Customer Reviews for 2011_Ford_Explorer

2011_Ford_Explorer

Average Customer Rating:
3.982 of 5
4
 of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
2
40 of 55(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Review 1 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Pretty on the surface

June 5, 2014
By 2011 Explorer owner
from Oklahoma CIty , OK
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Loved our 2011 explorer until it hit 40K. Seems like the thing is slowly falling apart. We have had pillar issues making wind noise, strange engine noises, and I had to change the battery today, and now 3 warning lights have appeared, check brakes, advance trac system not working, and traction off??? All apparently must be reset by the dealer. The thing has more electronics on it than the space shuttle, and they have plenty of gremlins in them as well radio goes blank, navigation card failure, and just other glitches. We now have 52K and I didn't think I needed an extended warranty on a fine American car, but I guess I was wrong. Selling this thing and buying a Toyota.
I will miss the comfortable seats and the way it looks, but its time to move on to something that isn't going to fall apart.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Don't Be Fooled By A Pretty Face

May 22, 2014
By No Ford Fan
from Bakersfield, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have to admit, I bought this SUV because I fell in love with its looks and interior comfort. I still love the way it looks, like the way it drives, and it's an extremely comfortable car for our family. But reliability is key to me and this car simply isn't reliable. From the first month the brakes have squeaked LOUDLY, the SYNC system has had several issues, the power steering completely died (glad I was in a parking lot for that one), oil started blowing into the air filter because a valve was apparently re-designed and put in the wrong place, a "Shift to Park" warning light frequently appears after I've parked the car (the car still thinks it's "on), and the car goes "boom" when I accelerate quickly from either coasting or up a hill. I paid a lot of money for a new SUV that would guarantee me several trouble-free years. I owned a Jeep Grand Cherokee so I know what a trouble-plagued car is like and I've also owned Toyotas and a Lexus which only required regular service. Next time, I'm going foreign. Fool me once....."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Teen grandchildren wants to drive all the time

May 1, 2014
By Styling Grandmom
from Laurel DE
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car has everything your would want in a vehicle. All the bells and whistles anyone would want . All the grandchildren's friends are always commenting on grandmom's explorer. Great space for vacation luggage or just local shopping. Has plenty of get up and go if you need a quick take off. Great fuel mielage local and long distance travel. I would definitely recommend this vehicle to all . 2011 Ford Explorer Limited."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

User Friendly Family Vehicle

September 20, 2013
By Rush7122
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is by far the most comfortable and user friendly car I have ever owned. I don't know about reliability, as I've only had the car for a month. However, I did take it on a road trip over the Labor Day weekend and I had no complaints. It is very comfortable even after hours of driving. My kids brag about the comfortable passenger seats also. I love the navigation. It's more user friendly than my tom tom. I only gave it four stars on performance because it is a little sluggish on take off or passing. Overall, I love it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Skip this car

August 24, 2013
By SoCalStacy
from SoCal
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I bought this car 2 years ago, a 2011 Explorer Limited with upgrades. I have had nothing but issues with this car, and I am a low mile user. First, I was driving on the freeway and trying to accelerate coming out of a merge and GLUG GLUG GLUG like all of a sudden the fuel stopped entering the car and it felt like it was going to stall. Happened once again and stopped but is scary thing. Acceleration onto freeways is slow and drags like maybe fuel injection system needs to be flushed. Step too hard on the pedal to try to accelerate faster and engine sounds like it is going to explode. Second, with my low milage I was already getting squeaky brakes. I was told this was a customer issue and brakes were replaced under warranty. Third, there are constant issues with the Sync/MyTouch system. It crashes frequently and you are left without your backup camera or navigation, which really stinks when you are leaving your doctors office and you are parallel parked and can't use the camera or when you are leaving a place you are unfamiliar with and need the naviagtion but you have to wait a full 5 min to have the system run it's "Maintenance" (means it crashed). Forth, the media interface is a technical nightmare. I mean, I know it doesn't effect driving but it's something I paid for with my hefty price tag. Sometimes my iPod is plugged in but it's not registering that it is, sometimes the a/v says it's connected and to remove usb connections first but nothing is plugged into the a/v, and then if you use shuffle on an ipod playlist, it only works until you turn off the car, when you restart it will play songs alphabetically by artist instead of shuffle. You have to manually reset it to shuffle again, even though the shuffle light is still on. Fifth, I have been having an issue for about 3 weeks now, where I park the car and turn it off but it chimes and tells me on the display "Shift to Park." The car IS in park but the P is not illuminated, so I must push in and out the little black button on the gearshift handle 10 plus times to get it to illuminate and stop the chime. Now this is something FORD refused to fix because they claim they could not make it fault at the dealer. I even took a picture AND video of it because I researched the issue and found other people had the same problem and the dealer refused to fix it too, claiming it wasn't faulting. This happens whether my husband or I am driving so it is hard to place blame on me, and it happens almost every time I park. Yet, to Ford, the customer has no valid complaint. There is also another update on Sync that has to be performed and the interface unit was given a warranty extension because of the poor workmanship. More and more I wish I hadn't let my husband talk me into this car, I really would have preferred a Honda Pilot since I have had 2 Hondas in the past that were issue free and customer service was amazing. Be warned. Skip this car if you are looking for a great used car because it will only give you trouble."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Vehicle!!

January 22, 2013
By RysXplr
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love the new Explorer Limited-4WD!! Only reason I gave the value/interior 4 out of 5 stars is no rear heated seats, for this class of MSRP vehicle, those should be included when ordering the rear bucket seats. Very comfortable and quiet ride with lots of power from the 3.5L V6. Terrain system is excellent too! Overall I get 20.5mpg in mixed driving. MyTouch is not as distracting once you get to know it, free annual NAV updates from Ford is great value too."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fifth Explorer Best One Yet

December 23, 2012
By Mike-Fifth Explorer
from Grand Rapids Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My Ford Touch works much better than expected. Consumers Reports criticism not warranted, particularly after a week or so living with My Ford Touch.
This Explorer SUV is a vast improvement over the 4 prior Explorers I have owned. Much more car-like ride, very quiet and smooth. About 20% better fuel economy too. Had 3rd seat passengers today for first time and they said it was comfortable back there."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ready for Mother Nature

December 8, 2012
By Mn Driver
from Minnesota
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We just purchased a used 2011 Explorer Limited a week ago, and I am very pleased with the value and performance. We just received our first snow of the year, and I never once slide around on the road in our 2011 Explorer. We were looking for a vehicle with average MPG and AWD that would give us the security we needed to drive on our Minnesota roads. We are pleased with the new rebuild model of the 2011 Explorer. The navigation system, sony sound system, moon roof, rear and middle automatic folding seats are wonderful features. We are enjoying using the touch screen controls, and the keyless automatic engine start. The technology advancements from our 2005 vehicle are so different, but we are enjoying learning how to use all of the new features with this vehicle. After all of our searching, I am sure that we made the right choice with the Explorer. Feel confident driving on whatever Mother Nature brings our way now."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Sold!

November 28, 2012
By Ers
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This was the vehicle I just replaced. I would strongly suggest doing additional research on this one before purchase. I loved how this vehicle looked on paper. Plenty of room for people and items, it can tow, and it gets decent mileage. Great! Right? Well, after the FIFTH TIME in the shop, I ditched it. The bumper to bumper warranty was getting closer in mileage to ending, and if this is what the future held, I would have been a fool to keep it.
In case you're curious, here's the list:
1: both far rear side windows leaking
2: a horrible shudder from the engine at acceleration (turbo related, glad I didn't foot that bill)
3: mytouch system completely dead, which also takes out climate control, nav and other features, again, glad I didn't foot that bill.
4: turn signal indicators on mirrors filling up with water.
5: head lights filled with condensation.
Perhaps I'm unlucky, perhaps I got the car built on a Friday, but like I said before, my warranty was about to end. Any sane person would have sold it, so I did. Not my first Ford, probably not my last, but this was a horrible experience. I hope its next owner is lucky and doesn't have to deal with any problems like I did.
One thing is for certain, I'll be doing my best to avoid turbochargers and touchscreens in the future, if possible. Their reliability just doesn't seem to be up to snuff yet.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2011 Ford Explorer Limited

August 12, 2012
By jcw
from Southern California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great great car. LOTS of features. VERY comfortable. BIG, LUXURY car at Thousands Le$$ than Imports and "Luxury" SUVs. (I also have a 2002 Explorer Limited.)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best suv i have ever owned

August 5, 2012
By explorer mom
from Jackson , MS
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 2011 ford explorer limited i bought, was by far the best suv i've driven. i drove the new JEEP Cherokee not even close, the toyota 4 runner cheap interior and the ride was very wobbley. Dodge durango no quality. the gmc acadia alot of issues for reliability! Go test drive the new explorer its awesome!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a Vehicle

May 14, 2012
By dinny
from Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Outstanding performance, smooth and quiet ride, easy to use controls, awesome styling, all at a great value. Go drive one!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love it!!

April 23, 2012
By Kentucky Mom
from Kentucky
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I was looking for a larger car/suv since my kids have gotten older and bigger. I loved the look of the new Explorer and have previously owned several Fords. I found a 2011 Ford demo model and was able to get what I thought was a great deal. I've only had it for 6 weeks but I do love it! The body style is eye catching and the interior is roomy and very comfortable. We took it to Florida 2 weeks after we bought it and got 24 mpg, which I thought was pretty good considering the size of the vehicle. The car is air tight and very comfortable to drive - you don't hear anything outside!! It's great for our family and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a larger SUV."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome vehicle!

April 23, 2012
By Lovemyexplorer!!!
from Cypress
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This vehicle is exactly what I was hoping for and I love it! It drives smooth, has all of thr touch screen features I was hopinh for as well as the panaramic roof I was wanting."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Love My Explorer!!

March 29, 2012
By New Explorer Owner
from Maryland
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love the looks of the new explorer! I bought a 2011 XLT 4x4 with the tow package. It preforms very well and is So Comfortable! I bought my Explorer in Kona Blue, which is so beautiful! I have the touch screen which works well. The navigation is slow sometimes, but it does get you to from A to B. Even with all the seats up, you do have some room in the "trunk." Overall, I love this SUV, and I would recommend to to everyone!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

stylish hi-tech luxury

December 5, 2011
By loyal to Ford
from Tennessee
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I followed the auto magazine reviews of the re-designed Ford Explorer and decided that I would buy one in 2011. I opted for a loaded Explorer Limited and have not regretted the decision. It is comfortable to drive, gets good fuel economy and has some hi tech features that make it very safe to drive. My first car in 1964 was a used 1950 Ford coupe and I have owned several in the intervening years including 2 full-sized Broncos, an F350 pickup, a 1999 Ford Explorer, and a Lincoln Aviator."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Jeep Grand Cherokee wins

November 26, 2011
By BigV
from reisterstown
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Lets begin with the looks. Ford did improve the exterior styling of the Explorer, but The Jeep Grand Cherokee looks way better in my opinion. The interior of the Ford looks nice, but if the Ford touch system stops working who cares... Also for you tall guys I'm 6'8" and feel amazing in the Grand Cherokee my head doesn't touch the ceiling now that's rare, while in the Ford Explorer there is less front head room."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-11points
1out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I made a mistake..!

October 27, 2011
By Tinman521
from Beachwood, NJ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"The Ford Explorer is a great looking SUV...however, it has much to be desired. The interior is also very appealing. I have the AWD Limited model...it has a shake in the front end on acceleration. It lacks a tilt steering wheel and I hate the permanent tilt of the wheel. Now the worst part...The My Ford Touch system continuously locks up, which makes the radio and climate controls unusable. I have to disconnect the battery to make it work (as advised by the dealer sales personnel). This is unacceptable for a new $50k+ vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Technologic Nightmare

September 12, 2011
By PabloTexas
from Austin, Tx
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"i'm in a bad place, I want to love this my Explorer, but the MyTouch system is so unstable, and yields the car unusable so often, it makes me angry. Handsfree phone mic is horrible, nobody can understand me when I make calls. Backup camera sticks on for as much as 10 miles down the road, which means no nave, radio, etc. Nav system never finds addresses or businesses, but services tab does, but 1/3of the time my phone won't pair so no services. Been thru several software updates, nada. Have to stop writing, I'm getting mad again!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2011_Ford_Explorer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excelent SUV

August 2, 2011
By Jose
from San Juan, PR
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently bought the Explorer XLT, the ride is comfortable and the response is great. the commodity of the mytouch system seems complicated at the beginning, but once you get used to it, it becomes your best friend. The vehicle is a real nice product, not only because of its looks, but also because it really feels right when you drive it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.