Customer Reviews for 2011_Dodge_Caliber

2011_Dodge_Caliber

Average Customer Rating:
4 of 5
4
 of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
0
16 of 23(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Review 1 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Horrible gas mileage for a 4 cylinder

January 25, 2014
By Cory
from Ohio
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I bought this car used from a dealer it was previously a fleet car so it was 1 year old with 40k miles on it and i calculated the in town gas mileage and i got 17 mpg and then took it on a road trip to nc (7 hrs away) there and back and got 21 mpg and had to fill up 4 times!!!! the dealer wont do anything because there is no error codes and its frusterating paying $240 a month for a car that uses gas like a v8 truck with bogg tires and a lift kit! also the left rear tailight has blown 8 times in 2 years and once again the dealer wont do squat! its a nice handleing car but a very noisy drive as outside noise comes right in! the suspention is awful, ir feels like you bottom out everytime you hit a bump and the acceleration and breaking is so sensitive that it also contributes to the poor gas mileage! I have found that if you hit the traction control button EVERYTIME YOU GET IN THE CAR that it does help on the mpg! I live in ohio and one thing i can say is that for a FWD vehicle it is great in the snow! Overall I cant wait to get rid of this piece of junk and trade it in!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Dissappointed That I Got This Car

October 24, 2013
By Concerned Consumer
from Garland, TX
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I purchased this car brand new in within a couple of weeks or so, this car drove like I had it for several years. The transmission does not have very much power and the acceleration is terrible. When going over bumps in the road feels like the car is going to fall apart. Issues with the steering column which I believe stems from a 2011 recall. The only thing I can say I like about the vehicle is the exterior design other than that I can't say that I am pleased."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not good as expected

October 22, 2013
By lien
from Cincinnati, oh
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"the picture looks good, but when you see the real car, you will be disappointed by the size of it. also, this car do not have gps, not radar, and the space for legs for driver is so small"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fred Martin rocks !!!

March 19, 2013
By Caliber #1
from Lorain,OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Excellent service.Our salesman Cory Evans did a superb job.He was very courteous and didn't pressure us into anything.Mike handled our finance paperwork very well. I would recommend this dealer to anyone else."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dodge Caliber review

December 11, 2012
By Joe
from Rockford IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We had it about a month now and it is everything I thought it would be when reseraching this vehicle"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cool color, cool car

November 28, 2012
By braillerjenn
from Marschalltown, IA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My little Caliber is a fun car to drive. I love how it handles and drives around town. It has been on 2 major trips since I've owned it and the gas mileage is awesome. I was able to get 300 miles before the gas fill up light came on.
Even though I don't use it often I think the "cooler" in the glove box is a nice treat. I was able to keep my bottled tea cool during the long ride.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Car, but rattles

June 28, 2012
By Commuter
from Salt Lake City< UT
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It's a nice looking car and it handles great.
It's also lower priced and built a little flimsy. Not overly sturdy, but sufficient, I guess. I don't expect the handles to break, but the doors bow in when you lean on them. The frame also rattles and squeaks when you go over a bump. Not really a problem, but it feels a little flimsy. I'm getting highway MPG in the mid 20s. For this light of a car, I'd expect high 20s or low 30s.
Also, the braking takes a little getting used to. Since it reacts quickly.
It has some nice features, but definitely a low-end car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Least worthwhile car i've ever owner

November 29, 2011
By unhappy caliber owner
from Tomahawk, wisconsin
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"For a two liter engine the mileage is terrible, only 23mpg on town and 27 mpg on highway. lots of road noise passes into pasenger compartment. Used one quart of oil in first 3000 miles. headlights out of adjustment on delivery. Lack of power when passing another vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Getting Used To It

November 29, 2011
By mrkernunnos
from Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this vehicle new off the lot. The ignition is an auto type where you turn & release the key, took me a bit getting used to, want to turn and hold. I would highly recommend the vehicle. The transmission is CVI where it sounds as if it is severely slipping. Again, it sounds as if. From a dead stop pulling out into traffic, there's a touch of hesitation so give yourself room. In motion the cars accelerates quickly and is responsive to the pedal input; it's not a sports car. The head room is exceptional and one main reason for the selection."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Value

November 8, 2011
By Mentoron
from Grand Rapids, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"There might be better cars of this body style. I looked at several others before choosing the Caliber. The Caliber cost less new then many of the 3 year old cars I was looking at.
I was not satisfied with my first test drive of the Caliber, because it did not accelerate fast enough merging onto the freeway. Then I tried the bigger 2.4 liter engine and am quite satisfied with its performance. As a driving instructor, I consider this to be an important factor. I am not out for speed, but believe confident acceleration makes for safer driving. I would not recommend the 2 liter engine,in spite of the fact the gas mileage is a little better.
I like the little design extras, like the speakers that pull down from the hatch for tailgate parties, etc. Another is the water bottle cooler in the glove compartment area.
The seats and riding comfort matches that of luxury cars.
I get 23 mpg in city driving and 27 consistently on freeways. Not bad.
Going on 5000 miles in 4 months.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprise Performer

October 22, 2011
By Markus
from Fort Pierce, Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased the vehicle new and am now enjoying it greatly. The comfort level is excellent as I am 6'-1" and have more than adequate room. Vision is no problem and offers peripheral views. Get up from a dead start is a bit slow and the constant mess transmission takes a bit getting used to. It sounds as if the transmission is slipping YET, it pulls strong and continuously. I have been finding unbelievable gas mileage. Storage area is well designed and configured throughout, fold through seat fits golf clubs but, seat has to be down. Sliding console can be annoying but serves the purpose of an armrest storage lid. I am pleased and satisfied with the Caliber and yes I would recommend it to family and friends."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

worst transmission on the market

September 10, 2011
By thecarguy
from nicholasville ky
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have had many cars but this car has the worst transmission I have ever had. It is a two speed with od and I did not know they even had a transmission with 2 speeds in them anymore. The car feels like it should be down shifting or shifting up all the time. The only time it feels decent is when you are on a highway or interstate at a high speed where it is staying in overdrive. Should have reserched the car more."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm so in love

September 2, 2011
By Busy Working Mom
from Minneapolis, MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is one of those times when I have to admit that my husband knew what he was doing! I was really REALLY intrigued by the Nissan Versa hatchback, but my husband kept insisting that I look at the Dodge Caliber. I drove both, and the poor Nissan Versa just couldn't compete!
I bought a model with a five-speed stick, which is just too much fun in and of itself. However, the shifting is very smooth and forgiving (especially for someone like me who hasn't driven stick for a while). The stick does make a large clunk sound, but as another reviewer noted, this is normal. Something for Dodge to work on!
The seats are comfortable, the steering is tight without being restrictive, and the power is amazing on such a small vehicle. I really have to watch because I'm up to 70 mph on the highway without even thinking.
Gas mileage has been so-so, right at the EPA for city. I haven't been out on the highway for any extended driving, so I'll wait to make a final judgment.
But it's a great car for the money."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good car for small family!

August 29, 2011
By Cali
from Indianapolis, IN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is my wife's, but I drive it alot. It is a great car little small inside but for a family of four not bad. Great sound system and drives nice. We bought the bigger engine, and it has enough pep to get out into traffic."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Love My DODGE!

August 18, 2011
By DodgeDreamer
from Houston, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Last week I became the very proud owner of a 2011 Dodge Caliber Uptown. I am absolutely in love with this car! When I bought it, the car had 12 miles on it and now has 804 (so I have done a decent amount of driving). I have wanted a Dodge for a long time and starting out in the Caliber has made me a Dodge owner for life. The interior is Amazing, seats are VERY comfortable and the back seats even Recline. The back hatch storage is much bigger than I expected. The Audio system in the Dodge Caliber is wonderful, sounds great and has lots of neat features such as sirius satellite! I chose to buy the one with the CVT transmission and at first it kinda freaked me out a little. The car I had before this one was a standard and the first time I tried to Accelerate to pass another vehicle it almost sounded like if i were in my standard and the clutch was going out. After doing a little research I found that this is normal and you just have to get used to it. There isn't anything wrong. Phew right?! I also like that the Caliber sits higher off of the ground than most compact cars or sedans. Seeing as I am 6'1" tall it is most definitely a great feature for me. There is LOTS of leg room in the front as well as in the backseat! I honestly couldnt be any happier. :)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

WARNING!

July 8, 2011
By Car renter of Hollywood
from Hollywood, FL
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I rented a 2011 Dodge Caliber with automatic transmisson for two weeks. It had 7200 miles on it. The gas mileage was nowhere near the 22mpg city it was rated on this site. I averaged only 17-18mpg city driving with the a/c running about half the time. The suspension is reasonable, steering is comfortable with a big steering wheel, the interior is attractive with a fair amount of storage space, and the ground clearance is higher than an average car. I thought the exterior looked rather nice, too.
However, I would never buy this car. The whole two weeks the transmission (CVT, apparently) acted terribly. Acceleration was very poor and no matter how hard or soft you stepped on the gas pedal, the car just picked up speed only as fast as IT wanted to. I know 158 hp is not a race car, but cars were always driving around me because I couldn't accelerate at a normal pace. Many times it "bucked" while I was trying to accelerate, even gently. Also, the right passenger window was malfunctioning and couldn't be used.
While this car has some positive aspects, I can't recommend it because of the transmission.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am in love with my car

June 20, 2011
By MBerry
from Philadelphia, Pa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My car is brand new and so far I love it as does my 7 yr old. All of the upgrades don't leave you broke and they are the best thing I have ever had. I have lumbar support for my bad back, heated leather seats, a cooler in the glove box (that is awesome), drop down speakers from the hatch, a subwoffer, so great sound system to enjoy my touch screen sat. radio, I can also copy CD's to hard drive so no more lugging them! It has a flashdrive connector so I can store pics and other music on it!! you can replay songs right off the radio!! It has so many features and is spacious and comfortable and we went smaller from our Sante Fe. But so worth it!!!! Oh, I got the uptown model THE ABSOLUTE BEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED!! (and I have had 4) LOL If your considering DO IT!!! Everyone from fam and friends that has seen it, love it too."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most under appreciated wagon

May 1, 2011
By Dodge Loyalist
from Roanoke, VA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 2011 Dodge Caliber seems to get bashed by so many people. Don't let them fool you into spending more money, especially if you don't have it in this economy. The Caliber has a super safety rating and is a real looker. You get what you pay for, if you want a well priced, good gas milage wagon, this is it. It is comfortable to drive. The only thing I would add is lumbar support. I moved from the Durango to the Caliber and love it. It handles like my old SUV, but just about doubles my milage. My kids have plenty of room, and the back seats recline. They love that. To me it looks as nice as any other mid priced car. What I liked is that when I looked at a 2010 used model, a new one was only a little more, which means they hold their value. Used Caliber are also hard to find which leads me to believe people who buy them like them and keep them.
So when you read about how horrible, noisy, and cheap the Caliber is and looks, Don't listen, go check it out for yourself. I think those people might be comparing the Caliber to a pipe dream. The Caliber is a great reality and my family and I are glad we bought it everyday we drive it.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Kept Secret Discovered: The '11 Caliber!

March 13, 2011
By Caliber Mom
from West Elmira, New York
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Dodge did its homework designing this feisty gem of a mini SUV, hatchback, wagon & crossover – combined, as I see it as a new owner. I went all out & checked every option-box & am still amazed at what a bargain my little roomy sports-wagon is. The kids love it, as does my husband, a long-time Jeep enthusiast. We looked at the Jeep Compass & Patriot, Nissan Juke & Cube and several of other makes before deciding on the 2011 Caliber. The car just felt right in every respect. I could never be happier with my Caliber. It is exceptionally roomy, practical, zippy, loaded with standard safety features & drives like and handles like a 4x4 (it is FWD, though) & drives like a large luxury sedan. Gas mileage is incredible, averaging 35 miles/gallon. I can see where no corners were cut on the 2011 Dodge Caliber & several Jeeps we test drive. The quality is amazing & the car is very reliable. So fun to drive & the FWD saves on weight & fuel while driving in the harshness of winter with this “raised” front wheel drive five door sedan gets us where we need to go safely."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2011_Dodge_Caliber
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Caliber is Just Right for 2011!

February 27, 2011
By Uptown Guy
from Scranton, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 2011 Uptown version of the highly refined Caliber is a knockout. The ride is best in its class and the handling is better than larger 4x4 vehicles I have owned. The new model-year brings bright & funky new colors with much improved interior. For just $20,000, the car comes loaded! Lower priced & still very well equipped models are also available. My other car is a 2008 Dodge Challenger R/T but I needed something a bit more practical (a 4 or 5-door hatchback - the Caliber's a 5-dr.) to drive the children to day care & when car pooling. My wife drives a new'11 Dodge Grand Caravan (also impeccable!) so I decided on something smaller. The 2011 Dodge Journey 4x4 came a close second to the Caliber I ordered with all options but I loved the nibble, easy to maneuver & perfectly sized mileage leader. The low price jacked up with everything imaginable & deal from Dodge's customer loyalty program were clinchers. It is nice having a range of cars, but I must admit, the Caliber is often the family's choice for all but cross-county trips, when the Grand Caravan's the top pick for extra seating, gear & strollers. The mileage reaches mid 30's on the highway. I have taken the car on a couple of camping trips, fishing events with the guys & to scouting outings with the older boys. The Caliber Uptown boasts heated seats, cooler & for a few more dollars, the best navigation, sound system and other creature comforts unheard of in its class. The hatchback is so useful without being classified a wagon, minivan or SUV. Unique & impressive! The neighborhood kids think it is really cool. I do, too."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.