Customer Reviews for 2010_Mazda_CX-9

2010_Mazda_CX-9

Average Customer Rating:
4.52 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 25(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Review 1 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

best car i have owned

August 11, 2014
By Mini Van mid life crisis
from Atlanta, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We purchased the 2010 in Jan (8 months ago). I was tired of driving a mom mobile and wanted something more sporty, but still liked the option of 7 seats. We chose the Mazda CX9 after all the reviews. We will drive this for a few more years and trade it in on a new one. Hopefully by then Mazda will make it bucket seats for the middle row. Drove from Atlanta to Cleveland, smooth ride and storage for 4 was plenty."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best For Family

July 30, 2014
By dug
from CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Did not want Mini-Van. Regretted needing the 3rd Seat. Best for comparable size vehicles. Good for family yet still sporty enough for both driving and look. Also very reliable. Great warranty."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great family car

May 2, 2014
By Bonnie
from Lebanon, NH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2010 Mazda CX9 Grand Touring 2 weeks ago with 60000 miles on it. I was in the market for a vehicle with 3rd row seating but wanted something a bit cooler looking than a minivan. This car did just the trick!
Pros: The outside is very stylish. It doesn't quite look like a car, or an SUV or a minivan. People said they didn't realize it was 4 years old, it has similar styling to newer cars. The xenon headlights and 20" tires add a bit of class to it too. On the inside the Grand Touring has all the options. I love the 2 tone black leather seating. The touchscreen navigation unit is awesome. It has blindspot monitoring in each of the side mirrors. The dual climate control is really helpful. It has heated leather seats but I haven't tried them out since it's spring right now. I am in love with the power liftgate that allows you to open and close the trunk with hands full of groceries. The third row seat isn't huge but is definately big enough for my 5 and 2 1/2 year olds.
Cons: Gas milage has been 15.3 (all city) but I din't expect that much from such a large vehicle. The second row seat is a bit cumbersome to move forward and back. There is no LATCH anchor system for carseats in the 3rd row. The sunroof is a bit small and farthur back (especially for a short person.)
Altogether I LOVE this car. It suits all of my family needs with 3 small children. It also has all the luxury options and styling so I still feel cool when I (occasionally) get to go out without the children."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First time Mazda driver

January 6, 2014
By Herkdriver
from Atlanta GA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Having just purchased a CX-9 from a large national used car chain, all I have for now is purchase and initial driving observations.
First-the chain. Great to have one place to shop for many different makes/models. Their commission model (commission on volume not price) is, for me, a real plus. No, you don't get the bottom dollar for your purchase but you don't have to deal with sales persons that don't care about your budget or what you really want. They are there to sell you the car you really want (if they have it). We transferred this car from out of state and the process was EASY.
The car--very good fit and finish for a 3 year old car (it has 46K on the odometer). Leather is very comfy, the stereo is very nice, our two tone interior looks REALLY SHARP. The "infotainment" system has a manual all it's own. You'll probably have to read it to figure out half of it's capabilities. The third row seat is rather small but will fit my 5'5" 15 year old for a short trip. Visibilty is good to all sides but does lack in the two rear corners. A BSM (blind spot monitoring) system helps but takes gettting used to. All controls are easy to reach and leave plenty of room to roam.
Exterior wise, the overall design is quite nice and stands off from the crowd (ours is "Dolphin Grey") BUT, the front grill looks more like a cheshire cat gran than a "Zoom Zoom" cross over. Thank goodness the grill changed in 2013. Lighting is very bright and high beams are very useful. The back-up camera is a fun toy but don't let it replace your mirrors and turning your head.
Performance, Fuel mileage needs to be much better. Don't have real mileage numbers yet but expect around the same as our 13 year old Sienna. Plenty of power and braking is very good. The 20" rims and "performance" tires are a bit loud at highway speeds, goos thing the radio os planty loud.
Over all we chose the CX-9 due to it's value factor. Picked up a FULLY loaded model for 5K less than a new stripped leather interior model.
Will update after a few months if things change"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

first time mazda buyer

January 15, 2013
By Big guy
from Ocala Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"First Mzda I've bought. So far seems like a great car for the money. It's has very comfortable seats and I like the interior design. enough room for 4 adults and two chrildren in the 3rd seat. good exceleration for passing."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best SUV I've Owned

July 25, 2012
By Corvettejerry
from Pennsylvania
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned for 2 months. The vehicle is almost 2 tears old. I've owned 3 Explorers and none come close to the CX9 in ride, comfort, looks, etc. The only complaint is there were no automatic door locks in 2010."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this CX9!

May 3, 2012
By houdini987
from Newtown, CT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This was our first Mazda and we're thrilled with the car. Styling interior and exterior is great - we're constantly telling ourselves how good the car looks when we approach it in a parking lot. Interior design is very cool and roomy. Performance is awesome, there's really nothing I can say bad about the car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Joy to drive

October 25, 2011
By pdctravel
from Los Angeles
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We love how smoothly the car drives and how effortlessly the engine gears up to drive quickly. Excellent family car and for carpools and long trips.
Nice combination of being sporty but still able to seat 7 with the thrid row (though that back row is for kids)
The only drawback is that we get 15-17MPG overall (city and highway combined).
Would highly recommend and is reliable and feels very safe. Excellent value, we think drives as well as the Acura MDX and better than the Highlander or Honda Pilot."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love it, but not the MPG

March 2, 2011
By SUV owner
from Minneapolis, MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Let me start by saying I love our 2010 CX-9 Touring. It looks great. It's interior is nearly perfect and very comfortable. It drives great. Handling, acceleration is better than expected. The only thing I'm disappointed with is the mileage. My wife drives the car to work and back about 50 miles per day. The drive is a pretty even mix or suburban driving and highway. She's been averaging 16-17 mpg since we purchased it in October, 2010. We've never had better than 20 mpg and she's a pretty easy on the gas driver. She was getting 15-16 mpg with our 2005 Suburban Z-71 and we went with the CX-9 in hopes of improving her fuel economy. So far, it hasn't worked out that way."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car for the Price

February 4, 2011
By Mazda Lover
from Atlanta, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The CX-9 is a great car for the price. It's amazing how roomy the car is inside and that it has 3 rows of seating. It's got most of the upgrades of a much more expensive car and feels a lot sporty than a typical SUV."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classy looking- great performance -smooth!

December 31, 2010
By Margma5
from Central Wisconsin cheesehead
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love my new Mazda. Mainly used as a body hauler and grocery getter. I did lots of research before purchasing this CX-9. In this class of vehicle it's performance and power is outstanding and very fun and responsive to drive. The only thing lacking is that it is smaller on the interior (space-storage) than other members of it's class. Gas mileage could be better. Bose stereo is on the higher side of good but not excellent as one would expect a Bose to be. Taking calls from the Bluetooth is super but can't be used on the highway , as you will hear complaints about exterior noise from the person on the other end. But I suspect that other cars may have this problem also. Backup cam is a must! Love it! The design of the car is impressive inside and out. Attractive instrument panel that is easy to use very functional. If you are looking for maximum space and better gas mileage there are better choices. If your looking for a pleasurable responsive ride with great looks and design this is your car. The CX has also handled superiorly in the snow and I like the AWD. I don't regret this purchase one bit. It has been a great hauler and our family loves to hop in!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Horrible software

December 2, 2010
By Womble
from Baltimore MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The car itself is beautiful. It drives much like a car and the auto gearbox is virtually seamless. The fit and finish are excellent but it would appear that virtually NO attention has been paid to the navigation and bluetooth phone system.
Specifically, they are two separate systems. You can load phone numbers via bluetooth into the navigation system but NOT addresses! You CANNOT load phone numbers via bluetooth into the voicedial phone system. The only way to enter numbers into the voice dial system is by..... voice....and the voice recognition is awful. I had VR on my Chrysler Aspen and it worked very well. Not so here. Even after "training" the VR it basically doesn't work. The navigation system manual is the worst I have ever seen. It simply parrots what you can see inside the car and the images are tiny. There are NO directions on how to use the system, just menu listings!
The power liftgate requires that you unlock ALL doors and trunk before it will open. Why 2 presses on the fob can't just open the liftgate is a mystery.
The factory-installed remote start has a bizarre "twig-like" antenna glued to the windscreen and requires a separate fob. It works fine except that after entering the vehicle, don't touch anything, especially the brake pedal coz it will shut down the engine. That's right, you must turn the ignition first!
I love the way it drives though!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mazda CX9 GT

November 29, 2010
By Alex
from Huntsville, AL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got the Grand Touring with the Moonroof/Bose, roof rail and power liftgate for $33,000. So far, I'm pleased with the quality. I wish it had more low end torque for going up hill. Also, I average about 18.7mpg. The best I could get for the highway was 21mpg. The new 2011 supposedly gets better mileage with the same engine (don't know what mods were made to get better gas mileage). I'm pleased with the size and comfort. My favorite feature is the blind spot detector."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2010 Mazda CX-9 Touring

October 28, 2010
By jakeingolden
from Denver
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Got this car in Sept. with 17 miles. My partner and I love this SUV. It has been everything we had hope for. The CX-9 is quiet on the road. Gas mileage is about 22 on the hwy driving. Really like driving this car. We test drove the Highlander, Venza, Acadia, Honda Pilot, but we like the way CX-7 ride and handle. For our money we picked this one. We have 3 mazda so we know it will be reliable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Most Sporty Crossover We've Owned

October 11, 2010
By jeanmtd
from Atlanta GA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"No mechanical problems to date. Responsive and fun to drive while being able to transport kids and groceries at the same time. A little tighter on the inside than we were used to. Front passengers occasionally bump elbows. Kids in 2nd row have less leg room than previously owned suv/crossover vehicles. Window locks don't allow driver to operate windows other than driver side. Gas mileage is the worst feature."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great value

September 12, 2010
By joe80ci
from fawn grove,pa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"after test driving a traverse and dickering with the chevy dealer
i decided to look at the cx9. and i am glad i did ,what a great car for the money. great acceleration and handling. and with 0% financing you can't beat it.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good comfort, but terrible performance

August 25, 2010
By car guy
from Denver, Colorado
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This car has nice styling and comfort, but it handles like a slug. the car is very underpowered, as well as bad gas mileage. If you go around a turn too fast, you feel like you are going to roll over. I would prefer a honda pilot for about the same price. Overall, i wasn't very impressed with this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-14points
1out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

just not sure about long term reliability

June 16, 2010
By almost bought a highlander
from bellmore, New York
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Car drives great. I traded in a 06 Pilot for this one, and it has more cargo room As I said almost bought a highlander but dealer would not throw in cross bars and the sticking gas peddle thing made me nervous. Only real complaint is gas mileage, which is bad, and could use more storage spaces. My Pilot did better on gas. These were all thngs that other consumers brought out in their ratings. I just hope I made the right decision in passing on the highlander."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Car

May 3, 2010
By IlluminatedIMages
from Connecticut
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What a great car! I took a step up from my old RAV 4 to a larger family vehicle without having to buy a minivan. For those parents that still consider themselve too cool for the soccer mom car, this is the car for you."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2010_Mazda_CX-9
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Big ride -drives small

March 25, 2010
By Car Enthusiast
from Boiling Springs SC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My CX9 lives up to the Zoom Zoom add, would have to get a BMW X5 to beat the handling of this cross over. The 20 inch wheels add to the good looks.
Not over powered but enough when you need it. Have the navigation system - it could be better. Mazda should have gone to Ford for their system.
I like the safety feature of the blind spot sensors in the side mirrors. Put your signal on and if there is a car or motorcycle on that side it beeps. Back up camera is also a plus - easy to see in the 7in. screen.
Getting about 19mpg combined 23 on a trip.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.