Customer Reviews for 2011_Subaru_Impreza

2011_Subaru_Impreza

Average Customer Rating:
4.741 of 5
4.7
 of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 of 27(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Review 1 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Snow machine

July 24, 2013
By wheel man
from Vernon, NJ
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is my first subaru, and I've been driving it for almost 2 years. The only issue so far has been needing to replace the battery. The gas mileage has been a bit dissapointing. About 24 with mixed city/highway. I can get it up to 32 on the highway with the cruise set to 62, so its not terrible, but for its size its a little low. This is understandable because of the full time awd.
The Bad: The road feel is not good. The steering feels a bit loose, and the car exhibits some sway during turns. It handles twisty roads excellently because of the awd, but the suspension could be a little tighter. You would think with this loose suspension that it would soak up bumps in the road, but it doesn't. Overall, the suspension just feels cheap. A lot of this could be the cheap tires too, however. I still have stock tires, so time will tell with that. Overall, coming from Hondas, this subaru just doesn't feel as solid and tight.
The Good: It's absurd how well this car handles in the snow. The first time I drove it in the snow, I knew why they sell so well in the northeast and northwest. It runs circles around 4wd pickup trucks in the snow. The awd system is far superior to any other car, and combined with its low center of mass, its winter handling is unreal. While driving on snow, the car does slide, but the sliding is completely predictable and always under control. Going down a slippery hill, you can put it in sport mode and manually shift the auto trans. This allows you to slow the car using the engine instead of the brakes, keeping the car firmly planted on the road. This is all with the stock tires. With a good set of winter tires, the only thing limiting the depth of snow you can drive through is the car's height. Even with the stock tires, I can get through snow banks several inches over the bumper with no effort. Driving in rain is also a huge safety plus for the subaru. It stays planted firmly. You'd have to be going awefully fast or have bald tires to hydroplane with this car.
Overall, If I lived in a place with no snow and little rain, it'd be difficult to justify the impreza over a civic. The civic is more refined, gets better gas mileage, is smoother, quieter, feels more solid, and is cheaper. However, if you live in snow country, or even a place that gets a lot of rain, its tough to beat the impreza."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WRX Premium

May 14, 2012
By WRX Owner
from Dallas, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought the vehicle certified pre-owned. Everything has worked perfectly and as expected. Gas mileage, coupled with the need for premium fuel and small gas tank means you will visit the gas station frequently. It's a trade-off for the performance and looks you will get from other drivers."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent AWD Value

May 12, 2012
By Subaru Fan
from Indianapolis, IN.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I own the 2011 Subaru Impreza Premium. Completely trouble free. Excellent handling with AWD. Great mileage, around 25 MPG in heavy rush hour traffic. Size and versatility are perfect for the city. Would highly recommend this vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical and Fun in One

January 30, 2012
By Mrs. L
from Pittsburgh, PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We puchased the car about 1.5 months ago, and have put about 1500 miles on it. Most are city driving miles, but also pulled a longer trip in it. The car drives almost like a zippy sports car, and so it can get a little loud, but for the AWD, you can't beat it. The world needs more sedans with AWD, especially when you live in the Northeast and utilize on street parking. The extra money spent on a cold weather package was 100% well spent...heated mirrors and seats are perfect for cold snowing mornings. The interior styling exceeds expectations for comps in the same the price range. I asked my husband for something to gripe about, and he said "Sure, we only have one Impreza"."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best car for the money

January 11, 2012
By car enthusiast
from canada
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Solid, great handling, safe awd car for a good price. The Impreza has a personality.I have owned many vehicles but found the Impreza a delight to drive, gives me confidence on the road, whether it be windy or blowing snow I trust this car to get me there, unlike some small awd suv's that feel like there ready to tip over."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Three-time Impreza owner

January 5, 2012
By benh82
from Hatley, WI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Impreza does just about everything you ask it to. It's extremely reliable, has amazing traction even with all-season tires, the interior is well thought out although a bit utilitarian, the engine has a good amount of torque (but becomes winded on the top end), and fits a decent amount of people and/or stuff when asked. Over the years though (starting with the 2008 model year), the Impreza lineup has lost some of it's sporting nature. The newer chassis, while a bit more forgiving and comfortable, is soft and with pronounce body roll that sometimes resembles a boat on a windy day. I wish that the creators of the Impreza line had a bit more of the "zoom zoom" mentality when determining how the car was going to look and feel to the end user (being sporty w/ out the penalties of an all out street racer). However, since I've purchased three of these vehicles in a row now, I suppose that they perform "good enough". With that being said, my next vehicle will probably be something a bit sportier (ie. WRX) if I can afford it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great First Car-Most bang for buck car out there!

October 27, 2011
By Subaru Lover
from Santa Clara, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had the car since I was a senior in highschool until current and I put 12,000miles on it (got it when their was 8 miles on it). Overall this car is great, definitely recommend getting the hatchback as it offers a little more trunk space. So far I have added aftermarket swaybars, mudflaps, tinted the windows, and everything is relatively cheap to upgrade. The interior is made of Alcantara which is like fake suede but I prefer it over leather since it does not get majorly hot or cold during certain times of the year. Great in snow when you need it to be considering it has the reliability of subaru's 4 wheel drive system. Also for a daily driver it is perfect. The suspension is soft enough so you can go over bumps with no worry of ground clearance, however I highly recommend getting swaybars as the car does not have a rear one! The A/C works great however you do lose quite a bit of power when you turn it on so I just roll down the windows. As for power, this car can be "peppy" when you need it to be by downshifting (I have a manual) but other than that do not be expecting a huge performace out of this engine. If you want more of sports car from subaru get the WRX or STI model's but be prepared to spend some more money. As for accessories you can have just about anything available from the dealership or even purchase an aftermarket item on your own. I mountain bike and snowboard so I got the optional roof rack base so I could get various attatchments for my bike/snowboard. I love this car so much that I will be a subaru fan forver haha. Although I may be upgrading to a WRX in the near future just because I personally want a little more power hah.
Hope this helps anyone looking to get a 2.5i or any other subaru!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best new car i've bought so far

October 6, 2011
By sunshine
from utica
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i love my car. gas mileage and performance you can't beat. was getting 32 miles per gallon traveling on thruway, city 27. getting lots of comments, seeing more people buying the impreza sport!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car for a new driver

October 4, 2011
By KSanta
from annapolis, md
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this car for beginner to learn on, and it's been perfect. Nimble without being overpowered, sized to make learning to park easy, and the super-safe construction and AWD help me, the mom, relax (a little!) while in the passenger seat.
Only complaints: Skip the Tom Tom, the design of the install makes it nearly impossible to see during daylight, and the navigation/hands free phone package was a waste. There is no hands free phone when the navigation is installed. you'd be better off going for just the hands free phone (and test it out to make sure it really works)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2011 Impreza

September 26, 2011
By Danishlady
from Binghamton, NY area
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Do not like the black trico uphlstery. Its like a velcro lint catsher.
Gas mileage is getting better and better. Really like that.!!
Handles great. Hugs the road on curves. Anxious to see how it does in the snow this winter.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2011 Impreza 2.5i

September 23, 2011
By GazouTG
from Quebec,QC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had this car for a year now.
I live in a snowy country, drive fine where even some AWD SUV get stuck.
Performance is excellent for commuting needs and have enough power to have a little extra fun.
Fuel consumption is good for a vehicle where 25% power go to each wheel (around 10-12Liters/100km city and and 7-8 on road)
Comfort is good, the seat is adjustable in height and can go back enough for the comfort of tall peopple like me. The only downside on comfort is the right armrest, its too low and/or not cushionned enough.
The USB andthe audio 1/8 plugs are hidden inside the armrest, there's no visible cables so you can leave your Ipod plugged without fear of comming back with a broken windows and your belonging gone. The Ipod can be controled directly from the radio or wheel.
The bluetooth connectivity is fine for receiving calls but uploading contacts is a long process since the contacts have to be entered one by one even via bluetooth (cant send them all via bluetooth at the same time)
Overall an excellent choice for everyday uses. I recommend the 2.5i to anyone. In my opinion, only the high acceleration and power fanatics should get the WRX or the STI."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wow

August 19, 2011
By bullyboy
from Raleigh, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
""A grown man should not love an inanimate object this much."
I debated quite a while about trading my 2007 WRX TR sedan in for a 2011 WRX 5-door. The main reason was that I needed interior space for my carbon triathlon bike and snowboards (I didn't want to strap them to the roof). After three months, all I have to say is that it was one of the best decisions I have made in quite some time.
The interior: rear volume is amble/ perfect for hauling gear, the design is clean and simple (as it should be in a sports car), road noise is minimal even at highway speeds, front cabin volume is very comfortable such that two larger adults will not feel like they are shoulder to shoulder.
The performance/ handling: the 5 speed gearing is perfect (in the ‘07 I use to hover between 3rd and 4th doing 45mph - now I am solidly in 3rd and don’t need 4th until close to 55mph), the wider stance is a lot more fun in corners and turns, the stock exhaust sounds great and NOT like your grandmother’s Subaru. The WRX moves like a jack rabbit being chased by a pack of wolves… a calm confidence knowing that it will see tomorrow.
My only issue with the WRX is the inability to get the All Weather Package and Leather Seats in the base model trim. These options are only available in the Premium and Limited trims (which also come with a sun roof as standard equipment). I have no use for a sun roof (temps/ weather/ pollen in the Mid-Atlantic region make them unusable for all but about two months of the year) plus being over six feet tall I find they tend to consume to much head room."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

solid vehicle

June 29, 2011
By practical driver
from Northern CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We purchased a base Impreza sedan with a 5 speed, and it has plenty of power, handles well, is very solid and gets good mileage with the manual. My only significant complaint is the small trunk, which is apparently corrected in the 2012."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing car!

June 18, 2011
By Subaru convert
from Portland, OR
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I really love my new impreza! I got the 2.5i premium with the all winter package so it has almost everything I could ask for! The only thing I wish it did was keep the electronics on after the car is off, until you open the door.
I get way better gas milage than what the estimate is! I get about 30-33 hwy and 24ish in the city!!!
Overall I couldn't be happier because it has great handling, safety, gas milage, and electronic features!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not bad for a commuter car

May 5, 2011
By Dragulias
from Denver, CO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have a white sedan 2.5i premium w / manual trans. and nav
I got a good deal on this car, I live in Colorado and commute so having AWD was the determining factor. The MPG isn't terrible on the freeways, interior is pseudo classy albeit very spartan. Definitely a better car with a manual transmission as opposed to the aged 4-speed. All in all i haven't had any problems and it isn't too hard on the eyes. Good car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Car!

April 30, 2011
By Subaru Enthusiast
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned Subaru's for years and have always been a fan. I was stupid enough to trade down to a Jeep and will never do it again. This car turns on no matter how cold in the winter and goes through every environment that I put it through. The only thing that I am not satisfied with is if you have the slightest amount of condensation in the car (say rain drops getting in while getting in or out during a storm) and if it gets cold enough at night, the inside of the windows ice up. Other than that, great deal!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the 'Baru

April 10, 2011
By Sammy
from Chicago,il
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first Subaru, while shopping looked at all the FWD hatches. The impreza premium gives you everything. The only thing it was missing was leather and power seats. But for less then 19k what more can you ask for. Some of the options that came with mine that I love Bluetooth hands free,moonroof, heated seats, heated mirrors, heated windshield wipers, fog lights. The radio needs to be a little louder though, was kinda not happy about that. I traded in a 07 mustang for it and found the impreza much more fun to drive. And wish it was an option for leather seats. I suppose they could of put leather in it aftermarket, but didnt want to spend that much on a second car. But will buy Subaru again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Kick the Tires!

March 19, 2011
By Grover73
from Pennsylvania
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I'm writing this as a 2011 even though I own a 2009 to warn you to check the warranty on the tires.(There isn't any) This fact is becoming painfully clear as I'm having to replace all of the original Bridgestone Potenza tires with less than 19,000 miles. Figure another thousand for tires in the first two years you own the car. Other than that it's a good little car that goes great in the snow. A middle arm rest would have been nice and you pay a penalty in trunk space for the AWD."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-8points
2out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great All Around Vehicle

February 28, 2011
By AP
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good Bang For The Buck... Brakes could be a little batter, handling a little better(found in the sti model) all around great car, fun to drive. Other cars Ive owned M3, S4, SRT4, 3000GtVR4"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2011_Subaru_Impreza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2nd Subaru

February 28, 2011
By Big AL
from Arlington, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got a 1993 Subaru Impreza for my 16th birthday and have been driving it ever since. I just purchased the 2011 Impreza and I couldn't be happier. The new Impreza is like a grown up version of my old one. Handles really well and standard all wheel drive can't be beat. The styling of the car is fairly basic but as with all Subarus there are several neat features. I purchased the all weather package which includes heated seats, moon roof, fog lights and my favorite; heated panels on the wheel shield that defrost the wipers."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.