Customer Reviews for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring

2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring

Average Customer Rating:
4 of 5
4
 of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
14 of 19(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Review 1 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love This Car!!!

June 13, 2011
By luvmycar
from Sussex NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had my 2011 Hyundai Elantra Touring for about six weeks now, and I've already put 2,700 miles on it. With three jobs, I spend quite a bit of time driving to and from work, and this car 'almost' makes me not hate having to leave my house at 10 pm six nights a week! I did quite a bit of online research before deciding on this particular car. I knew I wanted a hatchback, small wagon-type car, and good gas mileage was an important factor. And, as I explained to the salesperson, since I can either afford a car payment Or frequent repair bills (but not BOTH) five or six year projected reliability played a huge part in my decision. Next came the 'fun stuff'.... and this car has those in abundance!
I chose the dark silver/gray color, which looks good even when it's not freshly washed/waxed. I love the looks of this car. Even for a wagon, I think it looks 'sporty and stylish.' The interior is beautiful! I've read some people complain of 'cheap looking interior features' but I can't imagine what they are complaining about. Maybe I am so impressed because my last car was a 1997 Jetta, but I truly think the interior is well laid out, and impressive looking. I have the model that comes with moon roof, heated leather seats, IPOD integration and steering wheel controls... I am in heaven!
I live in the a rural area of NJ and this car handles all the up-and-down hills and around-sharp-curves like a champ. On highways, I am more than pleased with its pick-up, cabin quietness and smooth engine performance. I don't know exactly how many miles I'm getting to the gallon, but what I do know is that I used to have to fill up my Jetta every four days, and now I can go SIX days between visits to the gas station. This is saving me over $100 per month in fuel costs! Between the fuel savings and the fact that this car will not be in the shop every month.... I am truly grateful for this car and to say I love it is putting it mildly! PS: I've had several Toyotas, a Honda and a VW in the past, and believe me, they have NOTHING on my Hyundai!!!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great all purpose vehiicle

July 25, 2013
By Pet Owner
from Minneapolis
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my Elantra Touring car used and have owned it for 7 months now. I have several pets and wanted a car with room for all their kennels so I could make one trip to the vet instead of three I, also, needed a car with space for building supplies for home improvements and suitcases for roadtrips. The Elantra touring car gives me all that along with a spacious front seat area for myself and a passenger. I think I have as much usable space as my brother's more expensive Honda CRV. I have had 3 adults in the back seat with no complaints of discomfort. I had knee replacement surgery a few months ago and with my limited mobility the car has been a godsend. I have plenty of room to get in and out. I get 28 MPG for a mix of around town and highway driving. The car has good pickup for merging, tight steering and excellent maneuverability. It looks attractive (nice lines) and I have had many complimemts on it. I test drove many vehicles before choosing the Elantra. This one has the handling of the Mazda 3 with the cargo space of the CRV or Rav4. The front seat area seems as large as the Forester's but much more comfortable. I only drove vehicles that were mechanically reliable and recommended by my mechanic.
The touring car was hard to find, but well worth the search.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

terrific car,good ride,comfortable and gas saver

June 4, 2013
By Dick
from woonsocket,ri
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"my Hyundai Elantra Touring feels solid,gives a smooth ride,is comfortable and very peppy for a four cylinder and I'm getting great gas mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Secret nice car only you know.

January 11, 2013
By Timmy
from Los angeles
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have 2011 Elantra touring with 5 speed manual.
the Manual shifter is surprisingly short throw ans sporty. Handling is really good for a wagon. I got moon roof leather , heated seats, roof rack , 17 inch alloy wheels for what I would have paid for base civic. I go suring and snowboarding so the roof rack comes in handy. Gas mileage is average for the economy car but really good for the interior volume it has.
Engine is somewhat not as refined but it is economy car overall. So far I am very happy and it is a kind of a secret weapon that only the driver knows how good of a car it is for what you pay for."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good so far!!!

September 21, 2012
By long distance driver
from Boston,Ma.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Driving/handling excellent-holds the road really well. The 17" tires make a big difference. Open road gas mileage has been 33-36mpg-more than I expected. Heated leather seats, sunroof and remote starter are a big ++! A B_I_G negative is NO STORAGE up front. I don't count those little 'nubbies' they call storage as adequate. Most cars these days have the same front set-up-2 cupholders and the 'nubbies'. I was so used to my Dodge Grand Caravan and the big storage that this was a huge schock for me. I like it so far despite my critiscisms(sic) and I'll give it another 6 months. BTW, plenty good size storage in back!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Like the style but very uncomfortable!

August 9, 2012
By mom2boys
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We had this car for 15 months. I loved the hatchback style but my husband hated it. The car was very uncomfortable, especially for long road trips and gas mileage depended alot on how many were in the car. It seated 5 but only 4 would be somewhat comfortable. The hatchback made it easy to access food and stuff while traveling but that was the only good thing about this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots of car for the money and practical

April 16, 2012
By Practical car shopper
from San Antonio, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Hyundai Elantra Touring is a very stylish and practical car for the money. Lots of room and cargo handling ability without all the weight, gas guzzeling and room required for my previous SUV. In fact I have the same amount of room, about 65 cu ft of cargo space as my suv had. I get around 29mpg with mostly highway mileage and more on long trips just on the highway, about 34mpg. Plenty of power for around town and hauling freinds or loads when needed. At about a very low price I got a totally loaded car with auto trans and all the power options."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

no more Hyundai

March 12, 2012
By madar
from Allentown, Pa.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"!st and last time Hyundai owner. Had car 14 months, has numerous creaks and rattles, AM band on the radio has lots of static, car pings and knocks on regular gas, Hyundai warranty is limited to whatever error codes they find, anything else is "we had 3 people look at it and no one hears anything"."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Elantra Touring.... no thanks.

October 10, 2011
By Eh...
from Nashville, TN
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First the good news -- my 2011 Elantra Touring wagon gets thumbs up and kind comments almost everywhere I go. It's a charcoal gray metallic with lots of chrome and I keep it nicely detailed. Now the bad news: I just can't get myself to like the car, despite all the "logical" reasons I should. It's decent on gas, it's pretty nice looking, and it's been reliable. But it's underpowered, noisy, and not terribly comfortable. For $20K, you certainly can't find anything new so nicely equipped with leather, a power sunroof, heated seats, etc. -- But I'd suggest buying something nice, but 2 to 3 years old. I could have had a Saab 9.3 or an Audi A4 with a few miles on it. Oh well. Live and learn. I just hope I can save someone else from making this mistake."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A bit surprised

October 9, 2011
By nc driver
from nc
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have had my ET for almost a year now and have really enjoyed it. The problems I am having now are that I have an automatic and I was sitting at a light and my car just shut off for no reason while in gear.
Now my transmission is slipping. I'm bringing it in for service but I am going to be really upset if I end up having to pay out of pocket for this to be fixed. All in all it has been a great car and I would recommend people to get it. I'm just hoping that my problems are just on my vehicle.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Does the job; looks good while doing it

August 30, 2011
By Wagon fan
from Northern Virginia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"New, so reliability unknown. Perfect commuting car. Comfortable, quiet, and smooth. Peppy on the flat; lousy on hills. Visibility out the back less than other wagons I've had; something to get used to. If my driving took me often to hilly terrain, I'd have chosen something with a manual rather than an automatic transmission. But, since it doesn't, this one is fine, and has jaunty look about it to boot."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

No Air Condition Car

July 21, 2011
By lady59
from Tyler, Tx
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The 2011 Elantra touring car is OK but the AC only works part of the time on and off or you may have to drive 15 miles before it will cool. Makes me not like this car at all."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2010 Elantra Touring

July 13, 2011
By Colorguy
from SC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just turned 30,000 miles in 13 months. Car has been near perfect. Fun to drive, handles well, and is averaging about 30.6 mpg for all driving together."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a great little wagon without the boring!

May 22, 2011
By JawzX
from Danby, VT
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My last three cars were, in no particular order: 1992 Alfa Romeo 164-S, 2000 Toyota Corolla CE and a 1998 Volvo V70 AWD. The Elantra touring is not as sporty as the Alfa (what a great car! I never should have sold it...) not as comfortable or as unflappable in foot-deep snow as the Volvo (you could use the seats of that car for living-room furniture and feel like you spent thousands on the finest chairs available.. In fact the notion of buying a junk V70 just for the seats has occurred to me...) but man does it beat that old Corolla in every way possible! Heck, it beats the NEW Corolla in every way possible!
the exterior is bland, but verry cohesive, the interior is simple, comfortable (the front seats are a definite step above the segment norm in both comfort and support.), and well put together. It also happens to be cavernous! For a small car the ET offers hugely spacious rear seats (the rear bench is a little firm and flat for long trips, but leg, head and hip room in the rear is excellent, and there's room to move and breath back there), and ignoring the don't-quite-fold-fully-flat seat backs, a giant cargo area for such a small car. The stock stereo sounds great, if not overly powerful (you pretty much have to max it to defeat wind noise with the windows down on the highway) the suspension is taught and well controlled, and you can easily startle yourself with how fast it will comfortably negotiate twisty roads. Body movements are very well controlled and at-limit handling (with the ESC off) is easy to manage. The engine power is adequate, nothing to write home about, but the excellent 5 speed stick makes it fun to wring all the juice out of. The biggest let-down is the somewhat numb-feelng electric power steering, the feedback is there, you just have to pay close attention to notice it. It's far from boring on a good streach of twitys, and though you won't pass a Mazda 3 or Golf GTI on the corners, you'll pass them when they stop for gas. I'm averaging 30mpg, and I'm not what you'd call a conservative driver. The ET has excellent ergonomics, excellent visibility, very good headlighs, teriffic brakes, great usibilty, an is a well executed and well-priced package. Even my base GLS model manages to kick out the blahs while keeping the bank account happy. All in all, if you need an afordable compact wagon and don't want to be bored to tears while owning it you can't do much better for the money. Did I mention the killer warranty, long list of standard safety features or low insurance cost? Yeah, those are nice too.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gives me room

May 11, 2011
By tmgreen777
from Hemet, CA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Elantra Touring is not as quiet and comforable to ride in as a number of sedans in the same price and size class. Having said that, it has roominess for passengers in the back seat, and storage for transporting things that could never be found in similar price and size class sedans. This is why this model was chosen. Gas mileage around town has been consistently in the mid-twenties, which is good for the capacity of the vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hyundai Elantra Touring

April 30, 2011
By nonickname
from Northern Virginia
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Not much pep. Moves nice once it gets going. Poor climate control vents. ( not enough power and they have a narrow design which limits air rush ). Can't find window accesories ( wind deflectors ) anywhere.
Not as good on gas as advertised. I avg. about 25 mpg city / highway combined. Only had it a couple months so I have no idea how reliable it will turn out to be. If you don't need the extra cargo go with the regular Elantra.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best overall package

February 21, 2011
By Driving fan
from Indiana
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Tested the Mazda3 and the Kia Forte 5-door before buying the Elantra Touring. Quality beat the Kia and roominess and price beat the Mazda. Mine is a stick shift, which contributes to a sports-car feeling, along with nimble handling. Power is not great, but okay. Exterior and interior design are nearly elegant for an inexpensive car. Better than expected mileage. Bluetooth and XM are great. With the deal I got, I feel like I beat the system."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Sweet Car

December 22, 2010
By Fred
from Washington, DC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is exceptional. It's a great size for the city and was very comfortable on our trip from DC to Boston. It's a step up from the Honda Fit we had, with comparable quality. I get about 24mpg city and 34mpg highway. The SE model has a remarkable features at a bargain price."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2011_Hyundai_Elantra Touring
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well Rounded Car

December 17, 2010
By Happy Camper
from Bellingham Wa
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I spent many months researching cars, my main requirements had to be value, good mileage, roomy enough for my family, reliable, looks good, and a hatchback/wagon. It fit all those things. It gets a max of 30 mi/gallon on freeway, and about 26 overall. It feels spacious inside but is not a big car, but lg enough for my family of 4. The cargo is roomy. My only complaints is the seats could be more comfy, the steering wheel feels like sand paper, and the road noise is somewhat loud. But overall a good car with free roadside assistance and good warrantly."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.