Customer Reviews for 2009_Volkswagen_CC

2009_Volkswagen_CC

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
27 of 32(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Review 1 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great car! (One year in)

January 26, 2011
By Passizle
from Huntington, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the VR6 sport in September of 2009. Its been a very reliable car thus far (26000 miles in). No squeeks, creeks or window leaks.
The V6 had plenty of power, at least for me. My wife calls it "the rocket ship" when she uses it. :) Mileage is spot on to the official specs. I'm getting 24-26 mpg overall on 87.
The ride is good. It can feel a little harsh over very rough pavment, but with the 18" wheels and low profile tires, you have to expect that. Road noise is great around town, but gets a little loud at highway speeds (could be due to the tires). It handles great. Its a VW. What else can you say?
Interior quality is excellent. Everything feels and looks solid. No cheapo plastic. I like the design and ergonomic placment of everything. No distractions and everything is easily reachable. Head and legroom are good, though taller people (I'm 5'10") may find head room a problem when getting in the car. It does have a low roof line, but once your in there is no problem.
My only complaints about this car are the resale values. I expected better from a quality car like this, but demand must be soft. Lastly, bluetooth should have been a no brainer for the engineers at VW. Almost every competitor in its class comes with this "option" as standard. I hope VW learns from that mistake and makes it standard on every CC from now on.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

VW CC - Good Looking and Quick

January 25, 2010
By Top Giezer
from Washington, DC Suburbs
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have had no problems in 11,000 miles. Reasonable fuel mileage for the way I drive. Great handling in the snow (reared in N. Wisc.) Like it that there is no model ID on the rear, keep getting asked and folks do 'Ohh and Aww' over this CC."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

VW Steering Rack Issues

May 6, 2014
By Mitch
from Panama City Fl
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"2009 VW CC VR^, needed a new steering rack in 2011 and now again in 2014. $2,399 Repair and VW Consumer Assistance said now help. Wow, how could a steering rack go our 20 an 09 in 11 and again in 14 and VW does not assist with the repair.
Awful Customer service.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Car But has issues

October 11, 2013
By New to VWs
from Richmond VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"The VW CC drives great and the styling is top notch. I love the sporty feel in the interior (seats, steering wheel etc) and the exterior (the drive is solid). The gas milage is great. I got 33mpg on my first tank. Since then it has gone down but only because of my driving style, not the car.
Now for the issues
I have already had a problem with the transmission and understand that this is fairly common due to a faulty solenoid in the valve body which causes it to slam into 1st gear for a brief moment from 2nd or 3rd. Very alarming and can be dangerous. Once I get the tranny fixed I believe this car should be great.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

unreliable

May 31, 2013
By joel
from roseville, ca
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"bought this car new in 2009. lots of problems, carbon buildup in engin, chain and chain guard replacment... very expensive to maintain. stay away"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

4 years/50,000 Miles

May 4, 2013
By 2nd Car a Porsche
from NJ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Owned over 4 years. Totally satisfied with performance and economy. Only brought in shop for free oil changes during 3 year free maintenance. Only complaints, Conti tires got noisy by 35,000 miles. Replaced with Michelins and quiet is back. Replaced all rear light bulbs. Easy to do but strange in that replacement bulbs don't burn out like original ones did. (I see new CCs have LEDs so appears that issue goes away). Premium fuel recommended for turbo but runs fine on mid grade (89 octane). Enjoy it every time I get in it. Just have to watch the speedo. Has a tendency to run fast and very quiet."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost perfect

November 25, 2012
By Cam
from Portland, OR
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"You already know about the great looks inside and out. It has a responsive, strong quiet engine, positive solid shifter, and good-feeling, quick steering. This car is a delight to drive. No problems in 20,000 miles. The trunk is huge and rear seats fold down. The negatives: obtrusive, tiring, road noise on the highway, at least with original tires. The roof is low, so entry and exit are difficult unless you're young and limber, which we're not."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bang for the Buck!

August 15, 2012
By CoolCar
from NJ
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've had my VW CC for almost a year now and thus far I am very satisfied with it. Great entry level luxury/sport sedan with a nice balance between price point, style and options.
My only complaints have been the following: The ergonomics could have been thought out better. Window side air diffusers don't make it to the driver (as in won't point that far over); faux leather interior really holds the heat on a summer day; silver dashboard trim can blind the driver on a bright day.
As a sports sedan I expect comfort/ride to be sacrificed to a certain point, but with the combination of low profile tires, the ride is really tough.
Acceleration is nice at the lower speeds, but is almost non-existent at highway speeds.
Pros: styling, performance, price
Cons: ergonomics, inconsistent acceleration, comfort"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I would own two, but one is Perfect enough!

August 9, 2012
By New VW Owner
from Ewa Beach, HI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car, and a great deal. I really would own another and just may when it comes time to purchase another vehicle. I had a great experience with the dealership also. Just a fantastic experience all the way around."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very comfortable drive and great on gas and nice

June 5, 2012
By RBOO
from Philadelphia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the best car I have ever own the ride a great for a sport car very comfortable (Comfort coupe) and turn a ot of heads. As of yet I had no problem and with it a 4 cyclinder it is very fast. VW did this hing right"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Form over function

April 23, 2012
By Cyclist Chich
from Orlando, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great lines; solid feel, comfortable ergonomics; good pickup.
The disappointment was that it was tough to transport bikes. Thule doesn't make a trunk rack for the CC. VW recommonds a roof rack, which I didn't want and which would have run $750. I finally had to get a hitch installed and found a Saris, 26-pound, 3-bike rack that keeps the bikes from touching. Total cost for hitch and rack was about $550 - a lot when I thought I could have just gotten a trunk rack for $150ish.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best luxurious car for its price

March 29, 2012
By Cc
from Ny, ny
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Best luxury car/sporty car for its money. As soon as I saw it i fell in love with it exterior styling and then once i hopped in it i knew I had to have it. The interior must be top in its class. It has the interior of a $80,000 car. The beige and black two tone seats are the nicest I seen. I always get compliments on it everywhere I go. When I saw I knew I had to get it but It still had to pass the performance test for me. I got the 4 cylinder turbo charged version. The pick up on it is amazing, you can feel the turbo as soon as you step down on the gas. I do however wish you could hear the turbo more. It is also so quiet when the windows are up and super smooth. Overall I love this car and still feel excited everyday to drive it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great looking car

November 29, 2011
By svngirl
from winchester va
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i have only had this car a week and i love it! the lines are beautiful, the sound system is great - i am still working through the blue tooth, which i am disappointed with - it should be easier - i have an i phone and it still does not work and the garage door opener is having problems- but the car is a blast to drive and i will need to check back in a year on the maintenance issues."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dissapointed in VW quality and reliability

September 18, 2011
By NolongerVWambassador
from KY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Purchased 09 VW CC in Apr 2009. Loved the Car at first and received numerous compliments. Shared the great qualities of the car with everyone that asked. Should have forseen when I could not take my new car home the firts day due to a recall with the seat wiring harness and a warning light for the fuel system that these were signs of things to come. 1 week after bringing home window seal leaked after going through car wash; fixed immediately. Within a month trunk would not close again repaired under warranty. Drive many highway miles so warrantly expired within 1 year of purchase. At about 50,000 miles noticed dashboard around ignition and glove box had bubbled and was peeling. Of course not under warranty so repair was going to be expensive as whole dashboard would be replaced. Following year (year 2 of ownership) trunk would not open, had to repair at cost of $250.00 as wire harness had broke. No indiciation of rodent chewing through or external cause. Aug 2011 recall due to steering wheel control module safety recall. Sept 2011 steering wheel warning light sounded and steering wheel locked up. Thought related to recall had towed to dealership at cost of $80.00. Diagnosed had nothing to do with recall, but steering rack needed to be replaced. Estimated cost to fix from VW dealership - $1600.00. Extremely disappointed in the quality and reliability in the VW craftmanship. Always under the impression that German engineeering was of high quality. Apparently I was mistaken. Should have stayed with my prior vehicle brand as I have 1 car with over 297,000 miles on it and only the starter has been changed. Liked the look of the VW CC was the main reason for switching. Learned the hard way to stick with what works. Had a colleague about to purchase a CC fortunately for them my issue happened prior to purchase so I was able to let them know."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything I Hoped and More

August 16, 2011
By VW Family
from Indiana
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 2009 CC Luxury was not my first choice. I thought that it was "old" and the newer years probably were better do to the kinks and bugs being worked out. However, there are NO kinks and bugs! Since the 2009 was the premier year, the car is loaded with all the extras that the newer models do not automatically include. No issues whatsoever to report. This is our fourth VW (1996 Passat, 2003 Passat and 2006 Passat). The CC is powerful, reliable, and so much fun to drive!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Liked it so much that I bought a 2nd

May 26, 2011
By Mad Chiller
from Burnsville, MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I leased a new 2009 for two years and now have moved to a new 2012 for 39 months. The performance and styling is worth every penny. Dealership always took care of me when I came for the free service which helped make it a pleasure to drive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love the VR6 power

April 12, 2011
By my second Passat
from Houston, Texas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought a 2009 VR Sport in October ’09 and have put 21K miles on it. I think the VR’s sit on the lot a long time because their list price is up there with some well-equipped Bimmers. Got mine for under $30K so only about $2500 more than stripped 2010 four cylinder. The 6cyl makes all the difference in the world with smooth, strong acceleration and I’ve gotten many complements on the design. They’ve been out two years now, but many people still haven’t seen one before, so it’s no cookie-cutter. Features that I really like are heated seats(can’t live without them, even in Houston), customization of which doors unlock when the key is removed, aiming headlights when turning, auto parking brake when you’re stuck in traffic and especially the proximity sensors which help when backing up and parking in my cluttered garage. When I test drove it, I was concerned with visibility because of the low roofline, but have become used to it and don’t consider it a problem. I’m 6’2” and over 60 years old and have no problem getting in and out. I get about 22 mph around town and up to 28 on the hwy at about 70-80mph. I previously had an ’02 Passat 6cyl which developed a number of problems including faulty, untraceable sensors that I believe was caused by running mid-grade gas. I’m sticking with Premium on this one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great styling

April 11, 2011
By Sporty sedan
from WI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have owned the car for 3 months. So far it has been great. The owners manual is 3" deep hard to get all the electronic systems set properly.
Fun car, good mileage and great styling."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unfortunately a lemon

February 14, 2011
By Wog
from Virginia
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought the cc 9 months ago - this is the list of problems:
* The trunk didn´t open properly
* The gear shift broke, the car had to be towed.
* The knob on top of the gear sticks is blocked - you can´t get out the key fob. Two days after service - same problem again.
The car is beautiful - but I expected it to drive too."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2009_Volkswagen_CC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beutiful Car

November 23, 2010
By Parid
from Bloomingdale Il
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought the 2010 R Line 2.0T with the 6 Speed Manual. I was looking at a 3 series stick. I drove an A4 3.0 Quattro for 5 years i loved that car. After looking at the bimmbers i would have to spend the same money to buy a used one for what i purchased the CC. Great car for the money. I get so many compliments on this car in 6 months that i have ever gotten in the Audi. The car is a little slow for me not too much power. You have to push the RPM's high in order to really get the power out. Overall i think its a great car great Gas Mileage beutiful lines. I would love a little more power but overall a great car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.