Customer Reviews for 2011_Toyota_Prius

2011_Toyota_Prius

Average Customer Rating:
4.627 of 5
4.6
 of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
63 of 67(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Review 1 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value

July 29, 2014
By The Warrior Priest
from Pearland, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2011 Prius at Motor Trends in Alvin, Texas. The price was great, and the service (given by salesman Ronell Ram) was great too. Oh, and did I mention that the car is terrific as well? The interior stying is terrific, and the fuel economy, of course, can't be beat unless you buy an all-electric. I heartily recommend this car, as well as Motor Trends and Mr. Ram."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bought 2011 five used, disappointing fuel economy

June 24, 2014
By Espy
from Damascus, Oregon
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a 2011 Prius Five trim level, not the v wagon. It averages 45 mpg and I drive in town most of the time. The leather interior is awesome and supportive. I also drove a Prius Two 2014, and the difference is amazing. Not only is the two much more noisy from road noise, it is also uncomfortable. The interior on the two is cheap and the seats are covered in a bad felt cloth with cheap, thin padding. If you want a quiet and comfortable ride, get the higher trim level. If you buy used, you'll save money too. I love everything about the car, the handling, steering, acceleration and solid braking. I just can't figure out why I don't get the mpg I expected."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable and Efficient

May 23, 2014
By commuting in Denver
from Denver, Colorado
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Our 2011 black Prius 2 is a fantastic vehicle, with only a few shortcomings.
Pros: We are getting 50.1 MPG. The car has had zero reliability issues in 3 years. It is zippy and somewhat fun to drive around town in. The rear-seat legroom is pretty good. And the trunk space is good comsidering it is a passanger vehicle
Cons: the front seats are uncomfortable for more than 1 hour because the seats lack support near the lower back. The interior feel is cheap af best. The radio is absolutely terrible on the 2nd to base level model. The rear seat is low. There is no standard backup camera and the spolier in the back inhibits rear visibility.
Conclusion: this car is mind-blowingly efficient, cheap to own and run, and can be fun to nip around town in!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very happy Toyota Owner

May 11, 2014
By phreadd
from Orange County California
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am very satisfied with my decision to purchase this car. It is all that I expected it to be. I'm getting 47MPG and the car handles very well a nd id quite comfortable. After owning this car for one month now my only regret is that I didn't buy a new one"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quite satisfied with buy

February 14, 2014
By Nmichdad
from Northern Michigan
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Overall I'm quite pleased with this vehicle. The Prius is the first hybrid I've owned. The fuel economy is outstanding...costing me about $30 to fill at the neighborhood gas station. The instrument cluster was easy to learn dispite being rather unorthodox compared with other vehicles. Two things that the driver lacks are that the steering wheel does not telescope far enough back & the arm rests are too low. The interior is roomy for the size of the car. I would recommend this vehicle for a reliable, cost efficient way to traverse from point A to B. The Prius drives through snow quite well here in Michigan; traction is good."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

fishy deal

November 10, 2013
By chris
from GARDEN GROVE
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I read the car description so far so good, till I ran into tha ads add : "cash only", this car with its' low mileage and clean as they claimed , it should be cash or financed, and yet, they want cash only, that indicates this car is a salvage title, as banks will not finance any branded titles.
I was going to go there to see this car for my son, but 'cash only" raise some fishy and red flag there.IMO
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

futuristic

October 14, 2013
By anti gas hog
from lebanon , oh
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The 2011 prius is a very odd looking car on the inside and very normal on the out. By far the weirdest car I've ever driven. Push button start is a new one for me. Gear shifter looks like a video game controller. When your done driving you hit a button labeled "P" to put in in park. Solar panel on the roof with the interior fan running on a hot sunny day.
It shuts itself off at every stoplight. When you put it in reverse it beeps like a tow motor or moving van. But once you get used to all these things it has more pep than I expected and so far I'm averaging 53.8 mpg on the first 3 tanks of gas.... I love that
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

58 MPG

July 12, 2013
By new Club Prius Member
from Ellicott City, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Since I got my prius I have averaged 58 MPG. Even got 60 MPG on one trip! I have had it for less than 1 month and already put 3500 miles on it. It's well on its way to paying for itself!
Only thing I don't like is how low the front end is.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Fuel Economy!

May 31, 2013
By Work commuter
from Gulf Shores, AL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I drive 60 miles a day to work round trip. I had a jeep grand Cherokee with a v8. I was spending $60-75 per week to fill up. Now with the Prius, I fill up every 1.5 -2 weeks depending on my work schedule. And it's typically $25!!!!
I do miss my power and get up and go of the jeep but I feel like I made an Eco-friendly and economically smart decision with my purchase. It doesn't matter what it looks like, fuel economy is the new cool. And my friends, family, and neighbors are taking notice.
We recently traded down from a pricey diesel Chevy truck to a Toyota Tacoma v6 as well. We feel we are making quality choices and trust toyota products for longevity.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car - does what is is supposed to do

May 26, 2013
By William
from Hickory, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this Pius used with 14,000 miles on it and have driven about 2000 miles with MPG a little past 50. For the size car it is, the road trip was comfortable enough and it keep up with traffic as well. Takes a little getting used to driving if you want to max out MPG but can be driven like any car. Well made and sophisticated technology at work,. Toyota was the first with the hybrid and they have perfected it over the years."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsom Car

November 16, 2012
By Bama Fan
from MS.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Our Prius is the mid-range model, and does not have all the bells and gadgets, however, as far as doing what they say, ave 48-50 mpg, I can't say enough.
It has a 1.8ltr motor, and is a little slow on take off, it is great once you get it out on the open highway. It takes a little getting used to being that it is not like most cars, but, otherwise, it is a great car, has good room inside, it can go 10,000 miles between oil change, which helps even more on saving you money.
Now, instead of spending $40 or $50 to fill up, we spend about $20 or $30, that's with it almost empty. Our other car was a 2010 Milan, and it got ok milage, but, would cost $40 before it was got to a 1/4 of a tank.
If we could have gotten one of the high end ones, with the gps, etc on it, it would have been nice. But, without the frills, it is a super car. Just wish we had gotten one years ago.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chose the Model/Accessories Carefully

November 11, 2012
By CaliforniaBear
from Northern California
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What I like about the Prius Three:
1) I love the technology.
2) Learning the techniques to improve mileage and matching them with my driving style.
3) Getting a free ride in Glide or somewhat inexpensive ride in EV. I used to sail, wind driving the boat, no motor.
4) Using less petroleum for all the well known reasons.
5) No cost saving calculations, I could afford the car or the gas, I just love the car.
What I am not happy about:
I have the Prius Three, I probably should have gone with the Two. The navigation system has a poor display and limited features. Its fine for getting from point A to point B but forget multiple points or being able to use the display to find your next turn if you aren't on a Route. You have to have one of a few specific smartphones to use the Entune Apps and those Apps get poor reviews. However, I do love the SiriusXM radio.
Overall:
Its a wonderful vehicle just be sure you are paying for a model with the accessories you really want.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best value, cheapest ride

September 11, 2012
By pennypincher
from Wilmington, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Wjhat's not to love about a Prius? I get over 52 mpg (combined highway and city), and I find the car very comfortable (I'm 6'2'') and with plenty of leg room."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best and most reliable car youcan buy

August 30, 2012
By Boomer1
from cicero,Il
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Simply the best car for the money.55+ mph most of the time. Roomy, can hold passengers plus 300# owner"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Pruis

July 3, 2012
By Davideo
from Clinton,CT.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this car ....I am retired but work 2 p/time jobs driving people to doctors - shopping - etc - my yearly driving is 25-35,000 miles so I spend a lot of my time in my car. I purchased my 1st. pruis in 2010 and averaged 50 mpg after putting on 50,000 trouble free miles I traded it for my 2011 and this pruis is better on gas than my 2010 - I now average 53.1 mpg and have put on 11,000 miles in just 4 1/2 months. I can seat 5 people - have plenty of headroom, and when the rear seat is folded down have a lot of cargo space...This in my opinion is a no brainer for any one looking for a car that is dependable, comfortable, and super great on gas -"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

best combination

June 5, 2012
By 717 Capt
from Atlanta
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Best bang for the buck. Toyota reliability with hybrid economy. All the safety features you need. Best color combination barcelona red with biskay interior. Love the sun roof. No issues as of yet."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very Uncomfortable

May 8, 2012
By Prius owner
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I love the gas mileage but this is the most uncomfortable car I have ever been in. I have a 40 minute commute and I can't wait to get out of the car when I arrive. The drivers seat doesn't have enough adjustments. The seat bottom angles down too much and I feel like I'm sitting in a hole. I would not recommend this car if you prefer to be comfortable while driving."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best MPG on the road

May 8, 2012
By SUV turned hybrid driver
from SC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I went from driving a midsized SUV to a Prius and have never looked back. The main reason I switched was the MPG. The Prius is roomier that I previously thought as well. I average in the mid-40's mpg around town and between 50-60 on the highway depending on speed. Driving at 60 mph = about 60 mpg!!!
As of about 3 months ago, I swore I would never drive a Prius and detested anyone who did. Then I test drove one at my local dealership and that changed my mind on the spot.
I opted for the Prius 5 which has leather, heated seats, navigation, bluetooth, and HID headlights. All of the technology works great and I am very pleased with the car overall. The seats are much more comfortable that I expected, especially on long trips. I was expecting to have to put a subwoofer in to make the speakers sound better but with the JBL system that came with the 5, I didn't need to change a thing!! That was a pleasant surprise.
There is ample storage with the seats folded down for most the majority of my uses. I'm sure moving is going to be tougher when that rolls around but I'll figure something out. The only downside to switching from a SUV to a car is losing the towing ability. The fit and finish on the Prius is impressive. It drives incredibly smooth and quiet on the highway and is a very comfortable car (I'm 6' 5").
Fill ups run between $32-35 depending on the price of gas. Right now its around $3.50 and a tank will get me about 500 miles!
Switching from a traditional gas powered car to a hybrid takes time to learn the system and how to achieve the best MPG. Taking off quickly from stop lights is no longer an option, and it takes time to pass cars on the highway. Having accepted that, I remind myself that I'm saving a ton of money on gas and I feel better.
I would highly recommend at least driving a Prius before your next purchase, even if you have never considered one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Twice as good!

May 2, 2012
By laynetc
from Camas, WA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Well, my wife was in an accident and her Mazda 3 was totaled. So we shopped used, and then hit the lots and were about to purchase a Scion xD. We both drive a lot and have four kids, so we do lots of running here and there. We drove my nitro in to the lot. We spent nearly two hours looking at used cars. Then for fun we sat in the Prius -- WOW! Fantastic. Solid. MPG is off the charts. After crunching the math, my wife looks at me annd says, "Well, do YOU want a new car?" We figured we would save quite a bit with two. And that is what we did. First time I have been happy about a car purchase. I might be going crazy, but it feels like it has been worth it. And passing up gas stations has never been so cool. I will only give mine up for a plug in once the price comes down a bit. But that is it for me -- the Prius is the way to go."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2011_Toyota_Prius
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bestcarever

May 1, 2012
By Amanda B. Green
from St Paul, mn
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought it after mine was totaled. Love the reliability and consistently high gas mileage.
Would recommend to everyone.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.