Customer Reviews for 2011_Toyota_Yaris

2011_Toyota_Yaris

Average Customer Rating:
4.2 of 5
4.2
 of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 of 10(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2011_Toyota_Yaris
Review 1 for 2011_Toyota_Yaris
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Peppy cute car

May 7, 2012
By Saving money on gas
from Athens, Ga
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I own a Tacoma and commute to work so my gas bill was high. I bought the car and still save money with the gas prices. It" has plenty of go" to get out of the way when accessing the highway. Only drawback is it's a little noisy. Road noise. I just turn up the radio."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2011_Toyota_Yaris
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2011 Toyota Yaris

February 13, 2012
By OldGuy
from Durham, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car as a commuter car. My daily drive is about 65 miles, round trip, including some city and some interstate driving. The model I have has an automatic transmission. The average fuel economy has been averaging right around 36 mpg. It is very small, so the wind does push it around some. For such a small car, it is surprisingly roomy and comfortable. It has a nice sound system (and is ready for satellite radio, if you want it).
The only change I'd really like is a cruise control. It does not come with one, cruise is not offered as an option, and the dealership will not install one (although they told me that I could have someone else do so).
All-in-all, I really like the Yaris and would buy it again.
Regarding reliability, I gave it 5 stars but have only owned the car for two months. No problems so far.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2011_Toyota_Yaris
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Dude, who moved my speedometer?

December 31, 2011
By Rad Farher
from East Coast US
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've driven a 2011 Yaris for a while as a long-term business rental rather than an owner. So far it's been a mixed bag.
<br>
Pros: Good mileage, an excellent seating position for a midsize driver, comfortable seats for its price class, solid road feel, a powerful heater, intuitive climate controls, and very good low-speed acceleration. Its size makes it easy to park (most of the time - see Cons) and it's very maneuverable on winding roads.
<br>
Cons: The car has a number of design negatives that could have been avoided without affecting its cost. Visibility is impaired by thick C pillars and wide door frames, though not so badly as on many other cars. The "bullnose" front end that Toyota has adopted for all of its sedans is pretentiously macho for an economy car but more importantly makes it difficult to judge clearances in tight parking spaces. The driver's side cupholder is very poorly placed and requires reaching behind both the steering wheel and light stalk which could be a danger when driving. But the single largest negative is the bizarre instrument cluster located in the center of the dash with the speedometer actually positioned closer to the passenger's field of vision than the driver's. Checking gauges requires the driver to take their eyes off the road rather than simply glancing down. The 2012 models have been redesigned to use a conventional layout, but in my opinion the cluster placement on earlier Yarises (Yarii?) is sufficiently hazardous that I would not recommend the car.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2011_Toyota_Yaris
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A little car with a whole lotta room

October 21, 2011
By AintDeadYet
from South Coastal Georgia
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Our 2011 Toyota Yaris gets used for everything, from commuter trips to long-distance family vacations, grocery shopping to bringing home plants from the garden center. The 5-door hatchback design and fold-down back seat make a sizeable space, so I can manage shrubs and even small trees. The hatch is easy to tie down if I have to extend something out the back.
We've taken five- and six-hour drives in the Yaris and have been just as comfortable as we would have been in my somewhat larger Subaru, while using about half the gas.
My daughter is 5' 0" short, and she likes the centered speedometer console so she can see out over the dash.
Toyota has the best warranties and service in the business. Our dealership is always a pleasure to deal with.
And it is THE cutest car we've ever owned!
Even in this small, inexpensive car the interior is right up to Toyota quality standards, unlike some of the "economical" models we looked at. No rattles or squeeks.
We highly recommend this car to budget-conscious individuals and small families, especially those who live in flat places. The Yaris does have some problems with underperformance on hills."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2011_Toyota_Yaris
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Yaris, it's for everyone!

September 28, 2011
By Commuter Vehicle Man
from Orlando, Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I put 175k miles on my focus and went to look for a replacement that was around 14,500$. The Focus's are now so over priced and uncomfortable that I looked elsewhere and found the Yaris. I am 6'2" 240lbs and cannot complain about the room the Yaris provides me and my passengers. It's engineering is well thought out. Like when we go grocery shopping and I need more trunk space, we flip two switches and both rear seats slide forward or fold down providing all the carrying capacity we need. The center instrument panel is futuristic and took a little getting used to but is easy to adapt to. I am ecstatic about the 40 Mpg and although it doesn't pack a huge engine it is very adequate for commuting."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2011_Toyota_Yaris
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rating my new Yaris

September 26, 2011
By Susan from RI
from Tiverton, Rhode Island
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is fun to drive, easy to park, great visibility and gas mileage. Very comfortable, love the hatchback for carry groceries,"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2011_Toyota_Yaris
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Small weird car

August 21, 2011
By RedFlame
from New Orleans
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Very odd set up with center cluster and cup holders in front of AC vents. Smaller than my VW superbug. That said for a small cheap car-good performance, handling and mileage. Wonder about LT reliability as fit and finish have a fair amount of rattle. Maybe a good runabout."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2011_Toyota_Yaris
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

tank

March 3, 2011
By dpow
from eastern oh
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this vehicle has taken me,my friends everyone where we wanted to go. drove 6.5 hrs straigh at 72 miles an hour never stopped for gas car is a tank good with high rpms wish it was bigger but the milage and reliability is awesome"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2011_Toyota_Yaris
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

February 28, 2011
By Chuck
from Washington
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Surprising little car for the money!
What can I say about the quality
After all, it is a Toyota.
Have a look at the reliability ratings
For yourself.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2011_Toyota_Yaris
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Never again

February 24, 2011
By Mama
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"After owning this car 3 years, all the electronics started to break down. First, the CD changer jammed so I thought it was just the heat, understandable. A few weeks later, the dash refused to light up when I turned on the headlights. A week after that, 2 window mtors died and the air conditioner froze up. 3 weeks later, I traded it in for a Honda."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-15points
5out of 25found this review helpful.