Customer Reviews for 2011_BMW_X5

2011_BMW_X5

Average Customer Rating:
4.042 of 5
4
 of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
17 of 24(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2011_BMW_X5
Review 1 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

X5 is extra special

September 23, 2014
By Brian Cherry
from Golden Valley (Minneapolis), MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The BMW X5 is a fabulous vehicle! The high quality is apparent throughout with thoughtful touches and wonderful attention to detail. Since little things mean a lot, the little details such as large map pockets and a glove box that angles upward that can be easily reached and opened by the driver provide easy access to items such as sunglasses. Also, the rear hatch with a small lower section keeps things from falling out when unloading at an angle such as on a boat launch ramp or when unloading scuba tank when backed down to the beach. In addition, the BMW rear vision backup camera is superb, and it provides a sort of night vision much better than I anticipated. The 300 horsepower turbocharged six cylinder engine is smooth, and my X5 gets 25 miles per gallon while on cruise control on the highway, although the mileage is less in stop and go traffic. Since the BMW has a rated payload capacity of 1,290 pounds and a towing capacity of 6,000 pounds, it is able to handle most towing assignments and is great for hauling people and gear such as scuba equipment!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Always at the shop, very unreliable for the price

January 7, 2014
By Momof 2
from League City , Texas
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This car performs well when it does work. However, since I purchased it in 2010, it's been in the shop more than on the road. A couple of days after buying it, the car just lost power while pulling in to a shopping center. I had to wait a few minutes before I was able to restart it. Then at 800 miles, I had to add a quart of oil. Then after that, it's been a routine quart of oil every 3000 miles. I was told by dealership that it was normal to add a quart of oil since it's a "high performance" vehicle. I took it to a couple of mechanics and I was told that it isn't normal to add a quart every 3000 miles!! There is something wrong with the engine if it continues to require adding a quart of oil. A few months later, the engine emission lights came on and they had to replace the emission pump. Then, my engine completely burst while entering the freeway, which eventually had the truck in service for almost 2 1/2 months while I waited for the dealership to replace the engine. Not only was it an inconvenience, the dealership also required me to return the loaner every 3 days!!! What a bunch of crock! By the way, after the engine was replaced, the problems with adding a quart of oil stopped!! I would usually see the oil gauge at 50% by 1500 miles and by close to 3000 miles that's when I have to add a quart of oil. Then a month later, the battery died at 35,000 miles. After a month, the water pump broke on Christmas Eve, which then had to be replaced. I was told by my service advisor, that it doesn't matter what car I buy, if it's built by humans it is prone to have problems....What??? Problems!! I call it a complete failure. Not only does the truck unreliable but the place I bought the vehicle is also unreliable with their loaner cars. BMW calls their vehicle "The Ultimate Driving Experience". After what I've been through, I call it the ultimate broken down experience!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST PRICE, GREAT SERVICE!!!!

November 22, 2013
By DAVE COCHRANE
from SUGAR LAND
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I DROVE ALL TH WAY FROM SUGAR LAND,TX FOR MY NEW X5 TWIN TURBO, MY TRUCK IS FAST AND SO WAS THE SERVICE AT PASSPORT MOTORS.
THANK YOU ROSY & ARTHUR!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

X5 Diesel

October 22, 2013
By Jay
from Michigan
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased a 2011 diesel and would not buy another one. The exhaust system, and diesel exhaust fluid system are very problematic. It started at around 30,000 miles with a smell of exhaust in the cabin when starting in cold weather. It would go away shortly after, and the dealer checked it out, but nothing found. At 55,000 miles, it really started going. Dealer cleaned the exhaust filter at cost of 400. Engine light came on and it went back for repairs. They then replaced the exhaust fluid reservoir and heater at a cost of 1,300. Now at 60,000 miles the level of exhaust in the cabin in dangerously high. It went back in, and the dealer says there are leaks in the exhaust system at the engine, and the cost will be around 1,100. Some of these things have been recalled for the exact issues, same model and year, but the recall, doesn't include my vin number. Before you buy a diesel, do a google search on "x5 exhaust in cabin". Then, don't buy one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty nice overall

October 16, 2013
By oldman12
from Washington DC
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Cons... a rattle in the back that is killing me. Brake dust (typical BMW) is rediculous! Headlights are not as bright as my 535i but its not bad. Its a BMW (my 9th, its querky, I accept it)
Pros... Many! Styling is very nice if you ask me. I have everything option expection heads up display so with the 20inch wheels and wide fender flares/step boards, it looks better than most X5's on the road. Performance is very good considering it gets 22mpg overall. It is quite roomy and steering and brake feel are excellent. Mine is tuned with over 500ft tq. so power is always there and I'm pretty sure it would surprise the twin turbo six if it wasnt modded as well. I have free maintence until 100k miles which is great but the OEM brake pads are killing me. I have recommended this truck to someone before I bought it (couldnt afford it new) and they love and to someone after I bought, and they too love it. It has a good resale value and I expect it to stay that way. Can't go wrong."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolute Fun

August 31, 2013
By TN Tarheel
from Johnson City, TN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Beautiful styling. Great power with the V8 twin turbo 400 horsepower engine. Very moth automatic transmission."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great deal on X5 diesel

January 23, 2013
By BMWMan
from Louisville, KY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car certified-used from local BMW dealer - price was well below anything else within 300 miles, and it had half the mileage (<9K miles). I only drive BMWs, we traded an 02 X5 - I am biased toward BMWs because I am used to the way they drive, handle, and perform, and I know where everything is and how it works, and there is no better service experience in my opinion. Having said that, be sure you get warranties, including maintenance, because they are EXPENSIVE to work on. Fortunately mine have never been any major trouble. But even the routine stuff is very pricey, so get the maintenance warranty. The car is immaculate - buying new cars is nice, but certified used is the way to go in my opinion, unless you hate money. I saved a bundle on immaculate low-mileage used vs. a brand new one. I have never owned a diesel, but wanted to try it for the better fuel economy and so far I am impressed, averaging ~22 mpg in town and some highway driving. The performance is also great, great acceleration/torque, and tight handling. After a month I am very happy and impressed - hope to stay happy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

August 23, 2012
By LukeBaysideAudiQ5Luv27
from Rehoboth, MA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"My mother has had many SUVS (2000 Lexus RX300, 2003 bmw x5, 2004 Lexus gx470, 2007 Lexus RX350, And 2010 Lexus GX460) wE LOOKED AT THE X5, AUDI Q7, ACURA MDX AND BUICK ENCLAVE. Personally, i love each of those SUV's (The Enclave, Q7 and MDX) sO, wHATEVER, i LOVE THAT CAR..I GUESS.. WE Have xDrive35i Premium Black Saffire Metallic, With Cinnamon Brown interior. We have Tech Pkg, Conv. Pkg, (Basically I'm tryuing to say vehicle is fully loaded) We have had some problems with the second row seats (the sensor that the seat was locked in broke in the adjusting trigger broke) We'll get the trigger fixed (We already fixed the sensor)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

beautiful, but diesel trans and ride ruin the deal

July 20, 2012
By jt
from Albuquerque, NM
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I love the looks of the vehicle (minus the boring and ugly wheels forced on X5 diesel buyers), but the same can't be said about the way it drives. The ride is rough around town with the stiff run-flat tires. It is OK on the highway, but I would still prefer a smoother ride. The active ventilated seat bottoms are as hard as a rock and become uncomfortable if you sit in them longer than 20 minutes, although the front seatbacks are comfortable and offer alot of different positions(they even bend in the middle). The tranmission is the worst thing about the vehicle. When leaving from a stoplight, it hesitates and when you give it a little more gas it surges. It changes gears as fast as possible(for better mpg I'm sure). When turning it downshifts too low and causes the vehicle to surge really hard when accelerating. The transmission makes the vehicle feel very unrefined. I've driven much cheaper vehicles with better tranmissions. The rear door makes noises when backing out of the driveway and sometimes while driving. The visors don't offer protection from the sun for shorter drivers. It would be nice if there were cupholders in the rear doors for rear passengers. If the vehicle was alot cheaper I might be willing to deal with it's deficiencies, but I'm seriously thinking about trading it in."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Owner Review of BMW X5 35d since Nov 2010

April 16, 2012
By BMW FAN
from Buffalo, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The BMW X5 35d is a sport luxury SAV not really your typical family SUV. It is fun to drive and will whip around corners without a problem. If you really want to have fun and leave people in the dust, shift the transmission into sport drive. For a large SUV I get an average of 22.1 - 22.4 mpg. The diesel fuel cost of less than the cost of premium gas that most luxury vehicles take and I get more MPGs, so the diesel does pay off. BMW offers 48 months of service & maintenance included with the cost of the vehicle. I really was impressed that the X5 BMWs are built in Spartanburg, SC in the USA. Prior to my my purchase decision, I did almost purchase another SUV, but it was not as fun to drive and was not really my "dream" vehicle. The pros are pretty much everything, I had my X5 custom built and it only took 30 days. My options were the premium package, sport activity package, upgraded sound (awesome!), cold weather package, and navigation. My favorite additional features are the satellite radio, upgraded sound package, heated seats and steering wheel for the winter time, & the voice commands are cool with the bluetooth. The cons are the navigation, which is not touchscreen and can be a bit confusing, the smell of diesel fuel when filling up that is stronger than gas, and the somewhat noisy engine especially in the winter when the vehicle is cold."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

High $ for the name, horrible car

April 4, 2012
By Never Again BMW
from New York, NY
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"It is my 1st SUV and BMW. Bought my 2011 X5d in Sep of 2010 and have been hating every moment of it. Uncomfortable, seats are as hard as benches in the park. The leather looks and feels like cardboard, but I had to pre-order and pre-pay, so when it came it was too late to cancel the transaction. The wipers are a joke! As loud as if they were wooden, streaks left behind and a light-deflecting line left by the right wiper right in front of the driver's face. At night, in the rain or a blizzard- not safe at all. The dealer claimed they replaced them, a month after I got the car and then 3 months later since nothing changed. The 2nd time it even got worse. You do not want to drive this car in the rain! The water regurgitates on the driver's window right between your eyes and the left mirror. You can not see anything! The climate control is also a joke. You can not get comfortably warm when it is really cold outside and never really cold in the summer (I live in southern Connecticut). I went to the dealer to get a lesson on the climate control, as I thought I was doing something wrong, but no, it was the car. The I-drive controls everything in the car. It is a mouse for a very small computer display, so try changing any settings like rear temperature or the like while you are driving. You have to stop the car or suffer... The central-lock button is in the middle of the dashboard, so you need to get inside the car or kill your back to unlock the back doors... The rear seat heating broke after being used once. The third row is extremely small, almost impossible to fit two 12-year olds (small ones). The body is made from extremely weak material. Was slightly bumped by 2 cars (Toyota and Acura)They did not get a scratch I have 2 big holes! The audio? I complained to the dealer that the speakers vibrate as if you had a mouse inside them when I am listening to my audiobooks on high volume. I was told that that what happens when you want to listen to audiobooks read so loudly. I have perfect hearing but at 80mph in this relatively quiet diesel, you really have to turn the volume up to be able to understand anything. The noise is not bad for a diesel, but I get rattling for some time after starting the car. I do not even want to report it to the dealer. I just want the lease to end. I cannot wait to give it back. It is my 1st and last BMW. Now I know what it means to own one. I am not saying it should not be on the market. I think it should be rated fairly among the worst cars and priced under 25K."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-4points
6out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BMW X5 2011 model with third row seats

March 19, 2012
By tankist
from Brooklyn NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"EXCELLENT CAR. New 300hp engine & new 8 speed transmition make its vehicle outstanding. Fuel economy much better now. Dinamics is perfect.
I recomended
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

X5 is still my favorite SUV

November 9, 2011
By 16 BMWs
from Washington, DC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just placed an order for a 2012 X5 5.0 to replace my 2011 X5 diesel (April 2010 production) with over 30,000 miles. This will be my eighth X5 since 2001 (and 16th BMW in total). I favor the X5 because it has the most comfortable driving position and seats of any SUV (especially with the multi-contour must-have seats). I read the reviews on this site from people who claim to have a 2011 X5 3.0 (no such thing because that engine ended in 2010) and people who claim to have had mechanical problems, uncomfortable seats, inoperable navigation, etc. Those sound like false reviews. Even Consumer Reports recommends the X5 as of November 2011. My X5s have been completely reliable. No issues. None. I've had every version of the iDrive system since the first one in the 2002 E65 745i and it has never been sufficiently complicated to justify all the whining about it. The current iDrive's granularity of control over vehicle functions is better than any other vehicle including Audi. The diesel is noisier than the gas engines, but the torque is amazing and I've had trips that averaged 31 mpg in all highway driving, which is not bad for a 5,300 lb SUV. I opted for the 5.0 this time to change things up a little, but I'm sure I'll miss the 600+ mile range on a single tank of diesel. It's also important to me that these vehicles are made in the U.S. (Spartanburg, SC)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

So Disappointed I Traded It In

October 3, 2011
By ChiCarGuy
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I'm a car enthusiast and former BMW CCA member, and I appreciate BMW's blend of performance, handling and build quality. What's more, my wife and I loved our previous car, a 2002 X5 4.4i which we owned for 6 years. I waited patiently for years for the right time to order my new 2011 X5 diesel just the way I wanted. But I was disappointed with the car.
First the positives: it's the best-looking SUV on the road. Hands down. It handles well for such a big car and feels smaller than it really is. Even the basic seats are supportive and super comfortable over long distances, and they offer tons of adjustability. The diesel engine has gobs of power, is very smooth and gets great mileage compared to the V8. The 2011 is a lot quieter and smoother than the previous generation, with great ride quality and is packed with cool tech (like the top view and side view cameras--but why can't I use them at faster speeds?!).
But for God's sake, what did BMW do to the trannny? Our 2002 always felt like it was in the right gear--I never had to think about it. The 2011 felt like the transmission slips from every stop until about 30 mph, after which it would shift normally. The dealer checked it and said it was operating correctly, so I can only include that it is an engineering flaw; set up this way to perhaps maximize mileage. Regardless, it's infuriating since it messes up an otherwise brilliant powertrain.
The 2nd largest complaint we had was the navigation system. It sent us the wrong way on several occasions, couldn't find other addresses, and was absolutely clunky to use with the iDrive controller (or voice). A touchscreen would have made a world of difference. Plus, the map doesn't show every street name, making it useless in city driving. A $100 Garmin is much better.
Other frustrations: cheap wipers that left streaks (despite being replaced by the dealer, and despite the BEST wipers on the 2002), annoying seat memory functionality, small 3rd row (though I knew that when I bought it), 2 small problems requiring service within the first 3 months, poor interior panel fit, numb steering(on center) and much less road feel and feedback through the steering wheel than my old X5.
So after just 6 months of owning my dream car, I sadly turned it in for a Mazda 5 (see my review for more). I would be hesitant to get another BMW after this experience, except that the 2011 5-series loaner that I was given while my X5 was in the shop was amazing--it felt and drove like a BMW should. So maybe there's hope yet for the next generation X5!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

X5 is the best

September 15, 2011
By Knows cars
from Denver, CO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased a new 2011 X5 3.5i loaded with the staggered 20's. Only vehicle of 20 I have puirchased that never needed to go back in with even a minor adjustment. This car is flawless. Amazing handling, look and comfort. I could not go near the 5 Series after driving the X5 SAV."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

BAAADDD!

August 30, 2011
By 3rd BMW
from minneapolis
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"41,000 miles and now going in for the 15th time. They keep telling me the check engine light isn't meaningful. 15 times come on . Diff. leaks fuel leaks. sensors out, piece of junk. $60,000. rip off. getting rid of it ASAP"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2011 BMW X5 x35d - awesome performance

August 30, 2011
By 4MoJoe
from Boise, ID
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought in May of 2011. Mileage is really great, the diesel power is amazing. Not a noisy or stinky car like diesels of the past. It's too bad North American drivers haven't embraced diesel like in Europe.
Car is comfortable, great ride, nicely finished and quite attractive.
(thumbs up)!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Towing
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

2011 X5 3.0 - Too many liabilities

June 19, 2011
By No more bmws
from Manhattan Beach, CA
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"The driver's seat is horrible - more than 30 minutes and my legs and lower back go numb. It's undriveable after 40 minutes. The lumbar adjustment is terrible. It's too high, and when I try to lower it goes down a little, but stops before it gets to where I need support and just starts inflating instead. A friend has the same car and same problem. We're both about 6'1" so maybe it's a height thing. My wife doesn't have the problem.
The exhaust rattles at startup (since new), dealer says this is normal. If so, BMW should be ashamed.
Power at low RPM is poor. I have a steep driveway and need to do some precision maneuvering, the car just bogs until suddenly there's a turbo surge.
The auto lights stay on in bright sunlight, don't come on a dusk.
The ride is harsh, especially when both front wheels are impacted at once (speed bumps, road drainage culverts which we have lots of in CA). The chassis engineers should never have signed off on run-flat tires. There's just no vertical compliance. And for those that say this is to be expected in a performance biased SUV, first I would say nobody drives it like a sports car and second, yes you can have good ride and great handling - BMW has proven this for years. Unfortunately the chassis engineers were staging a protest when they came up with this car.
Stay away. Too many liabilities. BMW has lost its way."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
9out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

luv it

May 7, 2011
By bmwfreek27!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
from Rehoboth MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"all i gotta say is i gotta 2011 35i xdrive premium conv. pkg, tech pkg, cold wthr. pkg 3rd row seat, running boards @ $62250 Luv it"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2011_BMW_X5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly Ultimate.

March 5, 2011
By Gracious
from Alpharetta, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"German cars are the best of the best. But BMWs are the best of the German family of cars. Nothing drives like this Bavarian breed of machines, and once you drive one, it is difficult to drive anything else."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.