Customer Reviews for 2011_Jeep_Patriot

2011_Jeep_Patriot

Average Customer Rating:
4.194 of 5
4.2
 of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
26 of 31(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Review 1 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Dream Car

October 31, 2011
By JeepLover
from Los Angeles, Ca
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a brand new Jeep Patriot after owning a 1995 Jeep Wrangler and not only was it an unbelievable upgrade but I got my money's worth. I consider myself a sporty and adventurous girl and love that my car expresses that! I have no regrets and now own one of my dream cars at the age of 17 and I was able to buy it with my own money thanks to the inexpensive price tag! Love love love my Jeep!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Vehicle for the Money

August 25, 2014
By Gyrene
from Crawford, GA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This vehicle is a good value and is quite comfortable. It does not have real good takeoff performance and the transmission is a bit noisy when starting from first gear, especially on a hill. It does have road noise, as would be expected from an SUV. For an overall, onroad and offroad, vehicle, it is a good choice.
The fuel mileage is not quite as good as rated, but still fair for this type of vehicle. It would be better if driven in flat terrain most of the time, but is not as good if used mostly in hilly country.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nightmare....enough said

May 29, 2014
By Mike from WV
from West Virginia
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased a 2011 Jeep Patriot Sport which was the first brand new vehicle that I had ever purchased. I was very excited that I was getting someone else's problems.
After about 15,000 miles I started to hear a odd noise in the front. When I brought it to the dealership they told me that vehicles make noise. Believing the dealership I continued to drive it. When it got warmer the noise went away. The following winter the noise came back and it was worse and it began to handle poorly. By this time the dealership that I had purchased the vehicle from had gone out of business and was dealing with another dealership. They finally replace just about everything in the front end. Low and behold, the noise came back.
In addition within the first 36000 miles, I had 9 sensors go, and had to replace all four tires because of the suspension issues.
After minimal help from Chrysler and the fact that I did not have the time to deal with a lawyer on this, I decided to cut my losses and not only trade it it for another vehicle, but I went with a completely different vehicle all together.
Not only am I completely dissatisfied with the vehicle it self, the construction and the Low Fuel Economy (14-19mpg), but Chryslers customer service was terrible to deal with. I got the run-around, and waited several days for them to do anything.
For example....they told me at 9 am when I brought my Jeep in for a warranty item that I would get a rental car, it was not until 3:30pm that I got a rental car. Not because they didn't have any, but because the person failed to make a 30 second call to the dealership to get the authorization for the rental car. I paid an extra for the best warranty to have service like that.
I was considering trading in my truck for a Ram, and with the customer service that I got, I will never buy another Chrysler product."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very comfortable and stable!

March 23, 2014
By jeep owner 1
from Phoenixville, Pa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We are very pleased with the performance, stability, and overall experience of the jeep. This has been a pleasure to own and drive this vehicle. Overall we are very pleased with this experience."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great SUV for the money

March 19, 2014
By Bobby
from Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Most "experts" who review the Patriot tend to give it a bad rep, and generally come to the conclusion that it feels "cheap." Well, that's probably because this is a very inexpensive SUV. It isn't ultra-sporty or luxurious, but it also isn't trying to be. The Patriot is a great value for the money. Mine has 20,000+ miles on with no problems thus far. The engine won't win you bragging rights, but it gets the job done as well as decent fuel economy. Mine has the CVT, and although people tend to complain about the noise, if you're normal and drive with the radio on, it isn't really an issue. The Jeep has a comfortable ride and handles well for a boxy SUV. Driving around town is a breeze, the car turns on the dime and is very easy to park. I'm 6'3" and have plenty of room whether I'm in the driver's seat or even in the 2nd row. Cargo space is a little tight, but it's flexible enough to make up for it. The interior isn't exactly anything special, but it's put together well and has a great appearance. The controls are also very straightforward and easy to use, even if you're wearing big gloves. I don't do any serious off roading, but if you find yourself on gravel or dirt, or you live somewhere where you have to deal with snow, the Patriot tackles it like a champ. All in all, it's definitely a jeep with it's rugged styling and capability, but it's also comfortable, civilized, and economical enough to be a great all around vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Worst vehicle we ever bought

March 15, 2014
By Jeepster owner
from PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought new in November 2010. In October 2013 the factory warranty was expired. Took in at 38000 miles for state inspection. was told needed front driver side control arm...$375. Service manager at dealership admitted this was a common problem and should be a chrysler recall! Computer had been replaced once when car was brand new. New computer has same problems as old one. Yhe tire pressure light NEVER goes off. In January of 2014, experienced problems with car wanting to stall and would not drive. The electronic throttle control needed replaced to the tune of $600. While at the dealership they also inforrmed us thr passenger side control arm was also bad! Again nothing is covered by the warrant even though still underpower train warranty. Car is now making loud whiningnoise. Took it in. It is the bearings now! car has 43000 miles and is financially killing us! We plan to unload it ASAP! We own a 2005 Jeep Liberty. Itis best car we ever purchased....this One is the worst!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You cannot do better, for the money

August 29, 2013
By Squeege
from western Massachusetts
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I appreciate the sold, truck-ish feel, but it is also comfortable. The wife likes the heated seats in the winter! Back-end space is rather limited, but the design lets you stack stuff high. The drawback I notice the most is the fabulous headrests. They're supposed to be a safety feature, OK. But they block the view in the Jeep Patriot significantly--- in a vehicle designed with not as much glass as many other vehicles, to begin with. For this reason, I prefer my old Saturn with 300,000 miles on it (yes!) for getting around in the city. Highway driving is less of a problem. My wife does not experienced the same issues, I must add. This stuff does not bother HER. Overall, it is a great car for the money. We didn't buy it for speed and ruggedness. We don't use the 4X4 feature to explore the wilderness--- just to help out in the snow. (We live in southern New England.)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Do not buy

August 24, 2013
By Distant Driver
from Buffalo, NY
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I have a 2011 Patriot, Latitude. Spent the extra money for the extended warranty because I drive 25,000 miles per year. I have had the Jeep in the dealership at least once a month. They can't seem to find the knocking or popping sounds coming from the rear when going slowly over a small bump. They replaced the complete back suspension with no resolution. I had to replace the original tires immediately because in light rain they hydroplane. I've replaced brakes and rotors in the back and front already. Now the wheels are grinding and the dealer said the wheel bearings are not covered under warranty. It pulls to the right and rotating the tires and alignment have not helped. It seems as if it's ready to stall and if I press the gas, it doesn't. The gas tank is very small so I have to fill it every other day. It gets 22 mpg. I'm tired of waiting at the dealer while they diagnose the problems to only tell me again that nothing is wrong with until it gets bad enough for something to show up. They are of no help. I think it's time for a trade in!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Car Ever!!!

December 7, 2012
By momof2
from Birmingham, AL
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I've owned my 2011 Patriot for about a year now. I started having problems with the car around 5,000 miles. It pulls severely to the right making it nearly impossible to keep the vehicle on the road. I have taken it to the dealer five times and they say this is the "normal" design of the car. The steering wheel also vibrates when driving and there is a popping/knocking sound in the front end - again called "normal" design of the car. If this is the normal design of the car, I think Chrysler needs to take these cars off the road and go back to the drawing board!!!! This is the worst car I have ever owned. BUYER BEWARE - DO NOT BUY THIS CAR!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Have owned it a year, quite happy

September 2, 2012
By skshello
from Las Vegas Nevada
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this 2011 after having owned a Grand Cherokee for some years. I had to get used to the "tinny" sound when I close the door, but other than that, it rides very well for a 4x4. I like the multi-cd sound system. Seats are comfortable. The only problem I have had is the bluetooth has been looked at by Jeep and my cell provider, and it still is scratchy and cuts out at times. The 4 cylinder is not fast enough to beat anyone off the line (except for a turtle) but when I got used to that, it has enough pep for most of my needs. The A/C is huge in Las Vegas, and I must say that it works very well in this heat. Mileage is decent. I believe it was a good purchase, has lots of room, and I intend to keep it for quite a while. It turns on a dime, considering the size of vehicle....and has good visibility.
I have lots of room to put work related items in the back, and these things are easy to reach as I need them throughout the work day.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST VEHICLE EVER!!

July 13, 2012
By BobbyMcGeeJeep
from Bussey, Iowa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Jeep Patriot is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. Amazing ride on the road, smooth and comfortable. reliable. I will never own anything else!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good in sand

April 10, 2012
By beach bum
from Massachusetts
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have a 2011 Patriot Sport with all the extras needed for off-road.
Most of my off-road driving is in sand on beaches on the East coast of the U.S. If I drop the tire pressure to 15 lbs and use 4WD the Patriot performs very well in the softest and deepest sand.
You need to know the basics of driving in the sand, and if you do, do not hesitate to take the Patriot onto the beach."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best 4x4 for the money

January 9, 2012
By Patriot Owner
from Berwyn,il
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"There is no other 4x4 on the market in this class that is better then the Jeep Patriot. This 4x4 is fully loaded for all the needs a person can ask for. Also the low seating position make you feel completely in control of the truck."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

December 31, 2011
By Scoots
from Natick, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good Car, Good Gas Milage. I was not originally going to get a Jeep when i sold my pickup truck to get something better ob gas, but was pleasantly supprised at the Patriot and the great gas milege that it got. Very good car. Dependable!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The more I drive it, the more I like it

November 19, 2011
By Rocky Mountain Hiker
from SouthEast British Columbia, Canada
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I wanted a basic 4x4 pavement Jeep with air-conditioning, plain crank windows, 5-speed standard and 40mpg. Then I testdrove a Patriot with the CV automatic and loved it-- the tranny's fun to use and a superb idea for gas milage. Keeps the revs at the best setting for gas milage, or for power. Although I didn't get the offroad package, it still has a bull low to slowly go up steep rough hills, and overdrive that idles it down the highway (1200rpm at 100kph). When you override the automatic and shift down, the engine compression revs slow the car enough so you don't have to waste brakes. The 2.4L engine is a bit slow to respond, but give it a second to rev over 3000 rpm, and you get ample power. Offroad, I found visibility of nearby rocks/trees/objects is poor the way the windows are set so high. The 17" Goodyear Wrangler all-season tires spin out easy on clay or gravel, but are great on pavement and even grip well on ice/snow. Had it 6 months now in the Canadian Rockies, recently had a big snowfall with ice/slush/packed snow and the Patriot is unstoppable, a blast. Difficult to do skids or doughnuts--the traction control, 4x4, the ABS brakes and electronic stabilization control end up rocketing it down the road instead! (You can hold the ESC button down for 5 secs to partially disable that. But it won't fully disengage traction control, drat, there's times I want to lock up the tires.) The yellow blinking traction light, and buzzing ABS brake pedal give lots of ice warning. Got snowtires but who needs them? On a cold day -20C, warms up fast. Not keen on the plastic bumpers, had to buy tow hooks and a trailor hitch so I can pull on something when I get stuck. Hmm, wouldn't want to go NorthEast BC where it's -50C, all that plastic would fracture. But overall, this is a keeper vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

what i like

November 8, 2011
By vinnie
from chambersburg pa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"not much to say i like everything about the 2011 patriot.gas mileage,looks,and i can fit in it comfortably and the way it rides."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshing Discovery

September 29, 2011
By Judson
from Knoxville, TN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"At a glance:
Pros:
- Heated Seats
- Remote Start
- Fold-flat front seat
- Reclining Rear Seat
- Nice handling & good acceleration
- Gas mileage
- 115v outlet
- Removable flashlight
- Steering wheel mounted audio controls
Cons:
- No full size spare tire
- Back window is stationary, would be nice if it could be rolled down/popped open
- Seems like it should be just an inch or 2 taller
Overall: Great value & most amenities for the price point
In Detail:
I purchased a 2011 Patriot about 6 weeks ago after my 2004 Freelander was totaled when someone ran a red light. I had a love/hate relationship with the Freelander - in the 4 years I'd owned it, it had probably spent the better part of 5 months in the shop having everything from the window harnesses to the water pump to the entire engine block replaced - fortunately all of it was covered by an extended warranty, but still aggravating. When it worked it was great - super comfortable, heated seats & windshield, it was a CHAMP in the snow, etc, however, all the trips to the dealership were very frustrating. So, with that said, as I looked at my trashed vehicle laying at the bottom of an 8 foot ditch, I was excited to have an excuse to get a new car, but at the same time, I hadn’t been planning on purchasing a car for at least another 8-10 months (whenever the 100,000 mi extended warranty ran out), so I was somewhat concerned that in order to stay within my savings I would have to give up most luxuries get another 4x4 SUV. Luckily, along came the Jeep Patriot. I was looking at the Ford Escape, Mitsubishi Outlander Sport & Hyundai Tucson, but for what I wanted, the Patriot was hands down the most bang for my buck – especially given the $1000 rebate. It had exactly what I wanted (heated seats, sun roof, 4 wheel drive, decent gas mileage) without making me pay for items I didn’t want (satellite radio, leather, etc) like was the case with so many other vehicles. It even threw in a couple awesome extras like remote start, steering wheel mounted controls & a 115 volt outlet. It also had a reasonable reliability rating & warranty – both of which were very important to me after the debacle that was my previous car.
So enough about what a good deal it is, let’s talk about how awesome it is to drive. Coming off a V-6, I was looking for a 4 cyl for improved fuel economy, but I was expecting to have to do some serious adjusting to a 4 cyl engine. Not the case. I had driven a relative’s 2001 Honda CRV with a 4 cyl engine numerous times & couldn’t ever get used to the slow acceleration or it sounding like the engine was going to blow up anytime you topped 30 mpg on a steep incline (don’t get me wrong – great car, just different than I was used to). Well, I guess it shouldn’t come as a surprise that they’ve improved 4 cylinders in the last 10 years, but it sure amazed me – it accelerates very smoothly & even relatively quickly, I have no trouble merging & it doesn’t sound like it’s going to explode on hills. It handles excellently & has really been a lot of fun to drive – can’t wait to try it out in the snow!
As for the interior, it’s very stylish & the 2011 updates are quite nice (though I test drove a 2010 & really didn’t think it was as bad as people made it sound). I love that the front seat folds flat – I’m a big DIYer & being able to haul 2x4s is a huge plus. There’s a decent amount of cargo space & the back seat is roomy enough that 2 adults can sit comfortably – reclining option is nice, though only a child will want to sit in the middle b/c of oddly placed cupholders. The sliding consol/armrest was well thought out & you won’t realize how nice the lighted cupholders are until you’re driving at night & trying to find your cell phone, but it’s a nice touch!
Overall, love this car & hope to drive it for a very long time!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

False start, but nice recovery

August 22, 2011
By Foamfoot
from Milwaukee
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Being a two-time Cherokee owner, the Patriot naturally caught my eye when it debuted in 2007. I finally pulled the trigger in April 2011, and I'm very glad I did.
I started shopping around in early 2011, looking at the Ford Escape and this thing called 'Kia'. It wasn't even close. Sure, I could have spent more money on those makes with comparable packages to the Patriot, but the value of the Jeep is what ultimately sold me. I bought a middle of the pack Patriot: auto, 4X4, pw/l, alum wheels and owl tires. Stickered at $22,495... paid $20,500 after negotiating and rebate.
The Pros are quite obvious. Value aside, the MPG are very good. All hwy - 25.2, All city - 19.7. I'm doing about 22.1 mixed.
You hear a lot about the "soft-touch" interior, and I suppose that is a nice amenity. But I was surprised by how comfortable the Patriot is. The biggest knock on my old Cherokees was that the seat never quite went back quite far enough ... and on a loooong trip, my knees locked up. I'm only 6'0". The cabin space is amazing. Plenty of room for me, my wife and our 2.3 kids. For a small SUV, it above average.
The "quiet" Pro is the safety. High marks from crash tests are obviously important.
I got to test the 4x4 in a freak April snowstorm. It handled more like my old Jeeps than I thought it would. That was a pleasant surprise. It rides like a Jeep (for the most part) and the new suspension for 2011 makes it an inch taller - less car, more truck now.
The Cons are few. The acceleration is anemic... especially when running the A/C. After 23 years of V6s, I think I just need to 'get over it'.
It had been in the shop 3x for the same issue. A pull to the left. To the dealer's credit, they never gave up and even called Chrysler looking for a fix. In short: camber bolts. A problem coming out of the factory. If you have a Patriot that sort of drifts left or right, especially with your foot 'off' the gas coasting = camber bolts. I admit, I had 2nd thoughts after this false start, but once it was fixed, I was happy and haven't looked back.
The cargo space is minimal, though the seats fold down to make up for it. If we have to haul a bunch of stuff, we take my wife's Honda Pilot.
Bottom-line: We bought a Patriot because of the value for the dollar, safety, MPG, previous Jeep experiences, and we wanted something that played well in these crummy Wisconsin winters. We could have easily spent a bunch of money on the other small SUVs/CUVs out there, but we questioned what we were getting in return. If you need or want a vehicle that "does the trick" without the fancy, gas-sucking ride of a big SUV - check out the Patriot. It's anything but a 'cute-ute'."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My 1st JEEP

August 14, 2011
By pico
from North Chicago, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have always owned a car, but i have always liked the Jeeps. As i was looking for new vehical i noticed the Jeep Patriot. Its got an amazing ride, great on gas, and enough room for all of my traveling, gear, and two big breed dogs. For a first Jeep, i have most definatally found my Vehical CALLING"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2011_Jeep_Patriot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A classy Jeep

August 1, 2011
By Bill
from Houston, Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We wanted to buy a reliable ccar, one mostly made in the United States. The Jeep Patriot fills teh bill. It has a smooth ride, better acceleration than many reviews suggest, and looks good inside and out. Buyers have shown a lot of loyalty to the Patriot. After ten weeks, we can affirm that point of view. We remain pleased with our decision. The Jeep Patriot is a very good car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.