Customer Reviews for 2011_Nissan_Leaf

2011_Nissan_Leaf

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
24 of 28(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Review 1 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great commuting or second car

September 21, 2012
By GaryL
from Seattle, WA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had a Nissan Leaf for 16 months and have driven it about 16,000 miles so far. It's a perfect car for commuting and driving around town. My commute is 45 miles round trip per day which is more than most people in America and I only need to charge to 80% on a typical day which extends battery lifespan. It is not for those that commute more than 50 miles per day round trip. Look at the Volt or just a hybrid if you drive more than 50 miles per day.
The car accelerates quickly, is super quiet, and handles very well. It has a lot of nice premium features like Bluetooth, navigation system, and electronic stability control that you just don't see in subcompacts. It can seat 5 comfortably. While it cannot be an only car for most people, it can be an everyday car for a 2-car household that has a gasoline car for longer trips. A garage or carport is needed so you have a reliable place to park it every night for charging. If you live in an area like Seattle where there is a growing public charging infrastructure, you can take it on longer trips."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Problems with battery capacity long-term

July 21, 2014
By Cathie
from San Diego
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"We have owned our Leaf since May 2011. We have loved the car but are now getting quite concerned. My husband drives the car, on average, 20-40 miles/day to and from work and running errands, mostly 100% on city roads. We live in San Diego, so no issue with winter weather and we live 7 miles from the ocean so seldom have daytime temperatures above 85. Originally, we would get 65-70 miles per 80-90% charge. Last fall we noticed that there was considerably less remaining charge left after a day of driving. He began to track daily miles, remaining "bars", as well as started charging it 100%. For 9 months we have only been getting 40-45 miles on a full charge with only 1-2 "bars" remaining at the end of the day. Sometimes it will be blinking and "talking" to us to get to a charging place ASAP. We just had it into the dealership. Though on a full charge, the car gauge shows 12 bars, the dealership states that the batteries have lost 2 bars via the computer diagnostics (which we are told is a different reading from the car gauge itself) and, that they say, is average and excepted for the car at this age. Everything else (software, diagnostics, etc.) shows 100%, so the dealership thinks that the car is functioning as it should. They are unable to explain why we can only go 40-45 miles on a charge, but keep saying that the car tests out fine. If the distance one is able to drive on a full charge decreases any further, it will begin to render the car useless. As someone else recommended, in retrospect, the best way to go is to lease the Leaf so that battery life is not an issue."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Improving air quality and saving money!

July 15, 2014
By CCI
from Turlock, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My Leaf comes in SL model, the upscale version. It includes a touchscreen navigation system, XM radio, plenty of connections for all kinds of devices, in addition the option of streaming with Bluetooth. The interior comfort and ride are excellent for a family car and it accelerates much like a sporty car. The only reason it is not fetching a 5 star rating is due to the limitation of the battery pack during freeway hauls. Above 45 MPH, the charge disappears quickly. I would estimate about 60 miles of freeway driving but keep it around 70 and under. Also be sure to use the cruise control and the ECO mode to maximise the range. Around this car is a beauty. Driving around 40 or so miles a day under city trips is optimal. I have reached more like 75 miles on a charge around town, this is the Leaf's niche. The car is quiet and comfortable for all passengers and it is fun freaking people out while driving through parking lots. The ability to drive in the HOV lane in California allows you to pass the crowds stuck on the freeway as well. Overall this vehicle is a great value with absolutely no gas purchasing required. I would estimate my power bill was affected about $60 per month. This is charging it all night every night. The 110v EVSE that comes with the car does the job but to reduce your charging time 3x, you should definitely opt for the 220v EVSE to charge in about 7 hours from nearly a dead battery. This is much more efficient for overnight charging and you can utilize the power companies' lower rates in the wee hours of the morning. The battery charge and range have been improved on the newer model years but you will pay for the right to drive a brand new vehicle. I found a great deal on a used Leaf and have been pleasantly surprised. Buy a Leaf and start protecting the environment as much as possible!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love the car but battery reliability has mworried

March 12, 2014
By VVee
from Orlando, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I,ve put almost 19000 miles on my Leaf. The car handles well, is comfortable, gets me from point A to point B and saves me a lot of money by not having to buy gasoline. I am very concerned about the realiability of the battery. So far I've lost one bar and depending on weather outside, At times I am pushing to make a 60 mile round trip. The value of the vehicle has dropped significantly over the past year."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

no-brainer

March 2, 2014
By spaceman
from south carolin
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If your daily drive is 80 miles or so - like most people, it is a no-brainer to lease this - LEAF lease = $199 a month - I save $160 (net of electricity costs) a month on gas, oil changes etc. So, the net monthly cost is about $39 - you do have to put down $2,000 - but that's about $60 a month over 36 months - so, you're driving a new, fully warranted car for 3 years at a net cost of about $99 a month. I have 14K miles on my Leaf now and it has been flawless - better pick-up than a gas car & super quiet. I live in South Carolina - the average full charge is about 100 miles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

love the car hate the battery

August 13, 2013
By bioburner
from manassas Va.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We love the car and being able to "refuel" at home. Only problem encountered is the main battery has lost in excess of 15% of its storage capacity in just 1 year. Current range is only 50 miles on a full charge. Resale valve on this car has dropped in half in just 18 months.
If you are interested in this car Lease it don't buy it!!!!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Turn over a new Leaf!!!

June 28, 2013
By EV Lover
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am in love with this car, for two reasons...first, it's responsive, comfortable and down-right fun to drive; second, I never need to stop at a gas station! For a city-car this is definitely the best...along with the most advanced computer control system."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazingly surprising!

May 14, 2013
By Ladybug's Leaf
from The Piedmont, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When I first considered an EV (Electric Vehicle,) I assumed it would be like driving one of those kiddy-cars-- slow. Wow! Was I wrong! During my test drive of the Nissan LEAF, I merged onto a highway where everyone was going 65-75 mph. I was not only able to move into the traffic easily, but it felt like I was flying a jet plane! AND, I never have to buy gas again. I searched owners' forums for over two months. The LEAF owners who were disappointed were those people who needed to go a long way between charges, but for those of us who don't need a car for a long trip, the car is fantastic!
I got the "SL" which is the top-of-the-line-- navigational system, Blue Tooth, rear-view camera-- so many things that I am reading the owners' manual every day and learning new things-- like setting the charge or climate control by remote, (telephone, computer, etc.,) ahead of driving.
But for me, the main feature is that there is only a limited supply of oil on the planet, and I can no longer afford the ever-increasing cost of gas/oil. Electricity can be made from lots of sources. I can run my errands, go to work, come home, plug my LEAF into a regular socket, and come back to it in the morning, fully charged.
Why did I choose Nissan? Well, I own a 1987 Nissan Stanza wagon with four-wheel drive-- it was one of the first yet-to-be-named "SUV's," from which all others were designed. That car has over 260,000 miles on it and has NEVER had a major incident/repair. That's all I need to know.
I believe EV's are the way of things to come-- someday (soon?) gas stations will be converted into electricity stations-- plug in (and of course pay for) a designated time/amount of electricity. In the "Quick Charge" mode, you can get 80% charge in about 30 minutes. You can have a charge port installed at your home, (though so far, I find it unnecessary.)
I'm on the SE coast of the USA, where change isn't embraced the same way it is in other areas, (e.g., the west coast,) so we have public charges only at places like post offices, libraries, and of course dealers. But should you want to go over 100 miles a day, I learned that some LEAF owners offer their own, private ports to other LEAF owners-- plug in, "sit a spell," and be on your way. That feels very "Little House on the Prairie" to me, and maybe it is, maybe EV owners are the modern-day pioneers in travel.
Once you drive the Nissan LEAF, you'll know why the 2011 was named World Car of the Year!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pleasure to drive

December 13, 2012
By First EV
from South Central Pennsylvania
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this car!!
So easy to drive and comfortable.
No problem on range with the short trips that we have to make.
Kept my 2005 Prius to use for long trips.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1 month review

December 7, 2012
By Chez
from LA, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my leaf with a bit of hesitation. Mainly, range anxiety, charging-time length, and cost of charging the Leaf.
Range Anxiety is no longer a concern. I drive 54 miles (round trip) on s single charge (commute to work- 5 days a week). When I say one charge I mean on 8 "bars". The Leaf has a total of 12 bars, which represent a 100% max charge. Nissan recommends charging Leaf only up to 80% to preserve Battery life. What this means, is you may only charge battery up to 10 bars. My 54 mi commute starts at 10 bars and brings me home with 2-3 bars left... depending on traffic and climate control options. The leaf will most certainly complete a 54 mile commute on a single charge of 80% .. You may always override the charge up to 100% if you wish, which will allow more range.
Charging the battery with a standard 120 volt plug takes me about 10 hours Important to note, I begin the charge with about 2 bars and complete charge with 10 bars (eight bars out of 12 are charged overnight). Charging is completed easily overnight, if plugged-in right after arriving home.
The cost to charge my Leaf if about $50 a month, according to my most recent electric bill (and first bill after buying Leaf. Note- The monthly cycle of my first bill with my leaf actually began on the day I purchased my Leaf (coincidence). I live in So Cal, and Edison charges electric bill based upon 5 tiers. I consistently fell under the first Tier (except in summer) before the Leaf. Normally on non summer months, I was billed between 35-40 $ a month. My most recent bill was $87- 3rd tier- The billing cycle represents a full month of charging Leaf- 5 days a week- 8 bars, and weekends, which vary.
Needless to say, I was relieved to see my electric bill being only $50 dollars more than the usual. I was previously paying about $350-400 a month on gasoline for my former car- for the same commute. The savings on gasoline alone pays for the car!!!
The Leaf makes a great commuter car for a 54 mile daily and round-trip commute. Furthermore, it is not a strip down car. The leaf offers navigation, bluetooth, USB charger/mp3 player, keyless entry, app to view charging status, back-up camera, XM radio, and an interior feel of a entry level luxury car (I own a base model Leaf). Nevertheless, the leaf should not be your only car in my opinion. Charging stations are not very available (and I live in Los Angeles where stations are supposed to be more accessible), and even though the leaf is able to take care of 90% of my driving needs.... I still drive my gasoline-car on longer trips out of town... San Diego, San Francisco, etc...
Complaints: a second USB port would be nice, so I may charge my phone and play my mp3/USB music at the same time. You have to be mindful of your driving habits. As a rule I stay on eco-drive, which if you have a heavy foot like mine... it is best for battery charge conservation- On the freeway I stay between 55-65 mph.
I hope you find this review helpful.... I tried answering all the same questions I had when trying to decide if I should buy a Leaf.... I remember how frustrating it was trying to gather all details to help me decide if the Leaf was the car for me :)
Chez"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Welcome to the 21st Century!

April 27, 2012
By StellarRat
from Salem OR
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had my 2011 Leaf for a month now. It's my only vehicle. I admit that I REALLY had to think about whether or not to buy this car because of the range limitations, but after analyzing my driving habits, reading some reviews and information, and looking at how much my old car was costing me I decided to go for it. Since then I've had no regrets.
Let's talk about Leaf economics: So far I've spent a grand total of $4.25 for electricity to drive about 600+ miles. In my previous car I was spending $170 a month in gasoline and probably another $50 in maintenance (if you averaged it out per month.) In the NW (where I live) off-peak power is $.044 / kwh (I have time of use billing plan) and it's mostly generated by hydro and a various renewables (wind, etc...) So, as you can see it's saving me about $220 / month. In addition there is a $7500 Federal tax credit for this car.
Range anxiety, nope! I've taken this car to every family event, errand and work daily. Not a single problem with range or anything else. I don't use a 220v charger I just plug it in at night (the charger starts at 10 PM) to the 110v charger it comes with. That's gives me about 9+ hours of charge time per night. That is enough to bring it to at least 45%, but since it is rare to drive more than 40 miles per day for me, it's at full charge every morning. If I need to travel further there are charging stations all over the major cities here and a network of fast DC chargers are being installed on the major highways and in the "junction" cities around state. These bring the car to 80% charge in 1/2 hour. Look up the "Green Highway Project" for more about this and maps, etc... So, I'm trying to figure out why everyone is so negative on range with these cars. I've seen nothing but savings! And have had NO issues with range.
Finally, the car as, well, a car. Putting aside electric power stuff, this car is a match for any other compact to mid-size vehicle on the road. It's got plenty of space for four adults. Lots of cargo room. It rides nicely and is nearly silent at lower speeds. The acceleration is more than adequate, in fact I think it would have given my G35 coupe a run for the money up to 30 or 40 mph. It handles well. Steering is a bit mushy, but OK under normal conditions. The sound system is good. Accessories are near luxury car standards with nav, Carwings, steering wheel controls, etc... There are also some cool Carwings internet features and the ability to control/monitor some of the car functions from a cellphone or a desktop web browser.
Out of the six cars I've bought in my lifetime this is without a doubt, the happiest I've been with a new car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Real World

April 5, 2012
By Reality Check
from PA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Unless you live in the city and do not drive a lot this thing is for you. However, if you drive 50 mi to work and the same back, not counting being stuck in the traffic, you'll be towed few times. How dumb does the company have to be to make the car solely electric without having same time recharging capability as you drive. Technology is there. Next, what exactly are you paying $30k? Petro/diesel motor vehicle vs electric: electric is cheaper to make, no hydraulics, hoses, fluids, psi. So, buying the vihicle with 10-15k less in parts for 10-13K more then petro? - outrageous. You'll be better off with driving the corolla. Better reliability, long lasting. Yes, you have to fuel it and change fluids, however, it will be cheaper at the end."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-26points
4out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Predictable 2,000 miles a month without gasoline

March 14, 2012
By Brian Keez
from Fontana, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After driving the car for six months and putting over 13,000 miles on it, the car is excellent. A well planned-out electric vehicle that I get full use out of. The charging station location feature is great.
The remote climate control is needed and important.
Charging at home, over night is a wonderful change in lifestyle.
I needed extra cushion for my lower-back and elbow on the center arm-rest, which is my only negative on the interior, but I need those in my last car too. My last new car was a 350Z, so the I'm not into four-door hatchbacks, but all electric is an acceptable trade-off.
Performance off the line is excellent and there is more than enough power to merge onto the southern California hi-ways (fast). It's not a high performance car, but surpasses the typical economy car.
I constantly drive 2,000 miles per month, half of my fuel (electricity) is public and free-of-charge. The half that I pay has been about 400 kwh or $50 per month. So $50 per 1,000 miles without using the lower night rates because I just haven't bothered calling my electric company to change my rates. Full insurance coverage is less than $80/month.. I needed a new car and I would have had the same payment + $200 in gasoline, so the value is there.
Excellent car and I will never go back to a gasoline vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Leaf

January 23, 2012
By Sparky
from arizona
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Perfect Car for under 45 mile each way commutes. Gets 100 miles for about $1. Can't beat the economy of this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Never go back to gas

January 2, 2012
By Puppy Car
from OC, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Greatest buy I've ever made. The only star I reserved is that I think the cabin can be made bigger if Nissan is able to fully utilize the benefit of electric power train. There is still a lot of room under the hood. If some space can be moved to the passenger space, it will be perfect. there is no engine in the world can beat the comfort and the immediate response of electric motor. The car is in complete quiet even in full throttle. I love that the most."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than expected

December 26, 2011
By EV Early Adopter
from Denver, Colorado
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've wanted an EV for years and this car is the ticket. After 9000 miles, the best way to describe the experience is to say... Gas is so old fashioned. The Leaf is quick, quiet, and so very smooth. All the little things don't seem like much until you look back. The handling is nicely basic and low slung. Pre-heating and cooling on a timer or with an internet click. Always full when you want to go. No oil changes. $3.00 of electricity will move it about 150 miles. The perfect commuter."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

9 months of joy!

December 20, 2011
By Electric Car Enthusiast
from Ft.Worth, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned my Leaf for 9 months and have loved every minute of it. Just try to imagine how it feels to say "I have not purchased gasoline or had my oil changed in 9 months!"
Every morning I leave my garage with a "full tank" so to speak. Because I have a wall-mounted charger i the garage it only takes a few seconds to plug the Leaf in every evening when I get home from work. The "range anxiety" that people talk about will disappear in a few weeks of driving the car. As long as you can charge at home every day and as long as you drive less than 40-50 miles per day, you'll probably never even give it a thought.
I believe a lot of people over-estimate the distances they drive. I have experimented and asked people at work questions like "how far is it to the Mall?" Many people replied with answers ranging from 10 to 20 miles. In reality, it is 6 miles. So when you finally start to understand how far things really are (or aren't) then the range of the Leaf suddenly looks a lot longer.
I have let about 20 people drive my car over the last 9 months. Every single one has been surprised, if not blown away, by the acceleration of the vehicle. It exceeds all expectations. I've even been challenged at a few traffic lights and won.
I'm not big into being "green." I mean, I'm not against it, but it was certainly not my motivating factor in my purchase. I love the high-tech feel of the car. It really does feel like a car of the 21st century. I also love the money I save on gasoline, and the convenience of being able to fill up at home.
Once you own a Leaf for a month or so, you'll discover something odd when you ride with friends in their gasoline cars. You'll realize for the first time how smelly they are, how much they vibrate, and how noisy they are. The best analogy I can think of are smokers. I've been told by people who quite smoking after several years that once exposed to cigarette smoke again they will suddenly realize for the first time how stinky it is. So now when I ride in a friends' gasoline car I really feel like I might as well be riding in a steam-powered car or some other obsolete technology."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An amazing car

November 24, 2011
By T. Gordi
from San Carlos, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We have owned a Leaf since July 2011 and we love it! It drives very nice, always ready to jump on your command. It is very quiet.
By owning this car, I don't sponsor governments I don't like, keeping the "gas" money in the country. I don't pollute the air (have solar panels creating the electricity that drives the car). And we enjoy driving the car. Thank you Nissan, you did a fantastic job!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car

October 20, 2011
By Arizona Leaf Owner
from Phoenix, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"No gas, what more can I say? Plenty. It's got great performance, not as good as other cars I've owned but still pretty snappy off the line. A/C works great even in the 115+ Arizona heat. My range is only about 60 miles between charges since I go 75 on the freeway with the A/C on. If I go slower, like 70, I'll get more like 70 miles between charges. Very easy to plug and unplug, about 10 seconds or less each time. Not a fan of the white interior but it hasn't shown any dirt yet. My wife says this is the happiest I've even been about a car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2011_Nissan_Leaf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great that happens to be electric

October 20, 2011
By Techno-Daddy
from Phoenix, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a superb car. Styling is good, comfort great, amenities like full navigation system, Bluetooth, XM radio, rear-view camera, etc. And you can't beat the cost per mile. My costs have been running at 1 to 2 cents per mile for fueling. Which I do at night, in my garage.
Of course, the range is limited. Only 60 to 70 miles at highway speeds and 100 to 120 in city driving. But that is exactly what I wanted and expected.
Oh, and did I forget to mention performance? I can beat most sports cars off the line because of the zero torque aspect of an electric. True, I do top out at 90 mph. But I am not doing that anyway."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.