware

September 12, 2009
By Ed,s mistake
from Manhattan KS
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought a new Tacoma four cylinder and found out that at 70mph in cruise on some interstate hills it shifts down to second. Quite earth shaking when the RPM redlines. It don't even try third goes right to second. Took it in to Toyota and was told that, one, it doesn't hurt it to redline the engine like that and two, theres nothing that they can do about it. I'm going to have to live with it. So much for Toyota customer service."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Always wanted one

August 31, 2009
By I dont have one
from Indianapolis
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Performance for the size of the vehicle is remarkable. Its just the right size for a homeowner that "just needs a truck". I think it is a bit pricy for what you get but...it is a Toyota and they are a wonderful product!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2009_Toyota_Tacoma
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Whats happening?

July 11, 2009
By terrific truck
from Manhattan KS
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Have a new 2009 Toyota Tacoma. Went for drive on four lane highway. Came to what I would describe as a moderate hill. Have cruise control on and am driving 70mph. As vehicle slows on incline it shifts down as I expected. Surprise, it shifts down to 2nd bypassing third, reaching 5500rpm. Scares the bejesus out of me. Did it twice. Don't like it, took in to Toyota service and discribed action. Did not get good answer as to why this occured. Was told I'd have to live with it. Have appointment with Toyota custumer service representitive next week."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.