Customer Reviews for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche

2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche

Average Customer Rating:
4.875 of 5
4.9
 of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Review 1 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Geat Truck

March 12, 2012
By Avalanche Fan
from Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just got a used 2011. I owned a 2002 for 8 years and it was very reliable. This is the first time I've bought the same model truck. My 2002 was such a good truck, I had to go for another one. The 2011 has improved engine performance and fuel milage. So far very happy with it. Would highly recommend the Avalanche."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2011 Avalanche LTZ

April 5, 2011
By First SUT
from Baltimore, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased a new 2011 Chevrolet Avalanche LTZ 4 wheel drive in Taupe Gray. The Avalanche is the prefect blend of a truck and a SUV.
Exterior - The LTZ adds just enough chrome to accent the muscular appearance of the vehicle without making it seem gaudy. The 20 inch rims are wrapped in massive 275/55/20 all season rubber. The paint samples in the brochure do not do this vehicle justice. Spend time driving to dealers and look at all the colors in person. The color we choose looks nothing in person like the little color swatch on the brochure. For example, the Taupe Gray is very deep with hints of light blue and red metallic flack, that pops out in direct sunlight and looks fantastic with the Avalanche appearing to change color depending on the lighting.
Interior - The LTZ package gives you the impression you are in a luxury car. The heated and cooled seats are a wonderful touch. The interior is very spacious. The "fun and sun" package includes a sunroof and rear seat DVD player is worth every penny. The gauges are well thought out and the drivers information center displays a lot of useful data like trans temp (when towing), average fuel economy, instant fuel economy (v8 and v4 mode), trip, oil life and engine hours. From the drivers seat you have a commanding view of the road. It should be noted that rear visibility is lacking but is easily rectified with the back up camera and auto tilt side mirrors that angle down to show you the parking lines and curb when backing up. The back up camera is a must for a person not accustomed to driving such a large vehicle. The back seats fold down and the entire rear of the vehicle opens up to extend the rear bed into the interior compartment. Another nice feature is the rear window and be removed to allow for an almost convertible feel when all the windows and the sunroof is open.
The drivetrain is similar to that found in the Silverado, Tahoe and Suburban. The 5.3L V8 provides enough thrust to adequately accelerate onto the freeway. The towing capacity, while less than the Silverado (9,600 vs. 8,100) is still more than adequate when equipped with the HD trailer package. The 6 speeds automatic is geared well to the intended application but the shifts are lazy at best. The "air ride" suspension that is standard on the LTZ soaks up the bumps and dips with ease and allows for load leveling when hauling a heavy load.
The 4 wheel drive system gives you a 2 Hi, 4 Auto, 4Hi, & 4Lo options. All these systems work flawlessly when called upon.
Gas mileage (15 City and 21 highway) is not bad as most people would think given all the utility this vehicle as to offer and the amount of weight this vehicle carries. The instant fuel economy gauge goes a long way in helping you adjust your driving style to achieve your best MPG. On an extended highway trip the 31 gallon fuel tanks makes it so you'll need to stop for a bathroom break before you need to fill up again.
Price is a little on the high side but if you time your purchase right (like waiting for a "Truck Month" promotion) you can easily purchases these vehicles for thousands below MSRP.
Bottom line: This is a vehicle your family will fall in love with."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2011 Chevrolet Avalanche LTZ loaded

September 20, 2014
By Truck Owner
from Palatine, Illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased a used 2011 Chevy Avalanche LTZ from Wickstrom Auto Group. The truck is awesome, I get people asking if I paid $70K for it because It's in mint condition. Looks like it just rolled off the manufacturing floor. White Diamond Pearl coat with a built in Bed Slid from previous owner. Great feature, the Bed Slid allows the bed to slid out for getting to stuff in the back of the bed without getting into truck. The waterproof panels that cover the bed are great, just remove one or all depending on the load. Simple lock in place. The truck has deep storage bins that lock on each side of the bed which is great for carrying small tools or tie down straps, etc. The rear window pops out and can be stored in the front of the bed door which swings down when the rear seats are forward allowing you to carry 16 - 20' items. The heated/cooled leather seats are great! I really like the side heated mirrors that tilt down when you are backing up. You have the rear camera, tilted mirrors to see the ground along side the vehicle and the rear sensors to detect how close you are. The Navigation system and Bose stereo system is another great feature. The only Con I see with this truck is no cabin storage space. The glove box is tiny. The storage area between the front seats is OK but it needs more. No place to put sunglasses, change, etc. The other con is its gas mileage in the city which is low but on the plus side E85 is a buck cheaper than regular. Overall it is a great truck I don't understand why Chevy quit building them but rumor has it they are bringing them back in 2016."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Truck

August 4, 2014
By AzLax
from Scottsdale, Arizona
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We looked for a third vehicle for a long time, and no other full sized truck encompasses the combination of versatility, comfort, and driving quite like the Avalanche. This truck offers a standard sized bed, but with the ability to fold down the second row seats, long items such as 4x8 pieces of wood. After test driving F-150's, Tundras, and Tacomas, the Avalanche easily out performs them on a comfort basis. Chevy has successfully designed a truck that handles like a truck half of its size. To be perfectly honest, the Avalanche feels more like a Toyota Highlander than any of its other full sized counterparts. Although I have not towed anything yet, the 5.3L V8 engine should be able to pull almost anything within reason. Chevy should really reintroduce the Avalanche."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Truck

August 1, 2014
By AZOutdoors
from Scottsdale, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I looked for a long time at crew cab trucks before narrowing down to the Avalanche. The Avalanche has the comfortable ride of an SUV with the flexibility of a truck. The fold-away rear seats and folding rear cab access provide more cargo space than a long-bed truck.
I am pleasantly surprised how well it maneuvers for a full-size truck. I definitely recommend the rear parking sensors and review camera for backing. If you find one without them, they can be easily added after-market. This is a versatile truck, that rides and drives like a full-size SUV. My daily ride is a luxury sedan and I find myself looking for reasons to "need" to drive the Avalanche."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

buddy

April 10, 2014
By buddy
from rapid city sd
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"one of the best trucks i have ever owned excellent gas milage. LTZ MODEL IS WORTH THE MONEY
I went to MARTHALER CHEVY OF GLENWOON MN AND SAVED $9000
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

On my Third Avalanche

February 25, 2014
By Clint
from Oklahoma City, OK
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I started with a 2004, then a 2007, now a 2011 LTZ. I love it. Never had one single problem with it, have only done regular maintenance.
It's very sad that GM stopped production of the Avalanche. Don't know what I will do next!
If you are looking for used vehicle (since you cannot buy new ones now) I recommend you find one and hang on to it. Another great thing is that since they stopped making it, those of us that own them are enjoying high resell value!
An Avy rides somewhere in between truck and an SUV like say a Suburban. Nice ride on the highway. Does decent in snow and ice etc."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsome pickup, 2nd one i have owned

February 20, 2014
By Steve
from Youngstown, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Owned a 2002 and wore it out, thrilled to replace it with another Avalanche. The fold down between bed and cab great, wish they had not stopped making them. 2011 is a great improvement over the 2002, my only personal dislike is the woodgrain but thats just my preference."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best large truck/SUV I've owned

December 14, 2012
By Leon
from Newport Beach, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So impressed with the Avalanche LTZ. I've owned Mercedes ML, GL & Range Rover and overall performance dominates the Rover and ML at about 30k less.
The Avalanche doesn't handle like a truck at all. It's very smooth, clean and quiet. It's turning radius is fantastic for a large vehicle and creature comforts are great and really close to par with Mercedes & RR.
It's super roomy too and great for weekend jobs and family campouts. Better jump on the 2013's because this will be the last model year."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

August 20, 2012
By Redwings Fan
from Colorado springs, CO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love my new Avalanche - second one I've owned
So sad they will be ending production! or I would
be buying another in a few years
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Basic Truck

May 3, 2012
By Good Driver
from New York
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Very bad Fuel Economy. Can't tow for its life. Very pricey. Woudn't recomend unless you drive on the road. Dose great through car washes! I would buy a F-150 over this."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Towing
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2011 Avalanche great vehicle so far

April 16, 2012
By Tony
from Olathe, KS
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I really like the flexibility the vehicle provides. Rides as nice as the 2008 Denali I had and offers me pick up flexibility. I would definately recomend the vehicle so far. It is pricey, and gas milage isnt great, but I think you expect both when buying this caliber of vehicle"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice truck

March 5, 2012
By Urban cowboy
from Urbandale, IA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I recently traded in a 2006 King Ranch F 150 for this 2011 Avalanche. I've only owned it about a month and only driving about 2,500 miles, but so far I've been very pleased. In my old F 150 I was only getting about 12 mpg around town and 15 - 16 mpg on highway. With Avalanche, I'm getting a solid close to 16 mpg around town and got 20 mpg on a 250 interstate drive. It is a noticeable upgrade in fuel economy from old truck. It is a nicer, quieter ride too. Feels less like a truck than old one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

my first truck and it's the best!!!!

June 14, 2011
By jlk
from arkansas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this is the best car period, i have ever owned. i wish would have bought this truck eight years ago."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Truck

May 14, 2011
By hansvonp
from Setauket
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the 2nd Avalanche I have owned. I sold my 2004 with 130k miles on it and never had a problem with it. I like the look of the Ford F150 more but being able to put 8 foot pieces of sheetrock, plywood or 2x4's into the truck and then close the tailgate and have it be waterproof, is very importatnt to me. The 2011 was a major up-grade from the 2004 and I would highly recommend it to anyone."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2011_Chevrolet_Avalanche
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2011 Avalanche LT

May 4, 2011
By 2nd Timer
from Stillwater, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Avalanche is a great combination of SUV and truck. It's the perfect fit for those that need a truck part of the time and and SUV part of the time. The exterior is a nice cross between ruggedness and class. It's a very clean look and many people have told me how sharp the truck looks, especially with the 20" polished rims. The interior is much nicer than would normally be associated with a truck. The seats are comfortable and supportive, even on long trips. We took a 13 hour trip in our Avalanche and there were no aches that are usually associated with a long trip. The Avalanche can be optioned with most of the amenities in the Chevrolet parts bin. The Nav system is a wonderful addition along with the XM radio with traffic alerts. It displays traffic alerts on the Nav screen when it receives them so you can make changes accordingly. The Rear seat DVD player can keep the kiddies occupied but it does impair the view through the rear view mirror. The backup camera and rear sensing system are a must as rear vision throughout the vehicle is limited. The Avalanche handles much better that a vehicle of this size should. Even my wife, who is not a fan of large vehicles, likes to take the Avalanche when she goes shopping. Fuel mileage could be better but it is much better than you think. 21 MPG on a long trip isn't bad for a vehicle that weighs 5500 pounds. Is it expensive? Yes, about $3K more than a comparable Silverado but it's the cost of flexibility. How many Silverado's can carry 5 people or an 8x4 sheet of plywood? This is my second Avalanche and I have been happy with both. There are rumors that there will be no next generation Avalanche after the current model. I hope not, this truck fits my family perfectly."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.