Customer Reviews for 2010_Ford_Ranger

2010_Ford_Ranger

Average Customer Rating:
4.118 of 5
4.1
 of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Review 1 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

4TH RANGER FOR ME

February 16, 2014
By THE FORD GUY AKA ICEMAN
from RENO, NEVADA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Where to start...My 2000 XLT was dependable and comfortable...The 5 speed manual was replaced several times in 9 years, but otherwise it was a great truck...So were the "94 and "90 XLT's...Only major problem was the transmissions...Fast forward to 2014....While perusing cars.com, I found what I was looking for 4 states away...After several calls to the dealership and a road trip of 1,666 miles, I bought another one...I am now the proud owner of a 2010 Ranger Sport...It has significant upgrades in performance and safety features...Also has 4 wheel drive, 4 wheel disk brakes, satellite radio and a killer paint job....I plan on driving it for a long, long time.. P.S. I drive for a living."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good smal truck

February 11, 2014
By ranger fan in buffalo
from Buffalo, NY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I need to replace my 1999 Ranger soon after 133,000 miles. The frame next to the catalytic converter is rotten from the heat. The rear suspention mounts are almost as bad. This old truck never left me stranded. It always runs. The engine still doesn't burn or leak oil. The trans was rebuilt 15,000 miles ago and I have good tires. I will find a much newer Ranger and keep my parts truck so I can keep my new Ranger (2008-2011) going for four more presidential administrations. That is my goal."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Significant Upgrade

November 26, 2013
By Bearsfan
from Nashville, TN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 2010 Ranger looks and feels much like past years Rangers but has significant upgrades in performance and safety features of my 1998 Ranger. Traction control, TPMS, and anti-roll stability are wonderful additions to an already reliable and serviceable vehicle. The V-6 engine package gives me all the power I need and the 4WD will make this a much more dependable vehicle in less than ideal driving conditions. It's a shame they quit making them."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

the right truch for me

September 11, 2013
By longtime ford engineer
from Rosman,NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Since purchasing this truck about a month ago, I have used the 4x4 low range transmission to pull cut down tree from the woods and then haul the cut up wood to my home about 25 miles away. The gas mileage is better than anticipated. The ride comfort is a little rough, but I keep reminding myself that it is a truck. in short I am very pleased with my purchase."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2010 Ranger XLT

July 24, 2013
By Second Ranger
from San Luis Obispo CA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had a 1995 Ranger XLT that has been reliable and enjoyable, so got another one. Too bad they discontinued the line."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice small truck

December 18, 2012
By Don
from Golden Valley, AZ
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Tight inside - I have the smallest, no extended cab. So therer is room for 2 people and little else. But if one accepts the size the truck is great, and very fuel efficient."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ford Ranger

November 21, 2011
By Ford Truck Man
from Clarksville TN
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I would have to say that overall it's a good little truck. Could use a little bit more leg room but it is a small truck. If you get the four-cylinder model it pulls great but going any kind of incline and does bog down little bit. Could stand to have a little more power in the drive train. Other than that it's pretty good truck. I average 25-29 miles per gallon depending on my driving habits and whether I'm in the city or highway. So gas mpg is good."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

small but ok

July 11, 2011
By red machine
from Liberty,wv
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"truck small but i do not like the big gas hogs, I have always had small trucks I'm a big guy but feel comfortable in this truck!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2011 Ford Ranger

March 29, 2011
By hightechredneck1956
from tampa
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If you like plastic you will love this truck.
The front bumper fascia is all plastic...there is no protection for the radiator at all.
There are 4 plastic pieces that serve as splash guards at each wheel and if you want to remove them you are left with a hole. At 400 miles the paint on my universal started flaking off. The grill is plastic. The mirrors are weird looking and made of plastic. The rear bumper has a plastic tred pad. My biggest problem with plastic is that it fades, actually it hazes over....Ugly.
The truck has no inovations this year as FORD has decided to eliminate it in 2012.
FORD Ranger R.I.P."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ranger

March 28, 2011
By MrJLH
from San Jose, Ca
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned 4 Rangers over 15 years from 2WD to 4WD, 6 & 4 cyls and all XLT's. Prior I owned a F-150 a bigger truck. The 6 Cyl has the most power and the 4 Cyl gets the best mileage. In the last 5 years the 4 Cyl has been greatly improved for its power. The body style is a winner all the way around. Great visibility all around. It's been a solid small truck that gives reliable service. Being a small truck it handles very well. Only negative I found with the 4DR models is they have a tendency to leak water at car washes if doors are not closed firmly and are noisy at highway speeds but offer easier access to the rear seats and storage. The 2DR models are much quieter and rear seat access is harder. A bed liner in my opinion is a must for any truck. The Electronic Power Group is also a must have."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Simple. Rugged. Old School.

February 15, 2011
By Busterusaf
from Abilene, TX
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Let's not kid ourselves; this truck is OLD. However, the Ranger offers simplicity, ruggedness, and dimensions no longer offered by other members of this class. The Ranger has an honesty to the way it goes about it's business. The ride is wallowy and choppy. The engine and transmission have never met, and disagree on most everything. And, the interior is made from plastics that Matel would reject. Yet, this truck is supremely endearing... You always walk away with the feeling that, no matter what, this truck would get you there."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GREAT MPG ON 2010 RANGER 4 CYL...

November 18, 2010
By Truck Guy
from San Diego
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This 4 cyl manual regular cab Ranger is great on gas!! On the rain the added safety skid features kick in and help out a lot in bad weather.
The bad:
Ford needs to relocate that thick wire harness away from clutch pedal.
Some Rangers will slightly lean to driver's side. Ford needs to put gas tank on center of truck.
FRONT SHOCKS ARE TOO SOFT AND IT CAN BOTTOM OUT IF YOU DRIVE ON THE AGGRESSIVE SIDE.
The Good:
Good acceleration on the 4 cyl.
THE AC IS COLD COLD COLD NO BS!!
NO RATTLES AND EVERYTHING FEELS SOLID INSIDE CABIN.
Engine still performs well even with a full size ATV on the back of Ranger.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best mid-size truck

August 5, 2010
By Ranger enthusiast
from ma.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have owned 4 Rangers and when it comes to a rugged mid-size truck you can't beat it. If you want a work horse buy a Ranger if your'e looking for a want - a - be truck then buy a Tacoma."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is dependability at it's best

July 20, 2010
By Ranger loyal
from massachusetts
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned Rangers since 1985 and all of them had plows. Two of them went 200,000 miles plus. The last one went 75,000 miles with the only maintenance required was oil changes,unfortunitly I rolled that one 2 1/2 times but opened the door and walked away without a scratch.This truck is the most dependable and safe compact truck around. The rumor is that Ford is dropping it after this year and if they think the F150 will pick up the slack they will soon find out that their customers will go to Toyota or Nissans instead."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great little truck!

June 15, 2010
By Mustang
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"I bought my 2010 Ranger Sport Supercab 4X4 to replace an '06 Dodge Dakota. It rides just as well as the Dakota, and gets much better mileage. With a 4.0L V6 and manual 5-speed, I'm averaging 18.5 MPG in mixed driving, with 23 MPG on a trip. It does lack a little torque compared to a V8, but not enough to hinder towing at all (I tow a 1500lb. trailer regularly and it handles that with no problems). I like the retro styling of the interior - I don't need a pilot's license to figure out the friggin' stereo! All-in-all, it's a great truck and serves my purposes well."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Work Truck

March 15, 2010
By Jim
from Kansas City, MO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased my 2010 Ranger to use as a work truck. I needed a dependable, fuel efficient small truck to use in my lawn care business. I often pull a small trailer to haul lawn equipment. The Ranger pulls the trailer fine around town and is adequate on the highway but strains a little on hills. Otherwise the truck performs well. The only issues I have encountered are somewhat limited visibility on the driver side looking back - the headrest and driver side back post block visibility and create blind spots in my regular cab pickup. I get 23-25 mpg with regular driving and 17-18 mpg when pulling my trailer."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2010_Ford_Ranger
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great truck for short people

January 29, 2010
By Truck Man
from lousiana
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great little truck gets good marks for appearance, durability and value. better than most foreign full size because its not trying to be a car. Unfortunately, being over six foeet tall , there is not much leg room. decided to keep my old truck with 192400 miles and still runs and looks good (big crew cab, dually, long bed. But long since paid for and comfortable as can be. To replace it today would cost about $45 to $50,000. sorry O.B."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.